Databases | Reference Materials | E-Journals | Web Resources
Citation Styles | Tutorials & Handouts | RefWorks
.Databases
The databases listed here are the best ones to start with if you are doing research in Anthropology. You can always go directly a database, if you know the name of it, but going to the Articles & Databases page.
Anthropology Plus is a combination of the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. While it is the premier database for the field, FGCU students are encouraged to begin with other indexes (listed below), as the journals indexed here are vast and often not available at FGCU. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present .
Academic Search Complete(EbscoHost) is a multi-disciplinary database containing full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals in the collection.
Academic One (Gale) contains peer-reviewed, many full-text articles in the areas of physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature from over 8000 academic journals.
America: History and Life "covers United States and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Includes current affairs, area studies, ethnic studies, folklore, historiography and methodology, international relations, oral history, prehistory, government and political science, popular culture, urban affairs, teaching of history, and interdisciplinary studies of historical interest and history-related topics in the social sciences and humanities." 1964 to the present.
American Periodical Series Online 1740-1900 Searchable full-text of over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts covers issues related to health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Indexes and abstracts over 650 journals from 16 different countries, including UK and US from 1987 to present.
Expanded Academic ASAP indexes articles in approximately 1000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in the arts, humanities, social sciences, science and technology. Good coverage of journals in anthropology.
Chicano Database indexes information from books, journals, newspapers, etc. about Mexican-American topics. It identifies in one place, all types of material about Chicanos and provides uniform subject access to this constantly growing body of literature. In 1992 the database expanded its scope to include the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Provides extensive coverage from the 1960s to the present, with selective coverage dating back to the early 1900s.
Ethnic Newswatch Complete is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press, from 1990 to the present.. A rich collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provide a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints.Has both an English and a Spanish language interface.
JSTOR provides an online full-text "archive" of articles from 10 core scholarly serials in anthropology. Some journal coverage spans 90 years or more. Journals can be browsed or searched individually or altogether as a collection
OmniFile (WilsonWeb) provides indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text.
Oxford Journals Online indexes and provides online journals by this publisher, including a searchable section on Area Studies.
ProQuest Research indexes and provides abstracts and full-text of over 1800 journals, many peer-reviewed, and newspapers on most academic subjects. Has journals such as American Antiquity and American Anthropologist. Indexing from the early 1980's, full-text from the late 1980's to the present
ProQuest Psychology Journals is a subset of PsycInfo covering nearly 300 academic journals in psychology and related fields (including anthropology and ethnology).
PsycINFO is the major database for scholarly literature in the broad discipline of psychology. Includes original research and journal articles, literature reviews, reports of surveys, case studies, theoretical discussions, bibliographies, etc. The many anthropological topics covered include ethnology, ethnography, medical anthropology, cultural differences, and indigenous people. Indexed materials are selected from more than 1,300 journals published in 50 countries and 28 languages. Most records have abstracts. Indexing from 1887 to date (From APA – American Psychological Association)
Social Sciences Full Text contains periodicals in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations. Indexes over 625 periodicals of which 215 are in full text.
SocINDEX with Full Text features a sociology-specific thesaurus and contains full text articles from 344 “core” coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 129 “priority” coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 700 books and monographs, and full text for 6,800 conference papers.
Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts over 2600+ publications in sociology and related disciplines from 1952. Provides abstracts of journal articles and books, citations to book reviews as well as abstracts of book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Springer Link
Related Databases
Communication & Mass Media Complete incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource in the communication and mass media fields.
GenderWatch is a full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
netLibrary offers over 22,000 reference scholarly, and professional electronic books Contains several Anthropology books such as Careers in anthropology, archeology.
Worldcat
is the world's comprehensive library catalog and lists over 62 million books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Represents over 400 languages and covers information from 4,000 years of knowledge.
[Top of Page]
Reference Books
The Library uses LC classification to organize materials. Here is a brief outline of sections pertaining to Anthropology.
GN1-890 |
Anthropology |
GN49-298 |
Physical Anthropology |
GN301-674 |
Ethnology. Social & Cultural Anthropology |
GN700-890 |
Prehistoric Archaeology |
GR1-950 |
Folklore |
GT1-7070 |
Manners & Customs |
E51-99 |
Anthopology: Indians of North America |
| GE1-350 |
Environmental Sciences |
| GF1-900 |
Human Ecology |
Dictionaries
The Dictionary of Anthropology / REF GN 307 .D485 1997
Biographical dictionary of social and cultural anthropology / REF GN20 .B56 2004
The Cambridge Dictionary of human biology and evolution / REF QP34.5 .M24 2005
Dictionary of Human Geography / REF GF 4 .D52 1981
Anthropological Glossary / REF GN11. P43 1985
Social and Cultural Anthropology : the Key Concepts / GEN 316 .R37 2000
Encyclopedias (Specialized)
Aggression and conflict : a cross-cultural encyclopedia / Ref HM136 .L46 1994
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Archaeology / REF CC 165 .C3 1980
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Evolution / REF GN 281 .C345 1992
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Hunters and Gatherers / REF GN 388 .C35 1999
The Cambridge World History of Food / REF TX 353 .C255 2000
The Companion Encyclopedia of Anthropology / REF GN25.C65 1994
Countries and their cultures / REF
GN307 .C68 2001 also Online via Gale Virtual Reference
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History / REF
E185 .E54 1996
Encyclopedia of anthropology / REF GN11 .E63 2006
Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology / REF GN 307 . E52 1996
Encyclopedia of Archaeology. The Great Archaeologists / REF CC 110 .E54 1999
NEW Encyclopedia of the Environment and Society /
REF HM856 .E53 2007
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture Online via Gale Virtual Reference
Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory / REF GN 281 .E53 2000
Encyclopedia of Human Geography / GEN GF4 .P58 2004 & also Online
Encyclopedia of Precolonial Africa : Archaeology, History, Languages, Cultures, and Environments /
REF DT 2 .E53 1997
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology / REF GN 307 .E525 1997
Encyclopedia of World Cultures / REF GN 307 .E53 1991
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Archaeology / REF CC70 .K56 2000
Encyclopedia of medical anthropology : health and illness in the world's cultures / REF RA418 .E354 2004
The ethnopolitical encyclopaedia of Europe / REF GN492 .E86 2004
History of Physical Anthropology / REF GN 50.3 .H57
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences / REF H41 .I58 2001
Marriage, family, and relationships : a cross-cultural encyclopedia / REF GN480 .B76 1994
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life / REF GN 333 .W67 1998
Guides to the Literature
American Anthropological Association Style Guide http://www.aaanet.org/pubs/style_guide.htm
Anthropology in practice : Building a career outside the academy / GEN GN397.5 .N63 2003
Applying cultural anthropology : An introductory reader (6th ed.) / GEN GN397.5 .A68 2003
Cite right / : a quick guide to citation styles--MLA, APA, Chicago, the sciences, professions, and more /
REF PN171.F56 L55 2006 & At Ref Desk
Ethics and the profession of anthropology : Dialogue for ethically conscious practice (2nd ed.) GEN
GN33.6 .E84 2003
Forensic anthropology : The growing science of talking bones / GEN GN69.8 .T48 2003
Introduction to Library Research in Anthropology / GEN GN 42 .W44 1998
Principles of visual anthropology (3rd ed.) GEN
GN347 .P75 2003t
Handbooks
Anthropology of Religion : a Handbook / REF GN 470 .A55 1997
Ethnic Groups Worldwide : a Ready Reference Handbook / REF GN 325 .L46 1998
Ethnologue : Languages of the World /
REF P 371 .E83 1996
Handbook of Middle American Indians (1964). 16 vols. REF F 1434 .H3
Supplement to the Handbook of Middle Americans. Archaeology. (1981). / REF F 1434 .H3 Suppl 1
Supplement to the Handbook of Middle Americans. Ethnology. (2000). /
REF F 1434 .H3 Suppl 6
Supplement to the Handbook of Middle Americans. Linguistics. (1984) /
REF F 1434 .H3 Suppl 2
Handbook of South American Indians / REF E51 .U6 no. 143 1946
E-Books
Careers in anthropology, archeology [electronic resource] Chicago : Institute for Career Research, c2005.
A companion to linguistic anthropology [electronic resource] / edited by Alessandro Duranti. Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2004. Also available in
GEN P35 .C59 2004
Genetic nature/culture [electronic resource] : anthropology and science beyond the two-culture divide / edited by Alan H. Goodman, Deborah Heath, and M. Susan Lindee. Berkeley : University of California Press, c2003.
Globalisation : studies in anthropology [electronic resource] / edited by Thomas Hylland Eriksen. London ; Sterling, Va. : Pluto Press, 2003. Also available in GEN GN27 .G56 2003
[Top of Page]
Anthropology Related E-Journals
For a complete listing of journal titles please go to the Library catalog or the E-Journal Portal.
If you have comments, questions, or suggestions about these web pages,
send an email to: Geraldine Collins (Social Sciences Librarian).
Page last updated 01/07/08 -- CM
|