|
Library Services
Research Guide for Art
This is a research guide to highlight library materials appropriate for Art. Books, journal titles, videos and DVDs can be found through the Library Catalog.
Table of Contents |

|
Subject Librarian |
|
If you need assistance or have suggestions about this guide, please contact:
Rachel Cooke, Librarian
Fine and Performing Arts, Languages and Literature, Communication, and Humanities
Phone: 239-590-7606
Email: rcooke@fgcu.edu
|
Online Databases
General, All Purpose Databases
Academic Onefile
Includes over 8,000 academic journals (over 5,300 peer-reviewed), the majority in full-text.
Academic Search Complete (EbscoHost)
Includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
Biography Resource Center
Biographical information on more than 1 million people from throughout history and around the world.
Proquest Research Library
Includes more than 3,820 titles—over 2,550 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
Omnifile
Full text from over 1,700 journals; indexing/abstracts from over 3,000.
Oxford African American Studies Center
This database includes African American art images. To browse art images: Click on “browse”, then “Images & Multimedia”. Click the + sign next to “Arts & Leisure” to expand the category. Click the + sign next to “fine arts” to expand the category. Choose from Drawing & Painting, Sculpture, or Photography.
Art & Art History Databases
ARTstor
A repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Contains records describing articles in over 1,000 architectural periodicals in the fields of architecture and related disciplines.
Bibliography of the History of Art
Contains records describing the current literature of art, including books, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and journal articles in more than 2,500 periodicals.
Psychological Study of the Arts (PSA)
Psychological Study of the Arts explores literary questions using psychology, often psychoanalytic psychology. The concepts explored have natural extensions to media other than words on paper, to film, video, the visual arts, and so on.
.
Other Humanities Databases
ArticleFirst
Contains bibliographic citations of more than 13,000 journals.
[back to top]
Reference Materials
Use reference works to gain background information, build technical vocabulary, double check facts,and see overall views of the topics you are researching. For more instruction on these resources see the end of the page.
Biographical Sources
Contemporary Artists / GEN N6490.C6567
Dictionary of Women Artists / REF N8354.D53 1997
Masters of Traditional Arts : A Biographical Dictionary / REF NX511.5.G68 2001
Latin American and Caribbean Artists of the Modern Era : A Biographical Dictionary of Over 12,700 Persons / REF N6502.4 .S45 2003
St. James Guide to Black Artists / REF N40 .S78 1997Who's Who in American Art 1997- 1998 / REF N6536 .W56 1997
Some of the key reference works the Library holds
American art book / REF N6505.A564 1999
Art business encyclopedia / REF N8600.D83 1994
Artist's resource: the Watson-Guptill guide to academic programs, artists' colonies and artist-in-residence programs, conferences, workshops / REF N8600.C49 1999
Artspeak: a guide to contemporary ideas, movements, and buzzwords, 1945 to the present / REF N6490.A87 1997
Artspoke: a guide to modern ideas, movements, and buzzwords, 1848-1944 / REF N6447.A85 1993
Art20: the Thames and Hudson multimedia dictionary of modern art. [CD-ROM] / REF N6490.A78 1998
Careers in art / eBook: Click here to view
Careers for color connoisseurs & other visual types / eBook: Click here to view
Career opportunities in art / REF N6505.H35
Continuum encyclopedia of native art: worldview, symbolism, and culture in Africa, Oceania, and native North America / REF E98.A7W49 2000
Deskbook of art law / REF KF4288.D82
Dictionary of architectural and building technology / REF NA31.C63
Dictionary of art / REF N31.D5 1996
Dictionary of multimedia and internet applications: a guide for developers and users / REF TK5105.875.I57 B64
Dictionary of multimedia: terms & acronyms / REF QA76.15.H32
Dictionary of subjects and symbols in art / REF N7560.H34 1974b
Directory of M.A. & Ph.D. programs in art, art history, and related areas / REF N385.D567
Encyclopedia of aesthetics / REF BH56.E53
Encyclopedia of American architecture / REF NA705.P3
Encyclopedia of painting; painters and painting of the world from prehistoric times to the present day / REF ND30.E5
Encyclopedia of photography / REF TR9.I24 1984
Encyclopedia of pottery & porcelain, 1800-1960 / REF NK3920.C36 1986
Encyclopedia of world art / REF N31.E4833
Illustrated glossary of architecture, 850-1830 / REF NA31.H34 1966a
Looking at European sculpture: a guide to technical terms /
REF NB50.B37
Looking at paintings: a guide to technical terms / REF ND31.C37 1992
Official museum directory / REF AM10.A2 O4
Opportunities in photography careers / eBook: Click here to view
Petersons professional degree programs in the visual and performing arts / REF NX303.P52
[back to top]
Journals
Some of the key journals to which the FGCU Library subscribes
American artist.
Per N1.A243 and Online
Index | Abstract |
American Craft.
Per NK1.C73 and Online
Index | Abstract |
Art Bulletin
Periodicals -- N11 .C4 and Online |
Artforum international.
Per N .A814 and Online
Index | Abstract |
Art in America.
Per N1 .A43 and Online
Index | Abstract |
Artnews.
Per N1 .A6
Index | Abstract |
Ceramics monthly.
Per TP 785 .C44 and Online
Index | Abstract |
NAEA news.
Per N105.N3 |
Sculpture Review.
Per NB1 .N29 and Online
Peer Reviewed | Index | Abstract |
Surface design newsletter.
Per NK1160.S97
Peer Reviewed | Index Abstract |
[back to top]
Web Resources
Community & Government Resources
|
Advocacy
Americans for the Arts
http://www.artsusa.org/
Central clearinghouse for arts advocacy. Research, Art Education, news, a national arts policy database, publications, events, and more. Americans for the Arts, Washington, D.C. and New York, N.Y.
National Alliance for Media Arts and Culture
http://www.namac.org/
National events, resources and links, job postings, current legislation, a national directory to local arts organizations and more related to digital and media arts. National Alliance for Media Arts and Culture, San Francisco, Calif
|
Government Agencies
Florida Division of Cultural Affairs
http://www.florida-arts.org/index.asp
Gateway to funding information, public art directories, and other resources offered in support of the arts by the State of Florida. Florida Department of State, Tallahassee, Fla.
National Endowment for the Arts
http://arts.endow.gov/
Gateway to art and art-education-related news, information, research, and resources gathered by the N.E.A. U.S. National Endowment for the Arts, Washington, D.C.
|
Grants & Funding
The Foundation Center Online
http://fdncenter.org/
News, research, and more, including an online form to ask grant-related questions, from arguably the most important resource in grant writing available. The Foundation Center, N.Y.
Grants.gov
http://grants.gov
Find and apply for thousands of federal government grants.
Foundations Online
http://www.foundations.org/
Directory and links to a wide range of grant-giving agencies. Northern California Community Foundation, Inc., Menlo Park, Calif.
|
| Professional Organizations & Resources |
NAIA Online
http://www.naia-artists.org/
Information, news and support for the independent artist. National Association of Independent Artists, Madison, Wisconsin
American Federation of Arts
http://www.afaweb.org/
A variety of services offered in support of art museums and their staff. News and descriptions of upcoming, significant traveling exhibitions, teaching materials, and more. American Federation of Arts, New York, N.Y.
Association of Art Museum Directors
http://www.aamd.org/
Documents, advocacy, links, and catalog of publications for sale in support of museum directorship. Association of Art Museum Directors, New York, N.Y.
Florida Association of Museums
http://www.flamuseums.org/
Directory of Florida museums, exhibit calendars, and links to resources for museum visitors and staff. Florida Association of Museums, Tallahassee, Fla. |
| Virtual Communities & Ejournals |
NYFA Interactive
http://www.nyfa.org/default.asp
Arts-related news, art & technology web tutorials, job listings, information for grant writers, a web portal, and more. New York Foundation for the Arts, New York, N.Y.
Arts Journal.Com
http://www.artsjournal.com/
Daily digest of news stories related to the arts. Stories are hyperlinked to the original source. ArtsJournal.com, Inc.
ARTtalk Web Page
http://www.arttalk.com
Online monthly newsletter for visual artists. News, products, art history, and related topics. ARTTalk.com, Inc.
artjobonline
http://www.artjob.org/
A wide variety of online job listings in the arts. Western States Arts Federation, Denver, Colo
Southern Arts Federation
http://www.southarts.org/saf.htm
Programs and services, job listings and more, in support of the arts in the South. Southern Arts Federation, Atlanta, Ga.
Community Arts Network
http://www.communityarts.net/index.php
News, links, a virtual “Reading Room”, and support for community arts organizations. Department of Theatre Arts at Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, Va.; Art in the Public Interest, Saxapahaw, N.C.
Folk Art Society of America
http://www.folkart.org/
Calendar of national folk-art related events, a newsletter, and support for artists and curators interested in the collecting and preservation of folk art. Folk Art Society of America, Richmond, Va.
Photo.net
http://www.photo.net/
A virtual community in support of amateur and professional photography. Learning forums, equipment, classified advertising, news and reviews, discussion groups, and more. Photo.net, Cambridge, Mass.
Apogee Photo: The Internet's Photography Magazine
http://www.apogeephoto.com/
Feature articles, columns, business information, archives and more about all aspects of traditional and digital photography for photographers of any age or skill level. Apogee Photo, Inc. Conifer, Colorado |
| Florida Museums |
Collier County Museum
http://www.colliermuseum.com/CollierMuseum/homepage.htm
Exhibition schedules, permanent collection, location and hours. Collier County Museum, Naples, Fla.
Florida's Museums
http://www.flamuseums.org/
Online directory of museums in Florida--art, historical, and others. Florida Association of Museums, Tallahassee, Fla.
Museum of Fine Arts (St. Petersburg)
http://www.fine-arts.org/
Exhibition schedules, permanent collection, location and hours. Museum of Fine Arts, St. Petersburg, Fla.
Salvador Dali Museum
http://www.salvadordalimuseum.org/
Exhibition schedules, permanent collection, location and hours. Salvador Dali Museum, St. Petersburg, Fla.
FSU Museum of Fine Arts
http://www.mofa.fsu.edu/
Exhibition schedules, permanent collection, location and hours. Florida State University, Tallahassee, Fla.
Von Liebig Art Center
http://www.naplesartcenter.org/index.html
Founded in 1954 as a local arts organization, the Naples Art Association opened the Von Liebig Art Center in 1998 to exhibit contemporary American art with a focus on Florida art. Information about the collection, events, festivals, and more. Naples Art Association, Naples, Fla.
Naples Museum of Art
http://thephil.org/museum/museum.html
Part of the Philharmonic Center for the Arts, the Naples Museum of Art boasts a 30,000-foot-facility and permanent installations by Albert Paley and Dale Chihuly. Events and exhibition schedules, education and outreach, and more. The Philharmonic Center for the Arts, Naples, Fla.
Ah-Tah-Thi-Ki Museum
http://www.seminoletribe.com/museum/index.shtml
Located inside the Big Cypress Seminole Reservation, the museum houses a 5,000-square-foot exhibit hall displaying artifacts from the rich cultural history of the Florida Seminoles. Educational tours, nature trails, and a performance space. The Seminole Tribe of Florida, Hollywood, Fla. |
| Gateways |
Artslynx
http://www.artslynx.org
Comprehensive gateway to worldwide arts information in virtually every medium and venue--including Theater, Dance, Music, the Visual Arts, and more. Also includes links to job information, advocacy for the arts, arts administration resources, funding, resources for teachers, and more. Colorado Council on the Arts and the College of Arts and Media, University of Colorado, Denver.
Librarians Index to the Internet
http://lii.org/
Searchable gateway to arts-related internet resources. Look at the subtopics for Art. California State Librarian, Library of California, Sacramento, Calif.
Ceramic Links
http://www.ceramics.org/cic/cLinks/clinks.asp
Gateway to all things ceramic on the web: links for museums, technical information, educational opportunities, associations, and more. American Ceramic Society, Westerville, Ohio
Virtual Library Museums Pages
http://vlmp.museophile.sbu.ac.uk/
Comprehensive gateway to virtual museums of every kind—art, film, computer, historical, and others—grouped by country. Searchable. The WWW Virtual Library
The Art Museum Network
http://www.artmuseumnetwork.com/#
Gateway to dozens of the world's most important and prestigious museums online. The Whitney Museum of American Art, New York
American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
http://memory.loc.gov/
Online access to digital exhibits prepared from the vast holdings of the Library of Congress. Film clips from the silent era, Edison sound recordings, early animation, historical movie posters, scripts, music, daguerreotypes, vaudeville memorabilia, and more. Click on “Collection Finder” to browse the exhibits, or search the collection using key words. Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.
Digital Librarian: Art
http://www.digital-librarian.com/art.html
List of links to museums and art resources. Digital Librarian: A Librarian’s Choice of the Best of the Web, Cortland, N.Y.
Digital Librarian: Architecture
http://www.digital-librarian.com/architecture.html
List of links to architecture and historic building preservation resources. Digital Librarian: A Librarian’s Choice of the Best of the Web, Cortland, N.Y. |
| Museums & Other Web Resources |
The Art Institute of Chicago
http://www.artic.edu/
Home of Grant Wood's American Gothic, the Art Institute of Chicago houses over 300,000 works from a wide variety of cultures, as well as an art school. Educational resources and digital images. The Art Institute of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois
The British Museum
http://www.thebritishmuseum.ac.uk
Founded in 1753 and housing a collection spanning 2 million years, the British Museum is home to a number of the UK's national collections of artistic and historical objects and texts from around the world. Conservation and Restoration links. Click on "Explore" to learn about the collections; click on "COMPASS" to view the virtual exhibits online. The Museum, London, UK
The Egyptian Museum
http://www.egyptianmuseum.gov.eg/
The world's largest repository of ancient Egyptian artifacts, including the treasures of Tutankhamen. Information and Decision Support Center, Egyptian Cabinet, Cairo, Egypt
Great Buildings Online
http://www.greatbuildings.com/gbc/buildings.html
Great Buildings Online is a digital encyclopedia of architecture, covering buildings and architects from all over the world. Great Buildings Online
The Guggenheim Museums
http://www.guggenheim.org/
Gateway to the Guggenheim museums in New York, Bilbao (Spain), Venice (Italy), and Berlin (Germany). There is also a link to a Guggenheim virtual museum. The Guggenheim museums hold some of the largest and most important collections of non-objective art--as well as other 20th century art--in the world. The sites can be displayed in various European languages, including Basque. The Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation, New York
Islamic Ceramic Museum
http://www.icm.gov.eg/
Extensive collection of digital images of Islamic ceramic pieces in a wide variety of styles. Viewable in English, French, and Arabic. Information and Decision Support Center, Egyptian Cabinet, Cairo
Louvre Museum Official Website
http://www.louvre.or.jp/louvre/louvrea.htm
Originally a medieval fortress and the palace of French kings, and established as a museum after the French Revolution, the Louvre is one of the oldest European museums and houses many of the world's most important art treasures. History of the Louvre Palace and Museum, images from the collection, virtual tour, magazine, activities, information, and more. Viewable in English, French, Spanish, and Japanese. The Louvre Palace and Museum, Paris
Medieval Art and Architecture
http://www.pitt.edu/~medart/
Photographs of medieval European architecture from sites in Britain, France, and Germany. Online glossary of medieval art and architecture. Jane Vadnal, University of Pittsburgh
Metropolitan Museum of Art
http://www.metmuseum.org/home.asp
Online collection of over 3,500 images--including the Met's entire Department of European Paintings. Representative works from a wide variety of eras and cultures. Educational resources, more. The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York
Museum of Fine Arts
http://www.mfa.org
A collection spanning many cultures and eras in many media. Over 500 digital images from the Collection, Conservation & Art Materials Dictionary, and more. The Museum of Fine Arts, Boston
Museum of Modern Art
http://www.moma.org
Founded in 1932 by private citizens determined to make modern art available to a public audience, the Museum of Modern Art houses some of the most important and influential works of modern art in a wide variety of media. The website has virtual exhibits, images, information and more. The Museum of Modern Art, New York
The National Gallery (UK)
http://www.nationalgallery.org.uk/
Houses the UK's national collection of Western European art from the 13th through 19th centuries. The National Gallery, London
The National Gallery of Art
http://www.nga.gov/
An extensive collection of works of European and American art in several media from the Middle Ages to the present. Online tour, exhibits, and more. Viewable in English, French, German, Italian, and Spanish. The National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
The National Palace Museum (Republic of China)
http://www.npm.gov.tw/
Virtual tours, digital images and more of art objects in many media from China's 7,000 years of continuous cultural history. Viewable in English, French, German, Spanish, Japanese, and Chinese. The National Palace Museum and the Overseas Chinese Affairs Commission, Taipei, Taiwan, Republic of China
The Prado
http://museoprado.mcu.es/ihome.html
Established in 1819 by King Ferdinand VII, the Prado is, arguably, Spain's greatest museum. Its extensive holdings include paintings from the 12th century through the present. Digital images, gateways to other virtual museums on the web, and more. Viewable in English and Spanish. Museo del Prado, Madrid, Spain
Smithsonian Institution Museum Guide
http://www.si.edu/museums/
Gateway to the US' national museums, including the Anacostia Museum and Center for African American History and Culture, the Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum, the National Museum of African Art, the National Museum of the American Indian, the National Portrait Gallery, and the Smithsonian American Art Museum. Conservation and Restoration links. Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.
The State Hermitage Museum
http://www.hermitagemuseum.org/
Founded by Catherine the Great and built over the course of two-and-a-half centuries, the Hermitage is another of the world's most important art collections--over three million art objects from all cultures and from prehistoric times through the present. Read Sergei Varshavsky and Boris Rest's book, "Ordeal of the Hermitage", for the incredible story of how the Hermitage survived the Nazi siege of Leningrad during World War II. Virtual tours, virtual exhibitions, zoom galleries and more. Viewable in English and Russian. State Hermitage Museum, St. Petersburg, Russia
Tate Galleries
http://www.tate.org.uk/
Houses the UK's national collection of British art from the 16th century through the present. Follow the "Collections" link for an extensive collection of digital images. The Tate Galleries, London, U.K.
The Whitney Museum of American Art
http://www.whitney.org/
Houses an impressive collection of 20th century American Art. This web site also hosts the Artport, a gateway to net and digital art viewable online, and the Art Museum Network, a gateway to dozens of the world's most important and prestigious museums online. The Whitney Museum of American Art, New York
The Textile Museum
http://www.textilemuseum.org/
Non-Western textile artifacts from a wide range of cultures and eras. Care and display of textiles, a small list of links, and more. The Textile Mus
eum, Washington, D.C.
The National Museum (India)
http://www.nationalmuseumindia.org/
Paintings, manuscripts, decorative art, archeological artifacts and jewelry from the rich and diverse cultures of India. Ministry of Culture, Government of India, New Delhi |
[back to top]
|
|