Library Services

Research Guide for Drama, Dance & Performance

This is a research guide to highlight library materials appropriate for Drama, Dance & Performance. Books, journal titles, videos and DVDs can be found through the Library catalog.  

Table of Contents

Great Jobs for Theater Majors

A eBook available from NetLibrary

Subject Librarian

If you need assistance or have suggestions about this guide, please contact:

Rachel Cooke,
Librarian
Fine and Performing Arts, Languages and Literature, Communication, and Humanities
Phone: 239-590-7606
Email: rcooke@fgcu.edu

Online Databases

Major Full-text Databases

Academic Onefile
Includes over 8,000 academic journals (over 5,300 peer-reviewed), the majority in full-text.

Academic Search Complete (EbscoHost)
Includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

Biography Resource Center
Biographical information on more than 1 million people from throughout history and around the world.

Proquest Research Library
Includes more than 3,820 titles—over 2,550 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

Omnifile
Full text from over 1,700 journals; indexing/abstracts from over 3,000.

Arts & Humanities Databases

ArticleFirst
Contains citations of more than 13,000 journals in cience, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. Each record describes one article, news story, letter, or other item.

Oxford African American Studies Center
Includes online reference sources and primary documents "on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture".

Psychological Study of the Arts (PSA)
Psychological Study of the Arts explores literary questions using psychology, often psychoanalytic psychology. The concepts explored have natural extensions to media other than words on paper, to film, video, the visual arts, and so on.

[back to top]

Reference Materials

Use reference works to gain background information, build technical vocabulary, double check facts,and see overall views of the topics you are researching.

Some of the key reference works the Library holds

Back Stage guide to casting directors / REF PN1995.9.C34H87
Career opportunities in art / REF N6505.H35
Career opportunities in theater and the performing arts / REF PN1580.F5
Dance Encyclopedia / REF GV1585 .C5
Dictionary of costume and fashion: historic and modern : with over 950 illustrations / REF TT503.P49 1999
Dictionary of the theatre: terms, concepts, and analysis / REF PN2035.P313 1998
Great jobs for theater majors / eBook- Click here to view
Peterson's professional degree programs in the visual and performing arts / REF NX303.P52
Profiles of African American stage performers and theatre people, 1816-1960 / REF PN2286.P46 2001
Stage directors handbook: opportunities for directors and choreographers / REF PN2053.S68
Theater artist's resource: the Watson-Guptill guide to academic and conservatory programs, studios and studio schools, workshops, festivals and conferences, artists' colonies and residencies, internships and apprenticeships / REF PN2074.M39
Twentieth-century literary movements dictionary: a compendium to more than 500 literary, critical, and theatrical movements, schools, and groups from more than 80 nations, covering the novelists, poets, short- story writers, dramatists, essayists, theorists, and works, genres, techniques, and terms associated with each movement / REF PN597.T94 2000

Biographical sources

Twentieth-century American dramatists / REF PN451 D54
Who's Who in Contemporary World Theatre / REF PN2035 .W485 2000

Indexes to Reviews

Critical Survey of Drama / REF PR623.C75
Drama Criticism / REF PN1601 .D59
Great American playwrights on the screen : a critical guide to film, video, and DVD / REF PS338.M67 R63 2003
New York Times theater reviews / REF PN2266 .N48

[back to top]


Journals

Some of the key journals to which the FGCU Library subscribes:

American theatre
Per PN2000 .A52  and Online
Index | Abstract
Comparative drama
Per PN1601 .C66  and Online
Peer Reviewed  | Index | Abstract
Drama review: TDR.
Per PN2000 .D68  and Online
Index | Abstract
Dramatics
Per PN3175.A1 D76 
Index | Abstract
Dramatist:the journal of the Dramatists Guild,Inc.
Per PN2000 .D72 
Index | Abstract
Journal of American drama and theatre.
Per PS332 .J66 
Peer Reviewed | Index | Abstract
Journal of dramatic theory and criticism.
Per PN1601 .J68 
Peer Reviewed | Index | Abstract
Modern drama.
Per PN1861 .M55  and Online
Peer Reviewed | Index | Abstract
New theatre quarterly: NTQ.
Per PN2001 .T435  and Online
Index | Abstract
Nineteenth century theatre: NCT.
Per PN1851 .N55 
Index | Abstract
PAJ: a journal of performance and art.
Per PN1561 .P47 
Peer Reviewed | Index |Abstract
Playbill.
Per PN2000 .P53 
Index | Abstract
Restoration and 18th century theatre research.
Per PN2592 .R46 
Peer Reviewed | Index | Abstract
TD&T.
Per NA1 .T45  and Online
Index | Abstract
Theater.
Per PN2000 .Y34  and Online
Index | Abstract
Theatre Forum.
Per PN2000 .T55 
Index | Abstract
Theatre history studies.
Per PN2000 .T49  and Online
Peer Reviewed | Index | Abstract
Theatre journal.
Per PN3171 .E38  and Online
Peer Reviewed | Index | Abstract
Theatre research international.
Per PN2001 .T436 and Online
Peer Reviewed | Index | Abstract
Theatre survey.
Per PN2000 .T716  and Online
Peer Reviewed | Index | Abstract
Variety.
Per PN2000 .V3 and Online
Index | Abstract
 

[back to top]


Web Resources

Quick Guide to Evaluating Internet Information
http://library.fgcu.edu/Subjects/general/evaluate.htm
If you are using information from the web, the burden is entirely on you to ensure that your sources are reliable.  Use this site to learn how to judge internet information the way your instructors do.

Community & Government Resources

Advocacy

Americans for the Arts
http://www.artsusa.org/
Central clearinghouse for arts advocacy. Research, Art Education, news, a national arts policy database, publications, events, and more. Americans for the Arts, Washington, D.C. and New York, N.Y.

Center for Arts and Culture
http://www.culturalpolicy.org/
An independent think tank focused on the arts and public policy. Research, contact information for experts in the field, data and statistics, and more. Center for Arts and Culture, Washington, D.C.

National Initiative for a Networked Cultural Heritage
http://www-ninch.cni.org/
News, events, links, digital resources, policies, projects, publications and more from this non-profit organization focused on fostering an artistic and cultural presence on the World Wide Web. National Initiative for a Networked Cultural Heritage, Washington, D.C.

Grants & Funding

The Foundation Center Online
http://fdncenter.org/
News, research, and more, including an online form to ask grant-related questions, from arguably the most important resource in grant writing available. The Foundation Center, N.Y.

Foundations Online
http://www.foundations.org/
Directory and links to a wide range of grant-giving agencies. Northern California Community Foundation, Inc., Menlo Park, Calif.

Arts & Business Council
http://www.artsusa.org/private_sector_affairs/arts_and_business_council/
Gateway to four web sites aimed at making connections between artists and businesses for their mutual benefit. Arts & Business Council Web, Business Volunteers for the Arts, National Arts Marketing Project, and the Arts-to-Business Databank, an online database providing corporate users (members only) with contact information, services and resources artists can provide for them. Arts & Business Council, Inc., New York, N.Y.

Professional Organizations & Resources

Actors' Equity Association
http://www.actorsequity.org/home.asp
Actors' Equity Association, the union of American theatrical actors and stage managers, has been representing the interests of its members through collective bargaining, political lobbying, and other activities for over 88 years. News and events, member services, and links to offices nationwide, including the eastern regional office in Orlando, Fla. Actor's Equity Association, New York, N.Y.

Costume Society of America
http://www.costumesocietyamerica.com/
Costume-related study tours, exhibit calendars, scholarship and award information, and more. Costume Society of America, Earleville, Md

International Thespian Society/Educational Theatre Association
http://www.edta.org
Provides information and links related to school theatre and theatre education. Advocacy, fund-raising, job listings, links to local and sister organizations, and more. Educational Theatre Association, Cincinnati, Ohio.

Stage Managers' Association
http://www.stagemanagers.org/
News, services and links of interest to stage managers of any venue. Stage Managers' Association, New York, N.Y

Virtual Communities & EJournals

Arts Journal.Com
http://www.artsjournal.com/
Daily digest of news stories related to the arts. Stories are hyperlinked to the original source. ArtsJournal.com, Inc.

Community Arts Network
http://www.communityarts.net/index.php
News, links, a virtual “Reading Room”, and support for community arts organizations. Department of Theatre Arts at Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, Va.; Art in the Public Interest, Saxapahaw, N.C.

Institute of Outdoor Drama
http://www.unc.edu/depts/outdoor/
Newsletter, audition page, and national directory of outdoor drama events. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, N.C.

Southern Arts Federation
http://www.southarts.org/saf.htm
Programs and services, job listings and more, in support of the arts in the South. Southern Arts Federation, Atlanta, Ga.

artjobonline
http://www.artjob.org/
A wide variety of online job listings in the arts. Western States Arts Federation, Denver, Colo

Entertainment Careers.net
http://www.entertainmentcareers.net/
Online job listings in the entertainment industry.Entertainment Careers.net

BackstageJobs.com
http://backstagejobs.com/
Online U.S. and international job listings for backstage and technical work in the live entertainment industry. BackstageJobs.com

Playbill Online Casting Notices and Jobs
http://www.playbill.com/jobs/find/
Online job ads in all areas of theatre and production. Playbill Online, New York, N.Y.

Dance Art.com
http://www.danceart.com/
Virtual community for anyone interested in Dance. Provides a searchable index of dance and ballet jobs, schools, studio directory, resources for directors and administrators, Dance news, and more. Dance Art.com

 

Gateways to Theatre and Performance related web resources

Artslynx
http://www.artslynx.org
Comprehensive gateway to worldwide arts information in virtually every medium and venue--including Theater, Dance, Music, the Visual Arts, and more. Also includes links to job information, advocacy for the arts, arts administration resources, funding, resources for teachers, and more. Colorado Council on the Arts and the College of Arts and Media, University of Colorado, Denver.

Virtual Library Museums Pages
http://vlmp.museophile.sbu.ac.uk/
Comprehensive gateway to virtual museums of every kind—art, film, computer, historical, and others—grouped by country. Searchable. The WWW Virtual Library

American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
http://memory.loc.gov/
Online access to digital exhibits prepared from the vast holdings of the Library of Congress. Film clips from the silent era, Edison sound recordings, early animation, historical movie posters, scripts, music, daguerreotypes, vaudeville memorabilia, and more. Click on “Collection Finder” to browse the exhibits, or search the collection using key words. Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.

Librarians Index to the Internet: Arts Topics
http://lii.org/
Searchable gateway to arts-related internet resources. Look in the "Arts" topic on the main page. California State Librarian, Library of California, Sacramento, Calif.

Digital Librarian: Performing Arts
http://www.digital-librarian.com/performing.html
List of links to acting, theater, and performing arts resources. Digital Librarian: A Librarian’s Choice of the Best of the Web, Cortland, N.Y

American Ballet Theater - Library
http://www.abt.org/education/library.asp
Provides access to a ballet dictionary, repertory archive, and links to education and training. American Ballet Theater, N.Y.

[back to top]