Library Services

Research Guide for Film, Video & Graphic Design

This is a research guide to highlight library materials appropriate for Film Video & Graphic Design. Books, journal titles, videos and DVDs can be found through the Library catalog.  

Table of Contents

Encyclopedia of Popular Culture Cover
Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
Available Online

Subject Librarian

If you need assistance or have suggestions about this guide, please contact:

Rachel Cooke,
Librarian
Fine and Performing Arts, Languages and Literature, Communication, and Humanities
Phone: 239-590-7606
Email: rcooke@fgcu.edu

Online Databases

Major Full-text Databases

Academic Onefile
Includes over 8,000 academic journals (over 5,300 peer-reviewed), the majority in full-text.

Academic Search Complete (EbscoHost)
Includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

Biography Resource Center
Biographical information on more than 1 million people from throughout history and around the world.

Omnifile
Full text from over 1,700 journals; indexing/abstracts from over 3,000.

Proquest Research Library
Includes more than 3,820 titles—over 2,550 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

 

Specialized Databases

ACM Digital Library
Full-text access to all ACM journals, magazines, and Special Interest Group conference proceedings from 1991 through the present. A wide range of computer- and information-science topics are covered.

ArticleFirst
Contains bibliographic citations from more than 13,000 journals. Each record describes one article, news story, letter, or other item.

ARTstor
A repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images.

Bibliography of the History of Art
Contains records describing the current literature of art, including books, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and journal articles in more than 2,500 periodicals.

Computer & Information Systems Abstracts
Provides access to thousands of published sources in computer technology, including computer animation.

Psychological Study of the Arts (PSA)
Psychological Study of the Arts explores literary questions using psychology, often psychoanalytic psychology. The concepts explored have natural extensions to media other than words on paper, to film, video, the visual arts, and so on.

[back to top]

 

Reference Materials

Art20: the Thames and Hudson multimedia dictionary of modern art. [CD-ROM] / REF N6490.A78 1998
Art business encyclopedia / REF N8600.D83 1994
Artist's resource: the Watson-Guptill guide to academic programs, artists' colonies and artist-in-residence programs, conferences, workshops / REF N8600.C49 1999
Biographical handbook of Hispanics and United States film / REF PN1995.9.H47K46
Careers for color connoisseurs & other visual types / eBook- Click here to view
Career opportunities in art / REF N6505.H35
Careers in art / eBook- Click here to view
Cinema studies: the key concepts / REF ND31.C37 1992
Critical dictionary of film and television theory / REF PN1993.45.C75
Deskbook of art law / REF KF4288.D82
Dictionary of multimedia: terms & acronyms / REF QA76.15.H32
Dictionary of personal computing and internet applications: a guide for developers and users / REF TK5105.875.I57 B64
Directory of M.A. & Ph.D. programs in art, art history, and related areas / REF N385.D567
Encyclopedia of computer science and technology / REF QA76.15.E5
Halliwell's film and video guide / REF PN1998.H433
International dictionary of broadcasting and film / REF PN1990.4.B64
Language of cinema / REF PN1993.45.J23
Petersons professional degree programs in the visual and performing arts / REF NX303.P52
Women film directors: an international bio-critical dictionary / REF PN1998.2.F67

[back to top]

 

Journals

Cineaste
Per TR1.A62 and Online
Index | Abstract
Continuum
Per PN1993.J66  and Online
Index | Abstract
DV [Digital video]
Per TR899.D4  and Online
Index | Abstract
Interview
Per TR1.A62  and Online
Index | Abstract
Journal of popular film and television
Per TR1.V53  and Online
Peer Reviewed | Index | Abstract
Variety
Per TR1.A62  and Online
Index | Abstract
Wired
Per TR1.A62 
Index | Abstract
 

[back to top]

 

Web Resources

Quick Guide to Evaluating Internet Information
http://library.fgcu.edu/Subjects/general/evaluate.htm
If you are using information from the web, the burden is entirely on you to ensure that your sources are reliable.  Use this site to learn how to judge internet information the way your instructors do.

 

Community & Government Resources

Advocacy

Americans for the Arts
http://www.artsusa.org/
Central clearinghouse for arts advocacy. Research, Art Education, news, a national arts policy database, publications, events, and more. Americans for the Arts, Washington, D.C. and New York, N.Y.

Center for Arts and Culture
http://www.culturalpolicy.org/
An independent think tank focused on the arts and public policy. Research, contact information for experts in the field, data and statistics, and more. Center for Arts and Culture, Washington, D.C.

National Initiative for a Networked Cultural Heritage
http://www-ninch.cni.org/
News, events, links, digital resources, policies, projects, publications and more from this non-profit organization focused on fostering an artistic and cultural presence on the World Wide Web. National Initiative for a Networked Cultural Heritage, Washington, D.C.

 

Educational Resources

AGFA Photography Online Photo Course
http://www.agfaphoto.com/library/photocourse/index.html
A 36-part (and growing) online set of photography lessons from a world leader in imaging technology. Also includes links to B&W and Digital photography courses, as well as a small online photography library. Agfa-Gevaert Group, Mortsel, Belgium

Government Agencies

National Assembly of State Arts Agencies
http://www.nasaa-arts.org/
News, event calendars, contact information and more from state and local arts agencies nationwide. National Assembly of State Arts Agencies, Washington, D.C.

National Endowment for the Arts
http://arts.endow.gov/
Gateway to art and art-education-related news, information, research, and resources gathered by the N.E.A. U.S. National Endowment for the Arts, Washington, D.C.

Florida Division of Cultural Affairs
http://www.florida-arts.org/index.asp
Gateway to funding information, public art directories, and other resources offered in support of the arts by the State of Florida. Florida Department of State, Tallahassee, Fla.

Grants & Funding

The Foundation Center Online
http://fdncenter.org/
News, research, and more, including an online form to ask grant-related questions, from arguably the most important resource in grant writing available. The Foundation Center, N.Y.

Foundations Online
http://www.foundations.org/
Directory and links to a wide range of grant-giving agencies. Northern California Community Foundation, Inc., Menlo Park, Calif.

Americans for the Arts and Arts & Business Council
http://www.artsusa.org/private_sector_affairs/arts_and_business_council/
Gateway to four web sites aimed at making connections between artists and businesses for their mutual benefit. Arts & Business Council Web, Business Volunteers for the Arts, National Arts Marketing Project, and the Arts-to-Business Databank, an online database providing corporate users (members only) with contact information, services and resources artists can provide for them. Arts & Business Council, Inc., New York, N.Y.

Professional Organizations & Resources

NAIA Online
http://www.naia-artists.org/
Information, news and support for the independent artist. National Association of Independent Artists, Madison, Wisconsin

Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences
http://www.oscars.org/
Links to Academy activities, archives, and education and preservation resources for commercial and feature film. Academy Foundation, Beverly Hills, California

American Film Institute (AFI)
http://www.afionline.org/
Access to the AFI's considerable resources for commercial and feature film. Links to AFI news, activities, galleries, and educational opportunities. American Film Institute, Los Angeles, California

Florida Association of Museums
http://www.flamuseums.org/
Directory of Florida museums, exhibit calendars, and links to resources for museum visitors and staff. Florida Association of Museums, Tallahassee, Fla.

 

Virtual Communities & Ejournals

NYFA Interactive
http://www.nyfa.org/default.asp
Arts-related news, art & technology web tutorials, job listings, information for grant writers, a web portal, and more. New York Foundation for the Arts, New York, N.Y.

Arts Journal.Com
http://www.artsjournal.com/
Daily digest of news stories related to the arts. Stories are hyperlinked to the original source. ArtsJournal.com, Inc.

ARTtalk Web Page
http://www.arttalk.com
Online monthly newsletter for visual artists. News, products, art history, and related topics. ARTTalk.com, Inc.

Animation World Network (AWN)
http://www.awn.com/index.php3
News, instruction, web animation guide, ejournals, tutorials, gallery exhibitions, job opportunities, and clips, all related to computer and traditional animation. CreativePLANET, Inc., Los Angeles, California

National Alliance for Media Arts and Culture
http://www.namac.org/
National events, resources and links, job postings, current legislation, a national directory to local arts organizations and more related to digital and media arts. National Alliance for Media Arts and Culture, San Francisco, Calif

New York Institute of Photography
http://www.nyip.com/
Contests, news, an online “Reference Shelf” and monthly photo tips. New York Institute of Photography, New York

artjobonline
http://www.artjob.org/
A wide variety of online job listings in the arts. Western States Arts Federation, Denver, Colo

Southern Arts Federation
http://www.southarts.org/saf.htm
Programs and services, job listings and more, in support of the arts in the South. Southern Arts Federation, Atlanta, Ga.

Photo.net
http://www.photo.net/
A virtual community in support of amateur and professional photography. Learning forums, equipment, classified advertising, news and reviews, discussion groups, and more. Photo.net, Cambridge, Mass.

Apogee Photo: The Internet's Photography Magazine
http://www.apogeephoto.com/apogee.html
Feature articles, columns, business information, archives and more about all aspects of traditional and digital photography for photographers of any age or skill level. Apogee Photo, Inc. Conifer, Colorado

Wired News
http://www.wired.com
From the publishers of Wired magazine. A wide range of computer and technology related news and links. Wired USA, San Francisco, Calif

ZDNet
http://www.zdnet.com
Virtual community and web portal to all things computer and technology related. How-to pages, newsletters, downloads, jobs, and more. CNET Networks Inc., San Francisco, Calif.

 

Download Video

Atom Films
http://www.atomfilms.com/
Online free distribution of short live-action and animation features submitted by independent filmmakers from around the world. AtomShockwave, Inc., San Francisco, California

IFILM
http://www.ifilm.com/
Online free distribution of short live-action and animation features submitted by independent filmmakers from around the world. Movie reviews, news, and links. IFILM Corp., Hollywood, California

Shockwave
http://www.shockwave.com/online.jsp
Animation, games and more. Watch online or download the free player. AtomShockwave, Inc., San Francisco, California

Wildbrain
http://www.wildbrain.com/
Computer-animated shorts and series. Wild Brain, Inc., San Francisco, Calif.

Gateways

Artslynx
http://www.artslynx.org
Comprehensive gateway to worldwide arts information in virtually every medium and venue--including Theater, Dance, Music, the Visual Arts, and more. Also includes links to job information, advocacy for the arts, arts administration resources, funding, resources for teachers, and more. Colorado Council on the Arts and the College of Arts and Media, University of Colorado, Denver.

Librarians Index to the Internet: Arts Topics
http://lii.org/
Searchable gateway to arts-related internet resources (Choose the subject "Art"). California State Librarian, Library of California, Sacramento, Calif.

Virtual Library Museums Pages
http://vlmp.museophile.sbu.ac.uk/
Comprehensive gateway to virtual museums of every kind—art, film, computer, historical, and others—grouped by country. Searchable. The WWW Virtual Library

American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
http://memory.loc.gov/
Online access to digital exhibits prepared from the vast holdings of the Library of Congress. Film clips from the silent era, Edison sound recordings, early animation, historical movie posters, scripts, music, daguerreotypes, vaudeville memorabilia, and more. Click on “Collection Finder” to browse the exhibits, or search the collection using key words. Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.

Digital Librarian: Audio, Video, Multimedia
http://www.digital-librarian.com/audio.html
List of links to audio, video, and multimedia related resources. Digital Librarian: A Librarian’s Choice of the Best of the Web, Cortland, N.Y.

Digital Librarian: Web Page Design
http://www.digital-librarian.com/web.html
List of links to web page design-related resources. Digital Librarian: A Librarian’s Choice of the Best of the Web, Cortland, N.Y.

The Virtual Library: Computing
http://www.vlib.org/Computing.html
List of links to computing-related resources. TheWWW Virtual Library

Artport
http://whitney.org/
The Artport is a gateway to net and digital art viewable online. The Whitney Museum of American Art, New York.

[back to top]