Library Services

Back to Business Guide Home | How Do I...? | Citation Styles | General FAQs


Research Guide for SIC and NAICS Codes

Online Databases | Reference Materials | Web Resources

 

Online Databases

ABI/INFORM Global
Abi/Inform Global (Proquest) searches for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Fast access to information on 60,000 + companies with business and executive profiles. Citations include abstracts and indexes of significant articles from nearly 1,000 current business and management periodicals. Provides access to full text of articles from 570 journals. Now includes The Wall Street Journal. Coverage: 1971 - Present

Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost)
Journal article coverage for most academic areas of study—including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, languages, linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women’s studies. Full text articles from over 1,560 journals with many dating back to 1990 are available. Abstracts and indexing for nearly 3,000 scholarly journals, many dating back to 1984. Wall Street Journal and The New York Times also can be searched through Academic Search Elite. Updated: Daily

Access World News
Full text news from over 500 U.S. and Canadian Newspapers, news sources and domestic and international newswires. Coverage: 1991 onwards. Colorful Maps, News Headlines and monthly archive of top news.

Berkeley Electronic Press Journal collection
Berkley Electronic Press provides access to journals in the following categories: economics, business, and marketing; law; political science and current affairs; biological sciences; and engineering.

Business and Company Resource Center
Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information. Provides Company profiles, company brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals. 53 Industries are covered in this database. Coverage: 1980-Present.

Business & Management Practices
Search online articles on business concepts, industries, management issues, business practices including: benchmark planning, best practices, business plans, corporate culture, expansion, long range planning, quality control, reengineering, resources case studies and guidelines etc. Includes case studies and how-to articles.

Business Dateline
Business Dateline provides online articles from regional publications, Business Wire press releases, and major newspapers. This database includes information about resources describing regional business activities, trends and major stories on local firms, their products, and executives. Subject coverage includes agriculture manufacturing, company profiles marketing, corporate planning professional services, corporate strategies real estate, executive profiles regional business, financial services research and development, health care retailing, high technology service industries, and human resources transportation.

Business Organization Directory
A unique guide to international business information sources. Lists contact name, address, phone, and fax numbers, and a description of the organization's founding, membership, activities, and sources.

EconLit
Citations for dissertations and articles from more than 620 collective volumes per year. Coverage: 1969-Present.

Emerald Fulltext
Search over 35,000 full text articles drawn from an international management portfolio, covering a spectrum of management disciplines, including strategy, leadership, library and information management, marketing and human resource management, as well as engineering, applied science, and technology titles. Full-text archives date back to 1994.

General Business File ASAP
Search for reports on company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Includes broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images. Directory listings for over 150,000 companies as well as investment analysts’ reports on major companies and industries are available. Coverage: 1980-Present

Hoovers Company Information (Capsules and Profiles)
Search for in-depth company information on over 5,000 companies with Hoover's Company Profiles. Each profile provides an overview and history, as well as information on key people, products, subsidiaries competitors, company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more.

InfoTrac OneFile
Search articles humanities, education, business, science, current events, art, politics, economics, social science, law, health care, computers, technology, environmental issues, and general interest topics.

Investext Plus Thompson Financial
Reports and forecasts prepared by top Wall Street and international brokerage firms. Investment, company and industry reports from over 500 brokers in North America, Europe, Asia/Pacific, Latin America, Africa and the Middle East. Company and industry reports in full page PDF image. Information on more than 11,000 U.S. and international companies and 53 industries. Coverage: 1998-2000

JSTOR
Complete back files of the core scholarly journals in many subject areas including business and economics, starting from the very first issue, many of which date from 1800s.

LexisNexis Academic
Full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Company News and Company financial information for public and private companies (includes reports from Hoovers, Disclosures) SEC filings News from over 25 industries Full Text federal, state and & International legal material.

ReferenceUSA
Online Access to a database of 12 million businesses in U.S., providing contact information, employee size, sales figures, subsidiary linkage, single point mapping, credit rating codes, lines of business and executive names of a given company. Allows searching by selecting one criterions or with a combination of multiple criteria like geography, type of business, business size and SIC codes.

Standard & Poors Net Advantage
Created by Standard & Poor's, NetAdvantage provides electronic access to the following publications Bond Guides: Convertible Bond Guides: Corporation Bond Guides: Foreign Corporation Records Corporation Records: Closed-End Funds Dividend Records Earnings Guide Industry Survey Monthly Investment Review Mutual Funds Register of Corporations Register of Corporations: Private Companies Register of Executives: Stock Guide: Closed-End Funds Stock Guide: Common Stocks Stock Guide: Convertible Preferred Stocks Stock Guide: Mutual Funds Stock Guide: Preferred Stock Stock Guide: Warrants Stock Reports Stock Reports-Closed-End Funds The Outlook.

Stat-USA- State of the Nation
Current and historical economic and financial releases and economic data on US economy. Information on General Economic Indicators, Housing and construction, employment, monetary statistics and economic policy can be searched.

Stat-USA- Globus
Current and historical trade-related releases, international market research, trade opportunities, country analysis, and access to the trade library...the National Trade Data Bank (NTDB). Offers daily trade leads from the Trade Opportunities Program (TOPS), as well as the Department of Agriculture. Globus also offers daily procurement activity from the Defense Logistics Agency, the United Nations, and the Commerce Business Daily leads. NTDB and International Trade Library provides access to Country Commercial Guides, Market Research Reports, and Best Market reports in addition to U.S. import and export statistics. Contains over 40,000 full text documents related to international trade. Updated: Daily.

Wall Street Journal
Full text of business news and information on financial markets worldwide. Coverage: 1984-Present.

Westlaw Campus
A web-based legal research tool for undergraduate and graduate students who need to research law-related issues. This resource includes access to the complete laws and statutes of the federal government and all 50 states, federal regulations, precedent-setting court decisions, KeyCite, American Law Reports, American Jurisprudence, and current and archived articles from hundreds of leading law reviews and journals. “Connect now” links leads to user agreement; click on "I agree" and "Go" to connect to Westlaw Campus.

Wilson Business Full Text
Wilson Business Full Text provides articles from more than 350 publications as far back as 1995 as well as abstracting and indexing of more than 600 publications as far back as 1982.

[back to top]

 

Reference Materials

Standard industrial classification manual : SIC 2+2 / REF HF 1042 S732
Industry norms and key business ratios / REF HF5681.B2 D8x
North American Industry classification system / REF HF1042 N67
Business heading and SIC code : cross reference guide : a comprehensive listing of all yellow page headings and business types including main business heading, related business headings / REF HF1042 .B87
Doing business in 2004 : understanding regulation / REF K563.B87 D65 2004

[back to top]

 

Web Resources

NORTH AMERICAN INDUSTRY CLASSIFICATION SYSTEM (NAICS)

NAICS Clearinghouse
http://www.library.georgetown.edu/bic/help/naics/index.htm
Contains information on Links to Resources, Current Awareness on NAICS, NAICS and SIC Bibliography, and Vendors of NAICS/Other Code Sources

NAICS Page from U.S. Census Bureau
http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/naics.html
Great Source for Conversion tables for SIC to NAICS and NAICS to SIC codes. This web site covers good information on how the new system is going to effect users and provides link for any question on the issue of NAICS. One can also read the history and development issues related to NAICS. A must see for NAICS users.

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
http://gulib.lausun.georgetown.edu/swr/business/naicslin.htm
Mega sites with hundreds of links for all the issues related to SIC and NAICS codes. A must stop if you are looking for information on SIC and NAICS codes.

SIC & NAICS Corresponding tables
http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/naicstab.htm#download

SIC CODES

Standard Industrial Classification Codes
http://www.osha.gov/oshstats/sicser.html
This is a complete listing of all Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) codes developed by the US Department of Labor to classify industries.

Alphabetical SIC Listing
http://www.osha.gov/pls/imis/sicsearch.html
This is a complete list of the long names of US SIC categories, but please note that not all categories have entries.

Federal Market Place
http://www.fedmarket.com/
This site provides the browsing feature for SIC Codes.

 

[back to top]