Library Services

Back to Business Guide Home | How Do I...? | Citation Styles


Research Guide for Accounting and Tax

For additional assistance or comments about this guide, contact:
Kay Oistad, Associate Librarian
Business and Resort & Hospitality Management
Email: koistad@fgcu.edu
Phone: 239-590-7604

Reference Materials - In library use only

Accounting & Taxation Index REF Z7164.C81 A5 (serial)
Accounting Trends & Techniques REF  HF5681.B2 A38 2006
Cracking the Code : Financial Statements Explained REFHF5681.B2 N34 2004
Encyclopedia of Taxation & Tax Policy REF HJ2305.E53 2005
GAAP 2006 : Handbook of Policies and Procedures REF HF5626.G3 2006
Penguin Dictionary of Accounting REF HF5621.N63 2002

E-Books

Accounting Best Practices; 2004
Auditors Dictionary: Terms, Concepts, Processes and Regulations; 2004
Deduct It!: Lower Your Small Business Taxes; 2004
Dictionary of Accounting (Oxford)
Handbook of International Financial Terms (Oxford)
J. K. Lasser's Small Business Taxes: Your Complete Guide to a Better Bottom Line; 2005
Tax Planning and Compliance for Tax-Exempt Organizations: Rules, Checklists, Procedures; 2004
Tax Savvy for Small Business: Year-Round Tax Strategies to Save You Money; 8th ed. 2004
Tax Smarts for Small Business; 2004
Ultimate Accountants' Reference: Including GAAP, IRS, and SEC Regulations, Leases, and More; 2005

Books Available for Check-out

Accounting Best Practices HF5635 .B818 2005
Auditor's Dictionary: Terms, Concepts, Processes and Regulations HF5667.O6728 2004
Business Valuation and Taxes: Procedure, Law, and Perspective HF5681.V3 L37 2005
Concise Guide to Mergers, Acquisitions and Divestitures: Business, Legal, Finance, Accounting, Tax and Process Aspects HD2746.5.B765 2007
Financial Intelligence: a Manager's Guide to Knowing What the Numbers Really Mean HG4028.B2 B422 2006
International Financial Reporting Standards Desk Reference Overview, Guide, and Dictionary HF5681.B2 H847 2007
Learning Annex Presents Small Business Basics: Your Complete Guide to a Better Bottom Line KF1659.Z9 W45 2005
Management Accounting Best Practices: a Guide for the Professional Accountant HF5636.B834 2007
More Than a Numbers Game: a Brief History of Accounting HF5616.U5 K53 2006
Taxation for Decision Makers KF6369.3 .D46 2004
Taxation of Business Entities KF6450.W48 2007
West Federal Taxation. Advanced Business Entity Taxation KF6450.W479 2004
Wiley GAAP Policies and Procedures HF5616.U5 B7 2007

Online Databases
The databases listed here are the most relevant for accounting and tax. Additional business databases are available from the Articles & Databases page.

ABI/INFORM Complete
ABI/Inform Complete simultaneously searches ABI/INFORM Global, Archive, Dateline, and Trade & Industry databases. Full-text articles from over 2,800 titles are available. Topics include business and economic conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape worldwide.

Academic OneFile
A comprehensive database with articles from over 8,000 academic journals, many in full-text.

Accounting & Tax
Based on the Accountants' Index, this quintessential tool for professionals provides current accounting, taxation, and financial management information. National and international in scope, key publications focus on accounting policies and standards, state and national tax legislation, corporate and individual taxation, compensation and pension plans, and corporate financial management, as well as profiles of accounting firms, CPAs, and management consulting firms.

Banking Information Source
Search essential banking industry publications providing information about the financial services industry, banking, and industry trends. Access to over 450 sources of information, including industry and professional newsletters.

Blackwell Synergy
Full-text access to over 850 scholarly journals, most published by Blackwell, with nearly 150 of the titles in account9ing and tax, economics, banking and finance, and business and management.

CCH Internet Tax Research Network
CCH's full-text tax research library including Standard Federal Tax Reporter, Tax Court Reports, Federal Tax Service, all 51 State Tax Reporters, S-Corporation Guide, etc.

Emerald Fulltext
Search over 35,000 full text articles drawn from an international management portfolio, covering a spectrum of management disciplines, including strategy, leadership, marketing, and human resource management, as well as engineering, applied science, and technology titles.

General Business File ASAP
Search for reports on company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Includes broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images. Directory listings for over 150,000 companies as well as investment analysts’ reports on major companies and industries are available.

TableBase
This international database specializes exclusively in tabular data dealing with companies, industries, products, and demographics. Tables cover market share, rankings, forecasts, shipments, output, consumption, users, exports, imports, capacity and more. Tables are from a range of sources including trade and business publications, investment research, trade associations, statistical annuals, primary research, international organizations and government. Over 25,000 tables are added per year.

Wilson Business Full Text
Fast, convenient access to a multitude of outstanding business sources. With quality abstracting and indexing of more than 850 publications, find feature articles, product reviews, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, book reviews, reports from associations, societies, trade shows and conferences, and more. 

Web Resources

Accounting Terminology Guide
http://www.nysscpa.org/prof_library/guide.htm

Glossary of accounting terms and links to other useful information and websites.

Advancing Government Accountability
http://www.agacgfm.org/homepage.aspx
Information about the AGA as well as links to numerous other accounting organizations and financial management resources.

AICPA Online
http://www.aicpa.org

American Accounting Association
http://aaahq.org/index.cfm

AuditNet
http://www.auditnet.org/
A wealth of topics, resources, standards, and career information for auditors.

Financial Accounting Standards Board
http://www.fasb.org/

Government Accounting Office
http://www.gao.gov/

Government Accounting Standards Board
http://www.gasb.org/rlinks/index.html
Links to hundreds of websites related to accounting, auditing, debt & municipal bonds, demographic & economic indicators, financial condition, financial management, government accounting, infrastructure & capital assets, international accounting, managerial accounting, pensions & employee benefits, professional organizations, state & local government, transportation, user groups & organizations. A real must see!

International Accounting Standards Board
http://www.iasb.org/Home.htm

International Federation of Accountants
http://www.ifac.org

IRS Revenue Bulletins
http://www.irs.gov/businesses/lists/0,,id=98230,00.html
The source for all substantive rulings of the IRS.

IRS Revenue Rulings
http://www.taxlinks.com/
An online source for IRS revenue rulings by date or searchable by key word.

Tax, Accounting, and Payroll Sites
http://www.taxsites.com/
Links to a variety of sites including quick access to the IRS and tax forms.

U.S. Department of the Treasury
http://www.ustreas.gov/
Up to the minute information about U.S. coins and currency, the economy, financial markets, taxes, international financial affairs, and a direct link to Treasury bonds, bills, and notes with rates and tools for calculating value.

U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
http://www.sec.gov/

U.S. Tax Code Online
http://www.fourmilab.ch/ustax/ustax.html
Complete text of the U.S. Internal Revenue Code; Title 26 of the U.S. Code.

Journals - Search the E-Journal Portal for hundreds of full-text periodicals related to tax and accounting including:

Accountancy Age
Accounting Review
Accounting Today
Auditing
CPA Journal
Florida Tax Review
Healthcare Financial Management
Internal Auditor
International Tax Journal
Journal of Accountancy
Journal of State Taxation
National Public Accountant
National Tax Journal
Practical Accountant
Tax Adviser

 

 

 

Revised 6/11/08