Back to Business Guide Home | How Do I...? | Citation Styles
Research Guide for Advertising
For additional assistance or comments about this guide, contact:
Kay Oistad, Associate Librarian
Business and Resort & Hospitality Management
Email: koistad@fgcu.edu
Phone: 239-590-7604
Reference Materials - In library use only
Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising REF
HF5803 .A38 2003
Advertising Red Books. Agencies (Formerly Standard Directory of Advertising Agencies); annual plus supplements
REF
HF5805 .A38
Career Opportunities in Advertising and Public Relations REF
HF5828.4 .F54 2006
Dictionary of Marketing and Advertising REF
HF5415 .R577 1995
Elsevier's Dictionary of Advertising in English, German, French, and Russian REF HF5803.M36 2002
Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media REF
HQ784.M3 E53 2007
Sage Handbook of Advertising REF
HF5823 .S17 2007
E-books
Advertising to Children on TV: Content, Impact, and Regulation
Building Your eBay Traffic the Smart Way: Use Froogle, Datafeeds, Cross-selling, Advanced Listing Strategies, and More to Boost Your Sales On the Web's #1 Auction Site
Careers in Advertising
Diversity in Advertising: Broadening the Scope of Research Directions
Do-it-yourself Advertising and Promotion: How to Produce Great Ads, Brochures, Catalogs, Direct Mail, Web Sites, and More!
Educating the Consumer-Citizen: a History of the Marriage of Schools, Advertising, and Media
Future of Advertising: New Media, New Clients, New Consumers in the Post-Television Age
Media Handbook: a Complete Guide to Advertising Media Selection, Planning, Research, and Buying
Online Consumer Psychology: Understanding and Influencing Consumer Behavior in the Virtual World
Psychology of Entertainment Media: Blurring the Lines Between Entertainment and Persuasion
Resumes for Advertising Careers: With Sample Cover Letters
WetFeet Insider Guide to Careers in Advertising and Public Relations
Winning Clients in a Wired World: Seven Strategies for Growing Your Business Using Technology and the Web
Online Databases
The databases listed here are the most relevant for accounting and tax. Additional business databases are available from the Articles & Databases page.
ABI/INFORM Complete
ABI/Inform Complete simultaneously searches ABI/INFORM Global, Archive, Dateline, and Trade & Industry databases. Full-text articles from over 2,800 titles are available. Topics include business and economic conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape worldwide.
Academic OneFile
A comprehensive database with articles from over 8,000 academic journals, many in full-text.
Academic Search Complete
Indexing and abstracting of over 10,900 publications (!), more than 5,300 of which are full text.
Business and Company Resource Center
Company profiles, rankings, investment reports, histories, and financials. Industry overviews, investment reports, and associations.
Business & Industry
A multi industry, international database that provides access to company, industry, market, and product information. Provides the ability to combine subject terms with specialized marketing and advertising terms. Covers over 600 leading trade and business sources.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth in the communication and mass media fields.
General Business File ASAP
Search for reports on company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Includes broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals, and company directory listings with full text and images. Directory listings for over 150,000 companies as well as investment analysts’ reports on major companies and industries are available.
LexisNexis Academic
Provides more than 9.5 million documents from over 18,300 sources. Lexis-Nexis Universe provides access to company profiles and financial reports, government transcripts, trade journals and academic and legal databases. Their files are updated with full-text documents from general interest wire services, newspapers, and magazines from around the world.
OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition
This multi-disciplinary database provides the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases, and full-text articles from five additional periodical databases available on WilsonWeb. Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Full text from over 1,700 journals; indexing/abstracts from over 3,000.
SRDS Business Publication Advertising Source
Complete access to the proprietary SRDS database of domestic trade and healthcare publications. This service contains standardized ad rates, dates, contact information and links to online media kits, Web sites and audit statements.
SRDS Consumer Publication Advertising Source
Complete planning information on U.S. consumer magazines, including standardized ad rates, dates, contact information and links to online media kits, Web sites and audit statements that provide additional facts on readership information and positioning.
SRDS Newspaper Advertising Source
Complete planning information on daily papers, newspaper groups, ethnic newspapers, college newspapers, international newspapers, comics and newspaper-distributed magazines. This proprietary database contains standardized ad rates, dates, contact information and links to online media kits and Web sites that provide additional facts on readership information and positioning.
Stat-USA- Globus & NTDB
Obtain current and historical trade-related releases, international market research, trade opportunities, country analysis, and access to the National Trade Data Bank.
Web Resources
Cable Television Advertising Bureau
http://www.onetvworld.org/
Information and statistics on cable television programming, viewership, ratings, and advertising expenditures. Also includes general information and studies on the cable television industry.
AD*Access
http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/adaccess/
A searchable database of over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.
Advertising Age Magazine
http://www.adage.com
Online version of Advertising Age magazine. Includes articles and some of AdAge's well known lists such as the Top 200 Brands and the Top 300 Magazines. Links to free registration for AdAge China, AdAge CMO Strategy, and AdAge Madison+Vine.
Advertising World
http://advertising.utexas.edu/world/
Maintained by the Department of Advertising at the University of Texas at Austin, Advertising World bills itself as " the ultimate marketing communications directory," featuring "the most extensive collection of advertising-related links on the Web."
Brandchannel.com
http://brandchannel.com
Committed to providing a global perspective on brands, this database provides an online exchange about branding. Also includes a directory of branding professionals and consultants.
ClickZ
http://www.clickz.com
Developed
to help interactive marketers do their jobs better,
the ClickZ Network is "the largest resource of interactive marketing news, information, commentary, advice, opinion, research, and reference in the world, online or off-."
ERSys - Earth Resource System
http://www.ersys.com/
Using maps, charts, reports, and relevant links, ERsys covers over 2,600 US cities with detailed information on demographics, environmental factors, economic indicators, housing stats, media (newspaper, television, and radio), schools, transportation, local contacts, and weather.
Marketing and Advertising Websites
http://gethelp.library.upenn.edu/guides/business/marketweb.html
Links to additional websites.
One Hundred Leading National Advertisers
http://adage.com/images/random/lna2007.pdf
Profiles of the top 100 marketers in this 52nd annual ranking published in AdAge, June 2007. (104 page pdf)
Journals and News - Search the E-Journal Portal for over 60 full-text periodicals related to advertising including the following:
Advertising Age
Adweek
Brandweek
Journal of Advertising
Journal of Advertising Research
Mediaweek
New Media Age
Public Relations Quarterly
Target Marketing
Revised 5/22/08
|