Library Services

Back to Business Guide Home | How Do I...? | Citation Styles

 

Research Guide for Banking

For additional assistance or comments about this guide, contact:
Kay Oistad, Associate Librarian
Business and Resort & Hospitality Management
Email: koistad@fgcu.edu
Phone: 239-590-7604

 

Reference Materials - In library use only

Banking in the U.S. : an Annotated Bibliography REF HG 2461 .D48
Banking Terminology
REF HG 151 .B268
The Credit & Lending Dictionary
REF HG151 .C73
Dictionary of Banking
REF HG151 R.66
Dictionary of Banking and Finance
REF HG151 .D365
Dictionary of Banking Terms
REF HG151 F57
Dictionary of International Trade
REF HF1373 .H55
Encyclopedia of Banking & Finance
REF HG151 .M8
Encyclopedic Dictionary of International Finance and Banking REF HG3880 .S55
Fitzroy Dearborn Directory of the World's Banks
REF HG3879 .W57
The Fitzroy Dearborn Encyclopedia of Banking & Finance
REF HG151 . E63
A Guide to Statistical Sources in Money, Banking, and Finance
REF HG 171 . B34
International Dictionary of Banking and Finance
REF HG151 .C54
Opportunities in Banking Careers
REF HG1573 .P37
Resumes for Banking and Financial Careers
REF HF 5383 .R433
The St. James Encyclopedia of Banking & Finance
REF HG151 .M8
World Bank Annual Report
REF HG 3881 .I5

E-Books

Bank Deregulation and Monetary Order
Beat the Street: the WebFeet Insider Guide to Investment Banking Interviews
Dictionary of Finance and Banking (Oxford)
Electronic Banking
Future of Banking
Handbook of International Banking
Impact of Banking Policy on Trade and Global Stability
Killer Investment Banking Resumes! The WebFeet Insider Guide
WetFeet Insider Guide to Careers in Investment Banking

Online Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete
ABI/Inform Complete simultaneously searches ABI/INFORM Global, Archive, Dateline, and Trade & Industry databases. Full-text articles from over 2,800 titles are available. Topics include business and economic conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape worldwide.

Access World News
Local, regional, and national newspapers as well as key business sources for large or small business and industry information.

Banking Information Source
Search essential banking industry publications providing information about the financial services industry, banking, and industry trends. Access to over 450 sources of information, including industry and professional newsletters.

Emerald Fulltext
Search over 35,000 full text articles drawn from an international management portfolio, covering a spectrum of management disciplines, including strategy, leadership, marketing, and human resource management, as well as engineering, applied science, and technology titles.

General Business File ASAP
Search for reports on company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Includes broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images. Directory listings for over 150,000 companies as well as investment analysts’ reports on major companies and industries are available.

Investext Plus
Reports and forecasts prepared by top Wall Street and international brokerage firms. Investment, company and industry reports from over 500 brokers in North America, Europe, Asia/Pacific, Latin America, Africa and the Middle East. Company and industry reports in full page PDF image. Information on more than 11,000 U.S. and international companies and 53 industries.

JSTOR
Complete back files of the core scholarly journals in many subject areas including business and economics, starting from the very first issue, many of which date from 1800s.

LexisNexis Academic
Full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Company News and Company financial information for public and private companies (includes reports from Hoovers, Disclosures) SEC filings News from over 25 industries Full Text federal, state and & International legal material.

Standard & Poors Net Advantage
Access to nine of the most popular S&P publications including Stock Reports, Industry Surveys, Corporation Records, and The Outlook.

Stat-USA - State of the Nation
Obtain current and historical U.S. economic and financial data.

Stat-USA - Globus and NTDB
Obtain current and historical trade-related releases, international market research, trade opportunities, country analysis, and access to the National Trade Data Bank

Westlaw Campus
A web-based legal research tool for undergraduate and graduate students who need to research law-related issues. This resource includes access to the complete laws and statutes of the federal government and all 50 states, federal regulations, precedent-setting court decisions, KeyCite, American Law Reports, American Jurisprudence, and current and archived articles from hundreds of leading law reviews and journals. From the first screen, select "I agree" and click GO.

Wiley InterScience
The business content from Blackwell Synergy is now available in Wiley InterScience, providing access to over 1,400 journals. Many are in the area of business, economics, finance, and accounting.

Wilson Business Full Text
Fast, convenient access to a multitude of outstanding business sources. With quality abstracting and indexing of more than 850 publications, find feature articles, product reviews, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, book reviews, reports from associations, societies, trade shows and conferences, and more. 

Web Resources

American Bankruptcy Institute
http://www.abiworld.org/
The premier site for bankruptcy information.

Bank Associations
http://www.ffiec.gov/default.htm

Bank for International Settlements
http://www.bis.org/
The Bank for International Settlements is owned and controlled by central banks and it provides a number of highly specialized services to central banks and, through them, to the international financial system more generally.

Bank Rate Monitor
http://www.bankrate.com/brm/default.asp?web=brm
Compare and/or track rates for mortgages, auto loans, home equity loans, CDs and investments, checking and savings, credit cards, and taxes. Lots of links to related news, advice and tips on the same topics.

Banking Resources Guide Created by Rutgers University
http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/rul/rr_gateway/research_guides/busi/banks.shtml
A must see. This site provides links to a large number of useful web sites on accounting resources.

Banking Technology News.
http://www.banktechnews.com/btn/m_btn2.shtml

BankruptcyData.com
http://www.bankruptcydata.com/
BankruptcyData.com is the premier business bankruptcy resource on the web. It provides instant access to information on thousands of business bankruptcy filings from federal bankruptcy districts and is updated daily.

Commercial Finance Online
http://www.cfol.com/
Directory of Finance companies and organizations grouped in to 30 subject categories. This is a paid site and companies have to pay fee to appear in this directory.

Federal Reserve Banks
http://www.federalreserve.gov/otherfrb.htm
Provides links to web sites of 12 Federal Reserve Banks in various states.

Foreign Central Banks
http://www.gbld.org/
Provides links to International Central Banks in many countries in English and the native language.

Federal Reserve Board
http://www.federalreserve.gov/
Information about the foreign exchange rates, consumer credit, interest rates and the money supply are available at this site.

International Monetary Fund
http://www.imf.org/external/index.htm

Internet Bankruptcy Library
http://bankrupt.com/
Worldwide troubled company resources.

National Information Center
http://www.ffiec.gov/nic/.
The National Information Center (NIC) provides comprehensive information on banks and other institutions for which the Federal Reserve has a supervisory, regulatory, or research interest including both domestic and foreign banking organizations operating in the U.S. This web site provides links to: Top 100 Banks, Bank Holding Companies, Foreign Branch of U.S. Bank, Large/Small Bank Holding Companies Member Banks, Acquisition/Institution History, Performance Reports like Summary Ratios for Banks.

The New York Times Banking Center
http://www.nytimes.com/partners/banking/index.html
Banking Center features daily quotes on online banking, loans and deposits offered by financial institutions in each market. It covers metropolitan, state-by-state, regional and national composite benchmarks for each banking product, as well as useful snapshot profiles of the banking institutions.

Office of the Comptroller of the Currency
http://www.occ.treas.gov/
The Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC) charters, regulates, and supervises national banks to ensure a safe, sound and competitive national banking system that supports the citizens, communities and economy of the United States.

The World Bank Group
http://www.worldbank.org/
Good site with links to banking news, publications, topics in development, countries and regions, doing business with the bank etc. The site also includes special interest features like report of World Bank on Japan Research Fair, HIV/AIDs and World Bank Annual Report 1997.

 

 

Revised 07/01/08