Library Services

Back to Business Guide Home | How Do I...? | Citation Styles


Research Guide for Business Ethics

For additional assistance or comments about this guide, contact:
Kay Oistad, Associate Librarian
Business and Resort & Hospitality Management
Email: koistad@fgcu.edu
Phone: 239-590-7604

Reference Materials - In library use only

AICPA professional Standards REF HF5667 . A43
A bibliography of business ethics, 1971-1975 REF HF 5387 J. 594
Blackwell encyclopedic dictionary of business ethics
REF HF5387 .B55
Business ethics : a reference handbook
REF HF 5387 D.54
Business ethics and responsibility : an information sourcebook
REF 5387 B.52
Codes of professional responsibility: ethics standards in business, health, and law
REF BJ1725 .C57
Legal and ethical dictionary for mental health professionals
REF KF3828.A934
Testing and standards: a brief encyclopedia
REF LB3051.W4966

Online Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete
ABI/Inform Complete simultaneously searches ABI/INFORM Global, Archive, Dateline, and Trade & Industry databases. Full-text articles from over 2,800 titles are available. Topics include business and economic conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape worldwide.

Academic OneFile
A comprehensive database with articles from over 8,000 academic journals, many in full-text.

Academic Search Complete
Indexing and abstracting of over 10,900 publications (!), more than 5,300 of which are full text.

Business and Company Resource Center
Company profiles, rankings, investment reports, histories, and financials. Industry overviews, investment reports, and associations.

Business & Management Practices
Search online articles on business concepts, industries, management issues, business practices including: benchmark planning, best practices, business plans, corporate culture, expansion, long range planning, quality control, reengineering, resources case studies and guidelines etc. Includes case studies and how-to articles.

Emerald Fulltext
Search over 35,000 full text articles drawn from an international management portfolio, covering a spectrum of management disciplines, including strategy, leadership, marketing, and human resource management, as well as engineering, applied science, and technology titles.

General Business File ASAP
Search for reports on company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Includes broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images. Directory listings for over 150,000 companies as well as investment analysts’ reports on major companies and industries are available.

Hoovers Company Information
Search for in-depth company information on over 5,000 companies with Hoover's Company Profiles. Each profile provides an overview and history, as well as information on key people, products, subsidiaries competitors, company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more.

JSTOR
Complete back files of the core scholarly journals in many subject areas including business and economics, starting from the very first issue, many of which date from 1800s.

LexisNexis Academic
Full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Company News and Company financial information for public and private companies (includes reports from Hoovers, Disclosures) SEC filings News from over 25 industries Full Text federal, state and & International legal material.

Standard & Poors Net Advantage
Created by Standard & Poor's, NetAdvantage provides electronic access to 14 S&P products.

Stat-USA- State of the Nation
Current and historical economic and financial releases and economic data on US economy. Information on General Economic Indicators, Housing and construction, employment, monetary statistics and economic policy can be searched.

Stat-USA- Globus
Current and historical trade-related releases, international market research, trade opportunities, country analysis, and access to the trade library...the National Trade Data Bank (NTDB). Offers daily trade leads from the Trade Opportunities Program (TOPS), as well as the Department of Agriculture. Globus also offers daily procurement activity from the Defense Logistics Agency, the United Nations, and the Commerce Business Daily leads. NTDB and International Trade Library provides access to Country Commercial Guides, Market Research Reports, and Best Market reports in addition to U.S. import and export statistics. Contains over 40,000 full text documents related to international trade. Updated: Daily.

Wall Street Journal
Full text of business news and information on financial markets worldwide.

Westlaw Campus
A web-based legal research tool for undergraduate and graduate students who need to research law-related issues. This resource includes access to the complete laws and statutes of the federal government and all 50 states, federal regulations, precedent-setting court decisions, KeyCite, American Law Reports, American Jurisprudence, and current and archived articles from hundreds of leading law reviews and journals. “Connect now” links leads to user agreement; click on "I agree" and "Go" to connect to Westlaw Campus.

Wilson Business Full Text
Wilson Business Full Text provides articles from more than 350 publications as far back as 1995 as well as abstracting and indexing of more than 600 publications as far back as 1982.

Web Resources

Better Business Bureau
http://www.bbb.org/
The web site provide valuable links helping consumers and businesses to maintain an ethical marketplace.

Business ethics
http://www.web-miner.com/busethics.htm
Created and maintained by Sharon Stoerger, who possesses both an MLA and MBA, this unassuming Web site contains well-chosen links to business ethics resources: articles and publications, case studies, corporate code of ethics, professional organizations and associations, and resources and centers. Each section of links is alphabetically arranged.

Business Ethics resources on the WWW
http://www.ethicsweb.ca/resources/business/
This site is very informative and has links to the following: Business Associations' Code of Ethics Business Ethics Institutions and Organizations Corporate Code of Ethics on line Ethics on Specific Topics, Public Sector Ethics Resources on WWW, Publications and Papers.

Institute for Business & Professional Ethics
http://commerce.depaul.edu/ethics/
The Institute for Business & Professional Ethics was established in 1995 by the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and Commerce at DePAul University to "encourage ethical deliberation in decision-makers by stirring the moral conscience and imagination: and this Web site provides an excellent platform for supporting this mission. The breadth of resource coverage is extremely thorough.

 

Revised 6/20/08