Back to Business Guide Home | How Do I...? | Citation Styles
Research Guide for Company Information
For additional assistance or comments about this guide, contact:
Kay Oistad, Associate Librarian
Business and Resort & Hospitality Management
Email: koistad@fgcu.edu
Phone: 239-590-7604
Reference Materials - In library use only
Dun's Regional Business Directory REF HG4058.T35 D86
Hoover's Hot 250: the stories behind America's fastest-growing companies REF HG4057 .A28623
Directory of Corporate Name Changes REF HG4057 .A2864
Major Companies of Europe REF HG4135.5 .M35
The Market guide REF HG4907 .M375
Moody's Complete Corporate Index REF HG4961 .M66
Moody's Handbook of Common Stocks REF HG4905 .M63
Moody’s OTC Industrial News Report REF HG4965 .M66
Moody's OTC Industrial Manual REF HG4961 .M7237
Wall Street Journal, Index REF HG1 .W26
Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies REF HG4957 .A565
Who Owns Whom. North America REF HG4538 .W423
World business directory REF HF54.U5 W667
Online Databases
ABI/INFORM Complete
ABI/Inform Complete simultaneously searches ABI/INFORM Global, Archive, Dateline, and Trade & Industry databases. Full-text articles from over 2,800 titles are available. Topics include business and economic conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape worldwide.
Access World News
Local, regional, and national newspapers as well as key business sources for large or small business and industry information.
Berkeley Electronic Press Journal collection
Berkley Electronic Press provides access to journals in the following categories: economics, business, and marketing; law; political science and current affairs; biological sciences; and engineering.
Business and Company Resource Center
Company profiles, rankings, investment reports, histories, financials, and industry overviews, investment reports, associations.
Business & Management Practices
Search online articles on business concepts, industries, management issues, business practices including: benchmark planning, best practices, business plans, corporate culture, expansion, long range planning, quality control, reengineering, resources case studies and guidelines etc. Includes case studies and how-to articles.
Business Organization Directory
A unique guide to international business information sources. Lists contact name, address, phone, and fax numbers, and a description of the organization's founding, membership, activities, and sources.
Emerald Fulltext
Search over 35,000 full text articles drawn from an international management portfolio, covering a spectrum of management disciplines, including strategy, leadership, marketing, and human resource management, as well as engineering, applied science, and technology titles.
General Business File ASAP
Search for reports on company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Includes broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images. Directory listings for over 150,000 companies as well as investment analysts’ reports on major companies and industries are available.
Hoovers Company Records
Up to date proprietary editorial content covering more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives; in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, etc.
Investext Plus
Integrates financial, marketing and corporate information, company and industry analyst reports. Provides 50,000 investment reports on over 11,000 companies and 53 industries.
LexisNexis Academic
Full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Company News and Company financial information for public and private companies (includes reports from Hoovers, Disclosures) SEC filings News from over 25 industries Full Text federal, state and & International legal material.
ReferenceUSA
Directory of basic company information, private, local, and national for 14 million businesses.
Standard & Poors Net Advantage
Created by Standard & Poor's, NetAdvantage provides electronic access to 14 S&P products.
Stat-USA- State of the Nation
Obtain current and historical U.S. economic and financial data.
Stat-USA- Globus
Obtain current and historical trade-related releases, international market research, trade opportunities, country analysis, and access to the National Trade Data Bank
Wall Street Journal
Full text of business news and information on financial markets worldwide. Coverage: 1984-Present.
Westlaw Campus
A web-based legal research tool for undergraduate and graduate students who need to research law-related issues. This resource includes access to the complete laws and statutes of the federal government and all 50 states, federal regulations, precedent-setting court decisions, KeyCite, American Law Reports, American Jurisprudence, and current and archived articles from hundreds of leading law reviews and journals. “Connect now” links leads to user agreement; click on "I agree" and "Go" to connect to Westlaw Campus.
Wilson Business Full Text
Wilson Business Full Text provides articles from more than 350 publications as far back as 1995 as well as abstracting and indexing of more than 600 publications as far back as 1982.
Web Resources
Company Information on the Internet-Rutgers University
http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/rul/rr_gateway/research_guides/busi/company.shtml#G
A must see. This web site is created by Rutgers University and provides hyperlinks to a large number of company information resources. Visit this site to find starting points, public companies, private companies, international companies, other companies, associations, special topics and guides created by other experts and library professionals.
Corporate Environment Reports
http://www2.gol.com/users/hsuzuki/report.html
Corporate Financials Online
http://www.cfonews.com/
Contains public company news and market snapshots.
Company Reports at Yahoo
http://screen.yahoo.com/reports.html
Corporate Information
http://www.corporateinformation.com/
This web sites is considered to be one of the best meta site for finding information on private companies, and international companies. It also has links for searching companies according to countries.
Real-Time SEC Edgar Filings
http://sec.lp.findlaw.com/edgarindex.html
Free EDGAR real-time access to SEC filings at no charge. You can also receive e-mail notification of SEC filings and download financial data directly into spreadsheets with the FreeEDGAR Excel Add-In.
Europages
http://www.europages.com/
The European Business Directory. A database of 150,000 companies selected from 25 European countries. Searchable by open-text entry, by activity sector, or by name of the company. Instructions and text are available in English,German, Spanish, French and Italian. Company catalog and practical information links are also provided.
Fortune 500
http://www.fortune.com/fortune/
Global 500
http://www.fortune.com/fortune/global500
Inc. 500
http://www.inc.com/resources/inc500/index.html
Private 500
http://www.forbes.com/2003/11/05/privateland.html
Tech Companies Search
http://www.techweb.com/search/advancedSearch.jhtml
At this site you can find profiles, news, product reviews and financial information on over 45,000 technology companies.
Thomas Register of American Manufacturers
http://www.thomasnet.com/index.html
Wall Street Central
http://www.wscentral.com/
This web site is a user-friendly access point for all kinds of information on companies and financial markets. Users can find latest news and stock quotes on US financial markets, read selected articles from financial and economic newsletters, or enter a company's ticket symbol or name to link to a large number of sites that contain information about the company.
Web100
http://metamoney.com/w100/
Big Business on the Web.
Revised 6/20/08 |