Back to Business Guide Home | How Do I...? | Citation Styles
Research Guide for Economic Indicators
For additional assistance or comments about this guide, contact:
Kay Oistad, Associate Librarian
Business and Resort & Hospitality Management
Email: koistad@fgcu.edu
Phone: 239-590-7604
Reference Materials - In library use only
African Development Indicators REF HC102.2 .A44
Atlas of the World Economy REF HC59 .F734
American Business Climate & Economic Profiles REF HC102.2 .A44
By the Numbers. Publishing: a statistical guide to the publishing industry REF Z278 .B98
By The Numbers. Emerging Industries: a statistical guide to emerging industries REF HC59.15 .B98
A Dictionary of Econometrics REF HB139 .D358
Dictionary of Economics REF HB61 .R92
The Dow Jones-Irwin guide to using the Wall Street Journal REF HB3743 .L44
Economic Indicators REF HC101 .A23
Economic Indicators Handbook: time series, conversions, documentation REF HC103 .E26
The Economist book of vital world statistics REF HC59 .W634
The Economist Guide to Economic Indicators REF HB3711. E43
Education At a Glance: OECD indicators REF LB2846 .E247
Fitzroy Dearborn book of world rankings REF HA155 .K87
Foreign Economic Trends and Their Implications For the United States REF HC10 .F67x
Guide to economic indicatorsREF HC 103 .F9
Handbook of United States economic and financial indicatorsREF HC106.8 .O47
International Yearbook of Industrial Statistics REF HC10 .I673
Is The Economic Cycle Still Alive?: Theory, evidence and policies REF HB 3711 .I8
OECD economic outlook Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development REF HC10 .O18
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Indicators of industrial activity REF HC10 O693c
Statistical Abstract of the World REF HA155 .S68
U.S. Global Trade Outlook REF HC106.5 .A18
U.S. Industry & Trade Outlook REF HC101 .U54
The Value of a Dollar: prices and incomes in the United States, 1860-1999 REF HB235.U6 V35
World development indicators REF HC59.15 .W656
The World Economic Fact Book REF HC59.15 .W66
World Economic Outlook, annual publication REF HC10 .W7979
Online Databases
ABI/INFORM Complete
ABI/Inform Complete simultaneously searches ABI/INFORM Global, Archive, Dateline, and Trade & Industry databases. Full-text articles from over 2,800 titles are available. Topics include business and economic conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape worldwide.
Access World News
Full text news from over 500 U.S. and Canadian Newspapers, news sources and domestic and international newswires. Coverage: 1991 onwards. Colorful Maps, News Headlines and monthly archive of top news.
Berkeley Electronic Press Journal collection
Berkley Electronic Press provides access to journals in the following categories: economics, business, and marketing; law; political science and current affairs; biological sciences; and engineering.
Business and Company Resource Center
Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information. Provides Company profiles, company brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals. 53 Industries are covered in this database. Coverage: 1980-Present.
Business & Management Practices
Search online articles on business concepts, industries, management issues, business practices including: benchmark planning, best practices, business plans, corporate culture, expansion, long range planning, quality control, reengineering, resources case studies and guidelines etc. Includes case studies and how-to articles.
Business Dateline
Business Dateline provides online articles from regional publications, Business Wire press releases, and major newspapers. This database includes information about resources describing regional business activities, trends and major stories on local firms, their products, and executives. Subject coverage includes agriculture manufacturing, company profiles marketing, corporate planning professional services, corporate strategies real estate, executive profiles regional business, financial services research and development, health care retailing, high technology service industries, and human resources transportation.
Investext Plus
Reports and forecasts prepared by top Wall Street and international brokerage firms. Investment, company and industry reports from over 500 brokers in North America, Europe, Asia/Pacific, Latin America, Africa and the Middle East. Company and industry reports in full page PDF image. Information on more than 11,000 U.S. and international companies and 53 industries. Coverage: 1998-2000
JSTOR
Complete back files of the core scholarly journals in many subject areas including business and economics, starting from the very first issue, many of which date from 1800s.
LexisNexis Academic
Full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Company News and Company financial information for public and private companies (includes reports from Hoovers, Disclosures) SEC filings News from over 25 industries Full Text federal, state and & International legal material.
Stat-USA- State of the Nation
Current and historical economic and financial releases and economic data on US economy. Information on General Economic Indicators, Housing and construction, employment, monetary statistics and economic policy can be searched.
Stat-USA- Globus and NTDB
Obtain current and historical trade-related releases, international market research, trade opportunities, country analysis, and access to the National Trade Data Bank
Wilson Business Full Text
Wilson Business Full Text provides articles from more than 350 publications as far back as 1995 as well as abstracting and indexing of more than 600 publications as far back as 1982.
Web Resources
GENERAL RESOURCES
Bank of Montreal Economic Research and Analysis
http://www.bmo.com/economic/
The site provides analysis on Canada, United States and international economies.
Dismal Scientist
http://www.economy.com/dismal/
This is an authoritative site on economic information.
EconData.net
http://www.econdata.net/
Compiled by Impresa, Inc, and Andrew Reamer & Associates and sponsored by the US Commerce Department's Economic Development Administration, this site links to more than 550 sources of US regional, state, and local socioeconomic data.
Economagic: economic time series page
http://www.economagic.com/
Created by Ted Bos (Univ. of Alabama at Birmingham) presents a comprehensive collection of economic time series data gathered from US and foreign governmental agencies, trade association, and private companies.
Economic growth resources
http://www.bris.ac.uk/Depts/Economics/Growth
Economic Growth resources is a site, through which anyone interested in economic growth will find paths to a vast array of information, including datasets, journals (including the Journal of Economic Growth) and working papers, literature surveys, mailing lists, and home page of researchers. Includes links to the Penn World, World Bank data and NBER.
Economic and Financial Forecast Center
http://neatideas.com/
Economist.com: country briefings
http://www.economist.com/countries
This site includes information on 60 countries in seven segments whose content is excerpted from Country Viewwire, a daily subscription service, and other Economist Intelligence Unit publications. Information about smaller countries is also available. Each country profile includes Factsheet, describing the country and its currency; forecast, dealing with elections, economic forecasts, and policy changes that are expected in the next few years; Economic Data, downloadable as an Excel spreadsheet; and finally Political structure/Force and Economic Structure sections.
FED101
http://www.federalreserveeducation.org/fed101/index.htm
Maintained by the Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City, this recently released educational Web site provides interesting insight into the history, structure, policies, and services of the Federal Reserve. Excellent for the students learning about the Federal Reserve for the first time.
Federal Reserve Economic Data
http://research.stlouisfed.org/fred2/
FRED provides historical U.S. economic and financial data, including daily U.S. interest rates, monetary and business indicators, exchange rates, and regional economic data for Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri and Tennessee.
Global macroeconomic and financial policy site
http://www.stern.nyu.edu/globalmacro/
Developed by Nouriel Roubini (economics and international business, Stern School of Business, New York Univ.), updated daily, this site provides detailed information on current macroeconomic and financial policy topics. Organized in three columns, the topics have an international focus, covering the US, Europe, Asia, and Latin America.
International Monetary Fund
http://www.imf.org
This site contains an incredible amount of information about the organization, international monetary cooperation, and member countries. The home page contains current news, and the left tool bar provides links to the main topics.
The Library of economics and liberty
http://www.econlib.org
This site is an excellent compilation of seminal works and ideas from important commentators on economics, with a particular point of view tying all the various names together. Valuable for anyone interested in economics, from general readers and lower-division undergraduates through professionals.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
http://www.nber.org/
National Bureau of Economic Research is a private nonprofit research organization dedicated "to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works", primarily through research conducted for NBER by hundreds of university professors. The site provides access to some of this, including the database of NBER working papers abstracts.
U.S. Business Cycle Indicators
http://www.conference-board.org/economics/bci/
GOVERNMENT RESOURCES
Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
http://www.bea.doc.gov
Created by BEA, it is a very user-friendly and easy to navigate site. The site contains both historical and current National Income and Product Accounts (NIPA) tables, state and regional data, and US international trade data released on a regular basis by the BEA. The full text of the BEA's survey of Current Business publication is available in pdf or html format back to January 1998, and subject guides to articles are available back to 1995.
Consumer Price Indexes
http://www.bls.gov/cpi/
U.S. Industry Outlook Tables
http://www.ita.doc.gov/td/industry/otea/usio/usio95.html
The site gives information on Industry outlook tables and one can download the Industrial tables for 1995 here.
Revised 5/30/08 |