Back to Business Guide Home | How Do I...? | Citation Styles
Research Guide for Electronic Commerce
For additional assistance or comments about this guide, contact:
Kay Oistad, Associate Librarian
Business and Resort & Hospitality Management
Email: koistad@fgcu.edu
Phone: 239-590-7604
Reference Materials - In library use only
Dictionary of e-business: a definitive guide to technology and business term REF HF5548.32 .B67
The e-commerce question and answer book: a survival guide for business managers REF HF5548.32 .R67
Electronic Commerce Dictionary: The definitive terms for doing business on the information superhighway REF HD 30.335.H39
An IBM guide to doing business on the Internet REF HF5548.32 .B66
International encyclopedia of business and management REF HF 1001. I53
Internet resources and services for international business: a global guide REF 54.56. L58
OECD information technology outlook, 2000 : ICTs, E-commerce and the information economy REF HC79.155 O43
Plunkett's e-commerce & Internet business almanac REF HF5548.32 .P566
Online Databases
ABI/INFORM Complete
ABI/Inform Complete simultaneously searches ABI/INFORM Global, Archive, Dateline, and Trade & Industry databases. Full-text articles from over 2,800 titles are available. Topics include business and economic conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape worldwide.
Academic Search Complete
Journal article coverage for most academic areas of study—including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, languages, linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women’s studies. Full text articles from over 1,560 journals with many dating back to 1990 are available. Abstracts and indexing for nearly 3,000 scholarly journals, many dating back to 1984. Wall Street Journal and The New York Times also can be searched through Academic Search Elite. Updated: Daily
Access World News
Full text news from over 500 U.S. and Canadian Newspapers, news sources and domestic and international newswires. Coverage: 1991 onwards. Colorful Maps, News Headlines and monthly archive of top news.
Berkeley Electronic Press Journal collection
Berkley Electronic Press provides access to journals in the following categories: economics, business, and marketing; law; political science and current affairs; biological sciences; and engineering.
Business & Management Practices
Search online articles on business concepts, industries, management issues, business practices including: benchmark planning, best practices, business plans, corporate culture, expansion, long range planning, quality control, reengineering, resources case studies and guidelines etc. Includes case studies and how-to articles.
Business Dateline
Business Dateline provides online articles from regional publications, Business Wire press releases, and major newspapers. This database includes information about resources describing regional business activities, trends and major stories on local firms, their products, and executives. Subject coverage includes agriculture manufacturing, company profiles marketing, corporate planning professional services, corporate strategies real estate, executive profiles regional business, financial services research and development, health care retailing, high technology service industries, and human resources transportation.
General Business File ASAP
Search for reports on company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Includes broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images. Directory listings for over 150,000 companies as well as investment analysts’ reports on major companies and industries are available. Coverage: 1980-Present
General OneFile
Search articles humanities, education, business, science, current events, art, politics, economics, social science, law, health care, computers, technology, environmental issues, and general interest topics.
LexisNexis Academic
Full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Company News and Company financial information for public and private companies (includes reports from Hoovers, Disclosures) SEC filings News from over 25 industries Full Text federal, state and & International legal material.
Westlaw Campus
A web-based legal research tool for undergraduate and graduate students who need to research law-related issues. This resource includes access to the complete laws and statutes of the federal government and all 50 states, federal regulations, precedent-setting court decisions, KeyCite, American Law Reports, American Jurisprudence, and current and archived articles from hundreds of leading law reviews and journals. “Connect now” links leads to user agreement; click on "I agree" and "Go" to connect to Westlaw Campus.
Wilson Business Full Text
Wilson Business Full Text provides articles from more than 350 publications as far back as 1995 as well as abstracting and indexing of more than 600 publications as far back as 1982.
Web Resources
B2B COMMERCE
AMR Research Reports on E-commerce. (B2B Commerce Forecast)
http://www.amrresearch.com/Content/view.asp?pmillid=13106&docid=377
DISCUSSION LISTS & NEWSGROUPS
E-marketing Digest
http://www.webbers.com/emark/
An educational forum created by Webber’s Communication for the discussion of online marketing issues. Subscribers may opt for either a live chat version or a moderated digest version that provides news, information, tips, sources and a reader’s discussion area.
I-Advertising (The Internet Advertising Discussion List)
http://www.o-a.com/
This is a moderated forum for the discussion of the commercial uses of advertising in promoting a business on the Internet.
E-COMMERCE NEWS
E-BUSINESS (zdnET)
http://itpapers.zdnet.com/
An e-journal that provides e-commerce headlines as well as links to tech resources, reviews, downloads, and more.
E-commerce news (internet.com.Corp)
http://www.internetnews.com/ec-news/
News site providing the latest e-commerce news headlines. Links are also provided to other news sections including: Internet News Front Page, Business News, Intranet News, ISP News, Product News, and Web Developer News, among others. See the internet.com main page (http://www.internet.com) for a more comprehensive resource listing.
E-commerce Times
http://www.ecommercetimes.com
This site is for industry insiders covering all the latest news and analysis. It provides links to products and services, a small business advisor, e-commerce jobs, a message board, and event calendar.
E-COMMERCE PORTALS
Brint.com
http://www.brint.com/ebiz/
OECD Online
http://www.oecd.org/home/
ebusinessforum
http://www.ebusinessforum.com/
Ecommerce-guide.com
http://www.ecommerce-guide.com/
E-COMMERCE RESEARCH CENTER
Center for Research in Electronic Commerce (University of Texas, Austin)
http://crec.mccombs.utexas.edu/
The leading research center is focused on supporting research and education in the areas of electronic commerce and digital products. Links on the site provide access to electronic commerce web sites, working papers and articles, publications, and news.
Elab
http://elab.vanderbilt.edu/
This project, created by Donna Hoffman and Tom Novak, was one of the first academic research projects organized to study the marketing implications of commercializing the WWW. This site includes a complete detailed list of all Elab working papers and a directory of useful resource links for marketing and electronic commerce.
GOVERNMENT AND INDUSTRY ORGANIZATIONS
CommerceNet
http://www.commercenet.com
This leading industry consortium focuses on emerging global and industry-wide issues and technologies that promote the growth and success of e-commerce. CommerceNet provides links to news, a conference listing, e-commerce resources, a research center that provides demographic data and reports, and a forum for initiating global partnerships.
United States Government/Electronic Commerce
http://www.estrategy.gov/flashmain.cfm
This is the official government site for electronic commerce program, policies, information, publications and reports.
STARTER WEB SITES
EBOZ Your Guide to Creating Successful Websites
http://www.iboost.com/promote/?from=eboz
Michael Wong has created this comprehensive site to provide the resources and tools necessary for creating successful electronic commerce Web sites. One can find various links to directories, articles, advice, tools and shopping.
E-Commerce Research Room
http://www.wilsonweb.com/research//
The Internet’s largest and most comprehensive e-commerce resource and portal site. It provides numerous links to articles and resources for specific issues in e-commerce.
E-commerce Guidebook
http://www.online-commerce.com.
Created by Net National Communications, Ltd., e-commerce guidebook is an educational site. It provides step-by-step guide to e-commerce, a directory of all online transaction providers, their services, and a compilation of Web resources for constructing a Web presence.
E-Commerce Directory created by Rutgers University
http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/rul/rr_gateway/research_guides/busi/ecomm.shtml
A must see. This web site serves as a directory of web resources on topics related to E-Commerce
EMarketer
http://www.emarketer.com/
A one-stop resource created by eMarketer, providing information and resources on how to build, promote, and maintain a successful web site. Links include news, statistics; top ten listing of the best e-commerce web sites, a tutorial, a list of web resources, an e-forum, and statistical reports.
Internet Advertising Resource Guide
http://www.admedia.org/
Hairong Li, a professor of advertising at Michigan State University, created this comprehensive site providing information for Internet advertising. Category links include: introduction, planning, development, management, research and teaching.
Internet Marketing Guide-Rutgers University
http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/rul/rr_gateway/research_guides/busi/imarket.shtml
A one-stop resource guide created by the Rutgers University provides helpful on Internet Marketing.
Webmonkey
http://webmonkey.wired.com/webmonkey/e-business/
Wired Digital; the company that created the HotBot search engine has designed the Webmonkey collections to introduce and provide resources for specific Internet technologies. The e-business collection is an introductory guide to e-commerce. Useful links for newbies include an e-commerce tutorial, a guide to creating a web site for a small business, a guide for conducting your own market research on the web and other informative links, which are arranged into categories.
STATISTICS/DEMOGRAPHICS AND TRENDS
e-Marketer Daily Stats
http://www.emarketer.com
GVU’s WWW User Surveys
http://www.gvu.gatech.edu/user_surveys/
Since it’s beginning in 1994, the GVU WWW User Survey has accumulated a unique store of historical and up-to-date information on the growth and trends in Internet usage. It is valued as an independent, objective view of developing Web demographics, culture, user attitudes, and usage patterns. Recently the focus of the Survey has been expanded to include commercial uses of the Web, including advertising, electronic commerce, intranet Web usage, and business-to-business transactions.
IDC Business Trends
http://www.idc.com/
Internet Economy Indicators (University of Texas)
http://www.internetindicators.com/index.html
The web site tracks the growth of the Internet economy by measuring the sales volume and employment in various groups of Internet related products and services. In addition, it provides links to facts and figures covering the U.S. and global Internet economy as well as hyperlinks to financial markets, media, government, and Internet organizations.
NUA Internet Surveys
http://www.nua.ie/surveys/about/index.html
Nua is an Internet publishing consulting firm. Nua Internet Surveys is the authoritative source online for information on Internet demographics and trends. Its information reaches 200,000 people worldwide every week and has been translated into Russian, German, Greek, Portuguese, Italian, Hebrew and Spanish. Nua Internet Surveys is a database containing over three years of information gathered and collated by Nua. Information is organized into several categories including sectors, social, technical, demographics, and regional areas.
Statmarket
http://www.websidestory.com/services-solutions/datainsights/statmarket/overview.html
Created by Web Side Story, this web site provides real-time data on Internet usage computed from monitoring millions of daily Internet visitors to Web sites using HitBox technology. Categories include Web browsers, systems, globalization, traffic, major players, rush hour, and repeat visitors.
TRADESHOWS/EVENTS/CONFERENCES
TechCalendar
http://www.techweb.com/calendar
ThunderLizard Productions.
http://www.thunderlizard.com/webmarketing.html
Revised 5/30/08
|