Library Services

Back to Business Guide Home | How Do I...? | Citation Styles


Research Guide for Industry Information

For additional assistance or comments about this guide, contact:
Kay Oistad, Associate Librarian
Business and Resort & Hospitality Management
Email: koistad@fgcu.edu
Phone: 239-590-7604

 

Reference Materials - In library use only

Directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries REF HG4538.A1 D5
Doing business in 2004: understanding regulation
REF K563.B87 D65
Doing business in 2005: removing obstacles to growth
REF K563.B87 D65
Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
REF HC102 .E54
Encyclopedia of Global Industries
REF HD2324 .E53
Finance, Insurance & Real Estate USA: industry analyses, statistics, and leading organizations REF HG4027 .F56
Florida Manufacturers Register
REF HD9727.F6 F573
Handbook of North American Industry
REF HF1746 .H36
Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios
REF HF5681.B2 D8x
Inside U.S. Business: a concise encyclopedia of leading industries
REF HC106.8 .M337
Manufacturing USA: industry analyses, statistics, and leading companies
REF HD9723 .M35
Major Companies of Europe
REF HG4135.5 .M35
Principal International Businesses REF HF54.U5 P74
Roberts' Dictionary of Industrial Relations REF HD4839 .R612
Service Industries: Industry analysis, statistics, and leading organizations REF HD9981.3 .S47 1996
Service Industries USA: industry analyses, statistics, and leading organizations REF HD9981.3 .S47
Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies REF HG4057 .A565

Online Databases

ABI/INFORM Global
ABI/Inform Complete simultaneously searches ABI/INFORM Global, Archive, Dateline, and Trade & Industry databases. Full-text articles from over 2,800 titles are available. Topics include business and economic conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape worldwide.

Access World News
Local, regional, and national newspapers as well as key business sources for large or small business and industry information.

Berkeley Electronic Press
Berkeley Electronic Press provides access to journals in the following categories: economics, business, and marketing; law; political science and current affairs; biological sciences; and engineering.

Business and Company Resource Center
Company profiles, rankings, investment reports, histories, and financials. Industry overviews, investment reports, and associations.

Emerald Fulltext
Search over 35,000 full text articles drawn from an international management portfolio, covering a spectrum of management disciplines, including strategy, leadership, marketing, and human resource management, as well as engineering, applied science, and technology titles.

General Business File ASAP
Search for reports on company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Includes broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images. Directory listings for over 150,000 companies as well as investment analysts’ reports on major companies and industries are available.

Hoovers Company Information
Up to date proprietary editorial content covering more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives; in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, etc.

Investext Plus
Integrates financial, marketing and corporate information, company and industry analyst reports.  Provides 50,000 investment reports on over 11,000 companies and 53 industries.

LexisNexis Academic
Full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Company News and Company financial information for public and private companies (includes reports from Hoovers, Disclosures) SEC filings News from over 25 industries Full Text federal, state and & International legal material.

ReferenceUSA
Directory of basic company information, private, local, and national for 14 million businesses.

Standard & Poors Net Advantage
Access to nine of the most popular S&P publications including Stock Reports, Industry Surveys, Corporation Records, and The Outlook.

Stat-USA- State of the Nation
Current and historical economic and financial releases and economic data on US economy. Information on General Economic Indicators, Housing and construction, employment, monetary statistics and economic policy can be searched.

Stat-USA- Globus and NTDB
Obtain current and historical trade-related releases, international market research, trade opportunities, country analysis, and access to the National Trade Data Bank

Wilson Business Full Text
Wilson Business Full Text provides articles from more than 350 publications as far back as 1995 as well as abstracting and indexing of more than 600 publications as far back as 1982.

Web Resources

Bureau of Labor Statistics
http://www.bls.gov/

Consumer Price Index Homepage
http://www.bls.gov/cpi/

Current Industrial Reports from the Census Bureau
http://www.census.gov/cir/www/index.html
This web site provides access to a continuous series of industry reports with detailed statistics on products and industries. Industries include apparel, chemicals, metal, and machinery.

Electronic Embassy
http://www.embassy.org/index.html
Information about trade shows anywhere in the world.

Industry Link
http://www.industrylink.com/
The premier directory of links to industry web sites.

Industry Analysis-Rutgers University
http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/rul/rr_gateway/research_guides/busi/industry.shtml
Find starting points for industry analysis, industry classification schemes, manufacturing industries, service industries, retail and wholesale industries, ratios, international business, associations, trading hubs, and other resources.

International Trade Administration, U.S. Department of Commerce
http://www.ita.doc.gov/
Provides access to information and services regarding U.S. international trade policy.

Researching Companies online
http://www.learnwebskills.com/company/index.html
Provides hundreds of links to industry information with accompanying tutorials, or browse the link summary on your own.

Yahoo Industry guide
http://biz.yahoo.com
Find the latest news stories on hundreds of industries. Follow the links on the lest for more detailed information including "Industry Browser" for the latest financials on the key companies in each industry.

 

 

 

Revised 6/25/08