Library Services

Back to Business Guide Home | How Do I...? | Citation Styles


Research Guide for International Business

For additional assistance or comments about this guide, contact:
Kay Oistad, Associate Librarian
Business and Resort & Hospitality Management
Email: koistad@fgcu.edu
Phone: 239-590-7604

Reference Materials - In library use only

American Marketing Association. Marketing News International Directory REF HF 5410. A46a
Directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries REF HG4538.A1 D57
Dictionary of International Business Terms REF HD 62.4 .C36
Great Jobs Abroad REF HF5549.5.E45 B449
International Directory of Company Histories REF HD 2721 .I57
The International Encyclopedia of Marketing REF HF 5415 .N58513
The International Financial Statistics Locator: a Research and Information Guide REF HG151.7 .B37
International Financial Statistics Yearbook REF HG 61 .I57
International Marketing Data and Statistics REF HA42 .I56 2008
International Monetary Fund. International Financial Statistics REF HG3881 .I626
Internet Resources and Services for International Business: a Global Guide REF HF54.56 .58
The Legal Environment of International Business: a Guide for United States Firms REF KF390.B8 E94
Market Share reporter REF HF5410 .M35
Merriam Webster's Guide to International Business Communications REF HF54.5 .A86
Multinational Enterprise: an Encyclopedic Dictionary of Concepts and Terms REF HD2755.5 .M8337
Principal International Business REF HF54.U5 P746
Transnational Corporations and Labor: a Directory of Resources REF HD2932 .F46
Who Owns Whom. North America REF HG4538 .W423
World Trade Almanac REF HF1371 .W67

E-Books

Bridging the Culture Gap: a Practical Guide to International Business Communication
Careers in International Business
Economics and Management of Small Business: an International Perspective
Emerging Issues in International Business Research
Ethics for international Business Decision Making in a Global Political Economy
International Business Themes and Issues in the Modern Global Economy
Multinationals and Industrial Competitiveness: a New Agenda
Organization of the Firm: International Business Perspectives
Successful Proposal Strategies for Small Businesses Using Knowledge Management to Win Government, Private-sector, and International Contracts
Terrorism and the International Business Environment: the Security-Business Nexus

Online Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete
ABI/Inform Complete simultaneously searches ABI/INFORM Global, Archive, Dateline, and Trade & Industry databases. Full-text articles from over 2,800 titles are available. Topics include business and economic conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape worldwide.

Academic OneFile
A comprehensive database with articles from over 8,000 academic journals, many in full-text.

Access World News
Local, regional, and national newspapers as well as key business sources for large or small business and industry information.

Berkeley Electronic Press
Access to journals in the following categories: economics, business, and marketing; law; political science and current affairs; biological sciences; and engineering.

Business and Company Resource Center
Company profiles, rankings, investment reports, histories, financials, and industry overviews, investment reports, associations.

Business & Management Practices
Search online articles on business concepts, industries, management issues, business practices including: benchmark planning, best practices, business plans, corporate culture, expansion, long range planning, quality control, reengineering, resources case studies and guidelines etc. Includes case studies and how-to articles.

General Business File ASAP
Search for reports on company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Includes broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images. Directory listings for over 150,000 companies as well as investment analysts’ reports on major companies and industries are available.

Hoovers Company Information
Search for in-depth company information on over 5,000 companies with Hoover's Company Profiles. Each profile provides an overview and history, as well as information on key people, products, subsidiaries competitors, company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more.

Investext Plus
Integrates financial, marketing and corporate information, company and industry analyst reports.  Provides 50,000 investment reports on over 11,000 companies and 53 industries.

LexisNexis Academic
Provides more than 9.5 million documents from over 18,300 sources. LexisNexis Universe provides access to company profiles and financial reports, government transcripts, trade journals and academic and legal databases. Their files are updated with full-text documents from general interest wire services, newspapers, and magazines from around the world.

ReferenceUSA
Directory of basic company information, private, local, and national for 14 million businesses.

Standard & Poor's Net Advantage
Access to nine of the most popular S&P publications including Stock Reports, Industry Surveys, Corporation Records, and The Outlook.

Stat-USA - State of the Nation
Obtain current and historical U.S. economic and financial data.

Stat-USA - Globus and NTDB
Obtain current and historical trade-related releases, international market research, trade opportunities, country analysis, and access to the National Trade Data Bank

Web Resources

General Resources

Canadian Industry Research
http://strategis.ic.gc.ca/

Country Commercial Guides
http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/
Foreign country information from the U.S. Department of State.

Europages
http://www.europages.com/
A European yellow pages.

Federation of International Trade Associations
http://www.fita.org/index.html

Mondaq
http://www.mondaq.com/
Informative site with legal, regulatory and financial commentary and information covering over 70 countries.

Statistical Resources on the Web; Foreign and International Economics
http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/stecfor.html
Maintained by the University of Michigan, this web site provides links to statistical resources related to foreign and international economics.

Statistical Resources on the Web; Foreign Government Data Sources
http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/stforeig.html
Foreign government data sources.

Statistical Resources on the Web; Foreign Trade
http://www.lib.umich.edustecfrfr/govdocs/frames/stecfrfr.html
Trade statistics, tariff schedules, regulations, and links to a wide variety of government sites and reports.

Trade Port
http://www.tradeport.org/
A repository of free information and resources for businesses that seek to conduct international trade to and from California. .

U.S. Export Directory
http://www.usa-export.com/
Two specialized reference guides to assist worldwide importers in locating U.S. exporters by products, services, brands, or company name.

World Trade Organization
http://www.wto.org/
Find trade statistics, tariff data, topics being discussed by the WTO, information about the WTO, and WTO news.

Government Resources

Bureau of Economic Analysis
http://www.bea.gov/index.htm

Export-Import Bank of the United States
http://www.exim.gov/

U.S. Census Bureau, Foreign Trade Statistics
http://www.census.gov/foreign-trade/www/

U.S. Department of Commerce
http://www.doc.gov/

U. S. Department of Commerce, International Trade Administration
http://trade.gov/index.asp

U.S. Department of Homeland Security, U.S. Customs and Border Protection
http://www.customs.ustreas.gov/

U.S. Department of State
http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/
Country Background Notes.

U.S. Information Agency (USIA)
http://dosfan.lib.uic.edu/usia/
An independent foreign affairs agency supporting U.S. foreign policy and national interests abroad, USIA conducts international educational and cultural exchanges, broadcasting, and information programs.

U.S. International Trade Commission
http://www.usitc.gov/

United States Trade Representative, Office of
http://www.ustr.gov/
Find links to trade agreements, involvement in various world regions, attempts to increase trade capacity, information on trade sectors, small business resources, and more!

World Fact Book (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
http://www.odci.gov/cia/publications/factbook/index.html.

Guides Created by Other Universities

globalEDGE
http://globaledge.msu.edu/ibrd/ibrd.asp
Created by the International Business Center at Michigan State University, globalEDGE™ is a knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities.

Resources for International Business
http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/rul/rr_gateway/research_guides/busi/intbus.shtml
Created by the Rutgers University, this guide provides hyperlinks to background material on finding international business material, business regions, counties, statistics, online periodicals and news and other useful resources.

VIBES (Virtual International Business and Economic Sources)
http://libweb.uncc.edu/ref-bus/vibehome.htm
This site, maintained by the J. Murrey Atkins Library, UNC Charlotte, provides over 3,500 links to Internet sources of international business and economic information that are in English and available free of charge.

 

 

Revised 6/26/08