Research Guide for Communication & Journalism
This is a research guide to highlight library materials appropriate for Communication & Journalism. Books, journal titles, videos and DVDs can be found through the Library catalog.
Online Databases
Major Full-text Databases
Access World News
Full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international news sources.
Academic Onefile
Includes over 8,000 academic journals (over 5,300 peer-reviewed), the majority in full-text.
Academic Search Complete (EbscoHost)
Includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
Biography Resource Center
Biographical information on more than 1 million people from throughout history and around the world.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Full text articles from over 230 journals, and citation coverage from 550 journals.
CQ Researcher
Provides in-depth reports on historical background on the topic, outside commentary, pro/con arguments, chronological information, and a substantial bibliography. Coverage is from 1991 to the present.
Ethnic Newswatch Complete
A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press (provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints -- the other sides of the stories).
GenderWatch
A full-text collection of international journals,magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues.
JSTOR
Full text of 100+ core research journals in many subject areas. Not for current scholarship—most articles are three years old or older. Great for research topics such as rhetoric or the philosophy of communication.
LexisNexis Academic
Contains national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, university wire sources and non-English language sources.
Omnifile
Full text from over 1,700 journals; indexing/abstracts from over 3,000.
Proquest Newspapers
Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Christian Science Monitor.
Proquest Research Library
Includes more than 3,820 titles—over 2,550 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
Related Databases (For Advanced Research)
ABI/INFORM Global
Provides access to business news sources: ABI/INFORM GLOBAL provides full text of articles from 570 journals, ABI/INFORM ARCHIVE provides digital images of every page from every issue of nearly 100 leading business journals, ABI/INFORM DATELINE covers more than 140 local, city, state, and regional business publications, and ABI/INFORM TRADE & INDUSTRY covers more than 700 publications.
Oxford African American Studies Center
Includes online reference sources and primary documents
"on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture".
America: History and Life
Covers United States and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Includes current affairs, area studies, ethnic studies, folklore, historiography and methodology, international relations, and more.
ArticleFirst
Indexes over 16,000 journal titles in the areas of business, humanities, science, social science, medicine, technology and popular culture and contains linking to some full-text. Coverage begins in 1990
Book Review Digest
Retrieve book summaries, bibliographic data, full-text reviews, review excerpts, or basic citations. Entries currently encompass some 1,200,000 reviews covering more than half a million books.
Humanities Full Text
Full text of articles from journals as far back as 1995 and indexing of periodicals as far back as 1984.
InfoTrac OneFile
Includes full-text articles from over 4,900 journals. Indexes total of over 8,500 titles; 2,500+ are refereed. Covers virtually all academic disciplines. From 1980 forward; updated daily.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts
CSA Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) assists both generalists and specialists in keeping abreast of cutting-edge developments in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Literature Resource Center
Provides access to full-text biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline.
netLibrary
NetLibrary offers reference, scholarly, and professional electronic books (e-books). Many classic literary works are available full text.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO provides access to 8 million cited references in 185,000 journal articles, books, and book chapters for literature in psychology and related disciplines (such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work).
WorldCat
The world's most comprehensive bibliography. Lists over 62 million books and other materials in libraries worldwide
[back to top]
Reference Materials
General Reference
Contemporary Authors : a Bio-bibliographical Guide to Current Writers in Fiction, General Nonfiction, Poetry, Journalism, Motion Pictures, Television and Other Fields / REF PN 451.C6
Dictionary of Quotations in Communications / REF P90 .D488 1997
Encyclopedia of Communication and Information / REF P87.5 .E53 2002
A Handbook of Media and communications Research : Qualitative and Quantitative Methodologies / GEN P91.3 .H34 2002
Communication (Disorders)
Communication Disorders Sourcebook : Basic Information About Deaf and Hearing Loss, Speech and Language Disorders, Voice Disorders,Balance and Vestibular Disorders and Disorders of Smell, Taste, and Touch / REF RC423 .N52 1996
The MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders / eBook- Click here to view
Terminology of Communication Disorders : Speech-Language-Hearing / REF RC423 .N52 1996
Communication (Intercultural)
Cross-Cultural Communication : Perspectives in Theory And Practice / GEN P94.6 W37 2006
Kiss, Bow Or Shake Hands : How to Do Business in Sixty Countries / GEN HF 5289.M67 1994
Language and Communication : A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia / REF P29.F47 1998
World Wise : What to Know Before You Go / GEN G156.5.B86 D46
Communication (Law/Ethics)
Communication and Law : Multidisciplinary Approaches to Research / GEN KF2750 .C65 2006
Deciding Communication Law : Key Cases in Context / eBook- Click here to view
Communication (Oral)
African-American Orators : A Bio-Critical Sourcebook / eBook- Click here to view
American Orators of the Twentieth Century : Critical Studies and Sources / GEN PN4193.P6 A44
Encyclopedia of Rhetoric / REF PN172.E52 2001
On That Point! : An Introduction to Parlimentary Debate / eBook- Click here to view
Powerspeak : Engage, Inspire, And Stimulate Your Audience / eBook- Click here to view
Public Speaking / eBook- Click here to view
Speak With Confidence : Powerful Presentations That Inform, Inspire and Persuade / eBook- Click here to view
Stand And Deliver : Leave Them Stirred, Not Shaken / eBook- Click here to view
Women Public Speakers in the United States, 1925-1993 : A Bio-Critical Sourcebook / GEN HQ1412.W68 1994
Communication (Written)
The AMA Handbook of Business Letters / REF HF5726.S42 2002
The A to Z of Correct English / eBook- Click here to view
From Talking Drums to the Internet : an Encyclopedia of Communications Technology / REF LB2369.G53 2003
A Glossary of Language and Mind / REF P37.A374 2003
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers / REF LB2369.G53 2003
The World's Easiest Guide to Using the APA : a User-Friendly Manual For Formatting Research Papers According to the American Psychological Association Style Guide / REF BF76.7 .A52 2002
A Writer's Reference / REF PE1408.H2778 2003
Journalism
Associated Press Guide to Photojournalism / GEN P87.5 .W38 1997
A Dictionary of Communication and Media Studies / GEN P87.5 W38
The Reporter's Handbook : an Investor's Guide to Documents and Techniques / REF PN4781.R38 1996
Media (Directories)
African-American Newspapers and Periodicals : a National Bibliography / REF PN4882.5 .A37 1998
Broadcasting & Cable Yearbook / REF HE8689.B77
Europa World Year Book / REF JN1 E85
Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media / REF Z6951.G34
World Press Encyclopedia : a Survey of Press Systems Worldwide / Ebook- Click here to view
Media (Multicultural)
Channeling Blackness : Studies on Television and Race in America / GEN PN 1992.8.A34 H86 2005
Completely Queer : the Gay and Lesbian Encyclopedia / GEN HQ75.H63 1998
Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States / REF E184.S75 E59 2004
History of the Mass Media in the United States : an Encyclopedia / REF P92.U5 H54 1998
Racial and Ethnic Diversity : Asians, Blacks, Hispanics, Native Americans, and Whites / REF E184 A1 R78 2002
Voices of Multicultural America : Notable Speeches Delivered by African, Asian, Hispanic, and Native Americans, 1790-1995 / GEN PS663.M55 V64 1996
[back to top]
Journals
The FGCU library collection includes many journals related to Communication or Journalism topics. The journals in print or microfilm are housed in the FGCU Library and are available for public use. FGCU provides full-text online of many Communication or Journalism journals through commercially packaged electronic databases. Each of these provides searching by specific journal title, or by subject, with retrieval of many full-text articles. See help instructions within each database or ask a reference librarian. Most of the electronic (full-text) journals are accessible only with a valid FGCU ID number when off campus.
The recommended method of identifying articles on a topic is to search in one of the databases such as Communication and Mass Media to identify articles. If the articles are not available within the database, search for the journal title via the FGCU Library's Catalog and/or the 'By JOURNAL TITLE' on the E-Journals page. Electronic Peer-Reviewed Journals
[back to top]
Web Sites
The following web sites have been carefully selected for providing reliable information. If you are using information from the web, it is your responsibility to make sure that it is from authoritative resources. A Quick Guide to Evaluating Internet Information is available at http://library.fgcu.edu/Subjects/general/evaluate.htm
Communication (Associations) |
Environmental Communication Network
http://www.esf.edu/ecn/
The Environmental Communication Network is a network of scholars and activists concerned with communication issues related to environmental affairs.
National Communication Association
http://www.natcom.org/nca/Template2.asp
NCA is a scholarly society and as such works to enhance the research, teaching, and service produced by its members on topics of both intellectual and social significance. Staff at the NCA National Office follow trends in national research, teaching, and service priorities. It both relays those opportunities to its members and represents the academic discipline of communication in those national efforts.
Relations Society of America
http://www.prsa.org/
PRSA is the world’s largest organization for public relations professionals. PRSA’s primary objectives are to advance the standards of the public relations profession and to provide members with professional development opportunities through continuing education programs, information exchange forums and research projects conducted on the national and local levels.
Religious Communication Association (RCA)
http://www.americanrhetoric.com/rca/index.html
The RCA is an academic society founded in 1973 by people interested in the study of all aspects of public religious communication. It is nonsectarian, striving to provide a setting in which persons of various faiths, or no faith, can study the problems of communication and religion. As an interfaith scholarly and professional organization, RCA seeks to promote honest, respectful and profound dialogue which reflects the diversity of religious beliefs, subject matter concerns, methodologies, and professions of its members.
Southern States Communication Association
http://ssca.net/
Our purpose is to promote the study, criticism, research, teaching, and application of the artistic, humanistic, and scientific principles of communication. SSCA, a not-for-profit organization, exists for educational, scientific, and literary purposes only. |
| Communication (Educational Resources) |
American Rhetoric Online Speech Bank
http://www.americanrhetoric.com/speechbank.htm
THE ONLINE SPEECH BANK is an index to and growing database of 5000+ full text, audio and video (streaming) versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two. There are currently [457] active links in this site area. Links are arranged alphabetically by first name and checked for errors at least once every two weeks.
American Sign Language Browser
http://commtechlab.msu.edu/sites/aslweb/
Michigan State University's ASL Browser web site, an online American Sign Language (ASL) browser where you can look up video of thousands of ASL signs and learn interesting things about them.
Communications Studies Resources
http://www.uiowa.edu/~commstud/resources/
A directory of web resources related to media, culture ethnicity and mass communication, compiled by University of Iowa Communications Studies Department.
Galludet University
http://www.gallaudet.edu/
Web site for acclaimed university offering undergraduate and graduate programs for deaf, hard of hearing and hearing students.
InfoPlease.com
http://www.infoplease.com/homework/
Free reference web site offering a Homework section designed to assist students in developing effective writing, researching, speaking, listening and studying skills.
Library Resources for Communication Studies
http://www.lib.washington.edu/subject/communications/lrcs/
Links to core sources for Communications research. Categories include: Indexes & Abstracts, News Sources, Subject Guides, Associations & Organizations, and Special Collections. Developed by the librarians of the Education and Behavioral Sciences Section (EBSS) of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL).
Toastmasters International
http://www.toastmasters.org/
Toastmasters International helps men and women learn the arts of speaking, listening and thinking – vital skills that promote self-actualization, enhance leadership, foster human understanding, and contribute to the betterment of mankind. Through its member Clubs, the organization strives to help people throughout the world improve their communication and leadership skills. |
| Media (Associations and Centers for Research) |
Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania
http://www.annenbergpublicpolicycenter.org/
Provides transcripts and research reports “in the areas of political communication, information and society, media and the developing child, health communication and adolescent risk.”
Association of Education in Journalism and Mass Communication
http://www.aejmc.org
Also see “Journalism & Mass Communications Abstracts, formerly Journalism Abstracts, includes abstracts of dissertations and theses accepted for graduate degrees. The abstracts were prepared by the student authors and represent research theses.” http://www.aejmc.org/abstracts/index.html
Center for Media and Public Affairs
http://www.cmpa.com/
Answers questions such as, "how many hours of media coverage did the Clinton-Lewinsky affair get on the network evening news?" This is a “nonpartisan research and educational organization which conducts scientific studies of the news and entertainment media…one of the few groups to study the important role the media plays in communicating information about health risks and scientific issues.”
The Pew Research Center
http://people-press.org/
The center is best know for it’s “regular national surveys that measure public attentiveness to major news stories, and for our polling that charts trends in values and fundamental political and social attitudes.” Select “survey reports” to view. Users can also limit the search to topic or period. Sponsored by “The Pew Charitable Trusts… a Philadelphia-based public charity that serves the public interest by providing information, advancing policy solutions and supporting civic life.”
United States Copyright Office
http://www.copyright.gov/
Links include: copyright basics, how to register a work, how to register a document, law and policy, and search copyright records. This is an especially helpful site for photojournalists.
Who Owns What (CJR Columbia Journalism Review)
http://www.cjr.org/tools/owners/
CJR's online guide to what major media companies own” and “A selected list of articles in CJR about media ownership”. Developed by Colombia University’s Graduate School of Journalism |
| News Sources (International/Alternative Sponsors) |
AFP
http://www.afp.com/english/links/?cat=links
“AFP is the world's oldest established news agency, founded in 1835 by Charles-Louis Havas, the father of global journalism.” This French agency provides free access to breaking global news. Select “stories” to view. Some of the other links (such as business news) may require a subscription.
Aljazeera.net
http://english.aljazeera.net/HomePage
“In January 2001, Aljazeera.net (Arabic) was launched as the first mainstream Arabic news site and in no time, it rose to the top of the Arab media…boiling topics and heated debates along with objective news reporting and interactive feedback are the attributes that put Aljazeera.net amongst the 50 most visited sites worldwide.”
World Radio Network
http://www.wrn.org
“WRN was the first British broadcaster offering live radio on the World Wide Web and today the WRN website is a major portal for international radio. The site offers live multi-format live streams of WRN's radio networks as well as hosting 'on-demand' audio files in over 20 languages from 16 international broadcasters.”
Zona Latina
http://www.zonalatina.com/Zlpapers.htm
Links to Latin American Newspapers. Search by country. Developed by Zona Latina. |
| News Sources (U.S Sponsored) |
American Journalism Review
http://www.ajr.org/
Links to Newspapers, Magazines, Television Networks, Radio and News/Wire Services, Journalism organizations, and Writing Aids. Developed by the Philip Merrill College of Journalism at The University of Maryland
C-Span.org
http://www.cspan.org/
Links to political news from State/Local to International News. Features Video/Audio clips, and C-span television and radio programs. “C-SPAN is a private, non-profit company, created in 1979 by the cable television industry as a public service.”
German-Language Newspapers and Other News Sources
http://www.dartmouth.edu/~wess/wessnews.html
Search by country or type of news source. Includes weather and historical newspapers. Sponsored by the Western European Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL).
Google News
http://news.google.com/
Links to “Top Stories” in the world, U.S., Business, Sci/Tech, Sports, Entertainment, Health, and Most Popular. “Search and browse 4,500 news sources updated continuously.” Developed by Google.
Internet Public Library
http://www.ipl.org/div/news/
Online newspapers from around the world. Developed by the University of Michigan School of Information.
Kidon Media Link
http://www.kidon.com/media-link/index.php
“Here you can find links to 18,102 newspapers and other news sources from almost every country and territory in the world.” Developed in 1994 by Kees van der Griendt, a Dutch web designer. |
[back to top] |