Library Services

Criminal Justice and Legal Studies Research Guide

Online Databases for Criminal Justice & Legal Studies

Major Databases -- Criminal Justice

Criminal Justice Abstracts (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts or CSA) indexes books, chapters in books as well as over 400 major journals in criminology and related disciplines. This source also contains access to reports from government and nongovernmental agencies.  Covers topics such as crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment and sentencing.

Criminal Justice Periodicals Index provides full text access for 45 criminal justice journals frequently consulted by professionals, plus complete abstracts for over 150 additional titles. Publications in CJPI focus primarily on practical issues in crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, police issues, and courtroom procedures..

ForensicNetBase contains more than 100 complete electronic books in forensics and a few cover law enforcement issues.  Titles are also listed individually in library catalog.

NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service)contains summaries of criminal justice publications, including Federal, State, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. Subject areas include corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, and victims of crime. The time period covered is from the early 1970's to the present.

Major Databases -- Legal Studies

Index to Legal Periodicals indexes over 570 journals, yearbooks, law reviews, and bar association publications. Covers all areas of jurisprudence, including court decisions, legislation, and original scholarship.

LexisNexis Academic provides access to legal, news, business, health, and reference information. It contains full text federal, state & international legal materials: Federal code, U.S. Constitution & court rules, Federal regulations, agency opinions & US Attorney General Opinions, federal and state case law and legal articles and U.S. and international newspapers, magazines, newsletters & journals.

Lexis-Nexis Congressional gives researchers access to information published by and about Congress and provides the tools for: searching the Congressional Record, tracking proposed legislation by keyword and sponsor, searching the Federal Register, searching congressional committee schedules, finding members of Congress, and searching the National Journal. Congressional Universe has full text of almost all Committee Reports from 1990 forward and Congressional testimony from 1988 forward.

Westlaw Campus a web-based legal research tool for law-related issues. This resource includes access to the complete laws and statutes of the federal government and all 50 states, federal regulations, precedent-setting court decisions, KeyCite, American Law Reports, American Jurisprudence, and current and archived articles from hundreds of leading law reviews and journals.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic One (Gale) indexes articles in approximately 1000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in the arts, humanities, social sciences, science and technology.

Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost) is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications and offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals.

Access World News has full-text business information, from domestic and international newspapers, and world maps. (NOTE:  Provides full text of several Florida newspapers, including Fort Myers News-Press & Naples Daily News)  Great for local issues but these are not scholarly publications.

ProQuest General Reference  provides indexing and full-text magazine and journal articles from the arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and sciences.

netLibrary offers over 22,000 reference, scholarly, and professional electronic books.

Omni (Wilson Web) contains peer-reviewed articles in the areas of physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature from over 8000 academic journals.

Related Databases

Business & Management

ABI/INFORM Global  (Proquest)
  is an abstracting service covers nearly every aspect of business, including topics related to crime and criminal justice: privatization of prisons, prison construction, white collar crime, costs of crime, etc. Citations This resource contains over 1,000 current business and management periodicals.

Business and Company Resource Center finds detailed company and industry news and information. Provides Company profiles, company brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals. 53 Industries are covered in this database.

Business & Management Practices contains articles on business concepts, industries, management issues, business practices including: benchmark planning, best practices, business plans, corporate culture, expansion, long range planning, quality control, reengineering, resources case studies and guidelines etc. Includes case studies and how-to articles.

Business Dateline provides online articles from regional publications, Business Wire press releases, and major newspapers. This database includes information about resources describing regional business activities, trends and major stories on local firms, their products, and executives.

Business Full Text provides articles from more than 350 publications as far back as 1995 as well as abstracting and indexing of more than 600 publications as far back as 1982.

Psychology & Sociology

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts indexes and abstracts over 650 journals pertaining to health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. ASSIA covers resources from 16 different countries, including the UK and US.

CQ Public Affairs Collection providesreports on vital issues, statistical and historical analyses, historic documents and primary source materials, as well as a directory of key government, non-profit, and private organizations in each of the major policy areas.

CQ Researcher Plus Archives provides in-depth reports on current events and topics of current interest. Each report provides historical background on the topic, outside commentary, pro/con arguments, chronological information, and a substantial bibliography.Coverage is from 1923 to the present

Communication & Mass Media Complete i ncorporates CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource in the communication and mass media fields.

PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from 55 Psychology journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA’s Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.

PsycINFO indexes psychology related scholarly literature in these subject areas and more: crime, crime prevention, criminal behavior,victimology, psychosexual behavior, educational psychology, and applied psychology. Includes original research and journal articles, literature reviews, reports of surveys, case studies, theoretical discussions, bibliographies, and descriptions of tests and apparatus. Indexed materials are selected from more than 1,300 journals published in 50 countries and 28 languages.  Indexing from 1887 to date.

ProQuest Psychology Journals contains full text academic journals in psychology and related fields.

SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 289 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 75 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 547 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers


[back to top]

Reference Books

The resources below will help you to locate facts and background information, verify quick information or lead you to other sources. Newer editions of these books will replace previous ones as they are published. Most of these books are non-circulating and located in the Reference Section of the library.

Biographies

Cops, Crooks and Criminologists: An International Biographical Dictionary of Law Enforcement / Ref HV7911.A1 A94 2000
Murder cases of the twentieth century : biographies and bibliographies of 280 convicted or accused killers. Ref HV6245 .F74 1996

Criminal Procedure

Criminal Law Digest / REF KF9210.3.C75
The Criminal Law Handbook: Know Your Rights, Survive the System / REF KF9619.6 .B47 2005
Sentencing, Corrections, and Prisoners' Rights in a Nutshell / REF KF9685.Z9 B72 1994
Sentencing: a Reference Handbook / REF KF9685 .C48 2008
Federal Sentencing Law and Practice / REF KF9685 .H87 2007
State Sentencing Policies: Accelerators or Decelerators of Incarceration Rates? / Gen KF9685 .S84 2007

Dictionaries

The American Dictionary of Criminal Justice (3rd ed) / REF HV7411 .C48 2005
Black’s Law Dictionary (8th ed) / REF KF156 .B55 2004 (Available online in Westlaw Campus under Contents)
Oran’s Law Dictionary (Online via NetLibrary)
Burton’s Legal Thesaurus (3rd ed) / REF KF156 .B856 1998
Dictionary of American Penology / REF HV9304 .W54 1996
Historical Dictionary of Terrorism / REF HV6431 .A537 2005

Directories

Directory of Criminal Justice Information Sources / REF HV9950 .D59
National Juvenile Detention Directory / REF HV9103 .A54a
National Jail and Adult Detention Directory / REF HV9463 .N37

Encyclopedias

American Jurisprudence (Legal Encyclopedia)/ REF KF154 .A42 (Available via Westlaw Campus)
Corpus Juris Secundum (Legal Encyclopedia/ REF KF154 .C64
The Encyclopedia of American Crime / REF HV6789 .S54 2001
Encyclopedia of American prisonsREF HV9471 .E425 1996
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice
/
REF HV 6017 .E53 2002 (Also Available Online via Gale Virtual)
Encyclopedia of Capital Punishment / REF HV8694 .G76 1998
Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behavior /
REF HV6017 .E53 2001
Encyclopedia of International Organized Crime
/ REF HV6441 .D48 2005
Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement (3 v.) / REF HV7921 .E53 2005
Encyclopedia of Murder and Violent Crime / REF HV6515 .E5323 2003
Encyclopedia of Police Science (2 v.) / REF HV7901 .E53 2007
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution,2nd Ed.  6v, 2000 / (Available via Gale Virtual)
The Encyclopedia of the FBI's Ten Most Wanted List: 1950 to Present / REF HV6786 .S95 2004
Encyclopedia of White Collar Crime / REF HV6515 .E65 2007
Encyclopedia of violence, peace & conflict / REF HM291 .E625 1999
The FBI most wanted: an encyclopedia /
REF HV6785 .N48 1989
Florida Jur 2nd
(Legal Encyclopedia) / REF KFF80 .F56
Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law,2v, 2003 / (Available via Gale Virtual)
Historical Atlas of American Crime / REF HV 6779 .R67 2005
Prisons and Prison Systems:  A Global Encyclopedia  / REF HV8665 .R67 2006
West’s Encyclopedia of American Law, 2nd Ed., 13v, 2005 / (Available via Gale Virtual)

Guides to the Literature

Criminal Justice Research Resources / REF HV7419.O35 2000
Criminal Justice Student Writer's Manual / REF HV9950 .C74323 2008
Legal Research: How to Find & Understand the Law / REF KF240 . E35 2005
The Murder Reference: Everything You Never Wanted to Know About Murder in America / REF HV6529 .M86 1996
Mystery and Suspense Writers: the Literature of Crime, Detection, and Espionage / REF PR830.D4 M97 1998

Handbooks

Federal Sentencing law and practice / REF KF9685.H87 2007
The FBI : a comprehensive reference guide / REF HV8144.F43 F35 1999
FBI: a History / GEN HV8144.F43 J45 2007
Handbook of Organized Crime in the United States / REF HV6446.H345 1994
The murder reference: everything you never wanted to know about murder in America / REF HV6529 .M86 1996
Oxford Handbook of Criminology / GEN HV6025 .O87 2007
Police Chief's Desk Reference (Online via the Web)
Sentencing: a Reference Handbookl /
REF KF9685 .C48 2008

Indexes and Abstracts  See Online Databases

(Vols. 10-31). Criminal Justice Abstracts / Ref 6001.C67, See Online version
(1975-1998). The Criminal Justice Periodical Index / Ref Z5118.C9C74 , See Online version

Laws and Legislation

Official Florida Statutes / Ref KFF29 .F56 (Also Online)
West's Florida Statutes Annotated : under arrangement of the Official Florida Statutes / Ref KF30.A4 (Available via Westlaw Campus)
U.S. Code (Available online via Westlaw Campus & LexisNexis Academic)

Statistics

The Bureau of Justice Statistics
Crime In the “Sunshine State.” / Ref HV6793.F6F56 1998
Crime state rankings 2005: crime in the 50 United States / REF HV6787.C735 2005
Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Uniform crime reports for the United State
s
/ Online version 1995-2006 Print versions Ref HV6787 .A3 1990 & General Collection HV6787 .A3 1969-1989
Vital Statistics in Corrections / Ref HV8482 .A38

[back to top]

Web Resources

The following web sites have been carefully selected for providing reliable information. If you are using information from the web, it is your responsibility to make sure that it is from authoritative resources.

Comprehensive websites

FSU Criminology Professor, Dr. Cecil Greek’s mega site of Criminal Justice information and links:
http://www.criminology.fsu.edu/cj.html

National Criminal Justice Reference Service online full-text documents
http://www.ncjrs.org/search.html

Crime Prevention

Crime Prevention Coalition of America
http://www.ncpc.org/CPCA/
is a nonpartisan group of "national, state, federal, and community-based organizations united to promote and work toward citizen action to prevent crime". Members are from youth development organizations, municipalities, law enforcement agencies, federal and state government representatives, state crime prevention associations, and community-based groups.

National Crime Prevention Council
http://www.ncpc.org/
The National Crime Prevention Council is a national nonprofit educational organization. It is “the nation's focal point and voice for crime prevention: a source of help for individuals, neighborhoods, communities and governments.” Site includes NCPC's 10-Year Goals (2001-2010)

Legal Research

Legal Information Institute. Cornell University
http://www.law.cornell.edu/
A free-access site serving as a gateway to US and state laws (linking to the US. Code, The Code of Federal Regulations), court opinions and current awareness on legal issues. Search feature and links to Key and all US Supreme Court opinions, federal courts opinions, etc. Highlights recent law events and opinions. "the Institute is a non-profit activity of Cornell Law School supported by grants, the consulting work of its co-directors, and gifts."

FindLaw for legal professionals
http://lp.findlaw.com
Produced by a division of WestLaw, the site currently has free access to US Federal and sate laws, municipal codes; Supreme Court cases: the US Constitution, US Code, Code of Federal Regulations, and the Federal Register, etc. Links to US courts of appeals, US trial courts, and others. Many links to legal news, legal reference sources, and resources on law topics. Site available as a "public beta" site as of January 2002.

Organizations

Federal

The Bureau of Justice Statistics.
http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/
Source of CJ statistics. Includes links to publications, crime and justice data from other sources, and NACJD.

The FBI
http://www.fbi.gov/
Includes crime statistics /the UCR, FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin, career information, etc

Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
http://www.ojjdp.ncjrs.org/

United States Department of Justice Home Page.
http://www.usdoj.gov/
Information on its organizations/agencies (including BJS, DEA, FBI, INS, & NCJRS), publications, employment; search engine.

Florida

Florida Attorney General’s Office.
http://myFloridaLegal.com

Florida Corrections Commission.
http://www.fcc.state.fl.us/
The Commission oversees Florida’s correctional system. LINKS to County Sheriff’s Offices, Local police departments, and FCC Annual and other Reports.

Florida Department of Corrections.
http://www.dc.state.fl.us/
Detailed information on Florida’s inmate and offender populations, the organization and facilities of the DOC, and the Agency Strategic Plan for Fiscal Years 2000-01 to 2004-05.

Florida Department of Juvenile Justice.
http://www.djj.state.fl.us/
Includes an organizational chart for the Department; a wealth of information on prevention of juvenile crime, e.g. the June 2000 - Delinquency Prevention Plan FY 2000-2001; trends and statistics on juvenile delinquency, e.g. the 1998 report titled Delinquency Trends and Conditions in Florida; information on mental health of juvenile offenders, sanctions and treatment, and community involvement. Documents can be searched through their Bureau of Data and Research. http://www.djj.state.fl.us/RnD/

Florida Department of Law Enforcement.
http://www.fdle.state.fl.us/
Provides numerous links to Florida law enforcement agencies and departments as well as other related U.S and state sites. In addition offers access to other sections pertaining to forensic sciences, law enforcement news and planning, the most wanted and missing children.

Florida Highway Patrol.
http://www.fhp.state.fl.us/
Includes a history and the mission statement of the FHP; the FHP Policy Manual; Traffic Crash Facts; interesting data such as Traffic Stop Data by race and ethnicity; and FHP public safety warnings.

Florida Parole Commission.
https://fpc.state.fl.us/

Florida Sheriff’s Association
http://www.flsheriffs.org/

Florida Statistical Information
spacerArea Profile of Labor Market (Florida Research and Economic Database)
spacerBuilding Permits (HUD)
spacerCounty Demographics
spacerCounty Profile (Enterprise Florida)
spacerEconomic Development Office - Population Index
spacerThematic Maps
spacerCensus:
spacerCensus Information
spacerMapStats
spacerCrime Statistics:
spacerCrime Profile (Florida Department of Law Enforcement)
spacerUniform Crime Reports spacer
spacerFlorida Department of Education Statistics:
spacerFlorida Education and Community Data Profiles
spacerSESIR (School Environmental Safety Incident Reporting) Incident Summaries
spacerFlorida Department of Transportation Statistics:
spacerTraffic Report

Forensic Sciences Organizations

American Academy of Forensic Sciences
http://www.aafs.org/
A professional society dedicated to the application of science to the law. Includes recent issues of their Bulletin; links to graduate programs in psychology and the law and description of that discipline; many forensic sciences links.

American Board of Criminalistics
http://www.criminalistics.com/
Includes a career brochure with comprehensive information on sub- specialties, e.g. Criminalistics; the young Forensic Scientists Forum and Newsletter online; a searchable index to the Journal of Forensic Sciences; forensic links; and job opportunities.

American Board of Forensic Document Examiners, Inc.
http://www.abfde.org/
The North American board for certifying qualified examiners in forensic handwriting comparison and all other facets of forensic document examination.

Evidence Photographers International Council
http://www.epic-photo.org/
An organization for the advancement of forensic photography/videography in civil evidence & law enforcement.

Terrorism

Metasite on terrorism
http://www.mlb.ilstu.edu/crsres/terrorism/home.htm
Compiled at Illinois State University, provides links to governmental sites with information regarding terrorism, in light of the 9/11/01 attack on the Unites States. Provides government updates and background information.

National Security Institute
http://nsi.org/Default2.html
NSI is a private organization, whose site offers links to US legislation regarding terrorism and related reports, facts, and precautions.

U.S. Department of State. Counterterrorism Office.
http://www.state.gov/s/ct/
The Office coordinates all U.S. Government efforts to improve counterterrorism cooperation with foreign governments.

 

[back to top]

For comments, questions or suggestions about this web site,
send an e-mail to Geraldine Collins (Social Sciences Librarian).



Last Updated December 4, 2007 -- CM