Library Services

Back to Education Guides Main

Education Research Guide: Children's Literature

This is a research guide to highlight library materials appropriate for Education: Children's Literature. Books, journal titles, videos and DVDs can be found through the Library catalog.  FGCU's circulating book collection is on the 2nd floor.  Reference books, journals, videos and DVDs are found in the Library's West Wing. Children's books are found in the Library's West Wing on the 2nd Floor.

Table of Contents

New TitleBeyond picture books :
subject access to best books for beginning readers. 3rd ed.

by Barbara Barstow, Judith Riggle, Leslie Molnar.

REF Z1037 .B278 2008

Subject Librarian

If you need assistance or have suggestions about this guide, please contact:

Carol Maksian, Education & Psychology Librarian
Phone: 239-590-7626
Email: cmaksian@fgcu.edu

Online Databases

Online databases listed here are the most specific for this discipline. More than 300 databases are available to FGCU affiliates from the Online Databases page. For a complete list, and subject categories of these databases, please see the alphabetical or subject list at Online Databases. To determine if a particular journal issue is available online, see the 'By JOURNAL TITLE' on the E-Journals page.

Major Databases

Books In Print + Reviews (via Bowker) provides information on all U.S. books in print. Covers scholarly, technical, popular, adult, juvenile, and reprint titles. Include full-text reviews. Browse the juvenile section or go to the Children's room area.

Literature Resource Center includes Contemporary Authors; Dictionary of Literary Biography; Contemporary Literary Criticism Select; Scribner's Writers Series and Twaynes World, US and English authors. Great resource for biographies, bibliographies and critical analyses.

Literature for Children is a collection of the treasures of children's literature published largely in the United States and Great Britain from before 1850 to beyond 1950. Contains books from the Baldwin Library of Historical Children's Literature, housed in the Department of Special Collections and Area Studies at the University of Florida. Books from the Departments of Special Collections at Florida Atlantic University, Florida State University, and the University of South Florida are also included.

WorldCat is the world's most comprehensive library catalog. Lists over 62 million books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Represents over 400 languages.

What Do I Read Next? includes over 100,000 recommended titles, more than 58,000 plot summaries, and awards information from 562 awards, all to help users uncover new reading adventures, find long-remembered favorites, and discover award-winning titles. Users may search by title, author, subject, genre, locale and more.

Related Databases

Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost) is the world’s largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals in the collection. Coverage dates vary according to journal title. Over 100 titles have full text coverage from 1975.

Academic One indexes articles in approxamately 1000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in the arts, humanities, social sciences, science, and technology. Abstracts are included for some articles as well as selective full text.

Communication & Mass Media Complete incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth in the communication and mass media fields.

Education Full Text is an index to education information found in over 650 journals.

ERIC (1966+ via CSA) is a database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. It consists of citations to journal articles from Current index journals in education along with citations to unpublished materials, books, government documents, conference proceedings, and theses/dissertations from Resources in Education. The database is divided into journal ciatations (EJ) and document citations (ED). FGCU owns the complete ED collection in microfiche. Many ERIC documents are now available in full text from 1993 to the present for free via the U.S. Department of Education-- http://www.eric.ed.gov/. ERIC is also available via the Cambridge Scientific Abstracts and First Search. Coverage begins in 1966.

netLibrary offers over 22,000 reference scholarly, and professional electronic books.

ProQuest Education Journals includes over 650 journals indexed and abstracted; 400 in fulltext. Standard and professional education journals. Also includes AIDS education, human development, child abuse, and developmental psychology. Indexing by keyword, author, and journal browse. For some publications, full-text coverage date from 1991 or 1992; full-image coverage, from 1988; and Text+Graphics, from 1996.

PsycARTICLES contains full-text articles from 55 Psychology journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA’s Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. It contains all the material (with the exception of ads and editorial board lists) from these publications and general psychology and specialized basic, applied clinical and theoretical research areas within psychology.

SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 289 “core” coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 75 “priority” coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 547 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.

[Top of Page ]

Reference Books

Children's Authors/Writers

Black authors and illustrators of children's books: A biographical dictionary. / REF PN1009. A1 R63 1999
British children's writers since 1960. / REF PN451 .D54 v.161
British children's writers, 1800-1880. / REF PN451 .D54 v.163
British children's writers, 1914-1960. / REF PN451 .D54 v.160
Children's authors and illustrators: an index to biographical dictionaries (5th ed.) / REF Z1037 .A1 N181995
Contemporary Spanish-speaking writers and illustrators for children and young adults: a biographical dictionary / REF PQ7082 .C48 C66 1994
Popular nonfiction authors for children: a biographical and thematic guide / REF PS490 .W93 1998
Seventh book of junior authors and illustrators (7th ed.) / REF PN1009. A1 J86 1996
Something about the author (Multivolume set) / REF PN451 .S6
St. James guide to children's writers (5th. ed.) / REF PN1009 .A1 T9 1999
Twentieth century children's writers (4th ed.) / REF PN1009 .A1 T9 1995
Who's who in children's books: A treasury of the familiar characters of childhood / REF PN1009 .A1 F575 1975
Women writers of children's literature / REF PS490 .W66 1998

General Reference

60 years of notable children's books / REF 1037 .S59 2003x
A to zoo: Subject access to children's picture books (5th ed.) / REF PN1009 .A1 L53 1998
Adventuring with books: a booklist for pre-K- grade 6 / GEN Z1037 .N346 2002
An annotated bibliography of multi-cultural literature for children three to ten years / GEN Z1361 .E4 G36 2004
Best books for children: Preschool through grade 6. (6th ed.) / REFZ1037. B547 1998
Best Books for High School Readers. / REF Z1037 .G4816 2004
Beyond picture books: A guide to first readers / REF PE1119.3 .B37 1995
Booktalks, bookwalks, and read-alouds: promoting the best new children's literature across the elementary curriculum / GEN Z1037 .A1 B5823 2002
Cambridge guide to children's books in English / REF PR990 .C36 2001
Characters in children's literature / REF PN1009 A1 J66 1997
Charlotte Huck's children's literature (9th ed.)/ GENERAL LB1575.5 .U5 H79 2007
Children's literature in the elementary school. (8th ed.) / REF LB1575.5 .U5 H79 2004
Children's literature. / REF PR990 .H85 2001
Children's literature: A guide to reference sources / REF Z1037 .A1 H35 2004
Continuum encyclopedia of children's literature / REF PN1008.5 .C66 2005
Dictionary of american children's fiction, 1995-1999: books of recognized merit / REF PS490 H45 2002
Fifty years of children's books 1910-1960: Trends, backgrounds influences / REF PN1009 .A1 S55 1963
From biography to history: best books for children's entertainment and education / REF CT104 .F76 1998
Great books about things kids love: more than 750 recommended books for children 3 to 14 (1st ed.) / REFZ1037 .O23 2001
Horn Book Guide / REF PN1009 .A1 H6 2006
Informational picture books for children / REF Z1037. A1 C54 2000
Many peoples, one land: a guide to new multicultural literature for children and young adults / REF Z1232 .H45 2001
Masterplots II. Juvenile and young adult literature series / REFZ1037 .A1 M377
The new york times parent's guide to the best books for children (3rd ed.) / REF PN1009 .A1 L533 2000
Popular nonfiction authors for children: a biographical and thematic guide / REF PS490 .W93 1998
Primaryplots: a book talk guide for use with readers ages 4-8. / REF Z1037. A1 T47 1993
Recommended books in Spanish for Children and Young Adults: 2000-2004 / REF Z1037.7 .S387 2004


Indexes and Abstracts

Book Review Digest. Periodicals published in the U.S, Canada, and Great Britain, covering over 7,000 adult and children's books each year. Includes English-language fiction and nonfiction / REF Z1219 .C96
Book review index. 1965- 2004 (Identifies book reviews from professional and scholarly publications) /REFZ1035 .A1 B6
Child development abstracts and bibliography.(1928-1996) / REF HQ750.A1 C47
Children's Literature Review.(1976-).(v1-v120)/ REF Z1037.Al C5
Education index. New York: H.W. Wilson Co. (Have 1929-1998. Now available online via WilsonWeb's Education Full Text. Indexing begins in 1983- Full text begins in 1996. / REF Z5813 .E23
Kraus curriculum development library (KDCL) / REF LB1570 K73 Current edition is behind the Reference desk. Also available online as KDCL Online.
Library Literature.(1936- ) Have 1929- 1998. Library Literature is now available online via WilsonWeb. Indexing begins in 1984- Full text begins in 1994. / REF Z666 .L5
Quotation Index to children's literature. / REF PN6081 .Q593 2001Subject guide to children's books in print. Now available online in Books in Print. Search by author or title or browse the juvenile section.
Writers for young adults: Biographies master index. / REF PN497 . W74

Literature Prizes/ Awards and Honor Books

Booktalking: the award winners 3 / REF Z1037. A2 B67 1997
Children's literature: Awards and winners (3rd ed.) / REF PR990 .J66 1994
The Coretta Scott King Awards, 1970-2004 / REF Z1037 .A2 .C67 2004
Newbery and Caldecott Awards: a guide to the medal and honor books / REF Z1037. A2 N472 2004
The Newbery companion: booktalk and related materials for Newbery Medal and Honor books. / REF PS490 .G55 2001

[Top of Page]

Web Resources

Lester, Pam (2004) "Idea Box (Early Childhood Education & Activity Resources) Children's Literature Page"
http://www.theideabox.com/
Gives suggestions for activites, songs, crafts, recipes. Also includes numerous seasonal activities.

Schrock, Kathy (1998) "Kathy Schrock's Guide for Educators"
http://school.discovery.com/schrockguide/arts/artlit.html
Language Arts and Literature section links to many additional children's literature sites, information about authors and online full text of classics. Great site for teachers. Contains lesson plans, teaching tools, a curriculum center and more.

African-American Bibliography Books for Children
http://falcon.jmu.edu/~ramseyil/mulafro.htm
Includes short annotations from the Library of Congress.

Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Site
http://www.carolhurst.com
Includes book reviews and activities using children's literature in subject and curriculum areas.

Children's Literature Web Guide
http://www.acs.ucalgary.ca/~dkbrown/index.html
Links to many lists of award-winners, best books, children's choices, book discussion ideas and reviews including Spanish language titles.

CCBC: Cooperative Children's Book Center
http://www.education.wisc.edu/ccbc/
This site, created by the University of Wisconsin @ Madison's College of Education, offers numerous children's literature resources for teachers, librarians and students. Contains special subject bibliographies, lists of award winners, author and illustrator information as well as book reviews.

ISLMC (Internet School Library Media Center)Children's Literature & Language Arts Resources
http://falcon.jmu.edu/~ramseyil/childlit.htm

Provides links to award winners for children's literature and young adult literature, literary enrichment activities, multicultural resources, and numerous language arts resources.

Multicultural Resources for Children
http://falcon.jmu.edu/~ramseyil/multipub.htm
Contains listings of books with multiculture themes and also annotated bibliographies by ethnicity and culture.

[Top of Page]

Last Updated 06_08 CLM