This is a research guide to highlight library materials appropriate for Counselor Education. Books, journal titles, videos and DVDs can be found through the Library catalog. FGCU's circulating book collection is on the 2nd and 3rd floors of the Library's East Wing. Reference books, journals, videos and DVDs are found in the Library's West Wing.
Online Databases l Reference Materials l Journals l Web Resources
Online databases listed here are the most specific for this discipline. More than 300 databases are available to FGCU affiliates from the Online Databases page. To determine if a particular journal issue is available online, see the E-Journals page.
Major Databases for Counselor Education
Academic Search Complete provides full text for journals, many peer reviewed, covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more. Some materials are indexed from 1975.
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts covers health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education related materials. ASSIA indexes over 650 journals in 16 different countries, including the UK and US. Coverage is provided from 1987 to the present.
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides full text articles from over 230 journals and citation coverage from 550 journals..
Education Full Text
indexes education information found in over 650 journals and provides selective full-text of 155 titles.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an educational resource that also indexes published and unpublished sources and consists of citations to journal articles along with citations to unpublished materials, books, government documents, conference proceedings, and theses/dissertations related to education. Many ERIC documents are available online from 1993 to the present at http://eric.ed.gov/. ERIC is available via Cambridge Scientific Abstracts and FirstSearch.
KCDL Online is a searchable database of curricula, frameworks, and standards for all subjects covered in PreK-12 and Adult Basic Education. Contains a guidance category. Print index is available at the Reference Desk. Please click here for a KCDL tutorial.
ProQuest Education Journals includes standard and professional education journals well as human development, child abuse, and developmental psychology.
ProQuest Psychology Journals contains over 300 academic journals in psychology and related fields, all in full text.
PsycINFO is produced by the American Psychological Association and covers scholarly literature in the broad discipline of psychology rom 1887 to date. Includes original research and journal article citations, literature reviews, reports or surveys, case studies, theoretical discussions, bibliographies, and descriptions of tests and apparatus. Indexed materials are selected from more than 1,300 journals published in 50 countries and 28 languages.
PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from 55 Psychology journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA’s Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. For some titles, coverage begins in 1985.
REHABDATA
is National Rehabilitation Information Center's database on disability and rehabilitation, 1956- present. Many of documents indexed here are from journals that FGCU may own. Search the source journal in the FGCU library catalog or the List of Full Text E-Journals.
Social Sciences Full Text covers core periodicals in the fields of anthropology , economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations. Indexing begins in 1984 and full text coverage begins in January 1995.
Sociological Abstracts indexes 2600+ publications in sociology and related disciplines.
SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text journal articles, some dating back to 1895, and full text books and conference papers.
Educational/Psychological Tests and Measures
Health & Psychosocial Instruments indexes tests, measures, survey instruments, rating scales, and questionnaires on human health and behavior. Gives citations for the original research about the instrument, and research that incorporated the measure. Provided are citations to the actual tests. No full-text of the instruments is available here.
Mental Measurements Yearbook is produced by the Buros Institute and contains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, business, leadership and related areas as included in the printed “Mental Measurements Yearbooks”and coverage is from Vol. 9 to present.
E-Books & Other Multidisciplinary Databases
Gale Virtual Reference Library contains over 60 different reference encyclopedias and includes Encyclopedia of Education (2003), Encyclopedia of Measurement & Statistics (2007), Countries and Their Cultures (2001), Encyclopedia of Food and Culture (2003), Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World (2004), Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America (2004), Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology (2007), Social Trends and Indicators USA (2003)
netLibrary offers over 22,800 reference, scholarly, and professional electronic books.
Omni File is multi-disciplinary database that provides the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases, and full-text articles from five additional periodical databases available on WilsonWeb. Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994.
ProQuest Research Library covers many disciplines and offers full text or image of over 2,550 titles -- from 1971 forward. It features a mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
WorldCat is the world's most comprehensive library catalog. Lists over 62 million books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Represents over 400 languages and covers information from 4,000 years of knowledge.
[Top of Page ]
Educational/ Psychological Tests and Measurements
The achievement test desk reference (ADTR): comprehensive assessment and learning disabilities / REF LB3060.3 .A28 2006
Compendium of quality life instruments / REF RA407 .C65 1998
Comprehensive handbook of psychological assessment / REF BF176 .C654 2004
Directory of unpublished experimental mental measures / REF BF431 .D57
Handbook of psychological and educational assessment of children: intelligence, aptitude, and acheivement / REF BF722 .H33 2003
Handbook of psychiatric measures / REF RC 473 . O78 A46 2000
Handbook of tests and measurement in education and the social sciences / REF LB 3051 .L4543 2000
Intelligence tests and reviews: a monograph consisting of the intelligence sections of the seven mental measurements yearbooks (1938-1972) and Test in Print II / REF Z5814. P8 I53
Measures for clinical practice / REF BF176 .C66 2000
The mental measurements yearbook / REF Z5814 .P8 B392 (Online via Mental Measurements Yearbook)
Test critiques / REF BF 176 .T419
Test critiques compendium: reviews of major tests from the Test critique series / REF BF 176 .T4195
Tests in print / REF Z5814 .E9 T47 Tests in Print II / REF HF5381.7 .V58
Tests: a comprehensive reference for assessments in psychology, education and business / REF BF 176 .T43 2003
Encyclopedias
The concise Corsini encyclopedia of psychology and behavioral science / REF BF31 .E52 2001
Encyclopedia of applied psychology / REF BF636 .E52 2004
Encyclopedia of children, adolescents, and the media / Ref HQ784.M3 E53 2007
Encyclopedia of clinical child and pediatric psychology / REF RJ503.3 .E53 2003
Encyclopedia of cognitive behavior therapy / Ref RC489.C63 E537 2004
Encyclopedia of education and human development / Ref LB15 .E473 2005
Encyclopedia of educational research / REF LB15 .E48 1992
Encyclopedia of evaluation / REF H62 .E583 2005
Encyclopedia of human behavior / REF B 31 .E5 1994
The encyclopedia of mental health / REF RA 790.5 .E53 1998 / REF RC437 .K34 2001 (two different books with same title)
Encyclopedia of psychology / REF BF 31 .E522 2000
Encyclopedia of stress / REF QP82.2 .S8 .E53 2007
Handbooks
Assessing young children / REF LB1131. M6146 2007
Clinical handbook of co-existing mental health and drug and alcohol problems / RC480.5 C5537 2007
Comprehensive clinical psychology / REF RC 467 .C597 1998
Comprehensive handbook of multicultural school psychology / REF LB1027.55 .C66 2005
Counseling victims of violence: a handbook for helping professionals / HV6250.3 .U5 B76 2007
Crisis intervention handbook: assessment, treatment, and research / RC480.6 .C744 2005
The handbook of Chicana/o psychology and mental health / RC451.5 .M48 H36 2004 & ONLINE
Handbook of clinical family therapy / RC488.5 .H3262 2005
Handbook of girls' and women's psychological health / HQ1206 .H23855 2006
Handbook of mental health services for children, adolescents, and families/ RJ501 .A2 H36 2005
Handbook of preschool mental health : development, disorders, and treatment /RJ499 .H36 2006
Handbook of research in school consultation / LB2799.2 .H36 2008
Meeting the needs of students and families from poverty: a handbook for school and mental health professionals / LC4065 .T56 2008
Mental health handbook for schools / RC454.4 .A86 2002
The mental health professional and the new technologies: a handbook for practice today / ONLINE
Mental health in America : a reference handbook / RA790.6 .K4644 2007
A multidisciplinary handbook of child and adolescent mental health for front-line professionals / RJ499.3 .M855 2002 & ONLINE
WAIMH handbook of infant mental health / RJ 502.5 .H362 2000
Working with families of psychiatric inpatients: a handbook for clinicians / RC439 .H478 2007
Other Reference Sources
Counselor preparation: programs, faculty, trends / REF BF637 .C6 .C68 2004
Dictionary of behavioral assessment techniques / REF BF 176.5 .D53 1988
Study guide for the national counselor examination / Reserve BF637 .C6 H38
2006
Guides to Research & Writing
APA style guide to electronic references / Ref BF76.7 S89 2007 Also available Online
Concise rules of APA style / BF76.7.C66 2005 Ask at Reference Desk
Displaying your findings: a practical guide for creating figures, posters and presentations Gen BF76.8 .N53 2003
Publication manual of the American Psychological Association / REF BF76.7 .P83 2001 & Ref Desk
A guide to grammar and usage for psychology and related fields / REF BF76.8 .B44 1993
Library use: a handbook for psychology / REF BF76.8 .R43 2003
The psychologist's companion: a guide to scientific writing for students and researchers / REF BF76.8 .S73 2003
The world's easiest guide to using the APA: a user-friendly manual for formatting research papers according to the American Psychological Association style guide / Reference Desk BF76.7 .A52 2002
Writing with style: APA style for counseling / REF BF76.8 .S94 2002 c.1-2
Writing with style: APA style for social work / REF HM586 .S98 2000 c. 1-2
[Top of Page]
Selected Counselor Education Journals
American Journal of Family Therapy and in print PER HQ1 .J46
British Journal of Guidance & Counselling
Canadian Journal of Counselling
Counseling and Human Development and in print PER
BF637.C6 C68
Counseling and Values
Counseling in India
Counseling Psychologist and in print BF637 .C6 C64
Counselling and Psychotherapy Research
Counselling Psychology Quarterly
Counselor Education and Supervision and in print PER BF637.C6 C686
Educational and Psychological Measurement and in print PER
BF1.E3
Elementary School Guidance and Counseling now Professional School Counseling
European Journal of Psychotherapy, Counselling, and Health
Family Journal: Counseling and Therapy for Couples & Families in print PER
RC488.5 .F3252
Family Therapy and in print PER
RC488.5.A1 F33
Guidance & Counselling
Healthcare Counselling and Psychotherapy Journal
International Journal for the Advancement of Counselling and in print PER BF637.C6 I53
International Journal of Reality Therapy and in print PER
RC489.R37 J68
Intervention in School and Clinic and in print PER
LC4001 .A25
Journal for Specialists in Group Work and in print PER BF637 .C6 T63
Journal of Addictions & Offender Counseling
Journal of Applied Rehabilitation Counseling and in print PER HV1568.A1 J6
Journal of Anxiety Disorders and in print
PER RC531 .J68
Journal of College Counseling
Journal of College Student Development Online and in print PER
LB2343 .J64
Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology and in print
PER BF1 .J575
Journal of Counseling and Development and in print PER
HF5381.A1 J68
Journal of Counseling Psychology and in print PER
BF637.C6 J6
Journal of Educational Measurement and in print
LB1131.A1 N32
Journal of Employment Counseling
Journal of Humanistic Counseling, Education and Development
Journal of Marital and Family Therapy
Journal of Mental Health Counseling
Journal of Multicultural Counseling and Development
Journal of Pastoral Counseling
Journal of Positive Behavior Interventions and in print PER
RJ505.B4 J68
Journal of Professional Counseling, Practice, Theory, & Research
Journal of Rational-Emotive and Cognitive-Behavior Therapy
Journal of Sex Education & Therapy
Journal of Substance Abuse Treatment
Journal of Technology in Counseling
Measurement and Evaluation in Counseling and Development
Patient Education and Counseling
Professional School Counseling
Psychiatric Rehabilitation Journal
Rehabilitation Counseling Bulletin
Women & Therapy
Web Resources
[Top of Page]
Questions? Contact:
Carol Maksian | 239-590-7626 | cmaksian@fgcu.edu | Room 214 Library West