Library Services

Back to Education Guides Main

Education Research Guide: Early Childhood

This is a research guide to highlight library materials appropriate for Education: Early Childhood. Books, journal titles, videos and DVDs can be found through the Library catalog.  FGCU's circulating book collection is on the 2nd & 3rd floors of the Library East Wing.  Reference books, journals, videos and DVDs are found in the Library West Wing.

Table of Contents

Subject Librarian

If you need assistance or have suggestions about this guide, please contact:

Carol Maksian, Education & Psychology Librarian
Phone: 239-590-7626
Email: cmaksian@fgcu.edu

Reference Books

Bibliographies
Child development abstracts and bibliography. REF HQ750 .A1 C47 (Have 1975 v.49 no.1-2 - 1996 v.70 no.3)
Resources for early childhood: a handbook REF HQ767.9 .N8 1994

General Reference

NEW! Early childhood education: an international encyclopedia / REF LB1139.23 .E272 2007
The early intervention dictionary: a multidisciplinary guide to terminology /
REF HV891.C63 1993
Directory for Exceptional Children / REF LC4007 .D5 2004/2005
Early childhood programs: organization and administration. REF LB2822.6 .J67 1992
Assessing young children / REF LB1131 .M6146 2007
Teaching young children / GEN LB1139.25 .N53 2006

Indexes and Abstracts

Education index. New York:H.W. Wilson Co. (Have 1929-1998) REF Z5813 .E23 Now available online via Education Full Text. Indexing begins in 1983- Full text begins in 1996.
Kraus curriculum development library (KDCL).Available online as KDCL Online. For a tutorial on how to use KDCL Online click here.
Social sciences index. Now available online via Social Sciences Full Text. Indexing begins in 1983- Full text begins in 1994 / REF AI3. S62

Web Site

Child Care & Early Education Research Connection is a comprehensive database that indexes journals, research reports, grey literature and government documents on child care and early education. The following organizations-- National Center for Children in Poverty at the Mailman School of Public Health, Columbia University; the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research at the Institute for Social Research, the University of Michigan; and the Child Care Bureau, Administration for Children and Families of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services regularly review the current literature, reports and data on child care.