Library Services

 

Education Research Guide: Educational Leadership

Online Databases l Reference Materials l E-Journals l Web Resources l Citation Styles | RefWorks| Back to Education Guides Main

MAJOR DATABASES

RELATED

BOOKS & E-BOOKS

SCHOLARLY SEARCH ENGINES

Google Scholar Icon

DISSERTATIONS

Reference Books

Abstracts and Indexes

Child development abstracts and bibliography. (Have 1975-1996) / REF HQ750 .A1 C47
Educational administration abstracts. Now available online (Library has print ed. from 1981-2007) / REF LB2805 .E32
Education Index. (Have 1929-1998) Online via Education Full Text / REF Z5813 .E23

Dictionaries

Biographical dictionary of modern American educators / REF LA2311 .O55 1997
A critical dictionary of educational concepts: An appraisal of selected ideas and issues in educational theory and practice
/ REF LB15 .B29 1990
The Greenwood dictionary of education / REF LB15 .G68 2003 Also online via NetLibrary
Learning theories A-Z / LB15 .L4695 2002
Also online via NetLibrary

Directories

Educational administration directory /REF LB1738.5 .E38
Patterson's American Education
/ REF L901 .P3

General Reference

Education, a guide to reference and infomation sources / REF LB15 .B89 2000
The educator's desk reference: A sourcebook of educational information and research (EDR) / REF LB1028.27 .U6 F47 2002
Encyclopedia of American education / REF LB17 .U54 2001
Encyclopedia of Education /
REF LB15 .E47 2003 Also available online via Gale Virtual Reference Library
Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration
/ REF LB2805 .E527 2006
Encyclopedia of Educational Research / REF LB15 .E48 1992
Encyclopedia of leadership / REF HD57.7 E53 2004
Encyclopedia of special education: A reference for education of the handicapped and other exceptional children and adults / REF LC4007 .E53 2007
Handbook of certification requirements for school administrators
/ REF LB1768 .Z56 2002
Handbook of research on educational administration: A project of the American Education Research Association / REF LB2805 .H2864 1999
Handbook of research on teaching
/ REF LB1028 .H315 2001
Higher education in the United States: an encyclopedia
/ REF LA225 .H54 2002
Patterson's American Education / REF L901 .P3
Philosophy of education: an encyclopedia / REF LB17 .P485 1996
Requirements for certification of teachers, counselors, librarians, administrators for elementary and secondary schools / REF LB1771 .R46
The Sage handbook of educational leadership : advances in theory, research, and practice
/ REF LB2805 .S262 2005
Second international handbook of educational leadership and administration / REF LB2805 .S49 2002Standards and schooling in the United States: an encyclopedia / REF LB2822.82 .S82 2001
Youth Online: Identity and Literacy in the Digital Age / REF HQ799.2 .I5 T56 2007

Statistics

The condition of education / REF L112 .N377a Also Online
Digest of education statistics / REF LB2846 .D5 Also Online
Projections of education statistics to 2013 / REF LA210 .A28 2007-2013 See Online for latest edition
Understanding and Using Education Statistics / GEN LB2846 .B56 2003

[Top of Page]

E-Journals (Journals available through online databases


American educational research journal. Washington: American Educational Research Association.
American school board Journal. Milwaukee: Bruce Publishing Company
American journal of evaluation Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications
Chronicle of Higher Education (Select single journals)
Educational evaluation and policy analysis. Washington: American Educational Research Association.
Educational Administration Quarterly. Thousand Oaks, CA : Sage Publications
Exceptional Children. Reston, Va. : Council for Exceptional Children
International journal of educational management. Bradford, England: MCB University Press.
Journal of educational administration. Bradford, England: MCB University Press.
Journal of educational change. Netherlands: Kluwer Academic Publishers.
Journal of educational research. Washington: Heldref Publications.
Journal of school leadership. Lancaster, Pa. : Technomic Pub. Co.
NASSP bulletin. Reston, Va.: National Association of Secondary School Principals.
Review of research in education. Washington: American Educational Research Association.
The school administrator. Arlington, VA: American Association of School Administrators.
School effectiveness and school improvement. Lisse, The Netherlands: Swets & Zeitlinger.
School leadership & management. Abingdon, Oxfordshire, UK ; Cambridge, MA: Carfax Pub. Co..
School planning & management. Dayton, OH: Peter Li, Inc.

Web Resources

Online Journals (links to publication websites)

AASA Journal of Scholarship and Practice (formerly the AASA Professor)

American School Board Journal

International Electronic Journal for Leadership in Learning
An online journal devoted to the study and discussion of substantive leadership issues of current concern in educational communities. Preference is given to articles, reviews, and commentary that focus upon issues with a significant impact upon life in schools.

Journal of Vocational Education and Training A peer-reviewed international journal that publishes scholarly articles addressing the development of practice and theory in work-related education, wherever that education occurs. The full text of all articles becomes freely available online to all users 12 months after publication of the print/paper edition.

Journal of Research for Educational Leaders An excellent leadership journal from the University of Iowa.

National Forum Journals Online Journals in educational leadership and special education.

NEA Today

New Horizons for Learning This non-profit organization offers a quarterly electronic journal as well as full-text books and articles, intended to expand the dialog on learning and educational change.

Pedagogy, Culture and Society A peer-reviewed journal "that seeks to provide an international forum for curriculum discussion and debate."

The Phi Delta Kappan A professional education journal from Phi Delta Kappa that addresses policy issues for educators at all levels and advocates for research-based school reform. Selected articles back to September 1996 are offered online.

Practical Assessment, Research and Evaluation An online peer-reviewed journal supported, in part, by the Department of Measurement, Statistics, and Evaluation at the University of Maryland, College Park.

Publications of the American Federation of Teachers

The School Administrator

Teacher Development A peer-reviewed international journal that seeks to publish articles on all aspects of teachers' professional development.

Connections: Journal of Principal Preparation and Development

Contemporary Issues in Early Childhood An online, peer-reviewed, free-access, international research journal that provides a forum for researchers and professionals who are exploring new and alternative perspectives in their work with young children and their families. The full text of all articles becomes freely available online to all users 12 months after publication of the print/paper edition.

Early Childhood News A peer-reviewed journal for professionals who work with young children, from birth to age six. Topics include child development, health and safety, curricula, guidance, art and music, nutrition, play, self-esteem, and professional development, among others. Selected full-text articles back to September 1995.

Education Policy Analysis Archives This peer-reviewed scholarly journal from Arizona State University offers full-text articles from all issues back to 1993.

Education Review Reviews of recent books in education, covering the entire range of education scholarship and practice.

Education Week on the Web Full-text articles from Education Week, Teacher Magazine, and background sources, as well as selected education articles from newspapers around the country.

Education World A directory of education resources. This is a very comprehensive website for all educators.

Educational Action Research A peer-reviewed international journal concerned with exploring the unity between educational research and practice.

Educational Leadership is the official publication of the Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development, this journal features theme issues on current trends and issues in curriculum across the K-12 spectrum.

Harvard Education Letter "Reports, interprets, and critiques new research and innovative practice in preK-12 education.

The Horizon Site On-Ramp includes links to valuable education-related databases, articles, and resources in the social, technological, economic, environmental, and political sectors.

Instructor

Professional Associations

American Association of School Administrators (AASA), founded in 1865, is the professional organization for over 14,000 educational leaders across America and in many other countries.

American Association of School Business Officials (ASBO) A professional association that provides programs and services to promote the highest standards of school business management practices, professional growth, and the effective use of educational resources.

American Education Research Association (AERA) is devoted to improving the educational process by encouraging scholarly inquiry related to education and by promoting the dissemination and practical application of research results.

Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development (ASCD) For leaders in elementary, middle, and secondary education and others interested in curriculum, instruction, supervision, and leadership in schools. Contains the journal Educational Leadership.

Council for Exceptional Children is the largest international professional organization dedicated to improving educational outcomes for students with disabilities, and/or the gifted. This site contains links to numerous resources.

Council of Chief State School Officers is an organization of state education officials who helped develop the Interstate School Leaders Licensure Consortium (ISLLC) standards.

Council of the Great City Schools, a coalition of nearly 60 of the nation's largest urban public school systems.

Education Commission of the States (ECS) was created in 1965 to improve public education by facilitating the exchange of information, ideas and experiences among state policymakers and education leaders. State governors take an active part in ECS deliberations. This is a great source of information on current and future policy issues.

Florida Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development (FASCD)

Florida Association of School Administrators (FASA) Contains comprehensive calendar of education events

Florida Department of Education (DOE) Assessment Information Information on all State testing, including laws, and data.

Florida Department of Education Site for School Administrators Links to Sunshine State Standards and other state laws and standards

Florida Educational Leadership Exam (FELE) includes, listing test dates, fees, locations, etc. and a study guide

Florida Bureau of Instruction and Innovation The Curriculum support area includes information for educators relating to standards, course code directory, and other instructional resources.

National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP)

National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP)

NCELA National Clearinghouse for English Language Acquisition & Language Instruction Educational Programs (formerly the National Clearinghouse for Bilingual Education)

National Council of Professors of Educational Administration (NCPEA)
Contains links to resources in educational leadership.

National School Boards Association (NSBA)

Phi Delta Kappa (PDK) is a professional education association. Offers the table of contents of the latest edition of the Phi Delta Kappan, an excellent journal devoted to educational policy issues. Selected articles are available in full-text.

U.S. Department of Education is a mega-site with links to educational research resources, statistics, national and international assessments, newsletters and journals, legislation, and policy initiatives

Research Sources

Awesome Library This education website provides a host of references for every content area, including leadership

Center on Education Policy This is a national, independent advocate for education and school improvement

US Charter Schools contains information on Charter Schools in the United States from the U.S. Department of Education and WestEd, a non-profit research, development, and service agency

Consortium for Policy Research in Education A Penn State website. Click here for either general research or school finance information. Also includes links to publications on educational policy, governance, finance, and school reform

Educators, Psychologists and Philosophers An ERIC bibliography of works written between 1982-1992 about famous educators, psychologists and philosophers, developed by a student at Long Island University. It provides an excellent source of references for research

emtech Emerging Technologies site lists specific areas of research interest in education, such as "Alternative Assessment", and provides resources for each area

Florida Laws and Constitution

Florida Department of Education provides resources for students, parents, and educators in the state of Florida. Get news and updates on legislation and statistics as related to education in Florida.

How People Learn:
How People Learn: Bridging Research and Practice Released in December 1998 by the National Research Council, this online report synthesizes research on human learning

Florida Court System
Florida Court System Link to Education topics on sidebar.

IDEA Resources
Provides useful and timely information to help professionals and families understand and implement IDEA 2004, the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act. Includes Implementing IDEA: A Guide for Principals

National Center for Educational Statistics
The primary Federal entity that collects, analyzes, and disseminates data on education in the United States and abroad. Subsections include Education Statistics at a Glance, Fast Facts, and The Condition of Education

National Staff Development Council (NSDC)
Includes some journal articles and information for professional development.

Institute of Education Sciences
Contains good information on school reform with links to other sites.

An Educator’s Guide to Schoolwide Reform: 24 Approaches
A listing of the approaches approved by the Education Department for use in Title I programs

Special Education Resources
Excellent information links for special education

Theory into Practice Database contains summaries of 50 major theories of learning and instruction

Technology in Schools

Technology, Pedagogy, & Education
A peer-reviewed international journal concerned with...the theory and practice of information technology in education [and teacher education.]

Journal of Technology Education
A peer-reviewed forum for scholarly discussion on topics relating to technology education, especially technology education research, philosophy, theory, and practice

Journal of Technology Studies
A peer-reviewed journal featuring topics of interest to a leadership group, consistent with ideals of social proficiency, technical skills and research

MultiMedia Schools
A practical how-to magazine that addresses multiple technologies used in K-12 schools today - CD-ROM, multimedia, online, and Internet resources. Articles, columns, news, and product reviews are contributed by practicing educators who use new technologies in the classroom and media center

T.H.E. Journal
Also called Technological Horizons in Education, this journal offers full-text articles on technology in the classroom from the most recent issue, and information about free online subscription

Technology and Learning

[Top of Page]

If you need assistance or have suggestions or questions regarding this web guide, please contact
Education & Psychology Librarian, Carol Maksian
Email: cmaksian@fgcu.edu

Page last updated 6/18/08