Library Services

Education Research Guide: General Education

Online Databases l Reference Materials l E-Journals l Web Resources l Citation Styles | RefWorks| Back to Education Guides Main

MAJOR DATABASES

RELATED

BOOKS & E-BOOKS

SCHOLARLY SEARCH ENGINES

Google Scholar

 

DISSERTATIONS

Reference Books

DictionariesStatue of Liberty

Biographical dictionary of modern American educators / REF LA2311 .O55 1997
A critical dictionary of educational concepts: An appraisal of selected ideas and issues in educational theory and practice
/ REF LB15 .B29 1990
The Greenwood dictionary of education / REF LB15 .G68 2003 Also online via NetLibrary
Learning theories A-Z / LB15 .L4695 2002
Also online via NetLibrary

Directories

Patterson's American Education / REF L901 .P3

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of American education / REF LB17 .U54 2007
Encyclopedia of children and childhood : in history and society / REF HQ767.84 .E53 2003
Encyclopedia of children, adolescents, and the media / REF HQ784.M3E53 2007
Encyclopedia of education
/ REF LB15 .E47 2003 Also available online via Gale Virtual Reference Library
Encyclopedia of educational leadership and administration / REF LB2805 .E527 2006
Encyclopedia of educational research
/ REF LB15 .E48 1992
Encyclopedia of human development / REF HM626 .E53 2006
The encyclopedia of learning disabilities / REF LC4704.5 .T86 2006
Encyclopedia of special education: A reference for education of the handicapped and other exceptional children and adults / REF LC4007 .E53 2007
Gender and education: an encyclopedia /REF LC213 .G425 2007
Higher education in the United States: an encyclopedia
/ REF LA225 .H54 2002
The international encyclopedia of education / REF B15 .I569 1994
Philosophy of education: an encyclopedia / REF LB17 .P485 1996
Testing and Standards: a brief encyclopedia / REF LB3051 .W4966 2002
World education encyclopedia: a survey of educational systems worldwide / REF LB15 .W87 2001

Guides and Handbooks

The almanac of American education / E-Resource Click here to view
Bilingual education: a reference handbook / REF LC3731 .F45 2002
Brief reference of student disabilities-- with strategies for the classroom / REF LC4031 .N53 2002
Education, a guide to reference and infomation sources / REF LB15 .B89 2000
The educator's desk reference: A sourcebook of educational information and research (EDR) / REF LB1028.26 .F74 2002
Handbook of gifted education / REF LC3993.9 .H35 2003
Handbook of information technologies for education and training / REF LB1028.3 .H353 2002
Handbook of research on educational administration: A project of the American Education Research Association / REF LB2805 .H2864 1999
Handbook of research on teaching / REF LB1028 .H315 2001
International handbook of curriculum research / REF LB2806.15 .I595 2003
Literacy and learning: a reference handbook / REF LC151 .B58 2002
Migrant education: a reference handbook / REF LC5151.G68 2001
Sage handbook of educational leadership: advances in theory, research, and practice / REF LB2805 .S262 2005
Second international handbook of educational leadership and administration
/ REF LB2805 .S49 2002
Youth Online: Identity and Literacy in the Digital Age / REF HQ799.2 .I5 T56 2007

Indexes and Abstracts

Education Index (Have 1929-1998) Now available online via Education Full Text / REF Z5813 .E23
Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors / REF Z695.1 .E3 T47 2001 Also available online via ERIC.
Core list of books and journals in education / REF Z5811 .C798 1991

Statistics

The condition of education / REF L112 .N377a Also Online
Digest of education statistics / REF LB2846 .D5 Also Online
Projections of education statistics to 2013 / REF LA210 .A28 2007-2013 See Online for latest edition
Understanding and Using Education Statistics / GEN LB2846 .B56 2003

[Top of Page]

E-Journals

Chronicle of Higher Education (Select single journals)

Web Resources

Edufind.com- Education Resources Online is operated by the Digital Education Network and provides web-based services for education.

Florida Department of Education Homepage provides resources for students, parents, and educators in the state of Florida. Get news and updates on legislation and statistics as related to education in Florida.

National Education Association Homepage contains help for parents, resources for professionals, and information on current issues in education and education legislation.

U.S. Department of Education Homepage gives resources for students, teachers, parents, and administrators. Find information on financial aid, policy, programs, grants, and more.

U.S. Department of Education- Research and Statistics gives statistical information from various research organizations. A great resource for education researchers.

ETS Test Collection includes a library of 20,000 tests and other measurement devices from the early 1900s to the present and gives information on standardized tests and research instruments.

Digest of Educational Statistics provides a compilation of statistical information for American education from kindergarten through graduate school.

Federal Resources for Educational Excellence (FREE) is offered by the U.S. Department of Education website and contains teaching and learning resources from federal agencies.

Educator's Reference Desk (Institute of Information of Syracuse) offers lesson plans, links to online education information, and research guides.

LD Online -- is the "world's leading website on learning disabilities and ADHD".

Literacy Web -- University of Connecticut's Literacy Web gives literacy resources by grade level and highlights current research

New York Times Learning Network highlights resources for parents, students and teachers and is designed for grades 3-12

PBS TeacherSource gives multimedia resources for the classroom by topic area and grade level

Smithsonian Education: Educators' Section is a terrific resource for all ages and contains a resource library as well as lesson plans

Theory into Practice Database contains summaries of 50 major theories of learning and instruction

[Top of Page]

 

If you need assistance or have suggestions about this guide, please contact:

Carol Maksian, Education & Psychology Librarian
Email: cmaksian@fgcu.edu

Updated 6/05/08