Books, journal titles, videos and DVDs can be found through the Library catalog. FGCU's circulating book collection is on the 2nd and 3rd floors of the Library's East Wing. Reference books, videos and DVDs are found on the 1st floor of the Library's West Wing. Journals are found in the Library's West Wing.
Table of Contents |
New Titles!
Reading assessment: a primer for teachers and coaches / JoAnne Schudt Caldwell.
LB1050.46 .C23 2008
|
Subject Librarian |
|
If you need assistance or have suggestions about this guide, please contact:
Carol Maksian, Education & Social Sciences Librarian
Phone: 239-590-7626
Email: cmaksian@fgcu.edu
|
Bibliographies
An annotated bibliography of multi-cultural literature for children three to ten years / GEN Z1361 .E4 G36 2004
Reading tests and reviews; including a classified index to the Mental Measurements Yearbooks / REF LB1050.46 .B87
Children's Authors/Writers
British children's writers since 1960 / REF PN451 .D54 v.161
British children' s writers, 1914-1960 / REF PN451 .D54 v.160
British children's writers, 1800-1880 / REF PN451 .D54 v.163
Black authors and illustrators of children's books: A biographical dictionary / REF PN1009 .A1 R63 1999
Contemporary Spanish-speaking writers and illustrators for children and young adults: a biographical dictionary / REF PQ7082 .C48 C66 1994
Favorite children's authors and illustrators / REF PN1009 .A1 F38 2007
Popular nonfiction authors for children: a biographical and thematic guide / REF PS490 .W93 1998
Something about the author (Multivolume set) / REF PN451 .S6
St. James guide to children's writers / REF PN1009 .A1 T9 1999
Twentieth century children's writers / REF PN1009 .A1 T9 1995
Who's who in children's books: A treasury of the familiar characters of childhood / REF PN1009 .A1 F575 1975
Women writers of children's literature / REF PS490 .W66 1998
General Collection
Adventuring with books: a booklist for pre-K- grade 6 / GEN Z1037 .N346 2002
Booktalks, bookwalks, and read-alouds: promoting the best new children's literature across the elementary curriculum / GEN Z1037 .A1 B5823 2002
The Complete Idiot's guide to publishing Children's Books / NetLibrary
The Essential Guide to children's books and their creators / NetLibrary
Improving adolescent literacy:strategies at work / GEN LB1632 .F57 2004
Making the match : the right book for the right reader at the right time, grades 4-12 / GEN Z1037.A1L47 2003
National Reading Conference Yearbook Annual Publication of the National Reading Conference-began in 1958- Library has most editions / GEN LB2365 .R4 N3
Growing Readers: units of study in the primary classroom /GEN LB1525 .C68 2004
Reading history: A practical guide to improving literacy / GEN LB1050.455 .A43 2005
Teenplots: a booktalk guide to use with Readers Ages 12-18 / GEN Z1037 .A1 G526 2003
Indexes and Abstracts
Book Review Digest. Includes English-language fiction and nonfiction. Print volumes available
(1905-1990, 1998-2003)
/ REF Z1219 .C96 Online via WilsonWeb's Book Review Digest Plus. Indexing begins in 1983- Full text begins in1996
Book review index. 1965- present (Identifies book reviews from professional and scholarly publications) / REF Z1035 .A1 B6
Children's authors and illustrators: an index to biographical dictionaries / REF Z1037 .A1 N18 1995
Child development abstracts and bibliography. (1928-present) / REF HQ750.A1 C47
Children's literature Review / REF Z1037 .A1 C5
Education index. REF Z5813 .E23 (Have 1929-1998. Online via WilsonWeb's Education Full Text. Indexing begins in 1983- Full text begins in 1996) /
Kraus curriculum development library (KDCL) / Available online as KDCL Online.
Subject guide to children's books in print Now available online as Books in Print. Search by author or title or also browse the juvenile section.
Quotation Index to children's literature / REF PN6081 .Q593 2001
Literature Prizes/ Awards and Honor Books
Children's literature: A guide to reference sources / REF PR990 .J66 1994
The Coretta Scott King Awards, 1970-2004 / REF Z1037 .A2 .C67 2004
Newbery and Caldecott Awards: a guide to the medal and honor books / REF Z1037. A2 N472 1999
The Newbery companion: booktalk and related materials for Newbery Medal and Honor books / REF PS490 .G55 2001
Reference Materials
60 years of notable children's books / REF Z1037 .S59 2003x
A to zoo: Subject access to children's picture books / REF PN1009 .A1 L53 1998
Best books for children: Preschool through grade 6 / REF Z1037 .G48 2006
Best books for high school readers / REF Z1037 .G4816 2004
Beyond picture books : subject access to best books for beginning readers / REF Z1037.B278 2008
Cambridge guide to children's books in English / REF PR990 .C36 2001
Children's literature in the elementary school / REF LB1575.5 .U5 H79 2004
Children's literature / REF PR990 .H85 2001
The children's and young adult literature handbook: a research and reference guide / REF Z1037 .A1 . G55 2005
Characters in children's literature / REF PN1009 .A1 .J66 1997
Continuum encyclopedia of children's literature / REF PN1008.5 .C66 2001
Fifty years of children's books 1910-1960: Trends, backgrounds, influences / REF PN1009 .A1 S55 1963
From biography to history: best books for children's entertainment and education / REF CT104. F76 1998
Genreflecting: a guide to reading interests in genre fiction / REF PS374 .P63 H47 2000
Great books about things kids love: more than 750 recommended books for children 3 to 14 / REF Z1037 .O23 2001
Horn book guide to children's and young adult books (1994-present) / REF PN1009 .A1 H6
Informational picture books for children / REF Z1037 .A1 C54 2000
Many peoples, one land: a guide to new multicultural literature for children and young adults / REF Z1232 .H45 2001
Masterplots II. Juvenile and young adult literature series / REF Z1037 .A1 M377
The new york times parent's guide to the best books for children / REF PN1009 .A1 L533 2000
Novel Ideas for young readers!: Projects and activities / REF LB1573 .K85 2000
Primaryplots 2: A book talk guide for use with readers 4-8 / REF Z1037 .A1 T47 1993
Popular nonfiction authors for children: a biographical and thematic guide / REF PS490 .W93 1998
Recommended books in Spanish for children and young adults:2004-2005 / REF Z 1037.7 .S387 2004
Teaching struggling readers: how to use brain-based research to maximize learning / REF LB1050.5 .L97 2003
What do children and young adults read next? a reader's guide to fiction for children and young adults / REF Z1037 .A57 2005
[Top of Page]
Full Text Online Journals
[Top of Page]
Clearinghouse on Reading, English, and Communication
This site is the former ERIC Clearinghouse on Reading, English, and Communication. While ERIC Clearinghouse has been disbanded, this Indiana University site continues to highlight important educational materials, services, and coursework in the language arts.
International Reading Association
A professional organization for those individuals involved with teaching reading to all age levels. Contains the latest news pertaining to reading as well as reports, position statements, and also offers several teaching resources.
National Institute for Literacy (NIFL)
This institute was created by the Adult Education and Family Literacy Act (AEFLA) and the No Child Left Behind Act (NCLB) "The NCLB law directs the Institute to disseminate information on scientifically-based reading research pertaining to children, youth, and adults, as well as information about development and implementation of classroom reading programs based on the research."
National Right to Read Foundation (NRRF)
The mission of the National Right to Read Foundation is to support reading instruction in America's schools.
No Child Left Behind
Reading is Fundamental (RIF)
A well-established and revered program, the Reading is Fundamental website provides an internet prescence to the program that has been involved in the front lines on America's effort to promote literacy in schools.
[Top of Page]