Back to Education Guides Main
Online databases listed here are the most specific for this discipline. More than 300 databases are available to FGCU affiliates from the Articles & Databases page. To determine if a particular journal issue is available online, see the E-Journals page.
Major Databases
Academic Search Complete contains full text for over 5,000 journals, many peer reviewed, covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more. This database is updated on a daily basis. Some backfiles go back to 1975.
Academic One indexes articles in approximately 8000 academic journals and popular magazines in the arts, humanities, social sciences, science, and technology. Contains many full text articles..
Education Full Text is an index to education information found in over 600 journals and provides full text of over 350 titles. Indexing begins in 1984 and selective full text of 350 journals begins in 1994.
ERIC (1966-present) is a national indexing and abstracting database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. It indexes journal articles in education along with citations to unpublished materials, books, government documents, conference proceedings, and theses/dissertations. The database is divided into journal citations (EJ) and document citations (ED). FGCU owns the complete ED collection in microfiche. Many ERIC documents are now available in full text from 1993 to the present for free via the U.S. Department of Education-- http://www.eric.ed.gov/. ERIC is also available via the Cambridge Scientific Abstracts and First Search. Coverage begins in 1966.
KCDL Online contains a searchable database of curricula, frameworks, and standards, lessons and learning activities, educational objectives, content, instructional strategies, and evaluative techniques for all subjects covered in PreK-12 and Adult Basic Education. For information on how to use KCDL, see tutorial at http://library.fgcu.edu/Instruction/KCDL/KCDL%20revised%203_2005_files/frame.htm
ProQuest Education Journals includes over 650 standard and professional education journals indexed and abstracted; 400 in fulltext. Also includes AIDS education, human development, child abuse, and developmental psychology.
Related Databases
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. ASSIA indexes over 650 journals from 16 different countries, including the UK and US. Coverage is provided from 1987 to the present.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
CMMC incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource in the communication and mass media fields.
Health & Psychosocial Instruments provides bibliographic information on measurement instruments (i.e. questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, test) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, etc. HAPI "assists researchers... to identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation." Provided are citations to the actual tests but generally no full-text of the instruments.
Mental Measurements Yearbook
MMY, produced by the Buros Institute, contains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, business, leadership and related areas as included in the printed “Mental Measurements Yearbooks”. MMY provides coverage from Vol. 9 to present.
PsycINFO
Is the major database of the American Psychological Association that covers scholarly literature in the broad discipline of psychology. Includes original research and journal article citations, literature reviews, reports or surveys, case studies, theoretical discussions, bibliographies, and descriptions of tests and apparatus. Indexed materials are selected from more than 1,300 journals published in 50 countries and 28 languages. Coverage from 1887 to date.
PsycARTICLES provides full-text articles from 55 Psychology journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA’s Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. For some titles coverage begins in 1985.
REHABDATA is the
National Rehabilitation Information Center's database on disability and rehabilitation, 1956- present. Many documents indexed here are from journals that FGCU may own. Search the source journal in the FGCU library catalog and List of Full Text E-Journals.
Sage Journals Online includes over 460 journals in Business, Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology & Urban Studies & Planning. Contains 33 peer reviewed Education journal titles.
ScienceDirect offers electronic full text versions of approximately 650 of Elsevier's traditional research journals in the scientific, technical, and medical disciplines and includes 38 full text education titles.
Social Sciences Full Text covers 350 core periodicals in the fields of anthropology , economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations. Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in January 1994. Full text coverage begins in January 1995.
Sociological Abstracts indexes journals, books, chapters in books, conference proceedings and dissertations in sociology
SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 289 “core” coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 75 “priority” coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 547 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers. Other Multidisciplinary Databases
Gale Virtual Reference Library includes 63 reference titles and includes Encyclopedia of Education, 2nd ed., 8v, 2003: College Blue Book; Encylopedia of Measurement and Statistics; Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology; Cities of the World, 6th ed., 4v, 2002; Countries and Their Cultures, 4v, 2001; Countries of the World and Their Leaders Yearbook 2004, 2v, 2003; Dictionary of American History, 3rd ed., 10v, 2003; Encyclopedia of Food and Culture, 3v, 2003; Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World, 2v, 2004; Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America, 3v, 2004; Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, 2nd ed., 16v, 2004; History Behind the Headlines: The Origins of Conflicts Worldwide, 6v; Major Acts of Congress, 3v, 2004; Social Trends and Indicators USA, 4v, 2003; West's Encyclopedia of American Law, 2nd Ed, 12V; Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations, 11th ed., 6v, 2004.
netLibrary offers over 23,000 reference, scholarly, and professional electronic books.
ProQuest Research Library covers many disciplines and offers full text or image of over 2,550 titles -- from 1971 forward. It features a mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
Omni File provides the complete content from six of Wilson's full-text databases, and full-text articles from five additional periodical databases available on WilsonWeb. Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Full text from over 1,750 journals; indexing/abstracts from over 3,500.
WorldCat is the world's most comprehensive library catalog. Lists over 62 million books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Represents over 400 languages and covers information from 4,000 years of knowledge.
DISSERTATIONS
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses covers
Dissertation Abstracts (1861 to date) and is the most authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350- word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses provides access to to over 5 million records of dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries catalogs in the WorldCat database. Many theses are available electronically, at no charge, directly from the publishing institution. |