|
Online Databases for Literature
Major Full-Text Databases (For Basic Literary Research)
Academic Onefile
Includes over 8,000 academic journals (over 5,300 peer-reviewed), the majority in full-text.
Academic Search Complete (EbscoHost)
Includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
Book Review Digest
Retrieve book summaries, bibliographic data, full-text reviews, review excerpts, or basic citations. Entries currently encompass some 1,200,000 reviews covering more than half a million books.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Contains over 125,000 titles from 1473 to 1700.
JSTOR
Full text of 100+ core research journals in many subject areas.
Literature Resource Center
Provides access to full-text biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline.
netLibrary
NetLibrary offers reference, scholarly, and professional electronice books (e-books). Many classic literary works are available full text.
Omnifile
Full text from over 1,700 journals; indexing/abstracts from over 3,000.
Proquest Research Library
Includes more than 3,820 titles—over 2,550 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
Specialized Databases (For Advanced Literary Research)
ArticleFirst
Contains bibliographic citations that describe items listed on the table of contents pages of more than 13,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
Biography Res Ctr w/Marquis Whos Who
Biographical information on more than 1 million people from throughout history and around the world.
Books In Print + Reviews (via Bowker)
Provieds complete, publisher verified information on all U.S. books in print.
Cambridge University Press Journals
Cambridge Journals Online provides full text for over 100 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Includes over a dozen titles in the area of languages and linguistics.
English Short Title Catalogue
Contains records for works printed in any language in England or its dependencies from the beginning of printing through the end of the eighteenth century, as well as works printed in English anywhere else in the world during that period. Subject headings appear in records for items published in 1700 or earlier.
Essay and General Literature
Part of the Wilson database, this unique reference offers precise access to nearly 65,000 essays... works of literary criticism are searchable by names of fictional characters and titles of literary works. Retrospective coverage back to 1985 enriches search capabilities.
Historical Abstracts (WHA)
Abstracts and indexes literature covering countries other than the United States and Canada in the subject areas of history, the social sciences and humanities. The scope of coverage is World History (1450-present) and related areas including culture, diplomacy, economics, internationl relations and politics.
Humanities Full Text
Humanities Full Text covers a full range of subjects, including Communications; Folklore; Gender Studies; Journalism; Linguistics; Literary & Social Criticism; Literature.
Ingenta
Ingenta (formerly known as UnCover) is an online periodical article delivery service and a current awareness alerting service. Ingenta indexes nearly 26,000 English language periodical in its database, 11,000 more tha UnCover did.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts
CSA Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) assits both generalists and specialists in keeping abreast of cutting-edge developments in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.
Library of Congress
Books, journals, documents, maps, and other materials owned by the United States Library of Congress.
Literature for Children
Literature for children is comprised of volumes from the Departments of Special Collections at several of the State University System of Florida libraries. Access classical children's books online.
MLA Bibliography
Modern Language Assocation (MLA) International Bibliography provides access to more than 1.5 million bibliographic citations from 1963 to the present in acadmeic disciplines such as: language, literature, folklore, linguistics, and film.
Oxford African American Studies Center
Includes online reference sources and primary documents
"on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture".
Oxford Journals Online
Online fulltext access to journals published by the Oxford University Press. Includes several journals in the area of literary studies.
Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millenium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
Proquest Newspapers
Search full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers such as The New York Times and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires.
Psychological Study of the Arts (PSA)
Psychological Study of the Arts explores literary questions using psychology, often psychoanalytic psychology. Access full text materials online.
Ulrichs International Periodicals
A great place to check if a journal is peer-reviewed! Provides information on prices, frequency of publication, address fo over 270,000 journals, magazines, annuals, series, newspapers, and other periodicals published worldwide.
What Do I Read Next?
What Do I Read Next? includes over 100,000 recommended titles, more than 58,000 plot summaries and awards information from 562 awards, all to help users uncover new reading adventures or find long-remembered favorites.
WorldCat
Explore holdings of thousands of libraries from North America and around the world.
[back to top]
|