Back to English guide main
Reference Materials for Literature
Authors | Characters and Plots | Encylcopedias | General Reference
Introductory Guides and Handbooks | Literary Criticism and Theory | Literary Movements and Genres
AUTHORS
American Women Writers : Bibliographical Essays / GEN Z1229.W8 A44 1983
Black Authors and Published Writers Directory / eBook- Click here to view
The The Cambridge Companion to Charles Dickens / GEN PR4588 .C26 2001
The Cambridge Companion to Edgar Allan Poe / eBook- Click here to view
Cambridge Companion to Jane Austen / GEN PR4036 .C3 1997
The Cambridge Companion to Hemingway / GEN PS 3515.E37 z58417 1996
The Cambridge Companion to Mark Twain / GEN PS1338.C36 1995
The Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare / GEN PR2894 .C33 2001
The Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare's History Plays / GEN PR2982 C.29 2002
The Cambridge Companion Shakespearean Comedy / eBook- Click here to view
The Cambridge Companion to Shakespearean Tragedy / GEN PR2983 .C28 2002
The Cambridge Companion to the Brontes / GEN PR4168 C29 2002
Contemporary Authors : A Bio-Bibliographical Guide to Current Writers in Fiction, General Nonfiction, Poetry, Journalism, Drama, Motion Pictures, Television and Other Fields / REF PN451.C6
Cyclopedia of World Authors / GEN M26 1958a
Dictionary of Literary Biography / REF PN451,D54
European Writers / REF PN501.E9 1983
Major Modern Black American Writers / REF PS153.N5 M245 1995
Selected Black American, African, and Caribbean Authors : a Bio-Bibliography / REF PS153.N5 P34 1985
Such News of the Land : U.S. Women Nature Writers / GEN PS163.E39 2001
Twentieth-Century Caribbean and Black African Writers / REF PN451. D54 V.117
CHARACTERS AND PLOTS
Masterplots II. British and Commonwealth Fiction Series /REF PR881. M39 1987
Masterplots : 15 volume combined edition. Fifteen hundred and ten plot stories and essay reviews from the world's fine literature / REF PN44.M3 1964
Masterplots: 2010 plot stories & essay reviews from the world's fine literature / REF PN44.M33 1976
Masterplots II American Fiction Series / REF PN846.M37 1986
Masterplots II : Nonfiction Series / REF Z6514.P66 K64
Plot Summary Index / REF Z6514.P66 K64
ENCYCLOPEDIAS , DICTIONARIES, HANDBOOKS
A to Zed, A to Zee a Guide to the Differences Between British and American English / eBook- Click here to view
British English for American Readers : a Dictionary of the Language, Customs, and Places of British Life and Literature / REF PE1704.G76 1992
The Cambridge History of Early Modern English Literature / eBook- Click here to view
Columbia Dictionary of Modern European Literature / GEN PN771 .C575 1980
The Concise Encyclopedia of Modern World Literature / GEN PN41.C64
Cyclopedia of Literary Characters / REF PN44.M3 1998
A Dictionary of European Literature, Designed as a Companion to English Studies / GEN PN41 .M3
Dictionary of Literature in English / REF PN41.K5 2002
Dictionary of World Literature in the 20th Century : index / REF PN771.E5 Index
Illustrated Dictionary of Western Literature / REF PN41.L34 1987
The Oxford Companion to English Literature / REF PR19 .O94 2000
The Oxford Companion to Irish Literature / GEN PR8706. O88 1996
A Short-Title Catalogue of Books Printed in England, Scotland & Ireland and of English Books Printed Abroad, 1475-1640 / REF Z2002 .P77 1976
GENERAL REFERENCE
Annals of American Literature, 1602-1983 / REF PS94.L83 1986
The Cambridge History of American Literature / REF Z2011.H34 2002
Literary Research Guide : An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies / REF Z2011.H34 2002
Masterpieces of World Literature / REF PN44.M3448 1989
MLA Directory of Periodicals : A Guide to Journals and Series In Languages and Literatures / REF Z7006.M63
MLA International Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literatures / REF Z7006.M7
Novels and Novelists : a Guide to the world of Fiction / REF PN41.N67 1980
The Penguin Companion to European Literature / REF PN41.P43 1971
Reference Guide to American Literature / REF PS129.R44 2000
A Research Guide for Undergraduate Students :English and American Literature / REF
INTRODUCTORY GUIDES AND HANDBOOKS
The Art of Literary Research / REF PR56 .A68 1993
A Handbook to Literature / GEN PN41.H355 2000
Guide to World Literature / REF PN44.N37 1980
LITERARY CRITICISM AND THEORY
Encyclopedia of Literature and Criticism / eBook- Click here to view
A Critical Survey of Short Fiction / GEN PN3321.C7 1993
A Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory / REF PN41.C83 1998
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism / REF PN761.N56
Dictionary of Concepts in Literary Criticism and Theory / REF PN41.H36 1992
The Oxford Companion to American Literature / REF PS21.H3
A Glossary of Contemporary Theater / GEN PN44.5 H37 1998
MLA Directory of Periodicals: A Guide to Journals and Series in Languages and Literatures / REF Z7006.M63
Poetry Criticism / REF PN1111.P63
Literature Criticism From 1400 40 1800 : Excerpts From Criticism of the The Works of Fifteenth,Sixteenth, Seventeenth, and Eighteenth-Century Novelists, Poets, Playwrights, Philosophers, and Other Creative Writers, from the First Published Critical Appraisals to Current Evaluations / REF PN761.N56
Reference Guide to American Literature / REF PS129.R44 2000
Short Story Criticism / REF PN3373.S386 INDEX
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism / REF PN94.T8X
LITERARY MOVEMENTS AND GENRES
Benet's Reader's Encyclopedia / REF PN 41 B4 1996
The Cambridge Companion to Australian Literature / GEN PR9604.3 C36 2000
The Cambridge Companion to the African American Novel / GEN PS374.N4 C36 2004
The Cambridge Companion to Canadian Literature / GEN PR9184.3 C34 2004
The Cambridge Companion to Jewish American Literature / eBook- Click here to view
The Cambridge Companion to Literature of the First World War / GEN PN771.C27 2005
The Cambridge Companion to the Nineteenth-Century American Women's Writing / GEN PS 147.C36 2001
The Cambridge Companion to Postcolonial Literary Studies / GEN PN56.C63 2004
The Cambridge History of African and Caribbean Literature / GEN PN841. C34 2004
The Cambridge Introduction to Early American Literature / GEN PS185 .E28 2002
The Chronology of American Literature : America's Literary Achievements From the Colonial Era to Modern Times / eBook- Click here to view
Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry / REF PN1022. H39 1990
Fiction Catalog / REF PN3451.F5
The Oxford Companion to African American Literature / REF PS153.N5 O96 1997
Popular World Fiction, 1990-Present / REF PS586 1987
Postmodern Fiction : A Bio-Bibliographical Guide / GEN PN3503 .P594 1986
Reference Guide to Short Fiction / REF PN3373.R36 1998
Short Story Index / REF Z5917.S5 S52
Twentieth-Century Literary Movements Dictionary : A Compendium to More Than 500 Literary, Critical, and Theatrical Movements, Schools, and Groups From More Than 80 Nations, Covering the Novelists, Poets, Short-Story Writers, Dramatists, Theorists, and Works, Genres, Techniques, And Terms Associated With Each Movement / REF PN41 .B4 1996
[back to top] |