Books In Print + Reviews (via Bowker)
Provides complete, publisher verified information on all U.S. books in print.
Cambridge University Press Journals
Cambridge Journals Online (CJO), provides full text for over one hundred journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Includes over a dozen titles in the area of Language and Linguistics.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Contains over 125,000 titles from 1473 to 1700.
English Short Title Catalogue
Contains records of works printed in any language in England or its dependencies from the beginning of printing through the end of the eighteenth century, as well as works printed in English anywhere else in the world during that period. Subject headings appear in records for items published in 1700 or earlier.
Essay and General Literature
Part of the Wilson database, this unique reference offers precise access to nearly 65,000 essays...works of literary criticism are searchable by names of fictional characters and titles of literary works. Retrospective coverage back to 1985 enriches search capability.
Historical Abstracts (WHA)
Abstracts and indexes literature covering countries other than the United States and Canada in the subject areas of history, the social sciences and humanities. The scope of coverage is World History (1450 - present) and related areas including culture, diplomacy, economics, international relations and politics.
Humanities Full Text
Humanities Full Test covers a full range of subjects, including Communications; Folklore; Gender Studies; Journalism; Linguistics; Literary & Social Criticism; Literature.
Ingenta
Ingenta (formerly known as UnCover) is an online periodical article delivery service and a current awareness alerting service. Ingenta indexes nearly 26,000 English language periodicals in its database, 11,000 more than UnCover did.
Library of Congress
Books, jounral, documents, maps, and other materials owned by the United States Library of Congress.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts
CSA Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) assists both generalists and specialists in keeping abreast of cutting-edge developemnts in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
MLA Bibliography
Modern Language Association (MLA) International bibliography provides access to more that 1.5 million bibliographic citations from 1963 to the present in academic disciplines such as: language, literature, folklore, linguistics, and film.
Oxford Journals Online
Online fulltext access to journals published by the Oxford University Press. Includes several journals in the area of literary studies.
Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history and pronunciation of over half a million word, both present and past.
Proquest Newspapers
Search full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers such as The New York Times and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires.
Psychological Study of the Arts (PSA)
Psychological Study of the Arts explores literary questions using psychology, often psychoanalytic psychology. Access full-text materials online.
Ulrichs International Periodicals
A great place to check if a journal is peer-reviewed! Provides information on prices, frequency of publication, addresses, publishers' phone and fax numbers, e-mail and Web site addresses for over 270,000 journals, magazines, annuals, series, newspapers, and other periodicals published worldwide.
What Do I Read Next?
What Do I Read Next? includes over 100,000 recommended titles, more than 58,000 plot summaries, and awards information from 562 awards, all to help users uncover new reading adventures or find long-remembered favorites.
WorldCat
Explore the holdings of thousands of libraries from North America and around the world.
[back to top]
Reference Materials
Acronyms, intitialisms & abbreviations dictionary / REF P365.A28
The American Heritage Dictionary of Indo-European Roots / REF P615.A43 2000
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language / REF P 29.C64 1997
Concise Encyclopedia of Philosophy of Language / REF P106.C5946 1997
A Dictionary of Grammatical Terms in Linguistics / REF P152.T7 1993
A Dictionary of Languages: the definitive reference to more than 400 languages / REF P371.D35 1998
Dictionary of Lexicography / REF P327.H37 1998
Dictionary of Linguistics / REF P29.P4 1975
Dictionary of stylistics / REF P301.W35 1989
The Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics / REF P29.I58 1991
Encyclopedia of the Languages of Europe / REF P380.E53 1998
Ethnologue : Languages of the world / REF P371.E83 1996
Everyman's dictionary of abbreviations / REF P365.P3 1983
A Guide to World Language Dictionaries / REF P361.D25
Handbook of Bilingualism / REF P115.H365 2004
The Handbook of Linguistics / REF P121.H324 2001
Handbook of scripts and alphabets / REF P211.C25 1997
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics / REF P29.I58 1991
Key concepts in language and linguistics / REF P29.T687 1999
The Languages of the World / REF P371.W6 1990
The Linguistics Encyclopedia / REF P29.L52 2002
A manual of European Languages for Librarians / REF P380.E53
Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Studies / REF P306.E57 1998
A student's dictionary of language and linguistics / REF P29.T69 1997
The World's Major Languages / REF P371.W6 1990
Words on Words: Quotations about language and languages / REF P106.C765 2000
[back to top]
Journals
ELECTRONIC FULL-TEXT
Bilingual Review
Devoted to the linguistics and literature of bilingualism and bilingual education, primarily Spanish-English, in the United States. Peer Reviewed.
Choice (Middletown)
Current reviews for academic libraries. Peer Reviewed.
College Composition and Communication
Contains articles dealing with the theory, practice, research of composition, and the preparation of writing teachers. Peer Reviewed.
College Literature
Presents scholarly criticism dedicated to the needs of college and university teachers by providing them with access to innovative ways of studying and teaching new bodies of literature and experiencing old literatures in new ways. Peer Reviewed.
Comparative Literature Studies (Urbana)
Explores movements, themes, forms, history of ideas, relations between authors, and foundations of criticism and theories. Peer Reviewed.
Computers and Composition
For teachers of writing. Includes information on subjects related to computer use in composition classrooms and programs. Peer Reviewed.
Discourse Studies
An Interdisciplinary journal for the study of text and talk. Publishes notable research on the structures of written and spoken discourse, with emphasis on cross-disciplinary studies of anthropology, ethnomethodology, cognitive and social psychology, communication studies and law. Peer Reviewed.
English Studies
Covers the language and literature of the English-speaking world from the Old English period to the present day. Peer Reviewed.
Literature and History Explores the relations among writing, history and ideology. Peer Reviewed
Literature, Interpretation, Theory
Provides a lively forum for fresh and forceful interpretations of a wide range of literary texts. Peer Reviewed.
Melus
Society for the study of the multi-ethnic literature of the United States. Presents research, scholarly essays and interviews of interest to those dconcerned with the multiethnic scope of America's literature, including Asian-American, Hispanic-American, Native-American and immigrant European literature. Peer Reviewed.
Modern Language Notes
Articles and notes on the theory, interpretation and history of languages and comparative literaturem, in single-language and comparative literature issues. Peer Reviewed.
Neophilologus
An international journal of modern and medieval language and literature. Publishes studies of medieval and modern language and literature, including general linguistics, literary theory and comparative linguistics. Peer Reviewed.
New Literary History
Focuses on theory and interpretation-the reasons for literary change, the definitions of periods, and the evolution of styles, conventions, and genres. Peer Reviewed.
Notes and Queries
Covers the English language and literature, lexicography, history and scholarly antiquarianism. Peer Reviewed.
Novel
Contains essays and reviews on novel theory.
Rhetroic Review
An interdisciplinary journal of rhetoric, publishes in all areas of rhetoric and writing and provides a professional forum for its readers to consider and discuss current topics and issues. Peer Reviewed.
Rhetoric Society Quarterly
Covers topics relating to the history, theory, criticism and pedagogy of rhetoric. Peer Reviewed.
Romance Quarterly
Scholarly articles relating to Romance literature and linguistics topics. Peer Reviewed.
Studies in Philology
Addresses scholars in a wide range of disciplines, including Classical, Germanic, and Romance languages and literature; comparative literature; and especially English Medieval and Renaissance studies. Peer Reviewed.
Written Communication
Provides a forum for ideas, theoritical viewpoints, and methodolgoical approaches that better define and further develop thought and practice in the study of the written word. Peer Reviewed.
Yale Journal of Criticism
Essays of an interpretive or theoretical nature in all fields of the humanities - literature, history, film studies, anthropology, philosophy, theology, music and the visual and performing arts. Peer Reviewed.
IN PRINT IN THE LIBRARY
Applied Linguistics
Microform Area P129 .A66 |
Language
Periodicals and Microform Area P1 .L3 |
Bilingualism: language and cognition
Periodicals P115 .B54278 |
Language and education
Periodicals P40.8 .L363 |
CLA (College Language Association) Journal
Periodicals P1 .A1 C22 |
Language Learning
Periodicals and Microform Area P1 .L33 |
Issues in applied linguistics: IAL
Periodicals P129 .I85 |
Language in society
Periodicals and Microform Area P41 .L34 |
Journal of Child Language
Periodicals and Microform Area P118 .J68 |
LSA Bulletin
Periodicals P11. L5 |
Journal of communication
Periodicals and Microform Area P87 .J6 |
Studies in Language
Periodicals P1 .A1 F6 |
Journal of linguistic anthropology: a publication of the society for Linguistic Anthropology
Periodicals P35 .J66 |
Studies in second langauge acquisition
Periodicals and Microform Area P118 .S83 |
Journal of Linguistics
Periodicals and Microform Area P1 .J65 |
Written Communication
Periodicals P211 .W74 |
Journal of multilingual and multicultural development
Periodicals P115 .J68 |
|
[back to top]
Web Resources
COMPARATIVE LANGUAGE AND LINGUISTICS
Ethnologue: Languages of the World
http://www.ethnologue.com
An encyclopedic reference work cataloging all of the world's 6,912 known living languages. Developed by Gordon, Raymond G., Jr., SIL International.
ENGLISH AS A SECOND LANGUAGE (ESL)
English Club.com
http://www.englishclub.com
"Lessons, games, quizzes, forums, chat, lesson plans, jobs & more for ESL learners & teachers" provided on this website. Developed by Josef Essberger.
ENGLISH COMPOSITION
The Writing Instructor
http://www.writinginstructor.com/
A peer-reviewed internet journal written by educators, writers, and scholars on all issues related to writing and composition. Developed by Dave Blakesley, co-editor.
Guide to grammar and writing
http://grammar.ccc.commnet.edu/grammar/
An instructional webpage designed to teach the basics of grammar and writing style. Includes interactive quizzes, PowerPoint tutorials, and special topics, like writer’s block. Sponsored by the Capital Community College Foundation.
ENGLISH HISTORY
History of the English Language
http://ebbs.english.vt.edu/hel/
Links to Pre History, Old English Period, Middle English Period, Early Modern English, American and Present Day English, Course Syllabi, and Conferences. Developed by Dan Mosser
LEME: Lexicons of Early Modern English
http://leme.library.utoronto.ca/
"LEME searches and displays word-entries from monolingual English dictionaries, bilingual lexicons, technical vocabularies, and other encyclopedic-lexical works, 1480-1702." The public version is free. Recommeded citation format: "Lexicons of Early Modern English. Ed. Ian Lancashire. Toronto, ON: University of Toronto Library and University of Toronto Press, 2006. Date consulted: [date month year]. URL: leme.library.utoronto.ca"
[back to top]