This is a research guide to highlight library materials appropriate for Forensic Sciences. Books, journal titles, videos and DVDs can be found through the Library catalog. FGCU's circulating book collection is on the 2nd floor. Reference books, journals, videos and DVDs are currently found on the 3rd floor.
Table of Contents |
Subject Librarian |
|
If you need assistance or have suggestions about this guide, please contact:
Geraldine Collins
Phone: 239-590-7632
Email: gcollins@fgcu.edu
|
Online Databases for Forensic Sciences
Online databases listed here are the most specific for this discipline. More than 300 databases are available to FGCU affiliates from the Online Databases page. The recommended method of identifying articles on a topic is to search in one of the databases such as Criminal Justice Periodicals Index to identify articles. If the articles are not available in full text within the database, search for the journal title via the FGCU Library's Catalog and/or the 'By JOURNAL TITLE' on the E-Journals page. NOTE: Other Research Guides such as Anthropology, Biology, Chemistry, Criminal Justice & Legal Studies and Florida Legal Resources may also be helpful.
Anthropology Plus is a combination of the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present
Criminal Justice Abstracts (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts or CSA) provides comprehensive indexing of over 400 major journals in criminology and related disciplines, books, and access to reports from government and nongovernmental agencies. Contains summaries of international journal articles, books, governmental and non-governmental reports, dissertations, and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines. Covers topics such as crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment and sentencing.
Criminal Justice Periodicals Index CJPI on ProQuest® provides full text access for 45 criminal justice journals frequently consulted by professionals, plus complete abstracts for over 150 additional titles. Publications in CJPI focus primarily on practical issues in crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, police issues, and courtroom procedures, but users will find a number of highly respected theoretical journals as well.
ForensicNetBase: contains more than 100 complete e-books in forensics, criminal justice and law enforcement. Titles are also listed individually in library catalog.
NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service)contains summaries of more than 150,000 criminal justice publications, including Federal, State, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. Subject areas include corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, and victims of crime. The time period covered is from the early 1970's to the present. Some full-text documents are available online in this database, with links provided to the full documents.
Science Direct is the electronic full text version of approximately 650 of Elsevier's traditional research journals. These journals are primarily in the scientific, technical, and medical disciplines. NOTE: This resource contains Forensic Science International from 1995.
Multidisciplinary Databases
Academic One (Gale) indexes articles in approximately 1000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in the arts, humanities, social sciences, science and technology. Abstracts are included for some articles.
Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost) is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications and offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals in the collection.
Access World News Online full-text business information, from domestic and international newspapers, and world maps. (NOTE: Provides full text of several Florida newspapers, including Fort Myers News-Press & Naples Daily News) Great for local issues but these are not scholarly publications.
ProQuest General Reference provides indexing and full-text magazine and journal articles from the arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and sciences.
netLibrary offers over 19,000 reference scholarly, and professional electronic books.
Omni (Wilson Web) contains peer-reviewed, many full-text articles in the areas of physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature from over 8000 academic journals.
Related Databases
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (CSA) is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. ASSIA indexes 650 journals in 16 different countries, including the UK and US.
CQ Public Affairs Collection provides in-depth reports on vital issues, statistical and historical analyses, historic documents and primary source materials, as well as a directory of key government, non-profit, and private organizations in each of the major policy areas.
CQ Researcher provides in-depth reports on current events and topics of current interest. Each report provides historical background on the topic, outside commentary, pro/con arguments, chronological information, and a substantial bibliography.Coverage is from 1991 to the present
Communication & Mass Media Complete CMMC incorporates CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource in the communication and mass media fields.
Index to Legal Periodicals provides thorough, reliable indexing of over 570 journals, yearbooks, law reviews, and bar association publications. Covers all areas of jurisprudence, including court decisions, legislation, and original scholarship.
LexisNexis Academic is a full-text database that provides access to legal, news, business, health, and reference information. It contains full text federal, state & international legal materials: Federal code, U.S. Constitution & court rules, Federal regulations, agency opinions & US Attorney General Opinions, federal and state case law and legal articles and U.S. and international newspapers, magazines, newsletters & journals.
Lexis-Nexis Congressional gives researchers access to vast and varied information published by and about Congress and provides the tools for: searching the Congressional Record, tracking proposed legislation by keyword and sponsor, searching the Federal Register, searching congressional committee schedules, finding members of Congress, and searching the National Journal. Congressional Universe has full text of almost all Committee Reports from 1990 forward and Congressional testimony from 1988 forward.
PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from 55 Psychology journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA’s Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
PsycINFO indexes scholarly literature in these subject areas and more: crime, crime prevention, criminal behavior, victimology, psychosexual behavior, educational psychology, and applied psychology. Includes original research and journal articles, literature reviews, reports of surveys, case studies, theoretical discussions, bibliographies, and descriptions of tests and apparatus. Indexed materials are selected from more than 1,300 journals published in 50 countries and 28 languages. Indexing from 1887 to date.
ProQuest Psychology Journals contains full text academic journals in psychology and related fields.
ProQuest Medical Library provides full-text articles for more than 200 key medical titles. Search by topic, specific citation, or journal ("publication") title through the Search Methods box at the top. Results can be limited to scholarly journals, including peer-reviewed journals, by checking that limit feature below the search box.
PubMed contains the complete medical database, including MEDLINE, free over the Internet from the National Library of Medicine. Provides citations & abstracts from the world's medical and health related journals, dating back to 1966.
SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 289 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 75 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 547 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers
Westlaw Campus a web-based legal research tool for law-related issues. This resource includes access to the complete laws and statutes of the federal government and all 50 states, federal regulations, precedent-setting court decisions, KeyCite, American Law Reports, American Jurisprudence, and current and archived articles from hundreds of leading law reviews and journals.
Reference Books
Encyclopedia of DNA and the United States criminal justice system / Louis J. Palmer /Ref RA1057.55 .P34 2004
Encyclopedia of forensic and legal medicine / edited by Jason Payne-James Ref RA1017 .E53 2005
Encyclopedia of forensic science / Suzanne Bell Ref HV8073 .B425 2004
Encyclopedia of forensic sciences / Ref HV8073 .E517 2000
Forensic science : an encyclopedia of history, methods, and techniques / William J. Tilstone [et al]
Ref HV8073 .T55 2006
Forensic science : an illustrated dictionary / John C. Brenner Ref HV8073 .B677 2004
Guide to information sources in the forensic sciences / Cynthia Holt / Ref Z7503.4.C728 H65 2006
Handbook of forensic science / Federal Bureau of Investigation. (Revised 2003) http://www.fbi.gov/hq/lab/handbook/forensics.pdf
Opportunities in forensic science careers / Blythe Camenson Ref HV8073 .C316 2001
World of forensic science / Ref HV8073 .W674 2006
Forensic Science and Related Electronic Journals
American Journal of Physical Anthropology -- Periodicals GN1 .A55 Have 1998-2004, 2007-
Australian Journal of Forensic Sciences
British Journal of Forensic Practice
Digital Investigation
Forensic Examiner
Forensic of Pi Kappa Delta
Forensic Science Communications / U.S. Department of Justice, Federal Bureau of Investigation. Also contains back issues from 1999.
Forensic Science International
Forensic Toxicology
Health Matrix
International Journal of Law and Psychiatry
International Journal of Osteoarchaeology / Also available in Periodicals GN70 .I57 from 2007
Internet Journal of Forensic Sciences
Internet Law - Legal - Forensic Evidence
Journal of Clinical Forensic Medicine
Journal of Forensic Identification
Journal of Forensic Sciences
Online from 2006. Also available in Periodicals RA1001 .A57
Journal of Legal Medicine
Also available in Periodicals
K10 .O8737/ Back Issues-Microforms--K10.O8737
Journal of Forensic Psychiatry & Psychology
Journal of Performance of Constructed Facilities
The Journal of Psychiatry & Law
Legal and Criminological Psychology
Mitochondrion
Web Resources
Federal Bureau of Investigation (Uniform Crime Reports)
http://www.fbi.gov/ucr/ucr.htm provides crime statistics for the U.S as well as special studies, reports and books.
Forensic Science Resources on the Internet
http://www.gwu.edu/gelman/guides/sciences/forensics/index.html
National Criminal Justice Reference Service: In the Spotlight Forensic Science Publications
http://www.ncjrs.gov/spotlight/forensic/Summary.html
provides full text access to numerous government publications related to forensic legislation and DNA
OLES Standard Reference Databases for Forensic Sciences
http://www.eeel.nist.gov/oles/oles_forensic_srds.html
is from the National Institute of Standards and Technology Office of Law Enforcement Standards and provides access to databases in the areas of biotechnology, chemistry, biometrics, digital evidence and fire investigation and some of the databases are freely available.
Professional Organizations
American Academy of Forensic Sciences (AAFS)
http://www.aafs.org/