AgeLine (Free Version from AARP)
Provides bibliographic coverage of social gerontology, which is the study of aging in psychological, health-related, social, and economic contexts. The delivery of health care to the older population and its associated costs and policies is particularly well covered, as are consumer, employment, and public policy issues. Literature covered is of interest to researchers, health professionals, service planners, policymakers, employers, older adults and their families, and consumer advocates.
Publications are from 1978 to the present, with selected coverage from 1966-1977.
Biology Digest -- In Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA) Connect to CSA, Select Subject Area > Natural Sciences
A compilation of abstracts and indexes of domestic and international literature in the area of life sciences. It is primarily intended for an audience at the high school or undergraduate college level. Its purpose is to aid in keeping students and instructors current on the latest developments in biological research. Each of over 20,000 records contains an original abstract averaging about 325 words. Key information such as methods involved and conclusions drawn from the respective research is retained.
1989 to date
CINAHL with Full Text for FGCU
CINAHL with Full Text provides indexing for 2,737 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982. CINAHL with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,150 journals and provides full text for 329 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1982 are also included.
1982 to date
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 600 journals in communciations or mass media, with over 280 of those journals in full-text. Useful search terms include: health risk communication or health education or health promotion or “communication in medicine".
CQ Electronic Library. (Choose All CQEL Search for the most complete results.)
A combined file of CQ Public Affairs Collection and CQ Researcher. Provides in-depth reports on current events and topics of current interest. Each report provides historical background on the topic, outside commentary, pro/con arguments, chronological information, and a substantial bibliography.
Also provides statistical and historical analyses, historic documents and primary source materials, as well as a directory of key government, non-profit, and private organizations in each of the major policy areas.
These sources address a wide range of topics including health, education, science, and technology, legal, political, and social issues, communication and mass media. Coverage is from 1923 to the present.
DynaMed: Dynamic Medical Information System
A point-of-care EBM (evidence-based medicine) tool designed to provide health professionals and researchers with the best available evidence to support clinical decision-making. It contains over 1,610 summaries of diseases, disorders, and symptoms, with information on etiology, associated conditions, and research finds, differential diagnosis and diagnostic testing, prognosis, treatment, prevention, and links to patient information.
ERIC -- In Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA) Connect to CSA, Select Subject Area > Social Sciences
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC provides extensive access to education-related literature published in journals, conference proceedings, reports, government documents, and dissertations. Covers many topics related to health education and promotion. Many of the items indexed are in full-text as "ERIC documents" (signified by ED numbers) and are linked directly, or are in the vast ERIC microfiche collection owned by FGCU Library. Journal articles and monographs cited may be found through the Library's E-journals or the Library Catalog respectively.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
HAPI provides bibliographic information on measurement instruments (i.e. questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, etc. HAPI "assists researchers...to identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation." Provided are citations to journals articles, monographs and reference sources about each instrument, often including citations to the actual tests. No full-text of the instruments is available here. - 1985 to date
Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module
Topics in health and medicine, medications, and wellness. Includes encyclopedias, directories, medical dictionary, magazines, journals, and newspapers. 1980 to date.
Health Reference Center - Academic
Covers articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health & Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc. Provides bibliographic references, abstracts and full text information, a medical dictionary; excerpts from reference books; contact information for support groups, hotlines of research centers; and pamphlets issued by leading health organizations. 1980 to date
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Produced by the Buros Institute, this database provides bibliographic information and reviews on English-language standardized tests covering psychology, educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, and related areas as included in the printed “Mental Measurements Yearbooks”. MMY provides coverage from Vol. 9 , 1985 to present.
PubMed (Medline) free via Internet
The complete medical database, including MEDLINE, free over the Internet from the National Library of Medicine. Provides citations & abstracts from the world's medical and health related journals, dating back to 1966. Tutorials to learn PubMed searching can be found at these sites:
Pub Med tutorials, freely accessible on the Web:
Connect to MEDLINEplus
For the consumer and health professional, "MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news. "
ProQuest Medical Library (Connect to ProQuest, scroll to ProQuest Medical Library)
A subset of the coverage of PubMed. Provides full-text articles for more than 400 key medical titles. Offers coverage of public health and all the major healthcare specialties. Results can be limited to scholarly journals, including peer-reviewed journals, by checking that limit feature below the search box.
ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source (Connect to ProQuest, scroll to ProQuest Nursing)
Cover periodical literature in nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine. This database "is designed to meet the needs of researchers at healthcare facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions. ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides abstracting and indexing for more than 690 titles, with over 570 titles in full-text. " (ProQuest)
PsycInfo
This database provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, medicine, nursing, pharmacology and social work. Indexes over 1,800 professional journals, chapters, books, reports, theses and dissertations, published internationally. Additionally, there are more than 8 million cited references in 185,000 journal articles, books, and book chapters. Searching particular assessment measures by keyword or in the cited reference field may provide references related to the measure.
Safety Science and Risk ( In Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, CSA - Natural Sciences)
"This database provides comprehensive, timely information across the fields of public health, safety, and industrial hygiene. Cited studies are geared to help researchers identify, evaluate, and eliminate or control risks and hazards from environmental and occupational situations." Coverage from 1981 to date.
Social Work Abstracts
Covers more than 450 journals in social work including theory and practice, areas of service, social issues, and social problems related to community health.
SocINDEX with Full Text
A large social sciences database covering not only journals in sociology, but also in psychology and health behaviors. Indexes, abstracts and provides full-text of many journals and includes some books and conference papers.
| Multidisciplinary databases |
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, health, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals. Academic Search Complete is updated daily and available via EBSCOhost.
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
1987 to date -- In Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA) Select Social Sciences, then ASSIA
An indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly with approximately 1500 records, ASSIA contains over 300,000 records from 650 journals in 16 different countries, including the UK and US. Coverage is provided from 1987 to the present. Full text of many of the sources may be available through other FGCU subsciptions. USe the Article Liker feature within this database.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) -- In Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA) Select Social Sciences, then PAIS
Materials on public affairs from 1972 to date. Includes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs, including issues of public health. Contains bibliographic citations, many of which include abstracts.