Library Services

Back to Community Health Guide Main | How Do I...?| Citation Styles | General FAQs

 

Reference Sources for Community Health and Health Education

Books located in the FGCU Library Reference collection by LC Call number, unless otherwise noted.

 

Dictionaries

 

A Dictionary of Public Health. (2007). Oxford Reference Online. Oxford University Press.
Online book.

Lexikon: Dictionary of Health Care Terms, Organizations and Acronyms. (1998) 2nd ed. Oakbrook Terrace: IL: Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations.
Ref. RA423 . L49 1998

MacPherson, Gordon. (2004). Blacks’s Medical Dictionary. 40th ed. Lanham, ND: Scarecrow Press.
Ref. R121 B598 2004b

McElroy, Onyria Herrera and Lola L. Grabb. (1996). Spanish-English, English-Spanish medical dictionary = Diccionario medico, espanol-ingles, ingles-espanol. 2nd ed. Boston, MA:: Little, Brown.
Ref. R121 .M488 1996

Timmreck, Thomas C. (1997). Health services cyclopedic dictionary : a compendium of health-care and public health terminology. 3rd ed. Sudbury, MA : Jones and Bartlett Publishers.
Ref. RA393 .T56 1997

Handbooks

Florida Health Care in Perspective.(1998, 2002.)
Lawrence, KS :Morgan Quitno Corp.,
Ref. RA407.4.F6F56

Health and Healthcare in the United States: County and Metro Area Data. 2nd. Ed. 2000.
Ref. RA395.A3H43 2001

Health Care State Rankings. (1998, 2004 – 2006) Lawrence, KS : Morgan Quitno Corp.
Ref. RA407.3.H423

Health United States, 2005, with Chartbook on Trends in the Health ofAmericans . National Center for Health Statistics. (free e-resource
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/bv.fcgi?rid=healthus05.TOC )

Health United States, 2006, with Chartbook on Trends in the Health of Americans. National Center for Health Statistics. (free e-resource http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/hus.htm)

International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems. (2004) 10th revision. 2nd ed. vol. 1. Geneva: World Health Organization.
Ref. RB115.I6 2004 v. 1

Portrait of Health in the United States. (2001) Daniel Melnick, Beatrice Rouse, eds.1st. Ed. Lanham, MD : Bernan. [electronic resource – in NetLibrary under Online Databases  or linked through the title in the FGCU Library Catalog]
Ref. RA407.3.P67 (print  copy)