Library Services

How Do I...?| Citation Styles | General FAQs

Web Resources for Health Services Administration

The following web sites have been carefully selected for reliability and timeliness. If you are using information from the web, it is your responsibility to make sure that it is from authoritative resources. A Quick Guide to Evaluating Internet Information is available.

Advice for Web Searching

Evaluating Health Information
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/evaluatinghealthinformation.html
A comprehensive resource with links to latest news, the National Institutes of Health, new research findings on specific conditions, organizations devoted to health information, and resources for understanding medical research.

Evaluating Internet Health Information: A Tutorial from the National Library of Medicine.
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/webeval/webeval.html
Useful for high school students, college undergraduates and health educators, this tutorial runs for approximately 15 minutes or can be self-paced.

Guide to Healthy Web Searching. MedlinePlus.
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/healthywebsurfing.html
Advice for patients and health professionals on evaluating the quality of health information on websites.

Is This Health Information Good for Me?
http://nnlm.gov/pnr/hip/criteria.html
A quick guide to evaluating health news or reported research findings. (Includes Spanish language version)

Cultural Competence

National Center for Cultural Competence.
http://www11.georgetown.edu/research/gucchd/nccc/
Promoting Cultural Diversity and Cultural Competency has an online “Self-Assessment Checklist for Personnel Providing Services and Supports to Children with Special Health Needs and their Families, and provides useful Web links on cultural competence, as well as the searchable “Cultural and Linguistic Competence Resource Database” of resource materials.

Office of Minority Health. (U.S.)
http://www.omhrc.gov/
Includes text of statistical reports and the "Closing the Gap" Newsletters from 1995 to the present, a link to a Webcast of the Healthy People 2010 Session on Eliminating Minority Health Disparities, and many other useful links.

Goals of Healthy People 2010.
http://www.healthypeople.gov/About/goals.htm
Healthy People 2010, the U.S. national agenda for health and prevention, "is designed to achieve two overarching goals: Increase quality and years of healthy life and eliminate health disparities.”

Cross-cultural, transcultural, cultural competence – resources & links
http://medicine.ucsf.edu/resources/guidelines/culture.html
A metasite by the U.C.-San Francisco School of Medicine.

Curriculum Guide on Cultural Competence. George Washington University
http://www.gwu.edu/~iscopes/LearningMods_Culture.htm
Text of an educational curriculum.

Cross Cultural Health Care Program. Seattle, WA
http://www.xculture.org/resource/order/index.cfm
A Seattle-based program focusing on cultural and linguistic aspects of health care provision. The "books and resources" section provides a bibliography of books; information and links to search the CCHCP Library, to curricular materials, and more.

Resources for Cross Cultural Health Care
http://www.diversityrx.org/HTML/WERCCH.htm
"A national network of individuals and organizations in ethnic communities and health care organized to offer technical assistance and information on linguistic and cultural competence in health care." Website has the searchable DiversityRx database of abstracts of model programs on cultural competence; text of a report, "Multicultural Health Best Practices Overview"; and useful links.

National Rural Health Association
http://www.nrharural.org/
National membership organization for advocacy, education and research. Site includes policy briefs, issue papers; abstracts & indexing, as well as free full-text of the current issue, of the Journal of Rural Health; many links to governmental issues; information for rural health practitioners and much more.

CULTURAL COMPETENCE IN HEALTH CARE: EMERGING FRAMEWORKS AND PRACTICAL APPROACHES
http://www.cmwf.org/usr_doc/betancourt_culturalcompetence_576.pdf
A 40 page report sponsored by the Commonwealth Fund in 2002; an excellent overview of the issues.

National Alliance for Hispanic Health
http://www.hispanichealth.org/
Website of a large national network of health and human services providers, serving as a national forum offering leadership,advocacy and research for the health of Hispanics. Resources include action reports, Health Fact Sheets, analysis of gaps in the Healthy People 2010 Report, Hispanic Health Needs Assessments, leads to scholarships and other funding sources, help hotlines, etc.

Dictionaries/Glossaries

Dictionary of Cancer Terms. National Cancer Institute.
http://www.cancer.gov/dictionary/

Directory of Medical Dictionaries.
http://www.medbioworld.com/advice/dict.html

A comprehensive list of many reference dictionaries and glossaries.

Glossary of Terms in Managed Health Care
http://members.aol.com/pjpohly/terms.htm
This site is maintained from a national management consulting firm that focuses on health care.

 Medical Informatics Glossary
http://www.coiera.com/glossary.htm
Provides access to the glossary section of Enrico Coiera's 1997 book  Guide to Health Informatics, 2nd ed.

Telemedicine Glossary. American College of Physicians.
http://www.acponline.org/computer/telemedicine/gloassary.htm
Abbreviations, definitions and other links.

Medical Dictionary
http://www.MedicineNet.com/Art.asp?li=MNI&ag=Y&ArticleKey=518

Medical terms in simple language.

Merck Manual. Home Edition.
http://www.merck.com/mmhe/index.html
““Explains disorders, who is likely to get them, their symptoms, how they're diagnosed, how they might be prevented, and how they can be treated; also provides information about prognosis.” Based on the standard medical text, the Merck Manual. Free online version.

Telemedicine Glossary
http://www.acponline.org/computer/telemedicine/glossary.htm

Epidemiology

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (U.S.)
http://www.cdc.gov/default.htm
Includes the CDCWonder database (http://wonder.cdc.gov/) of CDC reports, guidelines, and numeric public health data; a searchable database of disease information, and search feature for state health department websites.

Epidemiology Metasite maintained by the Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics. University of California - San Francisco
http://www.epibiostat.ucsf.edu/epidem/epidem.html
Provides links to government agencies and international organizations, university sites, professional societies, and information on specific diseases

Ethics

AMA Code of Medical Ethics. (American Medical Association).
http://www.ama-assn.org/ama/pub/category/2498.html
Found under ” Policy Finder.”

American College of Heath Care Executives. ACHE Code of Ethics.
http://www.ache.org/abt_ache/code.cfm

American Dental Association.  ADA Principles of Ethics and Code for Professional Conduct.
http://www.ada.org/prof/prac/law/code/index.asp

American Society of Health Systems Pharmacists. Code of Ethics for Pharmacists.
http://www.ashp.org/bestpractices/ethics/Ethics_End_Code.pdf

American Society for Law Medicine and Ethics.
http://www.aslme.org

ANA Code of Ethics for Nurses.
http://www.ashp.org/bestpractices/ethics/Ethics_End_Code.pdf

Bioethics Associations provided by Bioethicsnet
http://bioethics.net/resources/index.php?&cat=12&t=sub_pages
A short list with links to major organizations involved with bioethics.

Center for Bioethics
http://www.med.upenn.edu/bioethics/
LINKS to abortion issues, AIDS, Bioethics, health

Health Care Ethics Online Videos
http://www.providence.org/Oregon/Programs_and_Services/Ethics/e15clips.htm
Videos viewable via the Web and Windows Media Player, by the Providence Center for Health Care Ethics. Examples: Caring for People from Different Cultures and Nutrition/Hydration of the Terminally Ill.

Healthcare Information and Management Systems SocietyBusiness Ethics for Healthcare Information and Management Systems Organizations.
http://www.himss.org/content/files/BES101404.doc

National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature (NRCBL)
http://www.georgetown.edu/research/nrcbl/
LINKS to Bibliographic Resources, Library Resources, BIOETHICSLINE, and other Internet sites.

Government Sources

Agency for Health Care Policy and Research Quality Assessment
http://www.ahrq.gov/
Provides searching and links to quality of care, health plan assessment, data, and other health care issues; fact sheets and research reports on elderly healthcare, healthcare costs, long-term care, managed care, markets, mental health, primary care, and rural health.

Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
(formerly the Health Care Financing Administration (HCFA)
http://www.cms.hhs.gov/

Federal Health Information Centers and Clearinghouses
http://www.health.gov/NHIC/Pubs/clearinghouses.htm
Maintained by the Federal Government, the site provides links to a large number of topic-specific health  information resources including the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention, and Rural Information Center Health Service.

Florida Health Workforce: Highlights from the Health Workforce Profile, 2000.
http://bhpr.hrsa.gov/healthworkforce/reports/statesummaries/florida.htm

Florida Office of Program Policy Analysis and Government Accountability (OPPAGA)
http://www.oppaga.state.fl.us/about.html
Florida Office of Program Policy Analysis and Government Accountability (OPPAGA) is a special staff unit of the Legislature created by state law under the oversight of the Joint Legislative Auditing Committee. OPPAGA examines agencies and programs to improve services and cut costs when directed by state law, the presiding officers, or the Joint Legislative Auditing Committee.

Food and Drug Administration (U.S.)
http://www.fda.gov/
Includes news items, product recalls, and product approvals; lists and describes the items regulated by the FDA; provides information on regulation of the food industry; maintains informative sites for health educators, health professionals and consumers.

Health and Human Services  Data Council. Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation. U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services.
 http://aspe.hhs.gov/datacncl/
The HHS Data Council coordinates all health and human services data collection and analysis activities of the Department of Health and Human Services, including an integrated data collection strategy, coordination of health data standards and health and human services and privacy policy activities. “ Links include: health insurance data, statistical sources, National Health Information Technology Initiatives, race and ethnicity data.

Health Resources and Services Administration. (United States).
http://www.hrsa.gov/
The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) provides access to primary healthcare service through its more than 6,500 grantees nationwide, to medically underserved families and individuals who are poor, uninsured, geographically isolated, or vulnerable in some other way. Programs administered by HRSA include maternal and child health services; HIV/AIDS assistance; bioterrorism/hospital emergency preparedness; health information technology; nurse education scholarships and loan repayments; community health center; organ donation/transplantation; vaccine injury compensation; and Hansen's disease. With HRSA funds, community health care center grantees attend to chronic health care needs; health services in rural, isolated areas; and care and treatment of minorities nationwide, and those living along the U.S.-Mexico border. HRSA also administers the national practitioner databank.” U.S. Government Manual.

HSTAT Health Services/Technology  Assessment Text
http://text.nlm.nih.gov/
A free, web-based resource that provides access to full-text documents useful for providing health information and for health care decision making. HSTAT's audience includes health care providers, health service researchers, policy makers, payers, consumers and the information professionals who serve these groups. HSTAT provides access to a wide variety of publications, including: clinical practice guidelines, quick-reference guides for clinicians, consumer health brochures, evidence reports and technology assessments from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), formerly the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research (AHCPR), as well as AHRQ's Put Prevention Into Practice. Other important documents in HSTAT are the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Consensus Conference Reports and Technology Assessment Reports; the HIV/AIDS Treatment Information Service (ATIS) resource documents; the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration's Center for Substance Abuse Treatment (SAMHSA/CSAT) Treatment Improvement Protocols (TIP) and Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (SAMHSA/CSAP) Prevention Enhancement Protocols System (PEPS); the Public Health Service (PHS) Preventive Services Task Force's Guide to Clinical Preventive Services; the independent, nonfederal Task Force on Community Services Guide to Community Preventive Services; and the Health Technology Advisory Committee (HTAC) of the Minnesota Health Care Commission (MHCC) health technology evaluations.

National Institutes of Health
http://www.nih.gov/
The site provides a gateway to information on Health (Medline, MedlinePlus, Clinical Trials, publications, programs.) grants, news (NIH-related), and sciences.

Occupational Health and Safety Administration (OSHA)
http://www.osha.gov/
Provides access to OSHA regulations, inspection data, topics, events, and outreach.

OSHA regulations - Health Care Facilities
http://www.osha-slc.gov/SLTC/healthcarefacilities/index.html
LINKS to health and safety regulations/issues associated with health care facilities -  recognition,  evaluation, control, compliance & training.

State Children's Health Insurance Program. (U.S.) Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.
http://www.cms.hhs.gov/home/schip.asp
Program provides federal matching funds “to help states expand health care coverage to over 5 million of the nation’s uninsured children.”

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration.
http://www.samhsa.gov/
Created as an agency within the U.S. Dept. of Health and human Services, “to focus attention, programs, and funding on improving the lives of people with or at risk for mental and substance abuse.” disorders. Provides broad variety of mental health statistical sources, information on SAMHSA’s significant grant programs.

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)
http://www.dhhs.gov/
Provides access to information on HHS topics and its agencies, and a wide variety of topics from adoption to women's health.

U.S. Government Manual (online).
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/gmanual/index.html
A searchable database with current information and descriptions of all federal agencies and departments.

Veterans’ Health Administration.  U.S. Department of Veterans’ Affairs.
http://www1.va.gov/health/

Handbooks and Manuals

Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care in the United States
http://www.dartmouthatlas.org/
The Dartmouth Atlas contains a wealth of information about the geographic variations in health care in the U.S. Provided by the Center for the Evaluation of Clinical Sciences, the site provides information about the atlas, a table of contents and some full-text chapters, sample maps, charts and tables.

Merck Manual of Geriatrics
http://www.merck.com/mrkshared/mmg/home.jsp
Free access to this standard handbook for health and clinical issues related to the elderly. The source is searchable via free-text searching; usually the Index is the better starting point for a search.

Merck Manual of Health and Aging. 2004
http://www.merck.com/pubs/mmanual_ha/contents.html
Provides "information on aging and the care of older people in words understandable by the lay public." The source is arranged by broad topic, i.e. Fundamentals of Aging: Caring for Self and Others; Medical Conditions; Social, Legal, and Ethical Issues. Inlcudes a useful Index. Appendices provide generic and trade names for common drugs, and a comprehensive list of resources for information and help on specific issues.

Merck Manuals Online Medical Library.
http://www.merck.com/pubs/mmanual/
Searchable version of the classic diagnostic and treatment manuals used by health care providers.

Managed Care

Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy (AMCP)
http://amcp.org/

American Accreditation HealthCare/Commission (URAC)
http://www.urac.org/
"URAC is a 501(c)(3) non-profit charitable organization founded in 1990 to establish standards for the managed care industry.” It is now the nationally recognized leader for accrediting the utilization management activities of health programs.

American Association of Managed Care Nursing.
http://www.aamcn.org/
“A non profit membership association of, but not limited to, RNs, NPs, LPNs, and Case Managers who are involved in ALL facets of managed care (Health Plans, Office Systems, Hospital Systems, Government & Military Systems, etc) and are committed to working together to improve patient outcomes and to positively impact public policy regarding the delivery of care. For more detail on the association click here (pdf powerpoint presentation).”

Consumer's Source of Information on Managed Care
http://www.familiesusa.org/index.html
LINKS to Managed Care information, Medicaid, Medicare, state information, resources for advocates

Damaged Care, Damaged Caregiver (1998).  by Suzanne Tolbert, MD.
http://www.swbt.com/~taylorjh/damaged/index.html
A monographic first person account by a family physician of the problems encountered by patients, families, and doctors with managed care.

Managed Care. American College of Physicians.
http://www.acponline.org/pmc/managedcare.htm
Documents for physicians in practice.

Managed Care - principles
http://www.ama-assn.org/ama1/pub/upload/mm/363/principlesmanagecare.pdf
AMA Principles of Managed Care. 5th ed. 2004.

Medicaid. U.S. Centers for Medicare and  Medicaid Services. U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services.
http://www.cms.hhs.gov/
Provides well-organized outline of polices and services, including the State Children’s Health Insurance Program.

The National Committee for Quality Assurance
http://www.ncqa.org/index.htm
 NCQA is "an independent, non-profit organization whose mission is to evaluate and report on the quality of the nation's managed care organizations." Site includes Health Plan Report Cards and NCQA's Report Cards for Managed Behavioral Healthcare Organizations.

Medicare and Medicaid

Center for Medicaid and State Operations.
http://www.cms.hhs.gov/
 The master site of this center which is within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Consumer's Source of Information on Managed Care
http://www.familiesusa.org/index.html
LINKS to Managed Care information, Medicaid, Medicare, state information, resources for advocates, contains news releases and detailed reports on various hot topics, such as prescription drugs..

Medicaid. Florida.
http://ahca.myflorida.com/Medicaid/index.shtml

Medicaid in Florida. Families USA
http://www.familiesusa.org/state/flmed.htm
Includes three full reports that cover health insurance access in Florida: Go Directly to Work, Do Not Collect Health Insurance ; Clouds Over The Sunshine State: Florida's Working Parents Lose Health Insurance ; and Assessing The New Federalism State Reports.

Medicare. Florida.
http://www.floridamedicare.com/

Institute for Medicare Practice of Mt. Sinai Hospital
http://www.mssm.edu/instituteformedicare/index.shtml
Research and education center on Medicare policy.  Website includes full-text reports: Making Medicare Work Better, Medicare Coverage and Diabetes, Fact Sheet for Clinicians, and Health Care Disparities Among Medicare Beneficiaries: Overcoming Barriers of Race, Ethnicity and Socioeconomic Status

Medicare Policy Project of the Kaiser Family Foundation
http://www.kff.org/sections.cgi?section=medicare
Includes Medicare State Profiles: State and Regional Data on Medicare and the Population it Serves, which provides information on health service utilization, spending, and Medicare HMO penetration; reports and figures on America' uninsured, State Health Facts At-a-Glance; reports on minority health, and a Women's Health Policy section, providing documents such as State Profiles on Women's Health.

Nursing Workforce

Florida Nursing Shortage. 2005
http://www.flcenterfornursing.org/research/nshortwhitepaper2005.pdf
A white paper comprised mainly of statistics, with references, on the Nursing shortage and workforce in Florida. Included are data on exams, licenses issued, vacancy and turnover rates, and on nursing education in Florida.

Florida Specific Statistics Reported from National Datasets. Florida Center for Nursing.
http://www.flcenterfornursing.org/index.htm
A compilation of statistics,  from various federal agencies and accrediting bodies on health care manpower, personnel, education and demands at the national and state levels. Includes the Florida Hospital Association’s  (February 2006). Nurse Staffing Survey Findings.

Final Report of the National Commission on Nursing Workforce for Long-Term Care
http://www.gwumc.edu/sphhs/healthpolicy/chsrp/downloads/FinalCommissionReport051105.pdf
A Report titled: Act Now for Your Tomorrow, April 2005.

Organizations

Agency for Health Care Administration (Florida)
http://www.fdhc.state.fl.us/
SEARCH & LINKS to services, health data, publications.

American College of Healthcare Executives.
http://www.ache.org/
An international professional society of 30,000 healthcare executives who lead hospitals, healthcare systems and other healthcare organizations. Provides education and credentialing. Requires membership for most services.

American College of Managed Care Medicine
http://www.acmcm.org/
A membership organization which does provide LINKS to conference information and  publications, e.g. "Paving the pathway to managed care medicine." 

American Health Information Management Association.
http://www.ahima.org/

American Health Insurance Plans
http://www.ahip.org/
National trade association of health insurance providers. Provides links to major health insurance plans; has sections for consumer information, advocacy and issues for the health care financing industry. (formerly American Association of Health Plans.)

American Hospital Association
http://www.aha.org/
LINKS to advocacy and representation, compliance information, data sources, research & education, membership information

American College of Health Care Administrators
http://www.achca.org/
LINKS to state licensure requirements, certification programs, products & services, membership

American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA)
http://www.ahima.org/
LINKS to membership information & activities, consumer advice, publications

American Managed Behavioral Healthcare Association
http://www.ambha.org/
LIKS to advocacy, reports & studies, managed behavioral healthcare, membership information.

Center for Health Care Strategies, Inc.
http://www.chcs.org/index.htm

A national non-profit organization devoted to improving the quality of health services for beneficiaries served by publicly financed care, especially those with chronic illnesses and disabilities.” Mission is to “develop and launch new program initiatives in areas related to chronic disease management, integrated care, performance measurement, managed care, return on investment and overall quality improvement.” Site provides a searchable Resource Library with resource papers, toolkits, and quality improvement tools.

Kaiser Family Foundation
http://www.kff.org/

“The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation is a non-profit, private operating foundation focusing on the major health care issues facing the nation. The Foundation is an independent voice and source of facts and analysis for policymakers, the media, the health care community, and the general public. KFF develops and runs its own research and communications programs, often in partnership with outside organizations. The Foundation contracts with a wide range of outside individuals and organizations through its programs.” Site provides sections on health coverage and the uninsured, HIV/AIDS, Medicaid and Medicare, prescription drugs, minority health, health of women and youth, and up-to-date news items related to health care delivery.

Medical Group Management Association (MGMA)
http://www.mgma.com/
A membership organization providing a free Government Affairs information center, information about research projects, education, and certification.

National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
http://www.niehs.nih.gov/
SEARCH & LINKS to environmental health issues

National Institute for Health Care Management Research and Educational Foundation (NIHCM Foundation)
http://www.nihcm.org
a non-profit, nonpartisan organization that conducts research, policy analysis and educational activities on  health care issues. Website includes a wealth of information and research reports on a variety of topics. The Foundation’s focus in 2006 is two areas: Promoting children's health and promoting prevention in managed care National Institute of Mental Health
http://www.nimh.nih.gov
LINKS to mental health-related publications and consumer, practitioner and researcher sites.

Rand Health,
http://www.rand.org/health/
 A research organization, part of the “think tank,” Rand, publishes reports on current health policy issues and “work(s) extensively on the scientific basis for improving service delivery, system performance, and organizational effectiveness.” Full-text of Research Briefs, summarizing their published reports; their Congressional reports sent to the Legislature as updates on Rand research; and health surveys and other instruments developed for RAND.

Policy

National Academy for State Health Policy
http://www.nashp.org/index.cfm

Policies and Regulations. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
http://www.dhhs.gov/policies/index.shtml
Provides links to many important governmental policies and guidelines  related to health care delivery, e.g. the Freedom of Information Act, HIPAA, disability and long-term care.

Race and Ethnicity Sources

Initiative to Eliminate Racial and Ethnic Disparities in Health
http://www.cdc.gov/omh/AboutUs/disparities.htm
The U.S. Dept. Of Health and Human Services plan to carry out President Clinton's "Initiative" is now under the auspices of the CDC.  Provides links and information on racial & ethnic disparities in health care:  infant mortality, cancer screening and management, cardiovascular disease, diabetes, HIV/AIDS, and immunization.

Minority Health. Kaiser Family Foundation
http://www.kff.org/minorityhealth/index.cfm
“The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation is a non-profit, private operating foundation focusing on the major health care issues facing the nation. The Foundation is an independent voice and source of facts and analysis for policymakers, the media, the health care community, and the general public.”
Site includes a wealth of  data and reports, e.g.:  Key Facts: Racial and Ethnic Differences in Medical Care, 1999 and 2003 Updated Chart Book, reports on Health care insurance coverage,\

Unequal Treatment: Confronting Racial and Ethnic Disparities in Health Care (2003). National Academies Press.
http://www.nap.edu/books/030908265X/html/
Provides table of contents, highlights and some pages of this book, which is held in the FGCU Library collection: RA563.M56U53 2003.

Statistical Sources

CDC Wonder.  U.S. Centers for Disease Control.
http://wonder.cdc.gov/
A large searchable database of public health information and statistics. “Search for and read published documents on public health concerns, including reports, recommendations and guidelines, articles and statistical research data published by CDC, as well as reference materials and bibliographies on health-related topics.Query numeric data sets on CDC's mainframe and other computers, via "fill-in-the blank" web pages. Public-use data sets about mortality (deaths), cancer incidence, HIV and AIDS, behavioral risk factors, diabetes, natality (births), census data and many other topics are available for query, and the requested data are readily summarized and analyzed. “

Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project.  Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.
http://hcup.ahrq.gov/HCUPnet.asp

HHS Data Council. U.S, Department of Health and Human Services
http://aspe.hhs.gov/datacncl/
“Coordinates all health and human services data collection and analysis activities of the Department of Health and Human Services, including an integrated data collection strategy, coordination of health data standards and health and human services and privacy policy activities.” Site provides links to health insurance data, minority health data, administrative data, and other information.

State Health Data.
http://www.statehealthfacts.org/cgi-bin/healthfacts.cgi

Statistical Resources on the Web
http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/frames/sthealfr.html
 The metasite provides links to associations, foundations and organizations, government agencies, health policy, health services, hospitals, managed care