Library Services

How Do I...?| Citation Styles | General FAQs

Reference Books for Health Services Administration

This is a brief guide, created especially for FGCU students and faculty, to print reference books in Florida Gulf Coast University’s Library. A few are e-books, as noted. These resources will help you to locate facts and background information, verify quick information or lead you to other sources. Newer editions of these books will replace previous ones as they are published. Most of these books are non-circulating and located in the Reference Section of the library. Reference staff may fax a few pages of a Reference book to distance learners, upon request. (239) 590-7651 or email: libref@fgcu.edu .

Directories

AHA Guide to the Health Care Field. (2007) Chicago: Health Forum.
Ref. RA977 .A1A46 2007

BNA’s Health Facilities guide. V.1 – v. 3. Washington: Bureau of National Affairs, 1994-1998.
Ref.  KF3825 .A6 B63

Marcinko, D.E. & Hetico, H.R. ( 2007). Dictionary of Health Economics and Finance. New York: Springer Publishing Company.
Ref. RA 410 .A3 D53 2007

Rovner, Julie. (2000). Health Care Policy and Politics A-Z. Washington, DC,
Ref.  RA 395 .A3 R685 2000

Who’s Who in Medicine and Healthcare. (1999 -   ) New Providence, NJ: Marquis Who’s Who.
Ref.  R712.A1W46

Employment

Field, Shelly. Career Opportunities in Health Care. (2002)  2nd ed.  New York, NY: Checkmark Books.
Ref. R690 .F54  2002.

Health Professions Career and Education Directory. (2006-07 - ) Chicago, IL :American Medical Association.
Ref.   R847.D57

Job Opportunities for Health and Science Majors. (1998) Princeton, NJ: Peterson’s.
Ref.  R690.P45 1998

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Bailey, Joseph. A (1998) Concise Dictionary of Medical-legal Terms: A General Guide to Interpretation and Usage.  New York: Parthenon.
Ref.   RA1017 .B35 1998

Chadwick, Ruth, Ed (1998). Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics.  V. 1 – 4. San Diego, CA: Academic Press.
Ref.   BJ63 .E44 1998

Dictionary of Health Insurance and Managed Care. (2006).  New York: Springer.
Ref. RA413.D53 2006

Health Insurance: a medical dictionary, bibliography and annotated research guide to Internet references. [electronic resource in NetLibrary under Online Databases]  James N. Parker and Philip M. Parker, editors. San Diego, CA : ICON Health Publications, c2003.

Lexikon:  Dictionary of Health Care Terms, Organizations and Acronyms. (1998) 2nd ed. Oakbrook Terrace: IL: Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations.
Ref.  RA423 . L49 1998

MacPherson, Gordon.  (2004). Blacks’s Medical Dictionary.  40th ed.  Lanham, ND: Scarecrow Press.
Ref.  R121 B598 2004b

McElroy, Onyria Herrera and Lola L. Grabb. (1996). Spanish-English, English-Spanish medical dictionary = Diccionario medico, espanol-ingles, ingles-espanol.  2nd ed. Boston, MA:: Little, Brown.
Ref.   R121 .M488 1996

Encyclopedia of bioethics.  (2004). 3rd ed. v.1- 5. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, Thomson/Gale.
Ref.   QH332 .E52 2004


Rhea, Joseph, Ott, J. Steven, and Shafritz, Jay M. (1988).  Facts on file dictionary of health care management.   New York:  Facts On file, Inc.
Ref.   RA393 .R48 1988

Rognehaugh, Richard. (1996). The managed health care dictionary. Gaithersburg, MD: Aspen Publishers
Ref.   RA413 .R58 1996

Slee, Vergil N. (2001) Slee’s Health Care Terms. 4th ed. Saint Paul, MN: Tringa Press.
Ref.  RA423.S545 2001

Schwager, Edith. (1991). Medical English usage and abusage. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press.
Ref.   R119 .S38 1991

Timmreck, Thomas C. (1997). Health services cyclopedic dictionary : a compendium of health-care and public health terminology. 3rd ed. Sudbury, MA : Jones and Bartlett Publishers.
Ref.   RA393 .T56 1997

Handbooks, Almanacs, etc.

Health care almanac and yearbook.  (2000 -  ).  New York: Faulkner & Gray.
Ref.     RA  395 .A3 H38

Health Law Handbook. (2005 – 2006) New York, N.Y.: C. Boardman, Co.
Ref. KF3825.H43

International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems. (2004) 10th revision. 2nd ed. vol. 1. Geneva: World Health Organization.
Ref. RB115.I6 2004 v. 1

Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Administration. Standards for Long Term Care: 2005-2006 accreditation policies, standards, elements of performance. Oakbrook Terrace, IL: Joint Commission.
Ref. RA999.L66J65 2005

Statistical Sources

AHA Hospital Statistics. (2001, 2005.) Chicago, American Hospital Association.
Ref. RA981.A2A6234 (earlier editions in General Collection)

Dartmouth Medical School. Center for the Evaluative Clinical Sciences (1999). The Dartmouth atlas of health care. The quality of medical care in the United States : a report on the Medicare program. Chicago, IL: AHA Press
Ref.RA 410.7 .D37 1999

District VIII annual hospital utilization data report / Health Planning Council of Southwest Florida, Inc. (1998). Fort Myers, FL: The Council. 
Ref. RA981.F4 N56 1998  

1999-2006 (e-resource via FGCU Library Catalog.)

District VIII annual nursing home utilization data report / Health Planning Council of Southwest Florida, Inc. (1998). Fort Myers, FL: The Council.
Ref. RA997.5.F6 .N56 1998

2003, 2005, 2006  (e-resource via FGCU Library Catalog.)

District Eight Health Plan, 1998-1999 / Health Planning Council of Southwest Florida (1998).
Fort Myers, FL: The Council.
Ref. RA447.F6 D57 1998

Florida Health Care in Perspective.(1998, 2002.)
Lawrence, KS :Morgan Quitno Corp.,
Ref. RA407.4.F6F56

Health and Healthcare in the United States: County and Metro Area Data. 2nd. Ed. 2000.
Ref. RA395.A3H43 2001

Health Care State Rankings. (1998, 2004 – 2006) Lawrence, KS : Morgan Quitno Corp.
Ref. RA407.3.H423

Health United States, 2005, with Chartbook on Trends in the Health of  Americans. National Center for Health Statistics. (free e-resource
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/bv.fcgi?rid=healthus05.TOC )

Health United States, 2006, with Chartbook on Trends in the Health of  Americans. National Center for Health Statistics. (free e-resource http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/hus.htm)

Hendry County, Florida, Comprehensive Assessment for Tracking Community Health (CATCH) (1997- ). Tampa, FL: University of South Florida.
Ref. RA427 .H46 1997

Lee County, Florida, Comprehensive Assessment for Tracking Community Health (CATCH) (1997 - ). Tampa, FL: University of South Florida.
Ref. RA427 .L44

2000 edition (electronic resource) http://www.lee-county.com/healthdept/CATCH2000/CATCH2000.pdf

Nursing Home Statistical Yearbook. (2003- 2005 - .)  McMinnville, OR : Cowles Research Group.
Ref.RA997.A1N89

Portrait of Health in the United States. (2001) Daniel Melnick, Beatrice Rouse, eds.1st. Ed. Lanham, MD : Bernan. [electronic resource – in NetLibrary under Online Databases ]
Ref. RA407.3.P67 (print)

Study and Teaching

Best medical schools. (20040. New York: Random House, Inc.
Ref. R735.A4 S79

Peterson's graduate programs in business, education, health, information studies, law & social work. (2006 ). Princeton, N.J. : Peterson's.
Ref. L901 .P4462

Peterson's U.S. & Canadian medical schools. (2000 ). (includes CD-ROM) Princeton, NJ: Peterson's.
Ref. R735.A4 P48