Library Services

Back to Human Performance Main | How Do I...? | Citation Styles | General FAQs

Reference Materials

These are print reference sources for Human Performance and Athletic Training in Florida Gulf Coast University’s Library. Most are non-circulating and located in the Reference Section of the library.These books will help you to locate facts and background information, verify quick information or lead you to other sources. Newer editions of these books may replace previous ones as they are published.

Atlases

Abrahams, Peter H. (2003). (5th ed.). McMinn's color atlas of human anatomy. Edinburgh ; New York: Mosby. Reserves QM25 .M23 2003

Agur, A. M. R. (1999). (10th ed.). Grant's atlas of anatomy. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.
REF QM25 .A38 1999

Netter, Frank H. (1997). (2nd ed.). Atlas of human anatomy. East Hanover, N.J: Novartis.
Reserves QM25 .N46 1997

Thiel, Walter (1997). Photographic atlas of practical anatomy. 2 vols. Berlin ; New York: Springer.
REF QM25 .T4613 1997

Bibliographies

LeUnes, Arnold D. (2002). Bibliography on psychological tests used in research and practice in sport and exercise psychology. Lewiston, N.Y.: E. Mellen Press.
REF Z7514.P79 L48 2002

Dictionaries

Bernier, Julie (2002). Quick reference dictionary for athletic training. Thorofare, NJ: Slack.
REF RC1206 .B475 2002

International classification of functioning, disability and health : ICF. (2001) Geneva: World Health Organization.
REF R123 .I595 2001

Kent, Michael (1998). (2nd ed.). The Oxford dictionary of sports science and medicine. Oxford ; New York: Oxford University Press.
REF RC1206 .O94 1998

Mai, Larry L. (2005). The Cambridge Dictionary of human biology and evolution. Cambridge ; New York: Cambridge University Press.
REF QP34.5 .M24 2005

Potparic, O. (1996). A dictionary of sports injuries and disorders. New York: Parthenon Pub. Group.
REF RC1206 .P68 1996

Encyclopedias

Corsini, Raymond J. (1999). The dictionary of psychology. Philadelphia, PA: Brunner/Mazel.
REF BF31 .C72 1999

Dulbecco, Renato (Ed.) (1997). (2nd ed.). Encyclopedia of human biology. 9 vols. San Diego: Academic Press.
REF QP11 .E53 1997

Gregory, R. L. (Ed.) (2004). (2nd ed.). The Oxford companion to the mind. Oxford ; New York: Oxford University Press.
GEN BF31 .O94 2004

Kazdin, Alan E. (Ed.) (2000). Encyclopedia of psychology. 8 vols. Washington, D.C.: American Psychological Association: Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press.
REF BF31 .E522 2000

Oakes, Elizabeth H. (2005). The encyclopedia of sports medicine. New York, NY: Facts On File,.
REF RC1206 .O355 2005

Oglesby, Carole A. and Greenberg, Doreen L. (Eds.) (1998). Encyclopedia of women and sport in America. Phoenix: Oryx Press.
REF GV709 .E53 1998

Handbooks

Oxford Handbook of Sport and Exercise Medicine. (2007). Oxford, New York: Oxford University Press.
REF RC1210 .O944 2007

Fortin, François (2000). Sports : the complete visual reference. Willowdale, Ont. ; Buffalo, N.Y.: Firefly Books.
REF GV704 .S663 2000

Shannon, Joyce Brennfleck (Ed.) (2002). (2nd ed.). Sports injuries sourcebook : basic consumer health information about the diagnosis, treatment, and rehabilitation of common sports-related injuries in children and adults; along with suggestions for conditioning and training, information, and prevention tips for injuries frequently associated with specific sports and special populations, a glossary, and a directory of additional resources. Detroit, MI: Omnigraphics.
REF RD97 .S736 2002