Back to Human Performance Main | How Do I...? | Citation Styles | General FAQs
Web Resources
Athletic Training
The American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance
http://www.aahperd.org/
The American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (AAHPERD) is the largest organization of professionals supporting and assisting those involved in physical education, leisure, fitness, dance, health promotion, and education and all specialties related to achieving a healthy lifestyle. AAHPERD is an alliance of five national associations and six district associations and is designed to provide members with a comprehensive and coordinated array of resources, support, and programs to help practitioners improve their skills and so further the health and well-being of the American public.
American Association for Health Education (AAHE)
http://www.aahperd.org/aahe/
American Association for Physical Activity and Recreation (AAPAR)
http://www.aahperd.org/aapar/
American Sports Medicine Institute
http://www.asmi.org/
Association for the Advancement of Applied Sport Psychology (AAASP)
http://www.aaasponline.org/index.php
Board of Certification for the Athletic Trainer
http://www.bocatc.org/
International Association of Athletics Federations
http://www.iaaf.org/
The IAAF, under the leadership of its President Lamine Diack (SEN) who heads the 28 member Council, is the highest authority for athletics in the world. Today, the IAAF has 211 affiliated National Member Federations who gather once every two years for a Congress which is the IAAF's ultimate decision making body. Executive authority rests with the IAAF Council, which is aided in its onerous task by a number of Committees and Commissions representing the various strands of the Athletics Movement. The IAAF Headquarters has been located in the Principality of Monaco since 1993.
National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS)
http://www.aahperd.org/nagws/
National Association for Sport and Physical Education (NASPE)
http://www.aahperd.org/naspe/
National Athletic Trainers’ Association
http://www.nata.org/
Site also contains current issue and archives of the Journal of Athletic Training, http://www.nata.org/jat/
National Collegiate Athletic Association
http://www.ncaa.org/wps/portal
National Dance Association (NDA)
http://www.aahperd.org/nda/
National Operating Committee on Standards for Athletic Equipment (NOCSAE)
http://www.nocsae.org
National Strength and Conditioning Association
http://www.nsca-lift.org/
National Wellness Institute
http://www.nationalwellness.org/
Shape Up America!
http://www.shapeup.org/index.html
Shape Up America! is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization committed to raising awareness of obesity as a health issue.
Health Promotion and Physical Fitness
American Psychological Association Exercise and Sport Psychology (APA Division 47)
http://www.psyc.unt.edu/apadiv47/
This is a membership organization but the website provides full access to issues (2000 to the present) of “Exercise and Sport Psychology Newsletter,” as well as brochures on the sport psychology career, topical links and job information.
Gatorade Sports Science Institute (GSSI)
http://www.gssiweb.com
GSSI has research laboratories with scientists studying nutrition, and “a wide range of physiological , biochemical and sensory responses to nutrition, exercise and the environment.” Site provides a Sports Sciences Library with current and archived articles including “Sports Science Exchange.”
Healthy People 2010
http://www.healthypeople.gov
The public health community's consensus goals for Americans' health, setting the agenda for healthcare services, research, funding and foci for the United States. Outlines goals and objectives in 28 focus areas, including Physical Activity and Fitness - Area 21.)
HP 2010 Information Access Project
http://phpartners.org/hp/index.html
Provides preformulated searches of the medical literature to find evidence-based resources for each goal in Healthy People 2010. Included topical areas are "Arthritis, Osteoporosis and Chronic Back Conditions" and "Physical Fitness."
Human Kinetics
http://www.humankinetics.com
A private publishing company devoted to sharing knowledge about physical activity. Site has browsable subject pages, e.g. Sports Medicine and Rehabilitation; Aging and Physical Activites; Fitness, Wellness, and Exercise; Coaching; Strength and Conditioning. A tab for the Higher Education community has links for brochures, textbooks, distance education courses and exam preparation. For professors using a Human Kinetics textbook, there are supplemental resources for the texts.
National Wellness Institute
http://www.nationalwellness.org/
North American Society for the Psychology of Sport and Physical Activity
http://www.naspspa.org
“A multidisciplinary association of scholars from the behavioral sciences and related professions.” Devoted to improving research and dissemination of information on the psychology of sport, motor development, and motor learning and control. Website provides a searchable index to the “Journal of Sports and Exercise Physiology” and “Motor Control.” Links are provided to the websites of many related journals, many of which feature a sample of recent articles.
Shape Up America!
http://www.shapeup.org
Shape Up America! is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization committed to raising awareness of obesity as a health issue.
Sportscience.org
http://www.sportsci.org
A site devoted to information and research resources on sports medicine, sports nutrition, etc. Includes index and full text of the journal “Sportscience” 1997-to date. Contributors to the site are educators and practitioners in the sports sciences.