Library Services

Evidence Based Practice

FGCU Library    Nursing Guide   Physical Therapy Guide

 

.nurse with pda2

Definitions

In some ways, evidence based practice is not new, but the term signifies a systematic, yet holistic and patient-oriented approach to nursing.  EBP is an offshoot of evidence
based medicine (EBM), defined in Sackett’s key article:

"Evidence based medicine is the conscientious, explicit, and judicious use of current best evidence in making decisions about the care of individual patients. The
practice of evidence based medicine means integrating individual clinical expertise with the best available external evidence from systematic research."


Sackett, David L., et al. (1996, January 13). Evidence based medicine: what it is and what it isn't .   BMJ 312, 71-72. Retrieved July 27, 2006, from http://bmj.bmjjournals.com/cgi/content/full/312/7023/71

Also found at the Oxford Centre for Evidence-based Medicine  http://www.cebm.net/ebm_is_isnt.asp

This definition of EBM requires integration of three major components for medical decision making:  the best external evidence, individual practitioner’s clinical expertise, and
patients' preference.

Evidence-based nursing (EBN)  goes beyond those three, adding more extended consideration of patient values, and including access to adequate resources.  EBN has
been said to incorporate

  •      the patient’s clinical state, clinical setting and circumstances
  •      the patient’s preferences and actions
  •      the best research evidence, defined as:

“methodologically sound, clinically relevant research about the effectiveness and safety of nursing interventions, the accuracy and precision of nursing assessment
measures, the power of prognostic markers, the strength of causal relationships, the cost effectiveness of nursing interventions, and the meaning of illness or patient
experiences.” 

DiCenso, A., Guyatt, G. and Ciliska, D.  Eds. (2005). Evidence-Based nursing; A guide to clinical practice.  St. Louis, MO: Mosby, p.4  (FGCU Library - RT42 .E92 2005) 

APTA Vision Statement for Physical Therapy 2020.

“Evidence-based practice is access to, and application and integration of evidence to guide clinical decision making to provide best practice for the patient/client.
Evidence-based practice includes the integration of best available research, clinical expertise, and patient/client values and circumstances related to
patient/client management, practice management, and health care policy decision making. Aims of evidence-based practice include enhancing patient/client
management and reducing unwarranted variation in the provision of physical therapy services.”

http://www.apta.org/AM/Template.cfm?Section=Vision_20201&TEMPLATE=/CM/ContentDisplay.cfm&CONTENTID=39951

Steps in the Process of Evidence Based Practice
    1. clearly identify the patient problem based on accurate analysis of current professional knowledge and practice 
    2. search the literature for relevant research 
    3. evaluate the research evidence using established criteria regarding scientific merit
    4. choose interventions and justify those selections with the most valid evidence 

    Sears, S. (2006, January/February). The Role of information technology in evidence-based practice. (Information technology and the clinical nurse specialist.)
    Clinical nurse specialist, The Journal for advanced nursing practice. 20, 7-8.
    Stone, P.H... (2003). Popping the (PICO) question in research and evidence-based practice.  Applied Nursing Research. 15, 197-198. Retrieved from
    ScienceDirect doi:10.1053/apnr.2002.34181  (direct link will work only from on-campus connections) 


    Further Reading

DiCenso A, Cullum N, Ciliska D. (1998, April.) Implementing evidence-based nursing: some misconceptions [implementation forum]. Evidence-Based Nursing. 1,
38–40. Retrieved July 27, 2006, from  http://ebn.bmjjournals.com/cgi/content/full/1/2/38
MacPhee, M. & Pratt, P. (2005 ). Evidence-based practice. Journal of Pediatric Nursing. 20, 396-398.  Retrieved from,  ScienceDirect  doi:10.1016/j.pedn.2005.03.015 
(direct link will work only from on-campus connections) 
Thomas, L. (1999). Clinical practice guidelines. Evidence-Based Nursing
2,38-9. Thompson, C., Cullum, N., et al. (2004).  Nurses, information use, and clinical decision making—the real world potential for evidence-based decisions in nursing. 
Evidence-Based Nursing 7, 68-72. Retrieved August 3, 2006, from http://ebn.bmjjournals.com/cgi/content/full/7/3/68 

[Tutorial].Duke University Medical Center Library.  Introduction to Evidence-Based Medicine.

 

Staying current with best practices and research

 

nurse with laptop

  1. Individual journals publishing articles on research studies.

    Traditionally, keeping up to date with recent research evidence on treatments and therapies meant conducting continual and iterative literature searches of Medline
    or PubMed, and the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL), to search through the articles within hundreds of biomedical or nursing
    journals. This requires a good understanding of methodologically sound research, as well as skilled database searching techniques. 

  2. Practice Guidelines

    More recently, practice guidelines from various medical specialties have become available via Internet. When available they are a critical component of medical
    decision making, yet practice guidelines require time and analysis of best practices for their development, and not every medical condition or health issue is
    covered.   The National Guideline Clearinghouse is a  U.S. initiative to aggregate evidence-based clinical practice guidelines; there are others found below under
    EBM Clinical Reference Tools.   For a discussion of clinical practice guidelines, see: Thomas, L. (1999). Clinical Practice Guidelines. Evidence Based Nursing. 2,
    38-39.Retrieved, October 25, 2006, http://ebn.bmjjournals.com/cgi/content/full/2/2/38 and Cassey, M.Z. (2007) Incorporating the National Guideline Clearinghouse into
    evidence-based nursing practice. Nursing Economics, 25(5), 302-03.
    http://search.ebscohost.com.ezproxy.fgcu.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=c8h&AN=2009700249&site=ehost-live

  3. Evidence-based practice journals 
    EBP journals, that is, secondary sources which filter and synthesize research with evaluative abstracts, are now published.  The journal editors and authors use
    predetermined criteria to select original research and review articles that report scientifically sound and clinically relevant results. Clinical experts provide
    value-added comments, describing the objectives, methods, results, and conclusions of the research, and then evaluation of the studies relative to the clinical
    context.
     
  4. Tertiary journals and resources, with access through FGCU Library noted.

(These sources “filter” evidence-based and research articles from a large number of research journals.)

Evidence Based Nursing
1998 forward in OVID (accessed via E-journals.)

    “A journal of quality appraised abstracted research relevant to nursing practice.” BMJ Publishing Group.

ACP Journal Club. (includes the journal Evidence Based Medicine).
2002 forward  included in  Academic Search Complete (ACP Journal Club accessed via E-journals.)

“ACP Journal Club's general purpose is to select from the biomedical literature articles that report original studies and systematic reviews that warrant immediate
attention by physicians attempting to keep pace with important advances in internal medicine. These articles are summarized in value-added abstracts and
commented on by clinical experts.”  “The content is carefully selected from over 100 clinical journals through reliable application of explicit criteria for scientific merit,
followed by assessment of relevance to medical practice by clinical specialists.”  American College of Physicians.


How does the clinician find the latest evidence? 

More recently EBM tools have been developed, such as DynaMed, Up-to-date, InfoRetriever, etc.

            ~ designed for use at the point of care

           ~ many are viewable on PDAs.

These sources do the literature searching automatically, seeking to quickly summarize the latest evidence.

Caveat: EBM tools cannot summarize literature that is not there, that is, if quality studies have not yet been published on a therapy, treatment, syndrome or condition, then the EBM tools will not yet cover that issue. 

nurse with pda

EBM Clinical Reference Tools

    Now the first sources to locate the best available evidence on diseases, conditions, treatment and therapies.

  • DynaMed (Available off-campus through the FGCU Library website under Online Databases.)

    A resource that filters the EBM literature daily to create a clinical reference tool providing value-added syntheses of existing evidence for diagnoses and therapies.  This
    source scours 5 other EBM tools including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the National Guideline Clearinghouse, NIH Consensus Statements, and
    AHRQ Evidence Reports, as well as 500  key primary and secondary biomedical journals.   See DynaMed instructions below. 

    Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 


    EBM reports from the Cochrane Collaboration.  " The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. Cochrane reviews bring you the combined results of the world’s best medical research studies, and are recognised as the gold standard in evidence-based health care. "

The National Guideline Clearinghouse is a comprehensive database, updated weekly, of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents. Features of
the website are structured summaries and links to full-text of guidelines, when available; the ability to compare guidelines side-by-side;  and “Guideline Syntheses” to
compare guidelines covering similar topics, highlighting areas of similarity and difference. 

Evidence-based Practice Centers (EPC) contract with AHRQ to provide evidence reports and technology assessments, by reviewing “all relevant scientific literature on
clinical, behavioral, and organization and financing topics.”  The EPCs develop these reports “based on rigorous, comprehensive syntheses and analyses of relevant
scientific literature, emphasizing explicit and detailed documentation of methods, rationale, and assumptions.” 

A searchable database of best evidence from the medical literature which is free (as of July 2006)  with personal registration.  A product of BMJ and the Health Information
Research Unit at   McMaster  University , location of the editorial office of Evidence Based Nursing. 

  • PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database)
    http://www.pedro.fhs.usyd.edu.au/index.html
    A serachable database produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy (CEBP). It includes bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Most trials on the database have been rated for quality to help you quickly discriminate between trials which are likely to be valid and interpretable and those which are not.

    Additional free EBM websites: 

         

Evaluating the evidence to inform clinical practice
Two key concepts in evidence based health care are Levels of Evidence (LOEs) and Grades of Recommendation.  

Levels of evidence relate to ranking the validity of the most recent research studies, i.e. the strength of the evidence. 
Portrayed on a scale of 1 - 3, 1 - 4 or 1 - 5, with 1 being the best.

Grades of Recommendation are derived from the Levels of Evidence and are  usually portrayed on a    scale of A - C, or A - D, with A being the strongest
recommendation for disease-oriented outcomes or patient-oriented outcomes

EBM tools such as DynaMed and InfoRetriever  synthesize and summarize the latest research studies, putting them in clinical context, and will often signify the “level of evidence”
that a research study or finding provides clinical decision makers. EBM tools vary in their precise models for LOEs, but the levels of evidence are based on the rigor, i.e. quality and
type, of research studies, signified best by a pyramid or hierarchy of research evidence. Research reports that are systematic reviews or meta-analyses are considered to be the
most valid evidence.

 

evidence pyramid  

SUNY  Downstate  Medical  Center ’s Evidence Pyramid
                        http://library.downstate.edu/EBM2/2100.htm 

 Ebell, M.H.. et al.   Strength of Recommendation Taxonomy (SORT): A Patient-Centered Approach to Grading Evidence in the Medical Literature. 
Am Fam Physician 2004 Feb 1;69(3):548-56.   http://www.aafp.org/afp/20040201/548.html 

Level 1 (likely reliable) Evidence

Level 2 (mid-level) Evidence

Level 3 (lacking direct) Evidence

  • Grade A recommendation (consistent high-quality evidence) 
  • Grade B recommendation (inconsistent or limited evidence) 
  • Grade C recommendation (lacking direct evidence) 

EBM Clinical Reference Tool

DynaMed, available to FGCU researchers as an Online Database uses the SORT (Strength of Recommendation Taxonomy) method of grading
research evidence.                   

  Sample DynaMed search on Carpal Tunnel Syndrome 

DynaMed sample search

       Source: DynaMed through EBSCOHost.

A detailed description of DynaMed’s use of SORT for indicating strength of evidence, essential for understanding the significance of reports retrieved from DynaMed,
is found in the database, under “Systematic Literature Surveillance/ Determining Validity & Level of Evidence.

Level 1 (likely reliable) Evidence - represents the most valid reports addressing patient-oriented outcomes. Achieving a level 1 evidence label means that specific quality
criteria were met based on the study type.
  • randomized trials with at least 80% follow-up
  • inception cohort studies for prognostic information
  • systematic reviews of level 1 evidence reports.

Level 2 (mid-level) Evidence - representing reports addressing patient-oriented outcomes, and using some method of scientific investigation, yet not meeting the
quality criteria to achieve level 1 evidence labeling.  Level 2 evidence does not imply reliable evidence.

  • randomized trials with less than 80% follow-up
  • non-randomized comparison studies
  • diagnostic studies without adequate reference standards. events in large cohort studies (level 2 evidence),

Level 3 (lacking direct) Evidence - representing reports that are not based on scientific analysis of patient-oriented outcomes.

  • case series
  • case reports
  • expert opinion
  • conclusions extrapolated indirectly from scientific studies.

 

DynaMed LOEs


For Further Reading

~ Additional, Comprehensive Taxonomies for Research Evidence 


Summary of Evidence Based Practice Methods


  1. Develop a clinical question. 
  2. Search for relevant evidence based reports in: 

    DynaMed, then if further information is needed: 

    National Guidelines Clearinghouse 
    AHRQ Evidence Reports (especially for technology assessments)  Bmjupdates  or 
    Other EBP sources if necessary 

  3. Analyze the evidence based reports by scrutinizing the Levels of Evidence and the Grades of Recommendation, when available. 
  4. Search literature databases such as CINAHL and PubMed, if insufficient EBP reports that are relevant to the individual patient problem are not yet found. 
  5. Read and analyze articles located through the literature search, for relevance and strength of evidence. 
  6. Choose interventions and justify them based on the best available evidence. 
  7. Continuously evaluate your decisions and decision-making.


Web Resources for Evidence Based Practice

Nursing

Evidence Based Nursing and Midwifery. Joanna Briggs Institute.
http://www.joannabriggs.edu.au/about/home.php

Syllabi for Evidence Based Nursing. Center for Evidence Baed Medicine. University of Toronto.
http://www.cebm.utoronto.ca/syllabi/nur/

Medicine

Centre for Health Evidence
http://www.cche.net/usersguides/main.asp
Tutorials here, termed "User's Guides", are presented in the form of case studies.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

When the filtering and synthesizing databases above do not provide summary reports on a particular health issue or therapy, individual research journals in nursing
or medicine can be searched, most through the CINAHL database. CINAHL is the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature with Full-text of circa 350
periodicals, available to FGCU through Articles & Databases.

Databases of literature

 

*CINAHL with Full-text (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)

(Available for FGCU through Article & Databases (through the EBSCOHost system).  Search Tips for locating the best evidence: 

1.  Searches can be filtered using the Limit feature for “Evidence-Based Practice” found on an Advanced Search page.
 
2.  Limit to Publication Type=Systematic Review 

3.  Limit to Publication Type = Practice Guidelines 

* A tutorial for The CINAHL database through EBSCOHost, designed for FGCU researchers. (http://library.fgcu.edu/RSD/Instruction/CINAHL08/CINAHL_tutorial_Fall_08_viewlet_swf.html)  

PubMed  (includes Medline)
The large medical database, free via Internet from the National Library of Medicine. Provides citations & abstracts from the world's medical and health related journals, dating
back to 1966. 

A search feature found in the left navigation bar, Clinical Queries automatically filters searches on questions of therapy, diagnosis, etiology or prognosis by searching for the
highest levels of evidence in the literature.  From the Clinical Queries webpage, a search for Systematic Reviews can be begun. Clinical queries provide four study categories
(therapy, diagnosis, etiology, prognosis) with the capability of selecting an emphasis of sensitivity (high recall) or specificity (high precision).

A chart of various PubMed filters for research, including randomized clinical trials can be found at this site:  http://www.uic.edu/depts/lib/lhsp/resources/filters.shtml

Detailed guidance in using advanced PubMed features for research is found at Yale Medical Library’s website: http://info.med.yale.edu/library/reference/publications/pubmed/

 

If you have comments, questions, or suggestions about these web pages, contact the Health & Social Sciences Librarian: Mary Kay Hartung: mhartung@fgcu.edu