Library Services

Major databases for nursing (CINAHL, PubMed, and more)

Note: the Library is unable to provide here the direct links to some databases. If unable to connect to a database from off-campus, please go to the Library homepage http://library.fgcu.edu , select "Articles & Databases", and type in your FGCU 14 digit ID number when it is requested. After this authentication, FGCU students and faculty will then be forwarded to a page to enter the first few letters of the database title.

 

 

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) with full-text
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health, the premier database for nursing and other health professions. Provides citations & abstracts, back to 1986. Accessed through the EbscoHost system from the Library's eResources page. Tip: To search only peer-reviewed journals, use the Special Feature, peer-reviewed, on an "Advanced Search" screen.

CINAHL tutorial - A FGCU-specific, self-paced tutorial created by the Health Professions Librarian. (Requires 2 minutes or so to load.)

DynaMed
An evidence-based medicine tool for the clinician, this source searches the medical literature for the latest research evidence on diagnoses, treatments and therapies for diseases, disorders, and conditions. Approximately 500 journals are automatically searched along with the Cochrane Library and other EBM sources. DynaMed provides summary reports on each topic, including evaluation of the strength of the existing evidence and/or grades of any reocmmendations. Frequently, links to the research literature are given, although FGCU researchers may need to go back to E-Journals on the Library's homepage to gain access off campus to many of the cited sources. DynMed is updated daily.

Evidence Based Nursing guide created by the Health Professions Librarian

Health and Wellness Resource Center
Comprehensive database of over 400 health-related magazines and journals in full-text. Includes encyclopedias, directories, medical dictionary, and newspapers. Covers consumer health information and alternative medicine.Tip: To search only peer-reviewed journals, use the "limit" feature on an "Advanced Search" screen.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Journals
Provides more than 250 leading full-text journals in nursing and allied health, a subset of the total journals indexed by CINAHL. Search by keywords, specific citation, or journal ("publication") title, through the Search Methods box at the top. Results can be limited to scholarly journals, including peer-reviewed journals, by checking that limit feature below the search box.

ProQuest Medical Library
Provides full-text articles for more than 200 key medical titles. Offers coverage of all the major healthcare specialties, including nursing, pediatrics, neurology, pharmacology, cardiology, physical therapy, and others. Search by topic, specific citation, or journal ("publication") title through the Search Methods box at the top. Results can be limited to scholarly journals, including peer-reviewed journals, by checking that limit feature below the search box.

PubMed
The complete medical database, including MEDLINE, free over the Internet from the National Library of Medicine. Provides citations & abstracts from the world's medical and health related journals, dating back to 1966. Tutorials to learn PubMed searching can be found at these sites:

Pub Med tutorials, freely accessible on the Web:

http://www.library.dal.ca/kellogg/guides/pubmed/INTROFRM.HTM
http://www.library.health.ufl.edu/PubMed/PubMed2/
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pubmed_tutorial/m1001.html
http://www.galter.northwestern.edu/tutorials/pubmed/index.cfm#Welcome


REHABDATA

National Rehabilitation Information Center's database on disability and rehabilitation, 1956 – present. (Login may be requested but is not necessary. Click "Advanced Search" and continue.) Many documents indexed here are from journals that FGCU may own. Search the source journal in the FGCU Library catalog and List of Full-text eJournals.


TOXLINE via Pubmed’s TOXNET

“Extensive array of references to literature on biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals.”

OVID Nursing Full text Plus
Type OVID in the Search box on the Online Databases page, Continue, then select OVID Nursing Full text Plus. Provides full-text of 55 nursing journals and abstracts from many more nursing and allied health journals. PLEASE click Logoff before exiting this database.










— ———————————————————————————
Last updated January 20, 2007