|
Library Services
How Do I...?| Citation Styles | Research Guides| General FAQs
Web Resources for Nursing
The following web sites have been carefully selected for reliability and timeliness. If you are using information from the web, it is your responsibility to make sure that it is from authoritative resources. A Quick Guide to Evaluating Internet Information is available. |
Advice for Web Searching
Evaluating Health Information
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/evaluatinghealthinformation.html
A comprehensive resource with links to latest news, the National Institutes of Health, new research findings on specific conditions, organizations devoted to health information, and resources for understanding medical research.
Evaluating Internet Health Information: A Tutorial from the National Library of Medicine.
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/webeval/webeval.html
Useful for high school students, college undergraduates and health educators, this tutorial runs for approximately 15 minutes or can be self-paced.
Guide to Healthy Web Searching. MedlinePlus.
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/healthywebsurfing.html
Advice for patients and health professionals on evaluating the quality of health information on websites.
Is This Health Information Good for Me?
http://nnlm.gov/pnr/hip/criteria.html
A quick guide to evaluating health news or reported research findings. (Includes Spanish language version) |
Anesthesia
American Association of Nurse Anesthetists.
http://www.aana.com/Default.aspx
The Resources section provides information and links to state legislative & regulatory requirements, professional practice documents, legal briefs from the AANA Journal.
American Society of Anesthesiologists.
http://www.asahq.org/publicationsAndServices/sgstoc.htm
Free pdf copies of standards guidelines, statements, and practice parameters such as Practice Guidelines for Obstetric Anesthesia, and standards guidelines and statements. (Search site for Publications.)
American Society of PeriAnesthesia Nurses.
http://www.aspan.org/
Anesthesia Educational and Reference Resources and Materials on the Internet. Walter Reed Army Medical Center.
http://www.wramc.amedd.army.mil/Patients/healthcare/surgery/anesthesiology/Pages/articles.aspx
Free full-text documents on machines, basic monitoring, and specialty applications.
Cleveland Clinic. Division of Anesthesiology. Nurse Anesthetists. http://cms.clevelandclinic.org/anesthesia/body.cfm?id=122&oTopID=122
Information on and for nurse anesthetists at Cleveland Clinic, Ohio.
New York School of Regional Anesthesia.
http://www.nysora.com/home.shtml
Techniques section includes description and demonstration of many nerve block techniques; sections on Ultrasound techniques, Pain Management. Includes the online Journal of New York School of Regional Anesthesia.
Radiology of the Respiratory System. Collaborative Hypertext of Radiology. A hypertext reference for physicians and medical students, with entries describing diseases,and related radiological findings, anatomy, physiology, and pathology.
http://chorus.rad.mcw.edu/index/3.html
Society for Obstetric Anesthesia and Perinatology (SOAP). Includes free access to the SOAP Newsletter.
www.soap.org
Virtual Anesthesia Machine. University of Florida. Center for Simulation, Advanced Learning and Technology.
http://vam.anest.ufl.edu/index.html
Simulation Portfolio provides free links to many simulations;see also the Foundation Simulations.
Provides links and wiki on many other Web based tools under Learning Objects Wiki.
Virtual Pediatric Hospital. Electric Airway: Upper Airway Problems in Children.
http://www.virtualpediatrichospital.org/providers/ElectricAirway/ElectricAirway.shtml
Document and diagrams.
Wood Library Museum of Anesthesiology.
http://www.woodlibrarymuseum.org/
Includes a video history archive, and pictorial exhibits. |
Care Plans
Nursing Care Plan Resources.
http://www.medi-smart.com/carepl.htm
A metasite maintained by Medi-Smart, with up-to-date links to information and libraries of care plans. |
Continuing Education
CE Connection
http://nursingcenter.com/prodev/ce_online.asp
A proprietary site selling CE modules.
CE Web
http://www.ce-web.com/
A proprietary source for Continuing Education on the Web.
Medscape Nurses
http://www.medscape.com/nurses
A site that is free through registration, offers an array of current information including: recent highlights of nursing research; medical alerts and news; a collection of CMEs; and a large number of "Resource Centers" which are topical guides with news, latest relevant articles, and web resources.
Nurse CEU.Com
http://www.nurseceu.com/index.html
Identifies, cross references, and links to Nursing Continuing Education Modules Offered on the Internet.
State CE Requirements.
http://www.medscape.com/pages/cme/nursecestaterequirements
Provides a chart of each state’s CE requirements, with links to the relevant state sites. Florida: http://www.doh.state.fl.us/mqa/nursing/ |
Cultural Competence
National Center for Cultural Competence.
http://www11.georgetown.edu/research/gucchd/nccc/
Promoting Cultural Diversity and Cultural Competency has an online “Self-Assessment Checklist for Personnel Providing Services and Supports to Children with Special Health Needs and their Families, and provides useful Web links on cultural competence, as well as the searchable “Cultural and Linguistic Competence Resource Database” of resource materials.
Office of Minority Health. (U.S.)
http://www.omhrc.gov/
Includes text of statistical reports and the "Closing the Gap" Newsletters from 1995 to the present, a link to a Webcast of the Healthy People 2010 Session on Eliminating Minority Health Disparities, and many other useful links.
Goals of Healthy People 2010.
http://www.healthypeople.gov/About/goals.htm
Healthy People 2010, the U.S. national agenda for health and prevention, "is designed to achieve two overarching goals: Increase quality and years of healthy life and eliminate health disparities.”
Cross-cultural, transcultural, cultural competence – resources & links
http://medicine.ucsf.edu/resources/guidelines/culture.html
A metasite by the U.C.-San Francisco School of Medicine.
Curriculum Guide on Cultural Competence. George Washington University
http://www.gwu.edu/~iscopes/LearningMods_Culture.htm
Text of an educational curriculum.
Cross Cultural Health Care Program. Seattle, WA
http://www.xculture.org/resource/order/index.cfm
A Seattle-based program focusing on cultural and linguistic aspects of health care provision. The "books and resources" section provides a bibliography of books; information and links to search the CCHCP Library, to curricular materials, and more.
Resources for Cross Cultural Health Care
http://www.diversityrx.org/HTML/WERCCH.htm
"A national network of individuals and organizations in ethnic communities and health care organized to offer technical assistance and information on linguistic and cultural competence in health care." Website has the searchable DiversityRx database of abstracts of model programs on cultural competence; text of a report, "Multicultural Health Best Practices Overview"; and useful links.
National Rural Health Association
http://www.nrharural.org/
National membership organization for advocacy, education and research. Site includes policy briefs, issue papers; abstracts & indexing, as well as free full-text of the current issue, of the Journal of Rural Health; many links to governmental issues; information for rural health practitioners and much more.
CULTURAL COMPETENCE IN HEALTH CARE: EMERGING FRAMEWORKS AND PRACTICAL APPROACHES
http://www.cmwf.org/usr_doc/betancourt_culturalcompetence_576.pdf
A 40 page report sponsored by the Commonwealth Fund in 2002; an excellent overview of the issues.
National Alliance for Hispanic Health
http://www.hispanichealth.org/
Website of a large national network of health and human services providers, serving as a national forum offering leadership,advocacy and research for the health of Hispanics. Resources include action reports, Health Fact Sheets, analysis of gaps in the Healthy People 2010 Report, Hispanic Health Needs Assessments, leads to scholarships and other funding sources, help hotlines, etc.
Spanish Language Health Education Materials
http://www.ethnomed.org/ethnomed/cultures/hispanic/patient_ed.html#spanish_health
|
Dermatology
DermAtlas
http://dermatlas.med.jhmi.edu/derm/
An archive of dermatology images for professionals and patients |
Dictionaries and Glossaries
Dictionary of Cancer Terms. National Cancer Institute.
http://www.cancer.gov/dictionary/
Directory of Medical Dictionaries.
http://www.medbioworld.com/advice/dict.html
Medical Dictionary
http://www.MedicineNet.com/Art.asp?li=MNI&ag=Y&ArticleKey=518
Medical terms in simple language.
Merck Manual. Home Edition.
http://www.merck.com/mmhe/index.html
Free online version.
Telemedicine Glossary
http://www.acponline.org/computer/telemedicine/glossary.htm
Abbreviations, definitions and other links. |
Drugs/Pharmacology
Antibiotic Guidelines
http://www.intmed.mcw.edu/AntibioticGuide.html . Medical College of Wisconsin.
Links to antimicrobial agents, costs & indications, recommendations for common infections & surgical prophylaxis, AHA endocarditis prophylaxis guidelines.
Epocrates
free drug and formulary reference.
www.epocrates.com
Oonline formulary, viewable on PDAs. Includes pediatric dosing. Free registration required.
PharmInfoNet
http://pharminfo.8media.org/
LINKS to drug information by Generic Name Database & Trade Name Database. Full text.
RxList; the Internet Drug Index
http://www.rxlist.com/
A service of the respected WebMD, this free index allows searches by drug name, then provides description, indications and dosage (including pediatric dosage), side effects and interactions, contraindications, warnings, and patient information.
U.S. Food and Drug Administration.
http://www.fda.gov/oc/oha/default.htm
Information for Health Professionals, a comprehensive site with safety alerts, recalls and warnings. |
Ethics
Center for Bioethics
http://www.med.upenn.edu/bioethics/
LINKS to abortion issues, AIDS, Bioethics, health
National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature (NRCBL)
http://www.georgetown.edu/research/nrcbl/
LINKS to Bibliographic Resources, Library Resources, BIOETHICSLINE, and other Internet sites.
Bioethics Associations provided by Bioethicsnet
http://bioethics.net/resources/index.php?&cat=12&t=sub_pages
A short list with links to major organizations involved with bioethics.
Health Care Ethics Online Videos
http://www.providence.org/Oregon/Programs_and_Services/Ethics/e15clips.htm
Videos viewable via the Web and Windows Media Player, by the Providence Center for Health Care Ethics. Examples: Caring for People from Different Cultures and Nutrition/Hydration of the Terminally Ill. |
Gerontology
Canadian Centre for Activity and Aging
http://www.uwo.ca/actage/
Affiliated with the University of Western Ontario, this is Canada's research and accrediting organization for physical activity promotion and programs for the aged. Includes extensive bibliographies of research articles, and links to organizations devoted to active living for older adults.
Elder Rights.
http://www.aoa.gov/eldfam/Elder_Rights/Elder_Abuse/Elder_Abuse.asp
LINKS to national, state and international programs and resources on elder abuse.
ElderWeb
http://www.elderweb.com/
Online Eldercare Sourcebook.
How to Try This;
Assessments and Best Practices in Care of Older Adults. Hartford Institute for Geriatric Nursing and the American Journal of Nursing.
http://www.nursingcenter.com/library/static.asp?pageid=730390
Cost-free, web-based resources including demonstration videos and a corresponding print series featured in the AJN on caring for older adults. Includes evidence-based geriatric assessment tools.
International Society for Aging and Physical Activity
http://www.isapa.org/
An international non-profit society for research and practice concerning aging and physical activity. Site includes text of the International Curriculum Guidelines for Preparing Physical Activity Instructors of Older Adults.
Merck Manual of Geriatrics
http://www.merck.com/mrkshared/mmg/home.jsp
Free access to this standard handbook for health and clinical issues related to the elderly. The source is searchable via free-text searching; usually the Index is the better starting point for a search.
Merck Manual of Health and Aging. 2004
http://www.merck.com/pubs/mmanual_ha/contents.html
Provides "information on aging and the care of older people in words understandable by the lay public." The source is arranged by broad topic, i.e. Fundamentals of Aging: Caring for Self and Others; Medical Conditions; Social, Legal, and Ethical Issues. Inlcudes a useful Index. Appendices provide generic and trade names for common drugs, and a comprehensive list of resources for information and help on specific issues.
.New Look at the Old. Nursing Center.
http://www.nursingcenter.com/library/static.asp?pageid=527873
. A series of articles and accompanying webcasts for continuing education on providing care to older adults, including several on persons with dementia or AD.
Nursing Care of Older Adults.
http://www.nursingcenter.com/library/static.asp?pageid=730388
Links to websites and articles.
|
Immunization
Centers for Disease Control. National Immunization Program.
http://www.cdc.gov/nip/default.htm
LINKS to downloadable immunization-related programs, National Immunization Registry Clearinghouse, Manual for the Surveillance of Vaccine-Preventable Diseases, vaccine fact sheets…
Immunizations American Academy of Pediatrics.
http://www.cispimmunize.org/
Includes updated annual schedule of childhood immunizations, information for parents, latest updates. |
Managed Care
American Association of Managed Care Nursing.
http://www.aamcn.org/
“A non profit membership association of, but not limited to, RNs, NPs, LPNs, and Case Managers who are involved in ALL facets of managed care (Health Plans, Office Systems, Hospital Systems, Government & Military Systems, etc) and are committed to working together to improve patient outcomes and to positively impact public policy regarding the delivery of care. For more detail on the association click here (pdf powerpoint presentation).”
Managed Care. American College of Physicians.
http://www.acponline.org/pmc/managedcare.htm
Documents for physicians in practice.
Managed Care – Online Journal of Issues in Nursing.
http://www.ana.org/ojin/tpc2/tpc2toc.htm
Links to full text articles on managed care, glossary of terms, managed care organizations.
Managed Care - principles
http://www.ama-assn.org/ama1/pub/upload/mm/363/principlesmanagecare.pdf
AMA Principles of Managed Care. 5th ed. 2004.
Medicaid. U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services.
http://www.cms.hhs.gov/
Provides well-organized outline of polices and services, including the State Children’s Health Insurance Program.
Medicaid. Florida.
http://ahca.myflorida.com/Medicaid/index.shtml
Medicare. Florida.
http://www.floridamedicare.com/ |
Nursing Theory
Nursing Theorists. Boston College School of Nursing
http://www2.bc.edu/~royca/
Provides information and resources on Sr. Callista Roy's Adaptation Model. Provides links to other webpages on theory.
Nursing Theory Link Page. Clayton College
http://healthsci.clayton.edu/eichelberger/nursing.htm
Covers models and theories not included in other theory pages. Includes abstracts of related books.
Nursing Theory Page. University of San Diego.
http://www.sandiego.edu/academics/nursing/theory/
Provides information and links on 20 theorists, as well as on some models of nursing. Links to discussion forums on nursing theory, and a bibliography of monographs. |
Nursing Research
Virginia Henderson International Nursing Library
http://www.nursinglibrary.org/Portal/Main.aspx?PageID=4002
Nursing Workforce
Florida Nursing Shortage. 2005
http://www.flcenterfornursing.org/research/nshortwhitepaper2005.pdf
A white paper comprised mainly of statistics, with references, on the Nursing shortage and workforce in Florida. Included are data on exams, licenses issued, vacancy and turnover rates, and on nursing education in Florida.
Florida Specific Statistics Reported from National Datasets. Florida Center for Nursing.
http://www.flcenterfornursing.org/index.htm
A compilation of statistics, from various federal agencies and accrediting bodies on health care manpower, personnel, education and demands at the national and state levels. Includes the Florida Hospital Association’s (February 2006). Nurse Staffing Survey Findings.
Final Report of the National Commission on Nursing Workforce for Long-Term Care
http://www.gwumc.edu/sphhs/healthpolicy/chsrp/downloads/FinalCommissionReport051105.pdf
A Report titled: Act Now for Your Tomorrow, April 2005.
|
Organizations
American Association of Colleges of Nursing
http://www.aacn.nche.edu/
LINKS to AACN information, membership, continuing education, publications, interactive issue forum.
American Association of Nurse Anesthetists
http://www.aana.com/
Includes a section for CRNA students, state certification requirements, standards, legal issues, etc.
American Academy of Nurse Practitioners
http://WWW.AANP.ORG/
SEARCH & LINKS to membership, certification, career opportunities, conferences, publications.
American Association of Managed Care Nurses
http://www.aamcn.org/
LINKS to membership, certification courses, chapters.
American Holistic Nurse Association
http://ahna.org/
LINKS to association information, certification, issues, conferences.
American Nurses Association (ANA)
http://www.nursingworld.org/
Association of Nurses in AIDS Care
http://www.anacnet.org/
LINKS to membership information, local chapters, certification, conferences & other association activities.
American Public Health Association
http://www.apha.org/
LINKS to legislative affairs & advocacy, news & publications, science, practice & policy, Public Health resources.
Florida Center for Nursing
http://www.flcenterfornursing.org/index.htm
A State legislative creation, the Center is "the definitive source for information, trends, research and forecasting about nurses and the dynamic nursing needs in Florida." Two sections,"FCN Research and Information" and "Reports and Publications" provide many reports and statistics on the nursing/healthcare workforce and shortage in Florida.
Florida Department of Health.
http://www.doh.state.fl.us/
Provides information about Florida county health departments; licensure requirements for health professions in Florida; immunization requirements for Florida school children; children's medical services; LINKS and/or addresses to county health departments and to health statistics for Florida.
Lee County (Florida) Health Department
http://www.lee-county.com/healthdept/
Includes complete text of the Comprehensive Assessment for Tracking Community Health (CATCH) Report 2000 for Lee County, which shows the health status of the county population; health news updates and bulletins; Health Department services; and health care articles of interest to SW Florida.
National Council of State Boards of Nursing
http://www.ncsbn.org/
Search and LINKS to NCLEX Examination, Boards of Nursing, Nurse Practice Acts and Regulations.
National Alliance for Hispanic Health
http://www.hispanichealth.org/
A network of hispanic health and human services providers, whose website provides a wealth of resources and links, including the Hispanic Health Needs Assessment and documents such as the State of Hispanic Girls (http://www.hispanichealth.org/pdf/stateofgirls.pdf). |
|