Library Services

How Do I...? | Citation Styles | General FAQs

Reference Sources

This is a brief guide, created especially for FGCU students and faculty, to print reference books for nursing in Florida Gulf Coast University’s Library. These books will help you to locate facts and background information, verify quick information or lead you to other sources. Newer editions of these books will replace previous ones as they are published. Most of these books are non-circulating and located in the Reference Section of the library. 

BIBLIOGRAPHIES
Jonsen, A., R. Veatch, and L. Walters. (1998). Source book in bioethics. Washington, DC: Georgetown University Press. 
Ref R724 .S599 1998
Silva, M. (1995). Annotated bibliography for ethical guidelines in the conduct, dissemination, and implementation of nursing research. Washington, DC: American Nurses Publishing. 
Ref RT85 .S549 1995
DIRECTORIES
(1998). Health hotlines : toll-free numbers from the National Library of Medicine's DIRLINE database: lineas telefonicas de informacion sobre la salud numeros 800 de Dirline. Bethesda, MD: National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine. 
Ref RA423.5 .H43 1998
Maxwell, B. (1998). How to find health information on the Internet.. Washington, DC: Congressional Quarterly. 
Ref RA773.6 .M39 1998
Peterson's guide to nursing programs : baccalaureate and graduate nursing education in the US and Canada. (1997). (4th ed.). Princeton, NJ: Peterson's Guides. 
Ref RT81.U6 P47 1998
(1999-2003). (2nd- 4th ed.). Who's who in medicine and healthcare. New Providence, NJ: Marquis Who's Who. 
Ref R712.A1 W46
(1996). Who's who in American nursing. New Providence, NJ: Marquis Who's Who. 
Ref RT25.U5 W482
ENCYCLOPEDIAS and DICTIONARIES
Bailey, J. (1998). The concise dictionary of medical-legal terms: a general guide to interpretation and usage. New York, NY: Parthenon Pub. 
Ref RA1017 .B35 1998
Birren, J. (1996). Encyclopedia of gerontology : age, aging, and the aged. San Diego, CA: Academic Press. 
Ref RC952.5 .E58 1996
Fitzpatrick, J. (1998). Encyclopedia of nursing research. New York, NY: Springer Pub. Co.. 
Ref RT81.5 .E53 1998
Friedman, Howard S. (1998). (1-3). The encyclopedia of mental health.. San Diego, CA.: Academic Press. 
Ref RA 790.5 .E53 1998
Magalini, S. and C. Magalini. (1997). (4th ed). Dictionary of medical syndromes. Philadelphia, PA: Lippincott-Raven. 
Ref RC69 .M33 1997
McElroy, O. and L. Grabb. (1996). (2nd ed). Spanish-English, English-Spanish medical dictionar Diccionario medico, espanol-ingles, ingles-espanol. Boston, MA: Little, Brown. 
Ref R121 .M488 1996
Murray, M. and J. Pizzomo. (1998). (2nd ed.). Encyclopedia of natural medicine.. Rocklin, CA: Prima Pub. 
Ref RZ433 .M87 1998
Olendorf, D., C. Jeryan, and K. Boyden. (1999). The Gale encyclopedia of medicine. Detroit, MI: Gale Research. 
Ref RC41 .G35 1999
Schwager, E. (1991). Medical English usage and abusage. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press. 
Ref R119 .S38 1991
Scott, C. (1998). (2nd ed.). Stedman's pathology & lab medicine words. Baltimore, MD: Williams & Wilkins. 
Ref RB115 .S73 1998
Stedman, T. Stedman's medical dictionary. Baltimore, MD: Williams & Wilkins. 
Ref R121 .S8 1995
Wolman, B. (1996). The encyclopedia of psychiatry, psychology, and psychoanalysis. New York, NY: Henry Holt. 
Ref RC437 .E49 1996
HANDBOOKS and MANUALS
Berkow, R. (1997). Merck manual of medical information. Whitehouse Station, NJ: Merck Research Laboratories. 
Ref RC81 .M55 1997
Cassileth, B. (1998). (1st ed.). The alternative medicine handbook : the complete reference guide to alternative and complementary therapies.. New York, NY: W.W. Norton. 
Ref R733 .C375 1998
Chernecky, C. and B. Berger. (1997). (2nd ed.). Laboratory tests and diagnostic procedures.. Philadelphia, PA: Saunders. 
Ref RB38.2 .L33 1997
Jaffe, M. and B. McVan. (1997). Davis's laboratory and diagnostic test handbook. Philadelphia, PA: F.A. Davis. 
Ref RB38.2 .D38 1997
Kirschmann, G. (1996). (4th ed.). Nutrition almanac. New York, NY: McGraw-Hill. 
Ref RA784 .N837 1996
Pagana, K. and T. Pagana. (1997). (3rd ed.). Mosby's diagnostic and laboratory test reference. St. Louis, MO: Mosby. 
Ref RB37 .P24 1997
PDR Companion Guide (1998). PDR Companion Guide. Montvale, NJ: Medical Economics. 
Ref RS75 .P37
Saunders nursing drug handbook (1998). Saunders nursing drug handbook. Philadelphia, PA: Saunders. 
Ref RM125 .H62
Szunyog, C. (1995). Alternate site care: standards, policies, and procedures.. Gaithersburg, MD: Aspen Publishers. 
Ref RT120.L64 A48 1995
USP DI. Vol. III, Approved drug products and legal requirements. Rockville, MD: United States Pharmacopeial Convention. 
Ref RS141.2 .U893
Merck Manual of Diagnosis & Therapy. (1999). (17th ed.)Rachway, N.J.: Merck. 
REF RC55 .M4
INDEXES
Cumulative Index To Nursing & Allied Health Literature. Glendale, CA: Glendale Adventist Medical Center. 
Ref Z6675.N7 C8
International nursing index. International nursing index. New York, NY: American Journal of Nursing Co. 
Ref Z6675.N7 I5
STATISTICAL SOURCES
Murray, C. and A. Lopez (1996). Global health statistics : a compendium of incidence, prevalence, and mortality estimates for over 200 conditions. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press. 
Ref RA407 .M87 1996
Health Planning Council of Southwest Florida (1998 -). District 8 Health Plan. Fort Myers, FL: Health Planning Council of Southwest Florida. 
REF RA447.F6 D57
(1997). Southwest Florida, District 8 ... health data sourcebook. Miami: Health Planning Council of Southwest Florida. 
REF RA447 .F6 S68
Florida Hospital Association (2001). (14th ed.). FHA eye on the market : healthcare in the sunshine state. Florida Hospital Association. 
REF RA447 .F6 F43
Lopez, Alan D. ed. (2006). Global Burden of Disease and Risk Factors. Washington, DC: World Bank. 
REF RA441 .G5613 2006