Library Services

Back to Occupational Therapy Guide Main | How Do I...?| Citation Styles | General FAQs


Online Databases for Occupational Therapy

Major Databases | Assessment Databases | Related Databases
Multidisciplinary Databases

This is a selected list of most relevant databases for this discipline. Use these databases to identify and locate journal articles about the topics you are researching. There are about 300 Online Databases available. For a complete list click the Online Databases link in the top green bar.

If you are an FGCU student or Faculty/Staff member

You can use these resources from anywhere in the world via the Internet. Off-campus access requires your Eagle ID #.

Note: the Library is unable to provide here the direct links to some databases. If unable to connect to a database from off-campus, please go to the Library homepage http://library.fgcu.edu , select "Online Databases", and type in your FGCU 14 digit ID number when it is requested. After this authentication, FGCU students and faculty will then be forwarded to a page to enter the first few letters of the database's title.

 

Major Databases

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health, the premier database for nursing and other health professions. Provides citations & abstracts, back to 1986. Accessed through the EbscoHost system from the Library's eResources page.

Communication and Mass Media Complete
Provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 600 journals in communciations or mass media, with over 280 of those journals in full-text. Useful search terms include: health risk communication or health education or health promotion or “communication in medicine".

DynaMed
An evidence-based medicine tool for the clinician, this source searches the medical literature for the latest research evidence on diagnoses, treatments and therapies for diseases, disorders, and conditions. Approximately 500 journals are automatically searched along with the Cochrane Library and other EBM sources. DynaMed provides summary reports on each topic, including evaluation of the strength of the existing evidence and/or grades of any reocmmendations. Frequently, links to the research literature are given, although FGCU researchers may need to go back to E-Journals on the Library's homepage to gain access off campus to many of the cited sources. DynMed is updated daily.

ERIC
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC provides extensive access to educational-related literature published in journals, conference proceedings, reports, government documents, and dissertations. Many of the items indexed are in full-text as "ERIC documents" (signified by ED numbers) and are linked directly, or are in the vast ERIC microfiche collection owned by FGCU Library. Journal articles and monographs cited may be found through the Library's E-journals or the Library Catalog respectively.

Health and Wellness Resource Center
Comprehensive database of over 400 health-related magazines and journals in full-text. Includes encyclopedias, directories, medical dictionary, and newspapers. Covers consumer health information and alternative medicine. Tip: To search only peer-reviewed journals, use the "limit" feature on an "Advanced Search" screen.

ProQuest Nursing Journals
More than 250 leading full-text journals in nursing and allied health.

ProQuest Psychology Journals
Nearly 300 academic journals in psychology and related fields, all in full text. Indexing by keyword, author, and journal browse. For some publications, full-text coverage dates from 1992; full-image coverage, from 1987; and Text+Graphics, from 1995.

PsycInfo
This database provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, medicine, nursing, pharmacology and social work. Indexes over 1,800 professional journals, chapters, books, reports, theses and dissertations, published internationally. Additionally, there are more than 8 million cited references in 185,000 journal articles, books, and book chapters. Searching particular assessment measures by keyword or in the cited reference field may provide references related to the measure.

REHABDATA
National Rehabilitation Information Center The leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation, 1956 – present.

Social Work Abstracts
Covers more than 450 journals in social work including theory and practice, areas of service, social issues, and social problems. Includes the National Association of Social Workers' Register of Clinical Social Workers.

[back to top]

Databases for Assessment Measures

Health & Psychosocial Instruments
HAPI provides bibliographic information on measurement instruments (i.e. questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, etc. HAPI "assists researchers...to identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation." Provided are citations to journals articles, monographs and reference sources about each instrument, often including citations to the actual tests. No full-text of the instruments is available here. Accessed via OVID under the library's Online Databases.

Mental Measurements Yearbook

Produced by the Buros Institute, this database provides bibliographic information and reviews on English-language standardized tests covering psychology, educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, and related areas as included in the printed “Mental Measurements Yearbooks”. MMY provides coverage from Vol. 9 , 1985 to present.

PsycInfo
This database provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, medicine, nursing, pharmacology and social work. Indexes over 1,800 professional journals, chapters, books, reports, theses and dissertations, published internationally. Additionally, there are more than 8 million cited references in 185,000 journal articles, books, and book chapters. Searching particular assessment measures by keyword or in the cited reference field may provide references related to the measure.

[back to top]

Related Databases

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly with approximately 1500 records, ASSIA contains over 300,000 records from 650 journals in 16 different countries, including the UK and US. Coverage is provided from 1987 to the present." Found through CSA under the category "Social Sciences Databases."

Biology Digest
Provides citations & abstracts from non-technical digests in biology, ecology & health. Accessed through FirstSearch

CIRRIE Database (Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information and Exchange)
An international database that indexes articles and documents published outside the U.S. on rehabilitation topics.

PubMed
The National Library of Medicine's search service to access the 9 million citations in MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating on-line journals), and other related databases.

SocINDEX with Full Text
A large social sciences database covering not only journals in sociology, but also in psychology and health behaviors. Indexes, abstracts and provides full-text of many journals and includes some books and conference papers.

[back to top]

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost)
Index covering wide range of academic areas. The database provides selective full-text for over 1,000 journals. Accessed through the library’s Electronic Resources.

Expanded Academic ASAP
General, undergraduate database, providing citations, abstracts and full text articles. Accessed via WebLUIS, Databases

LexisNexis Academic
Extensive coverage of U.S. and world news,including health and science issues and events from international, U.S. regional and national newspapers, wire services, and broadcasts. Has business, legal, and medical collections of periodicals. Searchable full text federal, state & international legal materials: Federal code, U.S. Constitution & court rules, Federal regulations, agency opinions & US Attorney General Opinions, federal and state case law and legal articles. Coverage: the last twenty years.

ProQuest General Reference
Search the full collection of journals, magazines and newspapers for information on a broad range of general reference subjects.

[back to top]