|
Blackwell/Wiley Interscience
Online fulltext access to selected journals published by Blackwell Science and Munksgaard Presses. Searchable categories include Medicine and Health Science, which covers their sports medicine journals. A better research strategy would be to search the larger PubMed database, than to limit searches to only Blackwell journals.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) with full-text
CINAHL with full-text is the premier database for physical therapy, nursing and other allied health professions, providing indexing for 2,737 journals. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982. CINAHL with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,150 journals and provides full text for 329 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1982 are also included. Tip: To search only peer-reviewed journals, use the Special Feature, peer-reviewed, on an "Advanced Search" screen.
CINAHL tutorial - A FGCU-specific, self-paced tutorial created by the Health Professions Librarian. (Requires 2 minutes or so to load.)
CIRRIE Database (Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information and Exchange)
An international database that indexes articles and documents published outside the U.S. on rehabilitation topics.
DynaMed
An evidence-based medicine tool for the clinician, this source searches the medical literature for the latest research evidence on diagnoses, treatments and therapies for diseases, disorders, and conditions. Approximately 500 journals are automatically searched along with the Cochrane Library and other EBM sources. DynaMed provides summary reports on each topic, including evaluation of the strength of the existing evidence and/or grades of any reocmmendations. Frequently, links to the research literature are given, although FGCU researchers may need to go back to E-Journals on the Library's homepage to gain access off campus to many of the cited sources. DynMed is updated daily.
Evidence Based Nursing guide created by the Health Professions Librarian, will be useful for allied heatlh professions also.
Health and Wellness Resource Center
Comprehensive database of over 400 health-related magazines and journals in full-text. Includes encyclopedias, directories, medical dictionary, and newspapers. Covers consumer health information and alternative medicine.Tip: To search only peer-reviewed journals, use the "limit" feature on an "Advanced Search" screen.
Physical Education Index
From 1970, records are indexed and classified from peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, articles from the popular press, and many other publications on physical education. Beginning in 2001, abstracts were added. The database features a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, sport sociology/psychology, health education and physical therapy. (Choose this database from Subject Area=Natural Sciences within the CSA system.)
ProQuest Nursing Journals (click "continue" from the PQ menu page)
Provides more than 250 leading full-text journals in allied health and nursing, a subset of the total journals indexed by CINAHL. Search by keywords, specific citation, or journal ("publication") title, through the Search Methods box at the top. Results can be limited to scholarly journals, including peer-reviewed journals, by checking that limit feature below the search box.
ProQuest Medical Library
Provides full-text articles for more than 200 key medical titles. Offers coverage of all the major healthcare specialties, including nursing, pediatrics, neurology, pharmacology, cardiology, physical therapy, and others. Search by topic, specific citation, or journal ("publication") title through the Search Methods box at the top. Results can be limited to scholarly journals, including peer-reviewed journals, by checking that limit feature below the search box.
PubMed
The complete medical database, including MEDLINE, free over the Internet from the National Library of Medicine. Provides citations & abstracts from the world's medical and health related journals, dating back to 1966. Tutorials to learn PubMed searching can be found at these sites:
Pub Med tutorials, freely accessible on the Web:
REHABDATA
National Rehabilitation Information Center's database on disability and rehabilitation, 1956 – present. (Login may be requested but is not necessary. Click "Advanced Search" and continue.) Many documents indexed here are from journals that FGCU may own. Search the source journal in the FGCU Library catalog and List of full-text eJournals.
SpringerLink
Online fulltext access to selected science journals published by Kluwer, with over 1900 in medicine. A better research strategy would be to search the larger PubMed database, than to limit searches to only Kluwer journals.
|
| Databases for Assessment Measures |
|
Health & Psychosocial Instruments
HAPI provides bibliographic information on measurement instruments (i.e. questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, etc. HAPI "assists researchers...to identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation." Provided are citations to journals articles, monographs and reference sources about each instrument, often including citations to the actual tests. No full-text of the instruments is available here. Accessed via OVID under the library's Online Databases.
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Produced by the Buros Institute, this database provides bibliographic information and reviews on
English-language standardized tests covering psychology, educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, and related areas as included in the printed “Mental Measurements Yearbooks”. MMY provides coverage from Vol. 9 , 1985 to present.
PsycInfo
This database provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, medicine, nursing, pharmacology and social work. Indexes over 1,800 professional journals, chapters, books, reports, theses and dissertations, published internationally. Additionally, there are more than 8 million cited references in 185,000 journal articles, books, and book chapters. Searching particular assessment measures by keyword or in the cited reference field may provide references related to the measure.
Basic BIOSIS
Provides citations and abstracts from core life science journals dating back to 1994. Accessed through the FirstSearch system. |
|
Biology Digest
Provides citations & abstracts from non-technical digests in biology, ecology & health. Accessed through FirstSearch. |
|
|
ERIC (via CSA)
A large database providing citations to journal articles, unpublished materials, books, government documents, conference proceedings, and theses/dissertations in the broad field of education. Includes literature related to allied health occupations, children with disabilities, exercise physiology, therapeutics, assessment and evaluation, etc. The database is divided into journal citations (EJ) and document citations (ED). FGCU owns the complete ED collection in microfiche. |
|
ProQuest Psychology Journals
Nearly 300 academic journals in psychology and related fields, all in full text. Indexing by keyword, author, and journal browse. For some publications, full-text coverage dates from 1992; full-image coverage, from 1987; and Text+Graphics, from 1995. |
|
PsycARTICLES is a full-text database of 55 psychology journals from the American Psychological Association, the APA’s Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. It contains all the material (with the exception of ads and editorial board lists) from these journals. Coverage for some titles begins as early as 1985.
There are about 300 Online Databases available to FGCU clientele. For a complete list click the link in the top bar.
Some of the Databases will have images and Full-text. |
If so, you can display an entire journal article. Other Databases will have only citations and abstracts. Remember to search the FGCU catalog and/or the E-Journals page to see if a cited article is available in full-text in any of FGCU’s resources. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|