Library Services

How Do I...?| Citation Styles | General FAQs

Web Resources for Physical Therapy

The following web sites have been carefully selected for reliability and timeliness. If you are using information from the web, it check the authority of your resources. A Quick Guide to Evaluating Internet Information is available.

Advice for Web searching

Evaluating Health Information
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/evaluatinghealthinformation.html
A comprehensive resource with links to latest news, the National Institutes of Health, new research findings on specific conditions, organizations devoted to health information, and resources for understanding medical research.

Evaluating Internet Health Information: A Tutorial from the National Library of Medicine.
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/webeval/webeval.html
Useful for high school students, college undergraduates and health educators, this tutorial runs for approximately 15 minutes or can be self-paced.

Guide to Healthy Web Searching. MedlinePlus.
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/healthywebsurfing.html
Advice for patients and health professionals on evaluating the quality of health information on websites.

Is This Health Information Good for Me?
http://nnlm.gov/pnr/hip/criteria.html
A quick guide to evaluating health news or reported research findings. (Includes Spanish language version)

Allied Health Education
CAAHEP: Commisssion on Accreditation of Allied Health Education
http://www.caahep.org
Provides information on accreditation, accredited programs, careers in allied health, certification, and standards and guidelines.
AmericanWith Disabilities Act
ADA home page
http://www.usdoj.gov/crt/ada/adahom1.htm
LINKS & Search Technical Assistance Materials, ADA Information Line, Enforcement, Status Report Settlement Information, Technical Assistance Program, New or Proposed Regulations, Certification ADA Mediation…
Americans with Disabilities Act
http://www.usdoj.gov/crt/ada//statute.html
Full text to the JULY 26, 1990 104 STAT. 327, Americans with Disabilities Act.
WebABLE
http://www.webable.com/
The authorative Web site for disability-related internet resources, including an “Accessibility Database.” Searches can be done in this database on topics such as assistive technology.
The WebABLE! Library
http://www.yuri.org/webable/library.html
The site provides a collection of books, press releases, white papers, articles, plans, standards, reference guidelines,and journals that focus on accessibility, assistive and adaptive technology for people with disabilities.
Anatomy

Atlas of the Human Body - AMA Health Insight
http://www.ama-assn.org/ama/pub/category/7140.html
Text and images of organ systems along with some of the abnormalities encountered in a disease process.

Hosford Muscle Tables: Skeletal Muscles
http://www.ptcentral.com/muscles/
LINKS to information on skeletal muscles, origin, insertion, action, blood supply & nerve.
Muscles in action
http://www.med.umich.edu/lrc/Hypermuscle/Hyper.html
Description of muscle actions with some marked links that are illustrated with movie clips.
Neurosciences
http://www.neuroguide.com/
SEARCH & LINKS to table of contents, databases, tutorials, journals…

Cultural Competence

CULTURAL COMPETENCE IN HEALTH CARE: EMERGING FRAMEWORKS AND PRACTICAL APPROACHES
http://www.cmwf.org/usr_doc/betancourt_culturalcompetence_576.pdf
A 40 page report sponsored by the Commonwealth Fund in 2002; an excellent overview of the issues.

Goals of Healthy People 2010.
http://www.healthypeople.gov/About/goals.htm
Healthy People 2010, the U.S. national agenda for health and prevention, "is designed to achieve two overarching goals: Increase quality and years of healthy life and eliminate health disparities.”

Cross-cultural, transcultural, cultural competence – resources & links
http://medicine.ucsf.edu/resources/guidelines/culture.html
A metasite by the U.C.-San Francisco School of Medicine.

National Center for Cultural Competence.
http://www11.georgetown.edu/research/gucchd/nccc/
Promoting Cultural Diversity and Cultural Competency has an online “Self-Assessment Checklist for Personnel Providing Services and Supports to Children with Special Health Needs and their Families, and provides useful Web links on cultural competence, as well as the searchable “Cultural and Linguistic Competence Resource Database” of resource materials.

Office of Minority Health. (U.S.)
http://www.omhrc.gov/
Includes text of statistical reports and the "Closing the Gap" Newsletters from 1995 to the present, a link to a Webcast of the Healthy People 2010 Session on Eliminating Minority Health Disparities, and many other useful links.

Resources for Cross Cultural Health Care
http://www.diversityrx.org/HTML/WERCCH.htm
"A national network of individuals and organizations in ethnic communities and health care organized to offer technical assistance and information on linguistic and cultural competence in health care." Website has the searchable DiversityRx database of abstracts of model programs on cultural competence; text of a report, "Multicultural Health Best Practices Overview"; and useful links.

Dictionaries and Manuals
Medical Dictionary
http://www.MedicineNet.com/Art.asp?li=MNI&ag=Y&ArticleKey=518

Medical terms in simple language.

Merck Manual. Home Edition.
http://www.merck.com/mmhe/index.html
““Explains disorders, who is likely to get them, their symptoms, how they're diagnosed, how they might be prevented, and how they can be treated; also provides information about prognosis.” Based on the standard medical text, the Merck Manual. Free online version.

Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy.
http://www.merck.com/pubs/mmanual/
Searchable version
Merck Manual of Health & Aging.
http://www.merck.com/pubs/mmanual_ha/contents.html
Provides "information on aging and the care of older people in words understandable by the lay public." The source is arranged by broad topic, i.e. Fundamentals of Aging: Caring for Self and Others; Medical Conditions; Social, Legal, and Ethical Issues. Inlcudes a useful Index. Appendices provide generic and trade names for common durgs, and a comprehensive list of resources for information and help on specific issues.
Merck Manual of Geriatrics
http://www.merck.com/mrkshared/mmg/home.jsp
Free access to this standard handbook for health and clinical issues related to the elderly. The source is searchable via free-text searching; usually the Index is the better starting point for a search.
Organizations
American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons
http://www.aaos.org/
LINKS to public and professional information, courses, research, membership..
American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
http://www.aapmr.org/
The site serves as an information source for physicians (physiatrists) who specialize in physical medicine and rehabilitation. It provides LINKS & Search capabilities to educational, membership and public education sources.
American College of Sports Medicine
http://www.acsm.org/
LINKS to ACSM information, membership, continuing education, publications…
American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine
http://www.sportsmed.org/
LINKS to publications, meetings, education, membership...
American Physical Therapy Association
http://www.apta.org/
LINKS to APTA information, membership, continuing education, publications...
American Sports Medicine Institute ASMI
http://www.asmi.org/
LINKS to education, communication, publications, research…
Arthritis Foundation
http://www.arthritis.org/
SEARCH & LINKS to an extensive list of arthritis information, publications, support groups, research resources and links to related organizations...

Board of Physical Therapy - Florida
http://www.doh.state.fl.us/mqa/physical/
LINKS to licensure requirements, Board and Staff information, post licensure requirements…

Canadian Centre for Activity and Aging
http://www.uwo.ca/actage/
Affiliated with the University of Western Ontario, this is Canada's research and accrediting organization for physical activity promotion and programs for the aged. Includes extensive bibliographies of research articles, and links to organizations devoted to active living for older adults.

International Society for Aging and Physical Activity
http://www.isapa.org/guidelines/index.cfm
An international non-profit society for research and practice concerning aging and physical activity. Site includes text of the International Curriculum Guidelines for Preparing Physical Activity Instructors of Older Adults.

Muscular Dystrophy Association
http://www.mdausa.org/
SEARCH & LINKS to Muscular Dystrophy-related information.

National Resource Center for Traumatic Brain Injury
http://www.neuro.pmr.vcu.edu/
SEARCH index & LINKS to information, FAQ, directory of experts.
Rehabilitation

Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation Healthweb (Galter Health Science Library)
http://www.healthweb.org/browse.cfm?categoryid=1385
A guide to resources, publications, educational tools and organizations.

Rehabilitation Medicine
http://www.hslib.washington.edu/clinical/rehab.html
SEARCH & LINKS to associations, patient education, journals, National Rehabilitation Information Center & other sites.
Rehabilitation Training Materials
http://www.nchrtm.okstate.edu/index_3.html
SEARCH & LINKS to disability research links, disability links A-Z, assistive technology, independent living resources, associations……
VA Rehabilitation Research and Development Services
http://www.vard.org/

Full text articles from recent two years of the Journal of Rehabilitation Research and Development. Includes abstracts of recent literature in eight related journals including Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation.
Spinal Cord Injuries
American Spinal Injury Association.
http://www.asia-spinalinjury.org/

National Spinal Cord Injury Association
http://www.spinalcord.org/
Has an extensive "A - Z Resource Center," fact sheets, and state level resources.