Library Services

Back to Physical Therapy Guide Main | How Do I...?| Citation Styles | General FAQs


Reference Materials for Physical Therapy

This is a brief guide, created especially for FGCU students and faculty, to print reference books for Physical Therapy in Florida Gulf Coast University’s Library . These books will help you to locate facts and background information, verify quick information or lead you to other sources. Newer editions of these books will replace previous ones as they are published. Most of these books are non-circulating and located in the Reference Section of the library.

ANATOMY

Agur, A. and M. Lee. (1999). (10th ed). Grant's atlas of anatomy. Philadelphia, PA: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.
Ref QM25 .A38 1999

Cahill, D., M. Orland and G. Miller. (1995). (3rd ed). Atlas of human cross-sectional anatomy: with CT and MR Images. New York: Wiley-Liss.
Ref QM25 .C24 1995

(1995). (38th ed.). Gray's anatomy : the anatomical basis of medicine and surgery. New York: Churchill Livingstone.
Ref QM23.2 .G73 1995

Netter, F. H. (1983). The Ciba collection of medical illustrations. West Caldwell, NJ: Ciba.
Ref QM25 .N47 1983

Thiel, W. (1997). Photographic atlas of practical anatomy. New York:
Ref QM25 .T4613 1997

Zitelli, H. and F. Oski. (1992). (2nd ed.). Atlas of pediatric physical diagnosis. Philadelphia: Lippincott.
Ref RJ50 .A86 1992

BIBLIOGRAPHIES & INDEXES

Committee on Allied Health Education and Accreditation. Allied health education directory. Chicago, IL:
Ref R847 .D57

Bellenir, K. (1997). Back and neck disorders sourcebook: basic information about disorders and injuries of the spinal cord and vertebrae, including facts on chiropractic treatment, surgical interventions, paralysis, and rehabilitation, along with advice for preventing back trouble. Detroit, MI: Omingraphics.
Ref RD768 .B28 1997

Bellenir, K. (1997). Head trauma sourcebook: basic information for the layperson about open-head and closed-head injuries, treatment advances, recovery, and rehabilitation, along with reports on current research initiatives. Detroit, MI: Omingraphics.
Ref RD521 .H46 1997

Ferguson, J. (1997). (3rd ed.). Grants for special education and rehabilitation: how to find and win funds for research, training, and services. Alexandria, VA: Capitol Publications.
Ref LC241 .F47 1997

Glendale Adventist Medical Center. Cumulative index to nursing & allied health literature.
Ref Z6675.N7 C8 (see also the online version under Journal Articles & Databases.)

 

DICTIONARIES & ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Accardo, P. J. (1996). Dictionary of developmental disabilities terminology. Baltimore, MD: Paul H. Brooks Pub..
Ref RJ135 .A26 1996

Anderson, K. (1998). (5th ed.). Mosby's medical, nursing, & allied health dictionary. St. Louis, MO: Mosby..
Ref Ref R121 .M89 1998

Birren, J. E. (1996). Encyclopedia of gerontology: age, aging, and the aged. San Diego, CA: Academic Press.
Ref RC952.5 .E58 1996

Dell Orto, A. and R. Marinelli. (1995). Encyclopedia of disability and rehabilitation. London: Simon Schuster and Prentice Hall International.
Ref HV1568 .E53 1995

Melloni, B. J. (1998). Illustrated dictionary of the musculoskeletal system. New York, NY: Parthenon Pub.
Ref QM100 .M44 1998

Olendorf, D., C. Jeryan, and K. Boyden. (1999). The Gale encyclopedia of medicine. Detroit, MI: Gale Research.
Ref RC41 .G35 1999

Stedman, T. Stedman's medical dictionary. Baltimore, MD: Williams & Wilkins.
Ref R121 .S8 1995

Vergason, G. A. and M. L. Anderegg (1997). (4th ed.). Dictionary of special education and rehabilitation. Denver, CO: Love Pub.
Ref LC3957 .V47 1997

Walton, J. (1994). The Oxford medical companion. New York: Oxford University Press.
Ref RC41 .O84 1994

HANDBOOKS & MANUALS

Abrams, W. B., M. H. Beers, and R. Berkow. (1995). The Merck manual of geriatrics. Rahway, NJ: Merck Research Labs.
Ref RC952.55 .M47 1995

Berkow, R. (1997). Merck manual of medical information. Whitehouse Station, NJ: Merck Research Laboratories.
Ref RC81 .M55 1997

Bellenir, K. (1997). Back and neck disorders sourcebook: basic information about disorders and injuries of the spinal cord and vertebrae, including facts on chiropractic treatment, surgical interventions, paralysis, and rehabilitation, along with advice for preventing back trouble. Detroit, MI: Omingraphics.
Ref RD768 .B28 1997

(1992). The Merck manual of diagnosis and therapy. Rahway, NJ: Merck.
Ref RC55 .M4 1992 16th ed.