Library Services

World History Research Guide

Online Databases | Reference Materials | Web Resources

Online Databases
World History Databases

Historical Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes literature covering countries other than the United States and Canada in the subject areas of history,the social sciences and humanities. The scope of coverage is World History (1450 - present) and related areas including culture, diplomacy, economics, international relations and politics. 1964 to date.

Anthropology Plus
Anthropology Plus provides indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.

ATLA Religion Database
T ATLA includes over 400,000 article citations from over 1,400 journals, 600 of which are currently indexed. It also provides bibliographic coverage of over 200,000 essay citations from 15,500 multi-author works, and over 375,000 book reviews.

Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Contains over 125,000 titles from 1473 to 1700.

Ethnic Newswatch Complete
Full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. 1990 to date.

Handbook of Latin American Studies (Library of Congress)
Contains records describing books, book chapters, articles, and conference papers published in the field of Latin American studies and edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Coverage includes relevant books as well as over 1,350 social science and 550 humanities journals.

Humanities Full Text
Full text plus abstracts and indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more. High quality indexing of periodicals as far back as 1984.

JSTOR History collection
Provides searching and full-text content of about 20 key history journals, some dating back to the late 1800s.

PAIS International
Materials on public affairs from 1972 to date. Includes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs. Contains bibliographic citations, many of which include abstracts. Includes references to conference proceedings, economic issues, government documents, political issues, public affairs, social issues, statistical directories, etc.

Philosopher's Index

Provides indexing and abstracts from books and more than 550 journals in philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields, from 1940 to the present. Areas covered include ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic, as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.

Social Sciences Full Text
Beginning in 1983, an index of approximately 350 journals in the applied and theoretical social sciences, mainly anthropology, economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations. Includes full-text of most articles.

SocINDEX with Full Text
Covers journals in sociology but also in social history, political science, and racial and ethnic relations, some back to 1895.

Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete  (EbscoHost)
Full text for more than 4,650 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis.

Arts and Humanities Search
The online equivalent of ISI's Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Provides complete access to articles from more than 1,300 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals and to relevant articles in over 5,000 social science and science journals.

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online  
Enhanced version the Encyclopedia, in full-text and fully searchable. Includes to thousands of websites.

InfoTrac OneFile
Includes full-text articles from over 4,900 journals. Indexes total of over 8,500 titles; 2,500+ are refereed. Covers virtually all academic disciplines. From 1980 forward; updated daily.

LexisNexis Academic
"Full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. (ASCII text only.)" Includes "national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources, U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information. Includes Shepard’s® Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789."

OmniFile (Wilson)
This multi-disciplinary database provides the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases, and full-text articles from five additional periodical databases available on WilsonWeb. Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Full text from over 1,700 journals; indexing/abstracts from over 3,000.

Proquest Research Library
Indexing, abstracts, and mostly full-text of selected academic journals, popular magazines and newspapers. Search for coverage of a broad range of subjects including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, and the social sciences. 1971 to date.

[back to top]

Reference Materials

Encyclopedias

Boyd, Kelly, Ed. Encyclopedia of Historians and Historical Writing. London, Chicago: Fitzroy, Dearborn.
REF D14 .E58 1999

Woolf, D.R. , Ed. (1998). A Global Encyclopedia of Historical Writing. New York: Garland Pub.
REF D 13 .G47

Guides to the Literature

American Historical Association (1995). (3rd. ed.). AHA's Guide to Historical Literature. New York: Oxford University Press.
REF D20 . A44 1995

Fritze, Ronald H. (2004). Reference Sources in History : An Introductory Guide. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO.
REF D20 .F75 2004

Norton, Mary Beth (Ed.) (1995). (3rd ed.). The American Historical Association's guide to historical literature. New York: Oxford University Press.
REF D20 .A44 1995

Indexes

International index : a guide to periodical literature in the social sciences and humanities. 1907-1965. New York: H.W. Wilson.
REF AI3. I5

New York Times Index. 1851-2002. (also available online, 1999 to present - see Online Databases). New York: New York Times Co.
REF AI 21 .N44

Nineteenth Century Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature 1890-1899. 2 vols.. New York: H.W. Wilson.
REF AI 3 . R496

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature.1802-1906. New York: P. Smith.
REF AI 3. P751

Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature. 1900 to date. New York: H.W. Wilson.
REF AI 3 .R4

Social Sciences and Humanities Index. 1965-1974.. New York: H. W. Wilson.
REF AI3 .S6

Social Sciences Index. 1974-1988. New York: H. W. Wilson.
REF AI3 .S62

[back to top]

Web Resources

Historiography

Katz, Phillip M. (2005). Retrieving the Master’s Degree from the Dustbin of History; A Report to the Members of the American Historical Association. American Historical Association.

Rael, Patrick. (2004). Reading, Writing, and Researching for History: A Guide for College Students. Bowdoin College.

[back to top]