|
Biographical Sources for History
Research Guide
Online Databases | Reference Materials | Subject Headings | Web Resources
|
| Biography Databases |
African-American Biographical Database
1790-1950. Includes "biographies of thousands of African Americans, many not to be found in any other reference source. Contains extended narratives of African American activists, business people, former slaves, performing artists, educators, lawyers, physicians, writers, church leaders, homemakers, religious workers, government workers, athletes, farmers, scientists, factory workers, and more--both the famous and the everyday person."
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
"A comprehensive index to more than 12.7 million biographical sketches in over 3400 volumes and editions of current and retrospective reference books, covering both contemporary and historical figures throughout the world." FGCU library may own many of the books cited.
Biography Resource Center w/Marquis Whos Who
Provides "biographical information on more than 1 million people from throughout history and around the world."
Biography Index
"Cites biographical articles appearing in more than 3,000 periodicals.... What's more, some 2,000 current books of individual and collective biography are cited each year, as well as biographical material in otherwise non-biographical books. Besides biographies and autobiographies, you'll find citations to interviews, obituaries, collections of letters, diaries, memoirs, juvenile literature, book reviews, bibliographies and exhibition reviews. People covered range from antiquity to the present and represent all fields and nationalities. ... Retrospective coverage as far back as 1984.
Book Review Digest
Many of the reviews indexed by this source, appearing in publishing trade or library review journals such as Choice, Library Journal, Publisher's Weekly, often include the authors' credentials.
Books In Print + Reviews (via Bowker)
Some of the abstracted reviews may describe the book authors' credentials.
Oxford African American Studies Center
Online reference sources and primary documents
"on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture." |
| History Databases |
America: History and Life
Indexes articles in history journals on all aspects of U.S. or Canadian history. Search a personal name as a Subject. Coverage: 1964 to date.
American Periodical Series Online 1740-1900
Indexes periodicals published during 1740-1900. Choose "Search for articles" and search personal names as keywords.
Historical Abstracts (WHA)
Indexes and abstracts articles in history journals on world history, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Search personal names as SUBJECTS. Coverage: 1964 to date.
History Resource Center: US
"An integrated collection of primary documents, secondary reference sources, and journal articles covering all areas of U.S. history from pre-colonial times to the present day. It combines more than 1,000 primary documents with the broad background and overview coverage found in more than a dozen reference sources from the Gale Group, including standards such as Scribner's Dictionary of American History and Dictionary of American Biography. Complete full-text coverage of approximately 65 periodicals, as well as access to the citations for history journals from ISI's Arts & Humanities Citation Index." Click on the icon for a Person Search.
|
| Multidisciplinary Databases |
Academic Search Complete (EbscoHost)
Provides full-text for over 4,650 publications covering all major disciplines, including general interest magazines, some published as early as 1975. |
[back to top]
|
| American History and Historians |
Wilson, Clyde N. (1984). American Historians 1607-1865. Detroit, MI: Gale Research company.
REF PN 451 D54 v.30
Wilson, Clyde N. (1986). American Historians 1866-1912. Detroit, MI: Gale Research company.
REF PN 451 .D54 .47
(1999). American National Biography. 24 vols. New York: Oxford University Press.
REF CT 213 .A68
Directory of American Scholars (History volume.) 1999, 2002. Lancaster, PA: Science Press.
REF LA 2311 .C32
National Faculty Directory. Detroit, MI: Gale Research Co..
REF L 901 .N34
Research Guide to American Historical Biography. 3 vols. (1988). Washington, DC: Beacham Publishers.
REF CT 214 .R47 1988
Who's Who in America. 1974-2005 (also online in Biography Resource Center database). Chicago: A.N. Marquis.
REF E 176 .W642
|
| Other Historians |
Wilson, Clyde N. (1984). American Historians 1607-1865. Detroit, MI: Gale Research company.
REF PN 451 D54 v.30
Wilson, Clyde N. (1986). American Historians 1866-1912. Detroit, MI: Gale Research company.
REF PN 451 .D54 .47
(1999). American National Biography. 24 vols. New York: Oxford University Press.
REF CT 213 .A68
Directory of American Scholars (History volume.) 1999, 2002. Lancaster, PA: Science Press.
REF LA 2311 .C32
National Faculty Directory. Detroit, MI: Gale Research Co..
REF L 901 .N34
Research Guide to American Historical Biography. 3 vols. (1988). Washington, DC: Beacham Publishers.
REF CT 214 .R47 1988
Who's Who in America. 1974-2005 (also online in Biography Resource Center database). Chicago: A.N. Marquis.
REF E 176 .W642 |
Subject Headings
“Biography” is a Library of Congress Subdivision used with many types of subject headings. An Advanced Search in the Online Catalog provides the ability to combine Subject Keyword=Biography with other topics. In the examples below “ks” refers to subject keyword, which can be selected in the drop-down menus under “Select field to search”. The various types of headings below are only a few examples of the way Biography can be combined with other keywords.
| Categories of persons |
ks=african americans AND ks=biography
ks=historians AND ks=biography
ks=politicians AND ks=biography
ks=hispanic americans AND ks=biography |
| Historical Time Periods |
| Ks=united states AND ks=civil war AND ks=biography |
| Occupations |
ks=historians AND ks=biography
ks=politicians AND ks=biography |
| Topical areas |
ks=civil rights AND ks=biography
ks=china AND ks=biography |

For books about one individual, the person’s name can simply be searched as the Subject of a work, with no need for the word biography to be searched too. For example, for books about the life of Martin Luther King, Jr. a Basic Search on Subject, All =King, martin Luther, jr. will retrieve books about this civil rights leader.

[back to top]
Web Resources
Nobel Prize Winners
http://nobelprize.org
Provides biographies of the Nobel Prize winners, searchable by name or by Nobel category: Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or medicine, Literature, Peace, and Economic sciences.
[back to top]
|