This is a selected list of most relevant databases for Florida Legal Resources. Use these databases to identify and locate information about the topics you are researching.
State Capital Universe allows checking on the status of a bill or searching for bill text, provides summaries or the full text of state regulations, provides information about state legislators, their staffs and state offices and links to other Web sites with state-related information.
Lexis-Nexis Congressional gives researchers access to information published by and about Congress. It provides the tools for: searching the Congressional Record, tracking proposed legislation by keyword and sponsor, searching the Federal Register, searching congressional committee schedules, finding members of Congress, and searching the National Journal.
LexisNexis Academic provides access to full text federal, state & international legal materials, academic and legal databases, government transcripts, company profiles and financial reports, trade journals, medical and health information, and newspaper and journal articles. Contains Florida Courts of Appeal Cases from 1956, Florida Supreme Court Cases from 1846; Florida Advance Legislative Service; Florida Constitution and Florida State & Federal Court Rules; and LexisNexis Florida Annotated Statutes.
Westlaw Campus provides access to full text federal, state and international legal materials and includes American Jurisprudence, American Law Reports, over 800 law reviews and journals, U.S. Code Annotated, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register and more. Also includes West's Florida Statutes Annotated, Florida Court cases from 1857 and numerous Florida law reviews and journals.
CQ Public Affairs Collection provides in-depth reports on vital issues, statistical and historical analyses, historic documents and primary source materials, as well as a directory of key government, non-profit, and private organizations in each of the major policy areas.
CQ Researcher Plus Archives contains in-depth reports on current events and topics of current interest including legal, political, social issues, health, education, science and technology . Each report provides historical background on the topic, outside commentary, pro/con arguments, chronological information, and a substantial bibliography.
Index to Legal Periodicals provides thorough, reliable indexing of over 570 journals, yearbooks, law reviews, and bar association publications. Covers all areas of jurisprudence, including court decisions, legislation, and original scholarship.
LegalTrac indexes approximately 800 of the most highly regarded legal publications: major law reviews, legal newspapers, law specialty publications, bar association journals, and international legal journals. LegalTrac also contains law-related articles from over 1,000 additional business and general interest titles.
Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost) is the world’s largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals in the collection.
This is a brief overview of reference books of Florida legal resources. It will help you to locate facts and background information, verify quick information or lead you to other sources. Newer editions of these books will replace previous ones as they are published. Most of these books are non-circulating and located in the Reference Section of the library.
Digest of General Laws enacted by the regular session of the Florida legislature. Tallahassee, FL: The Legislature. (NOTE: Contains summaries of all general laws enacted since the last edition of the Statutes or Statutes Supplement.).
Reference KFF38 .L4
Florida Administrative Code Annotated. Atlanta, GA: Darby.
Available online via Westlaw, also in print: Reference KFF35. 1986 .A23
Florida Administrative Weekly. Tallahassee, FL: Secretary of State, Division of Elections.
Reference KFF36 .F55
Florida's government-in-the-sunshine and public records law manual. Tallahassee, FL: First Amendment Foundation.
Reference KFF427.8 .P8 A84 Abridged PDF Version
Florida jur 2nd. Rochester, NY: Lawyers Co-operative Pub.
Reference KFF80 .F56
Florida jur 2nd. Desk book. Rochester, NY: Lawyers Co-operative Pub.
Reference KFF80 .F56
Florida Probate Rules, 2004 edition: includes probate and guardianship rules, Florida Probate Code, Florida Guardianship Law, and related rules and statutes. Tallahassee, FL: Florida Bar, Continuing Legal Education; Albany, NY; Distributed by LEXIS Pub., 2004.
Reference KFF144 .A33 2004
Florida rules of court, state and federal. Lexis Law Publishing. Current year only. Also online in LexisNexis Academic and Westlaw Campus.
Reference KFF529 .A22
Florida school laws. Tallahassee, FL: State Dept. of Education.
Reference KFF390 .A29 F56
Official Florida Statutes. Tallahassee, FL: State of Florida. Also available via Westlaw.
Reference KFF29 .F56
Tax FALR: Florida dept. of revenue tax reporter: TAA/court cases/APA cases. Gainesville, FL: Florida Administrative Law Reports.
Reference KFF470 .A5544
West's Florida statutes annotated. St. Paul, MN: West Pub.Co. Also online via Westlaw.
Reference KFF30 .A4
West's florida session law service. St. Paul, MN: West Pub.Co..
Reference KFF30 .A42
The following Indexes and Abstracts are specific to Florida law and legal issues. Many Florida legal resources are also available online via LexisNexis Academic and Westlaw Campus.
Florida Code Research Guide. Rochester, NY: Lawyers Co-operative Pub. Co.
Reference KFF40 .F56
Official Florida Statutes. Index. Tallahassee, FL: State of Florida.
Reference KFF29 .F56 2000 Index
West's Florida statutes annotated. General Index.. St. Paul, MN: West Pub.Co.
Reference KFF38 .W42x
The following resources written for the layperson, relate to Florida law and legal issues. They are located in FGCU's Reference Collection and can not be checked out.
Coleman, Phyllis (2006). Florida Family Law: statutes, treaties, and materials. Durham, NC: Carolina Academic Press.
Reference KFF94 .A3 2006
Florida Evidence (2007). St. Paul, MN: West Pub.Co.
Reference KFF540 .F559
The florida and federal employment law manual. Tallahassee, FL: The American Chamber of Commerce Publishers.
Reference KFF334 .F59
Florida Bar Continuing Education Committee and the Elder Law Section (2004). Fundamentals of elder law. Tallahassee, FL: Florida Bar.
Reference KFF81 .F86 2004
Keane, Gerald B. (2003). (4th ed.) Florida divorce handbook: a comprehensive source of legal information and practical advice. Sarasota, Fla.: Pineapple Press.
General
KFF100.Z9 K43 2003
Nickel, Gudrun M. (2003). How to Probate and Settle an Estate in Florida: with forms. Naperville, IL: Sphinx Pub.
Reference KFF144 .Z9 N53
Schwenke, Roger D., Laurel E. Lockett and E. David Howard (Eds.) (1992). Florida Environmental Law Handbook. Rockville, MD: Government Institutes.
Reference KFF354 .F563 1992
Solkoff, Jerome Ira (2007-2008). Florida Elder Law. Rochester, NY: Lawyers Cooperative Pub.
Reference KFF91 .A3 S66
Warda, Mark (2001). (5th ed.). How to form your own Florida corporation. (Electronic Resource) Berkeley: Nolo Press.
Warda, Mark (2003 ). (7th ed.)) How to start a business in Florida.
(Electronic Resource) Naperville, IL: Sphinx Pub.
Warda, Mark (2005). (10th ed.). Landlords' Rights and Duties in Florida: with forms. Naperville, IL: Sourcebooks.
Reference KFF117 .W373 1998
Warda, Mark (2002). (7th ed.). How to win in small claims court in Florida: with forms. (Electronic Resource) Naperville, IL: Sourcebooks. Also availab in Reference KFF521 .Z9 W37 1998
Warda, Mark (2004). (5th ed.). Land trusts in Florida: with forms. Naperville, IL: Sourcebooks.
Reference KFF139 .L3 W37 2004
Warda, Mark (2001). (6th ed.). How to make a Florida will: with forms. Clearwater, FL: Sphinx Pub.
The recommended method of identifying articles on a topic is to search in one of the databases to identify articles. If the articles are not available within the database, search for the journal title via the FGCU Library's Catalog and/or the 'By JOURNAL TITLE' on the E-Journals page.
The following journals cover Florida law and legal issues. Some are in print in the library (part of FGCU's Periodical Collection). Journals with blue links are available electronically.
Barry Law Review. Atlanta, GA: Darby Print. Co.
Environment 21. Gainesville, FL: Florida Environments Pub.
Periodicals TD171.3 F6 F4
Florida Bar Journal. Tallahassee, FL: Florida Bar.
Florida Employment Law Letter. Jacksonville, FL: Florida Law Letter Publishers.
Florida International Law Journal. Gainesville, FL: Florida International Law Journal.
Florida Journal of International Law. Gainesville, FL: University of Florida College of Law.
Florida Law Review. Gainesville, FL: University of Florida, College of Law. Also available in Print
Periodicals K25 .n6 Current issues in Journal Browsing Area.
Florida State University Law Review. Tallahassee, FL: Florida State University, College of Law.
Florida tax reporter. Transfer binder: new matters. Chicago, IL: Commerce Clearing House, Inc.
Reference KFF470 .A6 C661
Florida Tax Review. Arlington, VA: Tax Analysts.
Florida Worker's Compensation Law Bulletin. Horsham, PA: LRP Publication.
Journal of Land Use & Environmental Law. Tallahassee, FL: Florida State University.
Journal of Transnational Law & Policy. Tallahassee, FL: Florida State University.
Nova Law Review. Fort Lauderdale, FL: Nova University, Center for the Study of Law.
St. Thomas Law Forum. Miami, FL: Saint Thomas University, School of Law.
St. Thomas Law Review. Miami, FL: Saint Thomas University, School of Law.
Stetson Law Review. St. Petersburg, FL: Stetson University, College of Law.
Tax FALR: Florida Department of Revenue tax reporter: TAA/court cases/APA cases. Gainesville, FL: Florida Administrative Law Reports. Reference KFF470 .A5544
University of Florida Law Review. Gainesville, FL: University of Florida, College of Law. Also available in print
Periodicals K25 .N6
The following web sites have been carefully selected for providing reliable information. If you are using information from the web, it is your responsibility to make sure that it is from authoritative resources. Please see A Quick Guide to Evaluating Internet Information.
P
The following is a selected list of state/county-based or national chapters of organizations/associations dealing with the law profession in Florida.
Academy of Florida Trial Lawyers
http://www.aftl.org/
American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers - Florida Chapter
http://www.aamlflorida.org
American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU of Florida)
http://www.aclufl.org/
Central Florida Association of Law Libraries
http://www.tblc.org/cfall/
Collier County Bar Association
http://www.tblc.org/cfall/
Florida Association for Women Lawyers
http://www.fawl.org/
Florida Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
http://www.facdl.org/
Florida Bar
http://www.flabar.org/
Florida Chapter National Bar Association
http://www.fcnba.org/
Florida Law Related Education Association
http://www.flrea.org/
Florida Legal Services, Inc
http://www.floridalegal.org
Florida Public Defender Association
http://www.flpda.org/
ABA Administrative Procedure Database
http://www.law.fsu.edu/library/admin/
This FSU and ABA site is designed to facilitate the exchange of information about federal and state administrative law among legislators, lawyers, hearing officers, judges, and citizens. This site contains links to federal and state Administrative Procedure Acts (APA), reform proposals, and organizational and other resources.
Florida Administrative Weekly
http://faw.dos.state.fl.us/index.html
Provides direct access to proposed rules and regulations, as well as notices of public meetings and bid announcements.
Florida Constitution Revision Commission Steering Committee
http://www.law.fsu.edu/crc/
Provides access to information concerning the periodic review of Florida's Constitution and proposed changes for voter consideration.
Florida Criminal Traffic Trial Manual
http://www.techjudge.com/Manual.htm
Guidelines for arraignment, plea colloquy, Faretta hearings, ground rules for trial... in court session for criminal violation of the traffic laws of the State of Florida.
Florida Decisions Database
http://www.floridasupremecourt.org/decisions/index.shtml
Provides access to Supreme Court of Florida opinions, Florida District Court of Appeal opinions, and Florida Rules of Court. It also provides Family Law Forms, Ethics Opinions and Judicial Ethics Advisory Committee Opinions, and links to Florida Constitution, Statutes, Codes.
Florida General Laws
http://election.dos.state.fl.us/laws/laws_proced.shtml#GL
Contains local laws are indexed and available for downloading from 2001.
Florida Law Help
http://www.floridalawhelp.org/FL/index.cfm
Provides links by topic area: disability, consumer education, family & juvenile, health, public benefits and more.
Florida Law Online
http://www.floridalawonline.net/
Site maintained by James Wyman as a public service and offers links to Florida courts, laws, legal directories and legal directories.
Florida Lawyer
http://www.fla-law.com/
Provides a wide variety of valuable links relating to Florida legal issues and laws.
Florida State Courts
http://www.flcourts.org/
Provides access to full text of Florida Supreme Court opinions from October 1, 1999 to present.
Gavel to Gavel
http://wfsu.org/gavel2gavel/
Florida Supreme Court briefs, and audio and video recordings of oral arguments.
Government Information Locator
http://www.access.gpo.gov/su_docs/gils/
A virtual card catalog of government information available on the Internet.
Lee County Courts
http://www.depo.com/Florida_Courts/Lee.htm
My Florida
http://www.myflorida.com/
Gateway to Florida government information.
On-Line Sunshine
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Welcome/index.cfm
Allows search for current statutes by table of contents or keyword.
Opinions of the Florida Supreme Court
http://www.law.ufl.edu/opinions/supreme/index.shtml
Opinions of the Florida Supreme Court since September 1995 provided by the University of Florida Levin College of Law.
Legislative Library Service
http://dlis.dos.state.fl.us/leglib/
The library provides priority information and research services to the members and staff of the Florida Legislature and assists the general public with legislative research.
Profile of Lee County
http://www.eflorida.com/profiles/CountyReport.asp?CountyID=60&Display=all
National Center for State Courts
http://www.ncsconline.org/D_KIS/info_court_web_sites.html#State
Provides links to County and State Courts.
State Attorney General's Office
http://myfloridalegal.com/
Links to consumer investigations and information, lemon law, legal opinions, crime victim services.
State Municipal Codes
http://www.municode.com/Resources/OnlineLibrary.asp
Offers municipal codes for all fifty states.
Sun Ethics
http://sunethics.com/
Links to legal ethics, judicial ethics and bar association issues.
Twentieth Judicial Circuit of Florida - Charlotte, Collier and Lee Counties
http://www.ca.cjis20.org/
Links to witness management, family court services, juvenile arbitration and mediation.
For comments, questions or suggestions about this web site,
send an e-mail to Geraldine Collins (Social Sciences Librarian). |
Last Updated April 10, 2008 --CM