Library Services

 

Math Research Guide

 Your Subject Librarian is: Danielle Rosenthal

Library West Room 219

 

Databases | Print Resources | Websites

Databases
Search for Mathematical literature using the Oxford, Cambridge and JSTOR collections


Enter keywords or "exact phrase".

AccessScience  
Select "Mathematics" from the pull-down menu.

Science Direct
Search most of Elsevier's mathematical journals - full text coverage.

Springerlink (formerly Kluwer Journals Online )
Access to the full-text of many mathematical journals.

 
Print Resources - in library use only
Encyclopedia of mathematics / James Tanton
REF QA5.T34
Dictionary of analysis, calculus, and differential equations.. Boca Raton, Fla.: CRC Press.. 
REF QA 5. D53
Dictionary of classical and theoretical mathematics.. Boca Raton, Fla.: CRC Press.. 
REF QA 5. D4984
Facts-on-file dictionary of mathematics.. New York: Facts on File. 
REF QA5 .F35
Notable twentieth-century scientists. Detroit, Mich: Gale Research.. 
REF Q141.N73
Women in science: antiquity through the nineteenth century: a biographical dictionary with annotated bibliography.. Cambridge, Mass: MIT Press. 
REF Q141.O34
Conquering math anxiety : a self-help workbook. Pacific Grove, CA: Brooks/Cole-Thomson Learning. 
GEN QA11.2 .A74
Real-life math : everyday use of mathematical concepts. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press. 
REF QA93 .G45
 
Suggested Websites

About Math

History Index of Mathematics, School of Mathematics and Statistics, University of St. Andrews, Scotland
http://www-groups.dcs.st-and.ac.uk/~history/Indexes/Hist_Topics_alph.html
Provides extensive links on the history of every aspect of mathematics. The Biography section is also extensive.

Mathematical Atlas, Dave Rusin, Mathematics Department, Northern Illinois University
http://www.math.niu.edu/~rusin/known-math/welcome.html
Information and links related to many fields of modern mathematics.

Women in Math, Marie Vitulli , Department of Mathematics, University of Oregon
http://darkwing.uoregon.edu/~wmnmath/
Bibliographies, biographies, activities and organizations all designed to provide women with information about careers in Mathematics.

Eric Weisstein's World of Mathematics
http://www.mathworld.wolfram.com
Web version of Eric Weisstein's CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics

Euchlid's Elements Online
http://aleph0.clarku.edu/~djoyce/java/elements/toc.html
A complete web edition of the most famous Math book of all times, with comments by D.E. Joyce.

Historical/History of Math

Cornell University Library Historical Math Monographs
http://historical.library.cornell.edu/math

The Multi-repository mathematics collections
http://www.hti.umich.edu/m/mathall

Homework Help

SOS Math
http://www.sosmath.com/
A free resource for math review material from Algebra to Differential Equations. The perfect study site for high school, college students and adult learners. Get help to do your homework, refresh your memory, prepare for a test. Check out our CyberExams to prepare for a test, or ask a question on our popular CyberBoard. Browse our more than 2,500 Math pages filled with short and easy-to-understand explanations.

Math2.org
http://www.math2.org/
Dave Manura. This web site, formerly known as Dave’s Math Tables, is a bilingual math site, English and Spanish, and even comes equipped with its own online Spanish-English Dictionary. Along with the Tables Math2.org offers a chat room and an online homework helper

The Math Forum at Drexel
http://mathforum.org/
The Math Forum's mission is to provide resources, materials, activities, person-to-person interactions, and educational products and services that enrich and support teaching and learning in an increasingly technological world.

Job Hunting

Employment Opportunities in the Mathematical Sciences
http://www.maa.org/pubs/employ.html
Job listings for mathematicians organized by state. Mathematical Association of America, Arlington, Va.

Organizations

Mathematical Association of America
http://www.maa.org/
Arlington, Va. The Mathematical Association of Americas membership seeks to promote math at the college level but is also open to anyone interested in Mathematics. Includes links for JOMA, MAA’s online journal, along with an electronic digital library.

American Mathematical Society
http://www.ams.org/

Directorate for Mathematical and Physical Sciences
http://www.nsf.gov/mps/
National Science Foundation, Washington, D. C. Comprises several areas ranging from Astronomy to Mathematical Sciences. The Division of Mathematical Sciences' (a division of the Directorate) goal is to aid individual and group mathematical projects and to award scholarships and fellowships that help to promote Mathematical Science in the United States.

NRICH Online Math Club
http://nrich.maths.org.uk/
Cambridge University. Online math club with an online journal and chat room.

Undergraduate Math Journal
http://www.rose-hulman.edu/mathjournal/
Rose Hulman Institute of Technology, Terre Haute, Ind. This is an electronic mathematics journal by and for undergraduates. Interested students can start to learn about scholarly communication in the field of mathematics.

Recreation

Interactive Mathematic Miscellany and Puzzles
http://www.cut-the-knot.com/front.html
Alexander Bogomolny, Cut the Knot.com Many interactive puzzles and games links are available covering many subjects of mathematics.