Library Services

Research Guide for Music

This is a research guide to highlight library materials appropriate for Music. Books, journal titles, videos and DVDs can be found through the Library catalog

Table of Contents

Check out the
Naxos Music Library
Online!

Listen to an extensive collection of classical music on demand through this online resource.

Subject Librarian

If you need assistance or have suggestions about this guide, please contact:

Rachel Cooke,
Librarian
Fine and Performing Arts, Languages and Literature, Communication, and Humanities
Phone: 239-590-7606
Email: rcooke@fgcu.edu

Online Databases

Major Full-text Databases

Academic Onefile
Includes over 8,000 academic journals (over 5,300 peer-reviewed), the majority in full-text.

Academic Search Complete (EbscoHost)
Includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

Biography Resource Center
Biographical information on more than 1 million people from throughout history and around the world.

Omnifile
Full text from over 1,700 journals; indexing/abstracts from over 3,000.

Proquest Research Library
Includes more than 3,820 titles—over 2,550 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

Specialized Databases

ArticleFirst
Contains bibliographic citations of more than 13,000 journals.

FRANCIS
Contains records from more than 3,000 journals, books, dissertations, and other American and European sources covering the humanities, social sciences, and economics.

Humanities Full Text
Long regarded as the ideal single reference for periodical information in the diverse subject area of the humanities, Humanities Abstracts is a wonderful complement to the monographic resources.

Music Literature Abstracts (RILM)
Offers an international bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines in 202 languages.

Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes over 130,000+ tracks. While listening, you can read notes on works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists.

Psychological Study of the Arts (PSA)
Psychological Study of the Arts explores literary questions using psychology, often psychoanalytic psychology. The concepts explored have natural extensions to media other than words on paper, to film, video, the visual arts, and so on.

Russian Acad. of Sciences Bibliographies
RAS cites and abstracts books, manuscripts, dissertations, plus articles from more than 10,000 periodicals.

[back to top]

Reference Materials

Use reference works to gain background information, build technical vocabulary, double check facts, and see overall views of the topics you are researching.

Some of the key reference works the Library holds

A-Z of opera / REF ML102.O6 H35
Career opportunities in theater and the performing arts / REF PN1580.F5
Dictionary of early music: from the troubadours to Monteverdi / REF ML100.R695
Encyclopedia of the blues / REF ML102.B6H413
Garland encyclopedia of world music / REF ML100.G16
Guide to jazz / REF ML102.J3P33
International dictionary of black composers / REF ML390.I58
Handbook of American music and musicians, containing biographies of American musicians and histories of the principal musical institutions, firms, and societies / REF ML106.U3 J7
Latin American classical composers: a biographical dictionary / REF ML105.F53
New Grove dictionary of musical instruments / REF ML102.I5N48
New Grove dictionary of music and musicians / REF ML100.N48
New Rolling Stone encyclopedia of rock and roll / REF ML102.R6R64
NPR classical music companion: terms and concepts from A to Z / REF ML108.H64
Petersons professional degree programs in the visual and performing arts / REF NX303.P52
Songwriters: a biographical dictionary with discographies / REF ML102.P66H47

[back to top]

Journals

American Music Teacher : the Official Journal of Music Teachers National Association.
Online  
Peer Reviewed

Cambridge Opera Journal
Online  
Peer Reviewed

Choral Journal
Periodicals ML1.C656 
Peer Reviewed

Choir & Organ
Online

Computer Music Journal
Online  
Peer Reviewed

Current Musicology
Online

Early Music
Online  
Peer Reviewed

Early Music History : Studies in Medieval and Early Modern Music
Online

Ethnomusicology
Online  
Peer Reviewed

Fontes Artis Musicae
Online  
Peer Reviewed

International Journal of Music Education
Periodicals ML5I5785 
Peer Reviewed

Journal of the American Musicological Society
Online  
Peer Reviewed

Journal of Music Therapy
Online  
Peer Reviewed

Journal of Musicology : a Quarterly Review of Music History, Criticism, Analysis and Performance Practice
Online  
Peer Reviewed

Journal of Research in Music Education
Periodicals ML1 .J63 and Online  
Peer Reviewed

Journal of Singing : the Officail Journal of the National Association of Teachers of Singing. Online  
Peer Reviewed

Leonardo Music Journal
Online  
Peer Reviewed

Music and Letters
Online  
Peer Reviewed

Music Educators Journal
Periodicals  ML1 .M87 and Online  
Peer Reviewed

Music Perception
Online

Musical America
Online

The Musical quarterly
Online  
Peer Reviewed

19th Century Music
Online  
Peer Reviewed

Opera News
Periodicals -- ML1 .O482 and Online

Opera Quarterly
Online  
Peer Reviewed

Perspectives of New Music
Online  
Peer Reviewed

Philosophy of Music Education Review
Online  
Peer Reviewed

Piano & Keyboard
Online

Psychomusicology : a Journal of Research in Music Cognition
Online  
Peer Reviewed

Rolling Stone
PER AP2 .R73 and Online

The Strad : a Monthly Journal for Professionals and Amateurs of All Stringed Instruments Played With the Bow
Online

Strings : the Magazine for Players and Makers of Bowed Instruments
Online

Teaching Music
Periodicals -- ML1 .T38 and Online

Tempo
Online

Women and Music
Online

 

[back to top]

 

Web Resources

Community & Government Resources

Advocacy

Americans for the Arts
http://www.artsusa.org/
Central clearinghouse for arts advocacy. Research, Art Education, news, a national arts policy database, publications, events, and more. Americans for the Arts, Washington, D.C. and New York, N.Y.

Center for Arts and Culture
http://www.culturalpolicy.org/
An independent think tank focused on the arts and public policy. Research, contact information for experts in the field, data and statistics, and more. Center for Arts and Culture, Washington, D.C.

National Initiative for a Networked Cultural Heritage
http://www-ninch.cni.org/
News, events, links, digital resources, policies, projects, publications and more from this non-profit organization focused on fostering an artistic and cultural presence on the World Wide Web. National Initiative for a Networked Cultural Heritage, Washington, D.C.

Government Agencies

Florida Division of Cultural Affairs
http://www.florida-arts.org/index.asp
Gateway to funding information, public art directories, and other resources offered in support of the arts by the State of Florida. Florida Department of State, Tallahassee, Fla.

National Assembly of State Arts Agencies
http://www.nasaa-arts.org/
News, event calendars, contact information and more from state and local arts agencies nationwide. National Assembly of State Arts Agencies, Washington, D.C.

National Endowment for the Arts
http://arts.endow.gov/
Gateway to art and art-education-related news, information, research, and resources gathered by the N.E.A. U.S. National Endowment for the Arts, Washington, D.C.

Grants & Funding

The Foundation Center Online
http://fdncenter.org/
News, research, and more, including an online form to ask grant-related questions, from arguably the most important resource in grant writing available. The Foundation Center, N.Y.

Foundations Online
http://www.foundations.org/
Directory and links to a wide range of grant-giving agencies. Northern California Community Foundation, Inc., Menlo Park, Calif.

Grants.gov
http://www.grants.gov/
Find and apply for thousands of federal grants.

Professional Organizations & Resources

American Federation of Musicians
http://www.afm.org/
News, information and support for the professional musician, including advice for job-seekers, conference information, and more. Links to local chapters, including those in Jacksonville, South Florida, Central Florida, Pensacola, and Tampa Bay. American Federation of Musicians of the United States and Canada, AFL-CIO, New York, N.Y.

American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP)
http://www.ascap.com/
Advocacy and support for songwriters and composers. Licensing issues, news, and legislative updates related to the rights of music composers and publishers. ASCAP, New York, N.Y..

Virtual Communities & Ejournals

Arts Journal.Com
http://www.artsjournal.com/
Daily digest of news stories related to the arts. Stories are hyperlinked to the original source. ArtsJournal.com, Inc.

artjobonline
http://www.artjob.org/
variety of online job listings in the arts. Western States Arts Federation, Denver, Colo

Southern Arts Federation
http://www.southarts.org/saf.htm
Programs and services, job listings and more, in support of the arts in the South. Southern Arts Federation, Atlanta, Ga.

Community Arts Network
http://www.communityarts.net/index.php
News, links, a virtual “Reading Room”, and support for community arts organizations. Department of Theatre Arts at Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, Va.; Art in the Public Interest, Saxapahaw, N.C.

Gateways to art-related web directories

Artslynx
http://www.artslynx.org
Comprehensive gateway to worldwide arts information in virtually every medium and venue--including Theater, Dance, Music, the Visual Arts, and more. Also includes links to job information, advocacy for the arts, arts administration resources, funding, resources for teachers, and more. Colorado Council on the Arts and the College of Arts and Media, University of Colorado, Denver.

Virtual Library Museums Pages
http://vlmp.museophile.sbu.ac.uk/
Comprehensive gateway to virtual museums of every kind—art, film, computer, historical, and others—grouped by country. Searchable. The WWW Virtual Library

American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
http://memory.loc.gov/
Online access to digital exhibits prepared from the vast holdings of the Library of Congress. Film clips from the silent era, Edison sound recordings, early animation, historical movie posters, scripts, music, daguerreotypes, vaudeville memorabilia, and more. Click on “Collection Finder” to browse the exhibits, or search the collection using key words. Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.

Digital Librarian: Audio, Video, Multimedia
http://www.digital-librarian.com/audio.html
List of links to audio, video, and multimedia related resources. Digital Librarian: A Librarian’s Choice of the Best of the Web, Cortland, N.Y.

Digital Librarian: Lyrics, Sheet Music, Librettos & Scores
http://www.digital-librarian.com/sheet.html
List of links to music-related resources. Digital Librarian: A Librarian’s Choice of the Best of the Web, Cortland, N.Y.

DW3 Classical Music Resources
http://www.lib.duke.edu/music/resources/classical_index.html
Biographical information, chronologies, nationally- and regionally-oriented pages, organizations, genre-specific pages, and more related to the study of classical music. Duke University Music Library, Durham, North Carolina

Librarians Index to the Internet
http://lii.org/
Searchable gateway to arts-related internet resources. Search the subtopics for Arts and Humanities. California State Librarian, Library of California, Sacramento, Calif.

Web Radio

NetRadio.com
http://www.netradio.com/
Over 100 programmed channels of music in virtually every genre. Listen through the Windows Media Player or through RealPlayer, both free downloads. NetRadio Corporation, Minneapolis, Minn.

Pandora
http://www.pandora.com
Pandora is streaming internet music that aims to introduce you to new music that you will like based on music you already like. Enter the name of one of your favorite songs or artists into Pandora and the system will quickly scan its entire world of analyzed music, almost a century of popular recordings - new and old, well known and completely obscure - to find songs with interesting musical similarities to your choice.

RealPlayer Radio
http://www.real.com
Download the free player and listen to radio from all over the world. These are traditional, local broadcast stations that are streaming over the internet in addition to broadcasting within their areas. Tune in to jazz and blues from New Orleans, world pop hits from Helsinki or Hong Kong, or classical and folk music from Latvia. Thousands of stations. RealNetworks, Inc., Seattle, Wash.

Spinner.com
http://www.spinner.com
Download the free player and tune in to over 150 channels of live, internet radio. Channels cover virtually every genre of music, Classical, African, Japanese New Wave, and more. Spinner Networks, Inc., San Francisco, Calif. AOL Time Warner, Inc., New York, N.Y.

Winamp Radio
http://www.shoutcast.com/waradio.phtml
Download the free player and listen to hundreds of programmed channels in a variety of genres from all over the world. Nullsoft, Inc., AOL Time Warner, Inc., New York, N.Y.

[back to top]