Library Services


Research Guide for Philosophy

Table of Contents

Encyclopedia of Philosophy cover

Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Available online

Subject Librarian

If you need assistance or have suggestions about this guide, please contact:

Rachel Cooke,
Librarian
Fine and Performing Arts, Languages and Literature, Communication, and Humanities
Phone: 239-590-7606
Email: rcooke@fgcu.edu

Online Databases

Major Full Text Databases (For Basic Research)

Academic Onefile
Includes over 8,000 academic journals (over 5,300 peer-reviewed), the majority in full-text.

Academic Search Complete (EbscoHost)
Includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

Biography Resource Center
Biographical information on more than 1 million people from throughout history and around the world.

Communication & Mass Media Complete
A research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth in the communication and mass media fields.

Humanities Full Text
Humanities Full Text brings you full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities.

JSTOR
Full text of 100+ core research journals.

Omnifile
Full text from over 1,700 journals; indexing/abstracts from over 3,000.

Proquest Research Library
Includes more than 3,820 titles—over 2,550 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

Specialized Databases (For Advanced Research)

ATLA Religion Database
The ATLA Religion Database is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion. ATLA includes over 400,000 article citations from over 1,400 journals, 600 of which are currently indexed.

Biography Res Ctr w/Marquis Whos Who
A comprehensive database of biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world.

netLibrary
NetLibrary offers reference, scholarly, and professional electronic books (e-books). Many classic literary works are available full text.

Philosopher's Index
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and more than 550 journals in philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields, from 1940 to the present.

ProQuest Religion
Search a comprehensive collection of journals covering religious issues and perspectives, including religious news and information, commentary on topics of general interest from the perspective of a particular religion, and formal theological studies.

WorldCat
The world's most comprehensive bibliography. Lists over 62 million books and other materials in libraries worldwide.

[back to top]

Reference Materials

All General Reference

Academic Literacy and the Nature of Expertise : Reading, Writing and Knowing in Academic Philosophy / GEN PE1404.G38 1994
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy. Cambridge / REF B41.C35 1999
A History of Philosophy / REF B72.C62 1950
History of Western Philosophy / eBook- Click here to view
The Humanities : A Selective Guide to Information Sources / REF AZ221.B53 2000
The New Dictionary of the History of Ideas / eBook- Click here to view
The Oxford Companion to Philosophy / REF B51.O94 1995
The Philosopher's Toolkit : A Compendium of Philosophical Concepts and Methods / GEN BC177.B19 2003
Philosophy : The Essential Study Guide / eBook- Click here to view
Thinking and Writing About Philosophy / GEN B52.7 B43 2002
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy / REF B51.R68 1998

Philosophers, Biographies and Directories

African-American Philosophers : 17 Conversations / GEN B944-A37.A37
Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth -Century Philosophers / eBook- Click here to view
Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Philosophers / REF B104.B56 1996
The Blackwell Guide to the Modern Philosophers : From Descartes To Nietzsche / GEN B791.B53 2001
Directory of American Philosophers / GEN B935.C5
International Directory of Philosophy And Philosophers / GEN B791.B53 2001

Specialized by Topic, Region, or Period

Approaches to Metaphysics / eBook- Click here to view
The Blackwell Dictionary of Modern Social Thought / REF H41.B53 2003
The Cambridge Companion to Early Greek Philosophy / GEN B188.C35 1999
A Companion to World Philosophies / REF B121.C664
Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy / REF P107.K49 2005
A Companion to Feminist Philiosophy / GEN HQ1190.C665 1998
Dictionary of Existentialism / REF B819.D4555
A Dictionary of Human Rights / REF K3239.R67 2004
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics / REF BH56.E53 1998
Encyclopedia of Bioethics
/ REF QH332.E52 2004
From Frege to Goedel : A Source Book in Mathematical Logic, 1879-1931 / GEN QA9.V3 2002
An Introduction to Rights / GEN J571.E42 2004
Key Thinkers in Linguistics and the Philosophy of Language / GEN P107.K49 2005
Medieval Philosophers / REF PN451.D54
Rediscovering Women Philosophers : Philosophical Genre and the Boundaries of Philosophy / GEN B105.W6 G37 2000
The Roman Philosophers : From the Time of Cato th eCensor To The Death of Marcus Aurelius / eBook- Click here to view
World Philosophy : Essay Reviews of 225 Major Works / REF B29.W68 1982

[back to top]

Journals

Analysis
Peer Reviewed

British journal for the history of philosophy
Peer Reviewed

The British journal for the philosophy of science
Peer Reviewed

British journal of aesthetics
Peer Reviewed

Ethical theory and moral practice
Peer Reviewed

Ethics & behavior
Peer Reviewed

Ethics
Peer Reviewed

History and philosophy of logic
Peer Reviewed

Inquiry
Peer Reviewed

International journal of philosophical studies
Peer Reviewed

Journal of the history of ideas
Peer Reviewed

Journal of philosophical logic
Peer Reviewed

Journal of philosophy of education
Peer Reviewed

The Journal of speculative philosophy
Peer Reviewed

Journal of symbolic logic
Peer Reviewed

Journal of the history of philosophy
Peer Reviewed

Law and philosophy
Peer Reviewed

Linguistics and philosophy
Peer Reviewed

Metaphilosophy
Peer Reviewed

Mind
Peer Reviewed

The Monist
Peer Reviewed

Philosophical books
Peer Reviewed

The philosophical forum
Peer Reviewed

Philosophical investigations
Peer Reviewed

Philosophical quarterly
Peer Reviewed

The philosophical review
Peer Reviewed

Philosophical studies
Peer Reviewed

Philosophy : the journal of the British Institute of Philosophical Studies
Peer Reviewed

Philosophy and literature
Peer Reviewed

Philosophy and phenomenological research Peer Reviewed

Philosophy & rhetoric
Peer Reviewed

Philosophy East and West
Peer Reviewed

Philosophy of science
Peer Reviewed

Philosophy today
Peer Reviewed

Phronesis
Peer Reviewed

Ratio
Peer Reviewed

Social epistemology
Peer Reviewed

Studia logica
Peer Reviewed

Theory and decision
Peer Reviewed

Utilitas
Peer Reviewed

[back to top]

Web Resources

The following web sites have been carefully selected for providing reliable information. If you are using information from the web, it is your responsibility to make sure that it is from authoritative resources. A Quick Guide to Evaluating Internet Information is available at http://library.fgcu.edu/Subjects/general/evaluate.htm

Associations & Professional Tools

American Philosophical Association
http://www.apaonline.org/apa
Find out how much the average philosophy professor earns. View syllabi and other teaching resources. Select “Web Resources” to view additional philosophy guides and other resources. Some links may require membership. Developed by the American Philosophical Association.

The Philosophical Gourmet Report
http://www.philosophicalgourmet.com/default.asp
A ranking of graduate programs in philosophy in the English-speaking world”. Rankings include a “breakdown of programs by specialty” and “top research universities”. Includes tips on applying to graduate schools. Edited by Brian Leiter, The University of Texas at Austin.

Open-access Philosophy Papers/Articles/Texts

Electronic Journal of Analytic Philosophy
http://ejap.louisiana.edu/
This is an open-access, peer-reviewed journal available via the web! The articles are scholarly and are suitable for use in college research papers. Editor-in-chief is Istvan Berkeley, at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette.

The International Directory of On-Line Philosophy Papers
http://philosophy.hku.hk/paper
Find papers and articles written by Philosophy professors. Many are full-text, and peer-reviewed (double check with Ulrich’s to verify). Type in your topic and select an author from the list. Clicking on the URL next to the author’s name will direct you to the author’s personal web page. Look for a link to the author’s papers.” Developed by Joe Lau, Department of Philosophy, University of Hong Kong.

The Paideia Project On-Line
http://www.bu.edu/wcp/PaidArch.html
“Here you have access to the nearly 1000 papers presented at the Twentieth World Congress of Philosophy (Boston, 1998)”. Search by subject, or type a keyword into the search box. Executive Editor is Alan M. Olson, Department of Religious Studies, Boston University.

The Perseus Project
http://www.perseus.tufts.edu
The full-text writings of Greek and Roman Philosophers! Available in English translation or the original Greek or Latin. Developed by the Department of the Classics, Tufts University. Editor in chief is Professor Gregory Crane.

Philosopher’s Imprint
http://www.umich.edu/~philos/Imprint/
“Philosophers' Imprint is a refereed (peer-reviewed) series of original papers in philosophy, edited by philosophy faculty at the University of Michigan, with the advice of an international Board of Editors, and published on the World Wide Web by the University of Michigan Digital Library.”

Research Guides/Bibliographies/Reference

Contemporary Philosophy of Mind: An Annotated Bibliography
http://consc.net/biblio.html
Identify the perfect book/article for your topic. Organized under six main headings: Consciousness and Qualia, Mental Content, Metaphysics of the Mind, Philosophy of Artificial Intelligence, Philosophy of Phychology, and Consciousness in the Sciences. Materials may or may not be owned by FGCU library. Developed by David Chalmers, Philosophy, Australian National University

Epistemelinks: Philosophy Resources on the Internet
http://www.epistemelinks.com
“Includes over 19,000 categorized links to philosophy resources on the Internet”! Excellent for networking with other philosophers—includes links to blogs, discussion lists, and “over 1,100 URLs for homepages of professors and graduate students of philosophy”. Created by Thomas Stone, this is a non-profit website, directed by a board of college professors.

Guide to Philosophy on the Internet
http://www.earlham.edu/~peters/philinks.htm
Although it hasn’t been updated since 2003, this is still a very popular site for philosophy resources. Links to guides, philosophers, associations, journals, bibliographies, newsgroups, jobs, dictionaries, and more. Developed by Peter Suber, Philosophy Department, Earlham College.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
http://plato.stanford.edu/
This is a free online encyclopedia that is appropriate for college research. “Each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public.” The encylopedia is a publication of the Metaphysics Research Lab, Stanford University (ISSN 1095-5054).

[back to top]