Online databases listed here are the most specific for this discipline. More than 300 databases are available to FGCU affiliates from the Online Databases page. To determine if a particular journal issue is available online, see the E-Journals page.
PsycINFO, produced by the American Psychology Association, covers scholarly literature in the broad discipline of psychology from journals published in 50 countries and 28 languages. It includes original research and journal article citations, literature reviews, reports of surveys, case studies, bibliographies, and descriptions of tests and apparatus. Coverage is from 1887 to date. CSA PsycInfo Training Guide
ProQuest Psychology Journals indexes more than 575 journals in psychology and related fields, over 485 are in full text. Coverage begins in 1971 for some titles.
PsycArticles contains 55 psychology journalsin fulltext from the American Psychological Association, the APA’s Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. Coverage for some titles begins as early as 1985.
Academic Search Complete is the world’s largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications and indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals in the collection.
Academic OneFile (Gale) contains peer-reviewed, many full-text articles in the areas of physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, and literature from over 8000 academic journals.
Animal Behavior Abstracts is a resource for scientists in behavioral and related studies. Indexes materials relevant to animal behavior, with subjects ranging from neurophysiology to behavioral ecology and from genetics to applied ethology. Sub file of Biological Sciences.
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts covers issues related to health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Indexes and abstracts journals from 16 different countries, including UK and US from 1987 to present.
Business Full Text indexes trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapers in business and industry. Use this database for psychological topics in marketing, consumer behavior, personality, organizational psychology and more.
Communication & Mass Media Complete incorporates CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource in the communication and mass media fields. Indexes and abstracts over 600 journals and includes over 300 titles in full text.
Contemporary Womens Issues contains articles from interdisciplinary scholarly journals, and other publications on global women's issues related to sociology, psychology, health, education, and human rights.
Criminal Justice Abstracts Indexes scholarly journals and other publications in criminology and related disciplines.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an educational resource that also indexes published and unpublished sources on many psychological topics, including learning, motivation, educational psychology, personality, etc. Many ERIC documents are available online from 1993 to the present.
GenderWatch is a full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Health & Psychosocial Instruments indexes tests, measures, survey instruments, rating scales, and questionnaires on human health and behavior. Gives citations for the original research about the instrument, and research that incorporated the measure.
Health and Wellness Resource Center is a comprehensive database of over 400 health-related magazines and journals in full-text. Includes encyclopedias, directories, medical dictionary, and newspapers.
Mental Measurements Yearbook is produced by the Buros Institute and contains reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, business, leadership and related areas as included in the printed “Mental Measurements Yearbooks”. MMY provides coverage is from Vol. 9 to present.
netLibrary offers over 22,000 reference scholarly, and professional electronic books Contains several Psychology reference books such as Handbook of Psychology.
Neurosciences Abstracts indexes 200+ international scholarly journals and other publications in vertebrate and invertebrate neuroscience.
OmniFile (WilsonWeb) – Provides indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Business Full Text.
ProQuest Medical Library provides full-text articles for more than 200 key medical titles..
PubMed is the premier medical database of the National Library of Medicine. It contains some citations from MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE from 1966 to date.
Sage Journals Online includes over 460 journals in Business, Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology & Urban Studies & Planning. Contains 56 peer reviewed Psychology journal titles.
ScienceDirect offers electronic full text versions of approximately 650 of Elsevier's traditional research journals in the scientific, technical, and medical disciplines and includes 114 full text psychology titles.
Social Sciences Full Text contains periodicals in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, and sociology. Indexes over 625 periodicals of which 215 are in full text.
Sociological Abstracts indexes 2600+ publications in sociology and related disciplines from 1952.
SocINDEX with Full Text features a sociology-specific thesaurus and contains full text articles from 344 “core” coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 129 “priority” coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 700 books and monographs, and full text for 6,800 conference papers.
Tests in Print produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) is a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). A score index permits users to identify what is being measured by each test. Tests in Print also links to test reviews published in the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) series.
The Library uses LC classification to organize materials. Here is a brief outline of sections pertaining to Psychology.
BF1-990 |
Psychology |
BF176-176.5 |
Psychological tests & testing |
BF180-198.72 |
Experimental Psychology |
BF309-499 |
Cognitive psychology |
BF636-637 |
Applied psychology |
BF660-685 |
Animal & human psychology |
BF712-724.85 |
Developmental psychology |
LB1050.9-1091 |
Educational Psychology |
HF5548.7-5548.85 |
Industrial psychology |
HM1001 – 1281 |
Social psychology |
RC467 |
Clinical psychology (Psychiatry) |
Subject Encyclopedias and Handbooks
The concise Corsini encyclopedia of psychology and behavioral science / Ref BF31 .E52 2004 Online via NetLibrary
A concise encyclopedia of pain psychology
/ Ref
RB127 .F55 2005
The Corsini encyclopedia of psychology and behavioral science / Ref BF31 .E52 2001
Dictionary of cognitive science / Ref BF311 .V56713 2004
Encyclopedia of applied psychology / Ref BF636 .E52 2004
Encyclopedia of children, adolescents, and the media / Ref
HQ784.M3 E53 2007
Encyclopedia of children and childhood: in history and society / Ref HQ767.84 .E53 2003
Encyclopedia of clinical child and pediatric psychology / Gen & Ref RJ503.3 .E53 2003 (2 copies)
Encyclopedia of education and human development /Ref LB15 .E473 2005
Encyclopedia of health psychology / General R726.7 .E53 2004
Encyclopedia of human development / Ref
HM626 .E53 2006
Encyclopedia of human emotions /Ref BF531 .E55 1999
Encyclopedia of industrial and organizational psychology /Ref HF5548.8 .E498 2007
The encyclopedia of mental health / Ref
RC437 .K34 2001
Encyclopedia of multicultural psychology / Online via Gale Virtual Reference Library
The encyclopedia of psychiatry, psychology, and psychoanalysis / Ref RC437 .E49 1996
Encyclopedia of psychology / Ref BF31 .E522 2000
Encyclopedia of school psychology / Ref LB1027.55 .E523 2005
Encyclopedia of stress /
REF QP82.2.S8 E53 2007
Encyclopedia of violence, peace & conflict / Ref HM291 .E625 1999
Encyclopedia of women and gender / Ref HQ1115 .E43 2001
Handbook of adolescent psychology / Online via Netlibrary
Handbook of child psychology / Ref BF721 .H242 2006 (multivolume set)
Handbook of psychology / Ref BF121 .H1955 2003 (multivolume set) Also available via Netlibrary (search Handbook of Psychology for a listing a volumes.
History of modern experimental psychology : from James and Wundt to cognitive science / Gen
BF181.M27 2007
Learning & memory / General BF318 .E53 2003
The MIT encyclopedia of the cognitive sciences / General Collection BF311 .M556 1999
Psychology basics / General BF31 .P765 2005
Fifty key thinkers in psychology / General BF109.A1 S49 2004 Also available via NetLibrary
Guides to Psychology Research and Writing
Annual review of psychology -- Online in numerous sources (from 1950 – present in Academic Search Premier)
APA style guide to electronic references / Ref BF76.7 S89 2007 Online
Displaying your findings: a practical guide for creating figures, posters and presentations General BF76.8 .N53 2003
Publication manual of the American Psychological Association Ref BF76.7 .P83 2001 & Ref Desk
Library use: a handbook for psychology Ref BF 76.8 .R43 2003
Concise rules of APA style Ask at Reference Desk BF76.7.C66 2005
Career Resources
Graduate study in psychology / Ref BF77 .G73 2008
The psychology major : career options and strategies for success / Gen
BF76 .L36 2007
What can you do with a major in psychology? : real people, real jobs, real rewards Online via NetLibrary