|
E-Governance
Online Databases | Subject Headings | Web Resources
Suggested Subject Headings
| Digital communications |
Information technology |
| Electronic commerce |
Internet--Political aspects |
| Electronic public records |
Internet in Public Administration |
| Human services--Management--Research |
Telecommunication |
| Information society--Political aspects |
|
Online Databases
Academic ASAP expanded
A companion to Academic Index, Academic ASAP Expanded is updated daily and may have entries and full text that is somewhat more current. It indexes articles in approximately 1000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in the arts, humanities, social sciences, science and technology.
Access World News
Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.
Article First
Updated daily, ArticleFirst covers contains bibliographic citations that describe items listed on the table of contents pages of more than 13,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
LexisNexis Congressional
LexisNexis Congressional indexes and abstracts the CIS/Index to Publications of the U.S. Congress from 1970, allows searching the Congressional Record, tracking proposed legislation by keyword and sponsor, searching the Federal Register, searching congressional committee schedules, finding members of Congress, and searching the National Journal.
It provides full text for almost all Committee Reports from 1990 forward and Congressional testimony from 1988 forward.
Florida Documents Index
Florida Documents Index identifies publications housed in the Florida Documents Collection at Florida Atlantic University (FAU). The collection includes public documents distributed by the State Library of Florida since 1967 under the Florida Public Documents Depository Program. FAU began systematically collecting Florida documents early in 1966 and has since been able to acquire a substantial number of state documents published prior to that date, as well as documents not distributed through the depository program.
Florida Historical Legal Document (LAW)
Florida Historical Legal Documents is a growing collection of primary source materials surveying changes in Florida law from the time it became a territory in 1822 through 1845, when Florida became a state. The collection includes the complete Florida Territorial Laws. Other materials offer supplementary information about the legal, political and social history of Florida before and after its Territorial period.
Florida Supreme Court Briefs & Opinions
The database provides Court Briefs and Opinions of the Florida Supreme Court.
Global Legal Information Network
Global Legal Information Network provides access to text on laws, regulations, and other complementary legal sources from around the world. The database delivers the full text of documents in heir original language, with summaries or abstracts in English.
GPO Monthly Catalog
GPO Monthly Catalog consists of records published by the GPO. It includes references to congressional committee reports and hearings, debates, documents from executive departments, and more.
Coverage: July 1976 to present.
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books provides thorough indexing for over 570 journals, yearbooks, law reviews, and bar association publications. It covers all areas of jurisprudence, including court decisions, egislation, and original scholarship.
Coverage: 1981 to present.
InfoTrac OneFile
InfoTrac OneFile covers humanities, education, business, science, current events, art, politics, economics, social science, law, health care, computers, technology, environmental issues, and general interest topics. It provides full-text of articles from nearly 3,000 journals and covers 1980 to present.
LegalTrac
LegalTrac provides indexing for approximately 800 legal publications: major law reviews, legal ewspapers, law specialty publications, bar association journals, and international legal journals. It also contains law-related articles from over 1,000 additional business and general interest titles. The database provides some full text.
Coverage: 1980 to present.
Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe
Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe provides more than 9.5 million documents from over 18,300 sources. It includes access to company profiles and financial reports, government transcripts, trade journals and academic and legal databases. Its files are updated with full-text documents from general interest wire services, newspapers, and magazines from around the world.
PAIS International
PAIS International includes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories related to public affairs.
Coverage: 1972 to present.
State Capital Universe
State Capital Universe provides access to Bills, Statues Constitutions, proposed and enacted regulations, Policy & Issues, legislature membership and newspapers of record for all the states.
Wilson OmniFile
Wilson OmniFile Full text Mega provides indexed and abstracted records with accompanying full text from over 1300 periodicals. The topics covered include accounting, auditing, banking, computers, economics, environment, finance, foreign investment, international trade, public administration, real estate, taxation, and transportation.
MyFlorida.com http://www.myflorida.com/ Official portal for Florida government. Find information from and about agencies, legislative offices, govenor's office, rstatutes, administrative code, licencing, state symbols, FCAT results and more.
[back to top]
Web Resources
A Quick Guide to Evaluating Internet Information is available at http://library.fgcu.edu/Subjects/general/evaluate.htm. This guide also includes a number of web sites on evaluating Internet Information.
Center for Digital Government
http://www.centerdigitalgov.com/
The Center for Digital Government is a national research and advisory institute providing government and industry leaders with decision support, research and education services to help them effectively incorporate new technologies in the 21st century. Provides access to its annual Digital State and Cities Surveys, l Custom Research Program with links to Best of Web-based online technology to deliver government services.
Center for Technology in Government (CTG)
http://www.ctg.albany.edu/
CTG works with government to develop information strategies that foster innovation and enhance the quality and coordination of public services. Provides access to its publications, projects, research, education and other related resources.
E-Gov
http://www.e-gov.com/
E-Gov is an accomplished organization of marketing and education professionals who have worked with technology leaders from government and industry for more than twenty years. The E-Gov team produces events throughout the year and publishes the E-Gov Digest.
E-Stats
http://www.census.gov/eos/www/ebusiness614.htm
E-Stats is the U.S. Census Bureau's new Internet site devoted exclusively to Measuring the Electronic Economy.
Federal Computer Week (FCW)
http://www.fcw.com/index.asp
FCW Media Group is a market leader in media for the government IT community. It provides free online access to Federal Computer Week and Government e-business, a publication that delves into the technology, management and policies needed to bring the benefits of commercial e-business technology to government operations at the state and local level.
Florida Agency for Workforce Innovation
http://www.floridajobs.org/
The Agency is responsible for implementing policy dealing with workforce development programs, welfare transition, unemployment compensation, workforce information services and labor market information.
Florida Government Locator Service
http://dlis.dos.state.fl.us/fgils/
Florida Government Locator Service is a virtual card catalog of government information
available on the Internet and beyond. Access is provided through an A to Z index and drop-down menu. It also offers personalized services through Ask A Librarian.
Florida Governor & Cabinet
http://www.flgov.com/
Provides biographical information on Florida’s Governor and his Cabinet along with their e-mail addresses.
Florida Legislature - Online Sunshine
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Welcome/index.cfm
Provides access to Florida State Senate and House of Representatives sessions, committees, legislators, lobbyist and other related materials.
Florida's SPURSView
http://fcn.state.fl.us/owa_spurs/owa/spurs_www.main_menu_form
Provides access to Florida's SPURSView, a searchable purchasing database.
Florida State Courts
http://www.flcourts.org/index.html
Provides access to Florida Supreme Court and other Courts, Judicial Administration, Opinions & Rules, Bar Applicants and other related materials.
Government Technology
http://www.govtech.net/
The site provides free access to the online publications Government Technology, Vision, Electronic Government, Net Government and other related materials.
[back to top] |