Library Services


General Public Administration

Online Databases | Reference Materials | Subject Headings | Web Resources

 

Online Databases

Academic ASAP expanded
A companion to Academic Index, Academic ASAP Expanded is updated daily and may have entries and full text that is somewhat more current. It indexes articles in approximately 1000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in the arts, humanities, social sciences, science and technology.

Access World News
Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.

Article First
Updated daily, ArticleFirst covers contains bibliographic citations that describe items listed on the table of contents pages of more than 13,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.

LexisNexis Congressional
LexisNexis Congressional indexes and abstracts the CIS/Index to Publications of the U.S. Congress from 1970, allows searching the Congressional Record, tracking proposed legislation by keyword and sponsor, searching the Federal Register, searching congressional committee schedules, finding members of Congress, and searching the National Journal.
It provides full text for almost all Committee Reports from 1990 forward and Congressional testimony from 1988 forward.

Criminal Justice Abstracts
Criminal Justice Abstracts provides comprehensive coverage of international journals, books, dissertations, and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines. It covers crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment, and sentencing.
Coverage:1968 to present.

Criminal Justice Periodical Index
Criminal Justice Periodical Index provides cover-to-cover access for 45 criminal justice journals, plus complete abstracts for over 100 additional titles.
Coverage: 1981 to present.

Dissertation Abstracts
Dissertation Abstracts covers every doctoral dissertation completed in the U.S. at accredited institutions for the last 150 years. It includes some master's theses and foreign language dissertations.
Coverage: 1861 to present.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Encyclopedia Britannica Online consists of a fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database.

Florida Documents Index
Florida Documents Index identifies publications housed in the Florida Documents Collection at Florida Atlantic University (FAU). The collection includes public documents distributed by the State Library of Florida since 1967 under the Florida Public Documents Depository Program. FAU began systematically collecting Florida documents early in 1966 and has since been able to acquire a substantial number of state documents published prior to that date, as well as documents not distributed through the depository program.

Florida Historical Legal Document (LAW)
Florida Historical Legal Documents is a growing collection of primary source materials surveying changes in Florida law from the time it became a territory in 1822 through 1845, when Florida became a state. The collection includes the complete Florida Territorial Laws. Other materials offer supplementary information about the legal, political and social history of Florida before and after its Territorial period.

Florida Supreme Court Briefs & Opinions
The database provides Court Briefs and Opinions of the Florida Supreme Court.

Global Legal Information Network
Global Legal Information Network provides access to text on laws, regulations, and other complementary legal sources from around the world. The database delivers the full text of documents in their original language, with summaries or abstracts in English.

GPO Monthly Catalog
GPO Monthly Catalog consists of records published by the GPO. It includes references to congressional committee reports and hearings, debates, documents from executive departments, and more.
Coverage: July 1976 to present.

Index to Legal Periodicals & Books
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books provides thorough indexing for over 570 journals, yearbooks, law reviews, and bar association publications. It covers all areas of jurisprudence, including court decisions, legislation, and original scholarship.
Coverage: 1981 to present.

InfoTrac OneFile
InfoTrac OneFile covers humanities, education, business, science, current events, art, politics, economics, social science, law, health care, computers, technology, environmental issues, and general interest topics. It provides full-text of articles from nearly 3,000 journals and covers 1980 to present.

LegalTrac
LegalTrac provides indexing for approximately 800 legal publications: major law reviews, legal newspapers, law specialty publications, bar association journals, and international legal journals. It also contains law-related articles from over 1,000 additional business and general interest titles. The database provides some full text.
Coverage: 1980 to present.

Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe
Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe provides more than 9.5 million documents from over 18,300 sources. It includes access to company profiles and financial reports, government transcripts, trade journals and academic and legal databases. Its files are updated with full-text documents from general interest wire services, newspapers, and magazines from around the world.

Library of Congress Catalogs, THOMAS, and American Memory
Library of Congress provides access to its catalogs of books, journals, documents, maps, and other materials owned by the United States Library of Congress. THOMAS provides full text access to current bills under consideration in the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate. American History provides access to the historical collections of the National Digital Library.

PAIS International
PAIS International includes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories related to public affairs.
Coverage: 1972 to present.

Social Work Abstracts
Social Work Abstracts covers more than 450 journals in social work including theory and practice, areas of service, social issues, and social problems.

State Capital Universe
State Capital Universe provides access to Bills, Statues Constitutions, proposed and enacted regulations, Policy & Issues, legislature membership and newspapers of record for all the states.

Statistical Universe
Statistical Universe allows users to search summaries of statistical publications, then link to the full-text of selected publications on Statistical Universe and government Web sites.

Wilson OmniFile
Wilson OmniFile Full text Mega provides indexed and abstracted records with accompanying full text from over 1300 periodicals. The topics covered include accounting, auditing, banking, computers, economics, environment, finance, foreign investment, international trade, public administration, real estate, taxation, and transportation.

[back to top]

 

 

Reference Materials

GENERAL REFERENCE BOOKS


American social leaders. McGuire, W. / REF HN65 .M38

Atlas of United States environmental issues. Mason, R.J. / REF G1201 .G3 M3

Book of the States / REF JK2403 .B6

CQ's state fact finder: Rankings across America. Van Son, V. / REF HN60 .68

Government agencies. Whitnah, D.R. / REF JK421 .G65

Government phone book USA / REF JK6 .G58

Guide to popular U.S. Government publications. Hoffman, F.W. / REF Z1223 .Z7 B35

Guide to U.S. Government publications. Andriot, D. / REF Z1223 .Z9 G8423

Index to U.S. Government Periodicals / REF Z1223 Z915

Introduction to United States government information. Morehead, J. / REF Z1223 .M674

The Social sciences. Herron, N.L. / REF Z7161 .S648

Subject guide to U.S. Government reference sources. Hardy, G.J. / REF Z1223 .Z7 R63

Tapping the government grapevine
. Robinson, J.S. / REF ZA5055 .U6 R63


BIBLIOGRAPHIES

Delivering government services: an annotated bibliography. Murin, William / REF HD4431 .M96

Human interaction with the physical environment: patterns of living, socialization, behavior, and environmental cognition in various cultures: selected annotated bibliography
. Maltz, Nathan / REF BF353.E55

Land use and community development : a guide to selected publications. Coppa, Frank / REF HD111 .C6

Pickaxe and pencil: references for the study of the WPA. Bloxom, Marguerite / REF HD5713.6.U54 B58

Public administration: a bibliographic guide to the literature. McCurdy, Howard / REF Z7164.A2 M29

DICTIONARIES

State and local government political dictionary. Elliot, J.M / REF JK2408 .E44

DIRECTORIES

Worldwide government directory: With international organizations / REF JF37 .L345

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Cyclopedia of American government. McLaughlin, A.C / REF JK9 .C9

Encyclopedia of American foreign policy. DeConde, A. / REF JX1407 .E53

Encyclopedic dictionary of American government
/ REF JK9 .E5

Encyclopedia of the American legislative system. Silbey, J.H. / REF JF501 .E53

Encyclopedia of governmental advisory organizations / REF JK468 .C7 E5

Encyclopedia of urban planning
. Whittick, A. / REF HT166 .E5 1980.

International encyclopedia of public policy and administration. Shafritz, Jay. / REF H97 .I574

United States intelligence: An encyclopedia. Watson, B.W. / REF JK468 .I6 E53

World encyclopedia of cities. Kurian, G.T / REF HT108.5 .K87




HANDBOOKS

Political handbook of the world 1997. Banks, A.S / REF JF 37 .P6

YEARBOOKS

The Statesman's yearbook. Hunter, B / REF JA51 .S7

 

 

Suggested Subject Headings

Administrative agencies Electronic government information Public administration
Administrative law Land use-Law and legislation Public contracts
City planners Local government Public law
City planning Municipal services Public services
Civic improvement Politics and government Regional planning
Civic planning Policy sciences Urban policy
Civil service Policy Studies Welfare
Community development Privatization Zoning
Decentralization in government    

 

[back to top]

 

 

Web Resources

ASSOCIATIONS

American Society for Public Administration (ASPA)
http://www.aspanet.org/
Provides information on ASPA membership, publications, conferences and meetings, and other society programs.

Association for Budgeting and Financial Management
http://www.abfm.org/
Provides information on membership, publications, fellowships and job opportunities and links to finance and budgeting.

Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management (APPAM)
http://www.appam.org
Provides information on APPAM membership, publications, conferences, job bank, research grants and internships.

International Consortium on Governmental Financial Management
http://www.icgfm.org/
The International Consortium Governmental Financial Management is dedicated to improving financial management by providing opportunities for professional development and information exchange.

National Academy of Public Administration (NAPA)
http://www.napawash.org/
Chartered by Congress, NAPA is an independent, nonpartisan organization. It assists federal, state, and local governments in improving their effectiveness, efficiency, and accountability.

National Certified Public Manager Consortium
http://www.cpmconsortium.org/
The Consortium promotes Certified Public Manager (CPM) programs by providing and monitoring accreditation standards, facilitating program development, encouraging innovation and developing linkages with programs and organizations with similar concerns.

Public Employees Roundtable (PER)
http://www.excelgov.org
PER is a non-profit, non-partisan coalition of organizations representing nearly 600,000 public employees. The site provides membership information, programs, education and links to Public Administration web sites.

MEGA WEB SITES ON PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION RESOURCES

Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
http://www.federalreserve.gov/

Federal World.Gov
http://www.fedworld.gov/
Helpful in locating Federal Government Information.

Firstgov.gov
http://www.firstgov.gov/
Official government gateway for government information

Google's Uncle Sam's Search
http://www.google.com/unclesam

Government Infomine
http://infomine.ucr.edu/cgi-bin/search?govpub

National Council of State Legislatures (NCSL)
http://www.ncsl.org/
NCSL provides access to state legislators and legislative staff to NCSL information and reports, plus the ability to search more than 500,000 state documents encompassing legislative policy reports, current and past legislation, state statutes, and 50-state surveys. It also provides public access to some NCSL documents.

State & Local Government on the Net
http://www.statelocalgov.net/index.cfm
Provides links to state and local government sites, multi-state sites, Federal resources, National organizations and other related sites.

U.S. Federal Government Agencies
http://www.lib.lsu.edu/gov/fedgov.html
Created by Louisiana State University Libraries, this searchable web site provides hyperlinks to a hierarchical and alphabetical list of U.S. Federal Government Agencies.

U.S. Depository of Ready Reference Sources
http://www.columbia.edu/cu/lweb/indiv/usgd/index.html

Yahoo U.S. Government
http://dir.yahoo.com/Government/U_S__Government/

Yahoo-Public Administration Guide
http://dir.yahoo.com/Social_Science/Political_Science/Public_Administration/

PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION PROGRAMS

Public Affairs Schools on the Web - University of Delaware
http://www.udel.edu/dpai/paschweb.html
Provides links to Public Affairs schools websites.

 

 

[back to top]